BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Merchants Select Services, Inc.

Phone: (813) 837-9117Fax: (813) 837-5623View Additional Phone Numbers3110 S Dale Mabry Hwy, TampaFL 33629-7822http://www.merchantselectservices.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Merchants Select Services, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Merchants Select Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Merchants Select Services, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
this company told me i could try out their services for 6 months with no contract,which i have in writing and i only used their services for 1 day.

i returned equipment to the company after only one day of use and i'm receiveing bill after bill for an account that should have been closed months ago!they refuse to close my account and are tring to strong arm me into keeping unwanted service!i have in writing that i have no contract with them.

Desired Settlement
i just want them to cancel my account and take back any fragulet fees charged to me!

Business Response
We have spoken to Mr. ****** numerous times in person and by phone. It was our understanding after ***** ******* VP of Sales met with Mr. ****** in person on November 11, 2013 at 1:45 pm, Mr. ****** wanted us to set his company up with his POS system to process credit cards on, in January 2014. It was not until after Mr. ****** received his PCI annual fee charge on December 3rd which is a requirement by Visa MasterCard that Mr. ****** called us about cancelling. I spoke with Mr. ****** on Friday December 12th at approximately 4:15pm and explained in detail what PCI is, and why the fee is charged. Also, Mr. ****** received a four page document in his welcome kit explaining PCI, which is a worldwide requirement to prevent and control identity theft and credit card fraud. When he was not satisfied I told Mr. ****** that I would close his account once I received written consent from him to close it. Mr. ****** faxed over the cancellation letter at 5:30 pm Friday December 13th and by 11:00 am Monday December 16th his account had been closed. We tried diligently to help Mr. ****** and when he was unsatisfied, we cancelled his account immediately, upon receiving written notice.

Mr. ****** cost my company over $1500.00 in set up fees that include boarding, underwriting, profiles builds, downloading, setting up and mailing the welcome kit and the cost of the any other requirement by Visa/MasterCard. Plus all the salary of the personnel that handles a new account. Please understand the processor (First Data) will charge these fees regardless if Mr. ****** continues his processing or not. As the registered merchant service provider I am responsible for fees on Mr. ******'s account for the duration of the contract.

We acted with extreme professionalism, diplomatic and we were ethical with handling Mr. ******'s complaints and resolved his issue by closing his account as requested by Mr. ****** on December 13th, 2013 in a timely fashion less than 3 business day hours, even though my company will be stuck paying his fees on the documents he signed.

Respectfully,
***** ******
President


Final Consumer Response

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/12/2008Business started: 02/22/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL 33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

BBB records show a license number of 107383 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1999, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Elaine "Layne" Partee (Owner/Director)
Business Category

Credit Card Processing Companies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Merchants Select Services, Inc.

3110 S Dale Mabry Hwy

Tampa, FL 33629-7822

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3110 S Dale Mabry Hwy 

    Tampa, FL 33629-7822(800) 636-9385
    Fax: (813) 837-5623

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Merchants Select Services, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 636-9385
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Credit Card Processing Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.