BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Visa Cardmember Services

Phone: (800) 808-7230

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
06/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues
03/25/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
on oct XX XXXX my visa (*******************) was fraudulently charged $623.20 from southwest airline. i reported this and several other fraud charges and they were removed. i get my next statement and see the $623.20 has been re-added to my acct. when i call i was told i didnt return some paperwork (which i never rec'd) so i was stuck with the charge. and now interest is accruing. no one will help me, not visa not even the issuing bank.
Product_Or_Service: visa card
Order_Number: n/a
Account_Number: xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx

Desired Settlement
i want these fraudulent charges and any interest removed from my visa acct immediately.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@fisglobal.com
We received the above-referenced complaint and appreciate the opportunity to respond. It is evident from your grievance that unauthorized activity being billed to your Visa caused distress for you which is certainly understandable. For that we unconditionally apologize.

We researched your concern regarding the fraud claim and would like to share the following timeline with you:

10/25/12 - You contacted us to advise of the unauthorized activity. Since your Visa card was still active, the transaction was placed into dispute status as to avoid you being billed for the charge as well as the associated interest. The fraudulent charges were sent to our Dispute team to be worked due to the status of your account. You were then transferred to our Lost/Stolen department to close your card and have a replacement reissued.

10/31/12 - A new card was reissued.

11/2/12 - Our Dispute team transferred the transactions to our Fraud team to be worked.

11/7/12 - A fraud case was created, you were provided provisional credit for the unauthorized charges and a Fraud Investigation Form was sent to you with a requested return date of 11/28/12 (copy has been added to this complaint). The address on your account reflected as a P.O. Box in Chicago; therefore, the document was sent to the address on file.

12/12/12 - Due to non-receipt of the requested Fraud Investigation Form, which is required to continue the investigation, you were rebilled for the unauthorized activity as this typically indicates a cardholder is accepting responsibility for the transactions previously identified as unauthorized. We also sent a letter advising you why you were re-billed with a new copy of the Fraud Investigation Form included for your convenience (copy has been added to this complaint). The documents were also sent to your P.O. Box as per the address on your account. Your case was then pended for 45 as to allow you additional time to return the requested documentation.

2/6/13 - Your case was closed due to we still had not received the requested Fraud Investigation Form which impeded us from continuing our investigation.

In conclusion, it appears that the address you provided within this complaint is not the same address associated with your current account which may have been the root cause of you not receiving the Fraud Investigation Forms sent on 11/7/12 and 12/12/12. As to aid in avoidance of future mailing issues related to the account in question, please contact your financial institution directly and update your address if necessary.

Lastly, your financial institution has confirmed that you have completed the required Fraud Investigation Form which they will forward to us. Therefore, a credit for the amount of $623.20 (as well as the related finance charges) will be issued to your account by 3/15/13. Again...we appreciate the opportunity to be of service and hope that this resolves your concerns.

Business' Final Response
Per Regulation Z/E, a reasonable investigation is required when fraudulent charges are reported as occurring on a debit or credit card. As to aid our organization in conducting the investigation, a Fraud Investigation Form is sent which includes pertinent questions that are required to be answered by the cardholder. The completed form, in addition to other actions (i.e. review of the cardholder's past statement activity, etc.), is then used to confirm that the activity reported is fraudulent. If the document is not returned and we are unable to conclude the said charges are indeed unauthorized through other measures, we are left to assume that the cardholder has determined that the charges are legitimate.

09/03/2012Billing / Collection Issues

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.