BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

United Legal Systems

Find a Location

Phone: (813) 217-5283Fax: (440) 756-74191115 Channel Drive, TampaFL 33602! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

United Legal Systems is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered United Legal Systems' rating include:

  • 77 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 73 complaints filed against business.
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

77 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues52
Problems with Product / Service24
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 77

Additional Complaint Information

BBB has received a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding threatening phone calls demanding payment for debts that the consumer does not owe. The consumer also claims that phone calls are being made to their workplace. We have not received any response to the complaints. The address we have for them is invalid.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on United Legal Systems

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (77)BBB Closure Definitions
11/12/2012Billing / Collection Issues
06/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am not being harrassed by any creditors, however I am being harrassed by this company. When I call the number they called from, it hangs up on me.
I have been called from XXX-XXX-XXXX X-X times per week but they never leave a voice message. When I call that number back, it puts me on hold and then hangs up. I am not being harrassed by any creditors, nor do I have any looking for me that I know of, so I dont know why they continue to call me.

Its frustrating to think that some company I have never heard of may being trying to scam me out of money.

Desired Settlement
I want them to stop harrassing me and to stop trying to do false business. I work for a huge law corporation and will not hesitate to get my colleagues involved if need be.

02/12/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
this company scammed me $650.00.
a man named ****** ****** from this company called late 2011 about a old bon ton debt which was mine threatening to sue and hold taxes. he offered a settlement for $648.22. i made 3 payments and paid it off in full. the 1st was 1-5-12 for $135.14 automatic bank withdrawal. the 2nd was 2-6-12 for $135.14 automatic bank withdrawal. the last was 2-7-12 for $377.94, this was paid debit by phone and it was with a woman named ***** *****... i was given a confirmation # and i was told i'd receive a paid in full letter which never came. i thought it was taken care of and today, 1-4-13, a company called national action financial services said that the debt is still unpaid and was never reported. i was told to contact united legal systems XXX-XXX-XXXX asking for a paid in full letter, but i cant get through. i googled it and realized alot of people were scammed by these people. i filed a complaint with FTC ( ref. # XXXXXXXX).

Desired Settlement
i want my money refunded so i can pay the proper agency so that i fix the damage it caused on my credit report.

11/12/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They called and said they had a restraining order against me and to call within 24 to 48 hours or have my attorney call.
Called on 10/8/12 and left a voice mail as above. They also called my "married daughter" with a different last name and said they had a restraining order against me. When I googled them and the phone number, it said it was a scam. I don't know what these people want unless it's to bill us for services.

Desired Settlement
Shut the business down!

11/12/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
improper legal/collection call to our home.
This company called our home on 10/2/12, said they were were working for schawns frozen foods,we were sueing us for a nsf check back in 2006. that we were being sued for fraud and had a restraining order against us. we had 24 hours to give a attorney name or we could give 272.00 asap with a pre paid credit card, make payment arrangements or go to court for a felony fraud charge. so I made payment arrangements, gave them my banking info, for 4 paymentsof 170.00. thoughts about for a couple hours and to many things didnt make sense. called my bank, then schawns, schawns told me I didnt owe them anything that this company was a scam. Had to cancel my checking account. Very mad at myself, these people are good<> Spoke with *********, so he calls himself,

Desired Settlement
just shut them down

11/12/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Requested immediate payment for a past due balance from 2006. Threatened to take legal action.
A woman left me a vmail stating I had a legal complaint filed against me and that I need to contact a number, XXX-XXX-XXXX to discuss the matter. Her name was *************. She said my file number is ********. She stated that I had 24-48 hours to handle this or I would be taken to court and have charges of fraud on my record and a restraining order placed against me, including freezing all of my accounts and payroll accounts. I called the number and spoke to a man telling me I owe a past due balance from 7/2006 with the ******* company. He couldn't tell me details of the account. Only that I owed a total of $633.93 which included late fees and interest. I explained to him that I've been a long time customer of ******* and new for a fact that I had no negative balance with them, nor have I ever received any statements stating otherwise. The man demanded payment during call. Said I could pay 60% payoff or pay in 4 installments. Either way - payment was to be made during the call and no other time. Because I was unable to accommodate him with my payment information, he threatened to contact the company and tell them I was being uncooperative and to proceed with legal action. This included freezing any assets I have, pressing charges on me for Fraud and to issue a restraining order against me. He eventually hung up on me when I wasn't able to pay him. I then contacted the *******s company and spoke with a customer service rep named ******. I explained the situation to him. He stated that they have received a number of calls regarding this type of issue. He said United Legal, Global Legal and National Legal have all been contacting consumers trying to get payment for past due balances that aren't owed. He verified my account with ******* and assured me that I was not in the negative with the company, just as I knew I wasn't.

Desired Settlement
Would just like to spare others from such misfortune. I hear about fraud alot. And when people call stating very adimently that you owe a past due balance on an account so long ago, I can see consumers trusting the debt collector and paying the past due balance in good faith to clear themselves, only to be manipulated for the benefit of the fraudulant company.

Page 1 of 15
10/02/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Posing as a special investigator regarding a restraining order
*********** from United Legal Systems XXX-XXX-XXXX searching for me under my previous married name contacted my estranged husband's number. Left a message that he is a special investigator. The call is regarding a restraining order. I had 48 hours to contact them or I could be subpeoned at home or work. I contacted the number and was left on hold for 2 mins. Then a recording told me to leave a message. I hung up. Looked the name and number online and was taken to the BBB site where I found 61 complaints have been made and the business address is invalid. Thought I should report them also.

Desired Settlement
No settlement. Fear they might be scammers

09/17/2012Billing / Collection Issues
08/28/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/23/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jamison Walters Sarah Crawford Ms. Amy Kimbler Ms. Sheila Price Mr. Brian Walker (Past Supervisor) Lynn White (Special Investigator)
Business Category

Collection Agencies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for United Legal Systems

1115 Channel Drive

Tampa, FL 33602

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1112 Channelside Drive, Unit #4 

    Tampa, FL 33602(813) 217-5228
    (210) 819-4544

  • 1115 Channel Drive 

    Tampa, FL 33602

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*United Legal Systems is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Collection Agencies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB has received a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding threatening phone calls demanding payment for debts that the consumer does not owe. The consumer also claims that phone calls are being made to their workplace. We have not received any response to the complaints. The address we have for them is invalid.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.