BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In West Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/19/2010

Pinellas Federal Credit Union

Find a Location

Phone: (727) 586-4422Fax: (727) 585-2274PO Box 2300, LargoFL 33779-2300FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/19/2010

BBB has determined that Pinellas Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pinellas Federal Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
04/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized changes to the contract or agreement

Complaint: Loan terms misrepresented.
March of 2013, My Wife and I, ******* and ******** ********* met with ***** ******** Pinellas Federal Credit Union representative, to consider taking a loan for a new boat motor. It was explaned to us that it would be best to take the loan against our 2011 silverado, since we had a clear paper title. We were assured that they would only hold our actual paper title untill the loan was paid in full, and would promptly return the same and actual paper title we gave them. That we need not worry. Also, that our new account would be easily accessed from our other location in Lake Milton Ohio. Finally, that there staff would always be helpfull and friendly. We returned to Lake Milton for the summer and found that we could not gain access to this new account. After contacting ***** ******* with our delema, she explaned that we would have to drive to a different city 30 miles away, and pay a larger usage fee at a bank they are affilated with. She omitted that part when we opened the account, and acted as if it were no big deal. When I returned to Florida in November, I went in to make a deposit, and was told to wait, as the teller called for assistance. She clamed the 2 young men sitting on the bench smoking out front were caseing the bank to rob it. I explained that they were not criminals, nor did they have any criminal records. They were smoking and playing with there electronic devices while waiting for me. We decided to close our account in the future. My wife inquired as to the payoff prosess in late Febuary of 2014. ******* sugjested a cashiers check or money order, but was told to have me bring cash for the payoff, so we could get our title back within 10 days, since the title was kept at the main branch. Today, March 4th 2014, I went into our branch with almost 5,000 in cash and paid off the loan. There it was explaned to me that my title had been had been electronicly redgisterd and no longer had a paper title. That I would get instructions as to how i should proceed if I want my truck title. That I would have to go to the tax colector and apply for and pay for a new paper title. I went home and called the main branch to complain. I spoke with the superivsor, *********. She said I had no need of a paper title, but agreed that I would when it comes time to sell my truck? I asked her how come my title was electronicly redgisterd and I was not notified? She said she had no idea, and that it was just how it is done. She didnot care that this was not within the guidlines of our original agreement, nor that it would be inconvinient and at my cost. I explaned that this was not acceptable business, and would persue the matter further. She said that we were not getting anywhare with our conversation, and I should do whatever I want, and hung up the phone in my ear. I did nothing to promote her anger and rude behavior? I used no foul language, nor even elevated my voice? This issue is more of a matter of principal regarding The credit unions misconduct and misrepresentation of the terms of the loan and account usage. As well as it being unethical for our loaning institutions to behave in this manner.

Initial Business Response
X-XX-XX at 12:10 noon spoke to Mr. ********* and apologized for the miscommunication and him being inconvenienced. Pinellas FCU requested and received a paper title today for said vehicle and
it has been mailed to Mr. *********'s address in Palm Harbor. Mr. ********* was receptive and happy with the end result and said he harbored no harsh feelings. ***** ********, VP of Operations

Initial Consumer Rebuttal

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/14/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/21/1992Business started: 01/01/1956
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Financial Services
200 E Gaines St
Tallahassee, FL32399
(877) 693-5236
http://www.myfloridacfo.com

National Credit Union Adm.
601 Pennsylvania Ave NW
Washington, DC20004-2601
(202) 638-5777

Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach
100 S Myrtle Ave Rm 202
Clearwater, FL33756-5520
(727) 562-4567
http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp

BBB records show a license number of A207633 for this company, issued by Department of Financial Services. Their web address is http://www.myfloridacfo.com.

Type: Dept of Financial Services

BBB records show a license number of 10880 for this company, issued by National Credit Union Adm..

Type: State

BBB records show a license number of BTR-0028030 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach. Their web address is http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Non-Profit

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Gina Signor (Vice President of Administration)Mrs. Evelyn Molina (President/CEO)
Business Category

Credit Unions, Financial Services, Loan Services

Industry Tips
BBBTips on Business Credit
BBBTips on Saving and Investing
BBBTips on SBA Loans
Beware of Predatory Practices in Home Mortgage Lending
Beware of Abusive Lending Practices
High Cost Payday Lenders Advertise Everywhere
Home Buyers: Protect Yourself from Predatory Lenders
Selecting a Financial Planner
Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pinellas Federal Credit Union is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.