BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/28/2002

Genesis Financial Management, Inc.

Phone: (813) 866-5100Fax: (866) 866-7550

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
10/22/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have received several unsolicted phone calls from Genesis Financial. Each time a recorded message telling me that they can help me get out of debt.
I received a phone call from Genesis Financial on October 15, 2013 at 3:34 and a second one at 3:39. I answered the second call and it was a recorded message telling me they can make me debt free. I have never contacted this business or provided them with my telephone number. They don't provide you the opportunity to opt out of their harrasment.

Desired Settlement
Please remove me from your call list immediately. I am listed on the Do Not Call Registry.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We don't just randomly call people. We are a non-profit credit counseling agency. The client called us at some point for financial assistance and provided all their personal information. We were calling to follow up with them for assistance.

At this time per the customers request we will remove all her information from our system and will not call her again.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

05/17/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/26/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
claim to be non-profit and they secretly collected a fee and also could never give me a balance that i owed after paying over two years at 356 monthly
combined credit cards GMAC ,chase bank claiming to get rid of the debt in two years and keep my credit good while only a one time fee of 75 dollars to them and pay for two years at 356 to those two cards combined only to find out that this so called non-profit was charging me a 35 dollar fee every month plus kept the balance going on forever then i put a stop payment on the automatic withdrawals and then they pulled out a payment of 351 so it would be able to be withdrawn trying to get all they could get out of me with out giving me a balance for two and one half years

Desired Settlement
i want certainty on where my money went to because it should of went to the credit cards which would have reduced the debt to two years max paid out.i also want to know where this 35 dollars fee came in when i did not sign giving this amount monthly to genesis financial also where is the 356 dollars that i have paid genesis for the last two and one half years.

Business' Initial Response
In response to Case # XXXXXXXX, Genesis Financial Management would like to provide the following response.

Mr. ****** contacted Genesis Financial Management on August 26, 2010 to enroll in its Debt Management Plan. At that time, he spoke with a counselor by the name of ***** ****** who explained the Plan over the phone. After discussing the Plan in detail, Mr. ****** enrolled via online enrollment.
A copy of his online enrollment with corresponding IP address is enclosed for your review. The IP address will document the area that Mr. ****** lives.

Mr. ****** paid a one-time enrollment fee of $75 which he acknowledges and agrees. His account was also charged a Monthly Service Fee (MSF) in the amount of $35. This Fee is disclosed within Genesis Financial Management's Agreement. Please see Advanced Payment System Client Agreement, #4, which is enclosed or your review. This fee is also disclosed each month on Progress Reports that are sent to clients detailing the moneys sent to Genesis Financial Management and the moneys sent from Genesis Financial Management.

Mr. ****** made monthly payments from September 2010 through February 2013. A payment was automatically processed from his bank account on March 25, 2013 in the amount of $351, however, Mr. ****** revoked that payment from his bank. His account has been terminated per his request on April 1, 2013.

Mr. ****** was personally contacted by ******* ******* who is our Business Manager on Thursday, May 2, 2013 to try to resolve Mr. ******'s complaint. Mr. ****** expressed his concerns that Genesis Financial Management should not charge any fees as a Non-Profit and he would like a full refund of $980.00. Ms. Stanton tried to explain to Mr. ****** that the fees are disclosed on his Agreement, but Mr. ****** stated he was never provided a copy of his Agreement. Please note that Agreements are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week on our website at www.yourgfm.com for active clients. Also, when enrolling online clients are asked to verify that they read a copy of the Agreement.

Genesis Financial Management was upfront and honest with Mr. ****** from the onset several years ago. As a Non-Profit, Genesis Financial Management must charge client fees to sustain its business. These fees are clearly disclosed, not only on the Agreement, but also on each monthly statement that the client receives.

If you need any additional information in reviewing this response, please let us know by contacting our Business Manager, ******* ******** at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,


******* *******, ***
President/CEO

Consumer's Final Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

I do not accept the offer of $200 to go to the company that I never agreed to pay them $35/month. I would like a refund of $1000 to go towards my creditors. I never gave them authority to charge this fee and they can't produce a signed contract by me. I asked many times asking for that specifically and they never sent anything. They can't product it because I never did it. Now I am wondering if they ever even paid my credit cards because I have one of them calling all the time. I have spent over $10,000 with them and my debt started off with $9,000.

Business' Final Response
Genesis Financial Management takes the stand that we did not fraudulently steal any money from Mr. ******. His fees were clearly disclosed in his Agreement and each monthly statement would have provided the $35 Monthly Service Fee along with the estimated creditor balances. Mr. ****** was advised that he would be paid in full within 44 months, not 2 years, as most Debt Management Plans are designed to get clients out of debt within 3-5 years. We understand Mr. ******'s concerns and, although we are not willing to refund the full $980, Genesis Financial Management is willing to offer Mr. ****** $200 for his perceived concerns, Please let us know if you have any additional questions.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.