BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/06/2007

Oliphant Financial, LLC

Phone: (800) 262-1999Fax: (941) 360-8993

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues9
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
05/19/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Its been 2 years since I've finished paying this company yet they insist that I owed them $100, then 5 mins later after I called back, I owe $600.
2 years ago my credit card debt was sold to Oliphant. I spoke to one of their reps, Carlos, who offered me a settlement of $1,681.00. He set up automatic payments for me, in which the settlement balance was paid in full in 3 agreed upon payment amounts. I called 3 weeks after to ask when I'd get confirmation that it was paid off and I was told by next week I should get a letter in the mail. Last winter I called them again to inquire about the letter since I'm looking to buy a house and was told by Tim that I owed a balance of $100. I asked him why numerous times and according to him, he cant tell if automatic payments were set up and Carlos resigned but there was a settlement amount of $1,281 and I only paid $1,181. I kept telling him all the payments that Carlos and I arranged were already paid. 4/12/16 @ 4:10p, he called again for the $100 payment and I repeated the argument again that all the agreed upon payments were already made in 2014. I decided to just pay the $100 to get it over with and at 4:23p of the same day I called them back and spoke to Debra who stated there was never a settlement made between Oliphant and I and now I owe about $1,000+ but she can settle for $400. She tried to contact Tim in the office and stated he didn't even want to discuss my case with her. I am very frustrated because every time I call, I get a different response from them and this is holding me up from buying my home and can negatively affect my credit when I no longer owe them anything.

Desired Settlement
Removal of whatever balance they claim I owe and the letter stating my debt for Oliphant was paid in full since April 2014.

Business Response
Please allow this correspondence to serve as Oliphant Financial LLC's (Oliphant) formal response to the complaint filed by the Complainant as referenced in BBB Case # XXXXXXXX. Oliphant takes these complaints very seriously and we strive to ensure that we conduct business and in legal, professional and courteous manner.
Upon receiving the Better Business Bureau complaint, Oliphant reviewed the account details as they pertain to the allegations of the complaint. According to our records, we show that Ms. ****** made payments on her account, but still has a remaining balance under the payment arrangement made with one of our Account Representatives on 3/14/2014.
However, Oliphant would like to help Ms. ****** to get this matter resolved; therefore, Oliphant will be forgiving the remaining amount and closing her account. A settled in full letter will be mailed to the consumer as a confirmation that her account is now closed.

04/28/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Trying to get information on a debt for wife
I contacted Oliphant Financial concerning a debt that my wife had with EVINE and had been referred to Oliphant Financial. When I called their number, I was told that for my wife's account number with EVINE, XXXXXXXX, they had no information on this debt. I stated that was impossible, why was it even referred to collections with no information concerning the debt. I asked to speak to a supervisor. A so called supervisor named "Mark" comes on the phone. He was also no help on this issue and quite frankly would not help at all. I have contacted the BBB in Minnesota and have an open case with this issue as well. I have gotten the runaround with EVINE and Oliphant Financial with both companies stating I have to contact them to resolve the issue. I would like to receive WRITTEN confirmation of the debt and hopefully pay this off and be done with both companies. To have to contact BBB's in two different states is very cumbersome and quite frankly speaks ill of both EVINE and Oliphant Financial. To this date, we have not received any information from EVINE or Oliphant concerning the debt owed by my wife. EVINE states they made several attempts but my wife has not received nor heard anything from them before it was turned over to Oliphant for collection.

Desired Settlement
I would like WRITTEN confirmation of the debt that Oliphant Financial has acquired from EVINE sent to the following person(s) and address

*****/***** ********
**** ****** ******
********, ** XXXXX

Business Response
Please allow this correspondence to serve as Oliphant Financial LLC's (Oliphant) formal response to the complaint filed by the Complainant as referenced in BBB Case # XXXXXXXX. Oliphant takes these complaints very seriously and we strive to ensure that we conduct business and in legal, professional and courteous manner.
Upon receiving the Better Business Bureau complaint, Oliphant reviewed the account details as they pertain to the allegations of the complaint. According to our records, we show that the account is in fact under the name of the complainant's spouse.
The account is with our office and we located it as Oliphant account number # XXXXXXX. There may have been some confusion because the fact the account is under the spouse's name. There may have been some other issues with Identifying the consumer's account.
The complainant can call back to Oliphant and ask for our collections manager Mark J. ******* Mark with Oliphant account number # XXXXXXX and he will be able to bring the account right up.
We apologize for any inconvenience and we look forward to assisting the consumer with the matter.

Consumer Response
Good evening,

My wife contacted the collection agency on Monday. They stated they would contact her with the amount of the debt within 24 to 48 hours. As of this date, my wife has not heard from the collection agency. She will attempt to contact them on 4-15-2016. At this time, I would like to have this case remain open pending a response from the collection agency.

Thank you!!!

***** *. ******** Jr.
Columbus OH

03/31/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Oliphant is the collection agency for M&T Bank, and on 02/23/2016 I made a full payment to them , they still haven't updated all 3 credit reports.
Oliphant refuses to contact M&T bank to tell them I made a full payment to them on 02/23/2016. M&T cannot clear this off of all three credit reports until this is completed.

Desired Settlement
I want all 3 credit reporting agencies to be updated with a status, "paid in full".

Business Response
Please allow this correspondence to serve as Oliphant Financial LLC's (Oliphant) formal response to the complaint filed by the Complainant as referenced in BBB Case # XXXXXXXX. Oliphant takes these complaints very seriously and we strive to ensure that we conduct business and in legal, professional and courteous manner.
Upon receiving the Better Business Bureau complaint, Oliphant reviewed the account details as they pertain to the allegations of the complaint. According to our records, we show that the consumer's account was settled on February 23, 2016.
Oliphant did not report this account to the credit bureaus. As a policy, Oliphant does not report any accounts to the credit bureaus. Unfortunately, Oliphant cannot change or remove any information reported to the credit bureaus by another company.
Thirty (30) days after the final payment is received on the account, Oliphant will send the consumer a letter which will show that the account is resolved. The consumer can provide that letter to the credit bureaus as evidence of payment. We have generated this letter a little bit early for this consumer and it should be arriving in the mail in the near future.

01/29/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have told these people numerous times that the customer they are looking for doesn't live at my address and they have the wrong phone number.
At least once a month I get these phone calls for a Larry somebody. I have repeatedly explained to them that I live in Sun Valley and I do not know any Larry, Lawrence or the like. They continue to call even after I ask them to remove my number. They called again today 12/23/2015 and I was rude, I admit, but this is getting old telling the same company that I do not know this person. I tired of it. The so called Supervisor is Wendy and she talks to people sarcastically and I really don't think she removed my number at all. I want them to stop calling me, all of them. Apparently their skip tracer is not doing their job and needs to be fired if they can't find him, not my problem. I just want the calls to stop.

Desired Settlement
I want them to stop calling me, I have no idea who this person is and every month I have to tell them the same thing: not my problem if he owes you money, I have had this number since May, I live in Sun Valley. It's getting old.

Business Response
Please allow this correspondence to serve as Oliphant Financial LLC's (Oliphant) formal response to the complaint filed by the Complainant as referenced in BBB Case # XXXXXXXX. Oliphant takes these complaints very seriously and we strive to ensure that we conduct business and in legal, professional and courteous manner.
Upon receiving the Better Business Bureau complaint, Oliphant reviewed the account details as they pertain to the allegations of the complaint. According to our records, Oliphant attempted only one (1) call to the Complainant's phone.
That one out bound call took place on December 23, 2015. On that same day and approximately 8 minutes later, Oliphant received an inbound call from the Complainant. The Complainant was upset and indicated that we had called an incorrect number. The Complainant called back a short time there after and requested to speak to a supervisor. The supervisor documented that the Complainant was upset, and ensured that the number was immediately deactivated in our system.
Pursuant to the Complainant's request, Oliphant will not contact the Complainant and we apologize for the inconvenience.

05/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Oliphant Company (I have no clue who they are and what they would want) calling a family member.

Oliphant Company called My Fathers residence to inquire about myself.. I have not lived at his home in OVER 35 years....I do not know who this company is they have called my cell phone with only a VAGUE automated voice message
and for me to return call and never say what company they represent or what its regarding....sounds like a telemarkater scam call....

Desired Settlement
DO NOT CONTACT MY FAMILY AGAIN!!! IF COMPANY WANTS TO COMMUNICATE WITH ME DO SO IN WRITING.....

Business Response
Please allow this correspondence to serve as Oliphant Financial LLC's (Oliphant) formal response to the complaint filed by the Consumer as referenced in *** Case # XXXXXXXX. Oliphant takes these complaints very seriously and we strive to ensure that we conduct business and in legal, professional and courteous manner.

Upon receiving the ****** ******** ****** complaint, Oliphant reviewed the account details as they pertain to the allegations of the complaint. Oliphant attempted only two (2) calls on this Consumer's account.

On March 9, 2015, Oliphant received an inbound call which indicated that one of the two numbers, that we previously dialed, was not a correct contact number for the consumer. The collections professional that handled the call in immediately deactivated that number in our system.

The Consumers complaint further alleged that automated messages were left on the Consumers cell by Oliphant. According to our records, on the two calls made placed, Oliphant left no messages, automated or otherwise.

Pursuant to the Consumer's request, Oliphant will not contact the consumer by telephone and all communications to the Consumer, from Oliphant, will be in writing. Oliphant will continue to exercise its right to collect on the account.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I still don't know who they are or what they want.

Final Business Response
This response was taken verbally by the ****
Please see the enclosed letter that was mailed out to the consumer.

Page 1 of 2
04/23/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I do not owe Capital One Money nor can they provide proper documentation to support there claim.
Capital One, NA has failed to provide proper documentation to prove any money is owed to them. I have been down this road with them before and in the process of seeking damages to me and my credit report. In PA they must provide a Signed Contract and a list of itemized break down on there charges. I have requesed this in the past without success. Now Oliphant Financial is trying to collect on this same amount. I ask that Oliphant Finanial stop collecting on this amount and send it back to Capital One N.A. This account cannot be proven to be valid in the state of PA without the listed information above. I have request this before so to save Oliphant Finanial from being contacted by the law firm handling this account. I ask them to stop the account is not valid and if Oliphant Financial contacts me any further or reports any adverse information to my credit report I ***** ****** will seek damages from Oliphant Financial.

your account number in the letter sent XXXXXXX
your original creditor Capital One NA
your creditor acct# XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Stop collecting

Business Response
As you may know, we take these complaints very seriously and we strive to ensure that we conduct business and in legal, professional and courteous manner. In order to respond or even discuss the issues that pertain to Mr. ******'s complaint, we will need to have Mr. ****** execute authorization regarding the disclosure of his personal and financial information. Pursuant to the Fair Debt Collections Practices Act we are not authorized to disclose any information regarding the consumers account without receiving authorization from the consumer.

I apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and I look forward to working with you in resolving Mr. ******'s complaint. Thank you for your time and attention to this matter. If you have any question or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Attached I signed the the form you requested. I since have no documentation of any charges nor a signed contract from them. In the state of PA any amount of money owed must have a signed and dated contract. Also you must provide a break down of any charges for any amount of money owed. Not just an amount you need to explain what the charges are for. Unless you can provide documentation and or have someone served with the documentation or court papers to prove the amount owed, there is no valid amount owed. Please stop wasting my time because my next step will be the Federal Trade Commission and the PA Attorney General.


Final Business Response
We are in receipt of the reply from Mr. ******* ****** in response our answer regarding his original complaint. Please allow this correspondence to serve as Oliphant Financial LLC's (Oliphant) formal response to the reply filed by Mr. ******* ******, as referenced in the Better Business Bureau (BBB) Complaint Case# XXXXXXXX.

It is important to understand that the tradeline the Mr. ****** references was not put on his credit by Oliphant. That tradeline was reported by the original creditor of the account, *********************************************************. For that reason, we are unable to remove the tradeline because we did not report the tradeline. Any legal threat to Oliphant to try to accomplish this will be in vain as that matter is not in our control.

The Capital One account in question was opened in 2009 and last paid on in August 2012 and finally charged off in March of 2013 and sold to Oliphant in September of 2013. Attached please find copies of credit card statements from July 2012 through Feb 2013, all addressed to Mr. ****** at his Pennsylvania address.

Although all evidence points to the fact that this account is a legitimate account, we still need to establish the reason for Mr. ******'s dispute in order to respond properly to his complaint. If he simply is demanding that we cease collection efforts then that correspondence could have been sent directly to us without involving the BBB which requires that we respond. With that being said, Oliphant will not take any further efforts to collect on Mr. ******'s account.

Please ensure that the attached account information is protected from any inadvertent disclosure. Thank you for your time and attention to this matter. Please let me know if you have any further questions or concerns.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Re guarding your response, I am unclear if you will be removing the account off my credit reports. I will only accept a response from your company resolving this issue by stating the removal off my credit reports. You have not sent me anything on what the charge is for??? How is this VERY enforceable??? You are stating and reporting an amount on my credit report without any supporting documentation. Then the rest I already asked for signed contract and itemized billing for such charges. Do you not get that I will *** your company if no removed off my credit report in under 3 weeks? You can upload anything to the BBB for what I have requested and nothing has been sent to me. I am asking you to remove the information off of credit reports. That Simple !!!

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.