BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/03/2012

Money Transfer Systems, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (727) 499-7002Fax: (727) 499-7003View Additional Phone Numbers2635 McCormick Dr Ste 102, ClearwaterFL 33759-1065FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides ACH payment processing and electronic check recovery services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/03/2012

BBB has determined that Money Transfer Systems, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Money Transfer Systems, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Money Transfer Systems, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/20/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
******* Company has did check Xchange on checks that were not written to them plus charging $30 dollar fees that was not even written to them.
I have done business with a gas station called ****** for over 20 years and never had a problem. The checks are written to them. Now all of a sudden on my bank statements there is this check Xchange, not my check that is run through my bank with ******* Company as the payee. I have never done business with ******* Company and no it is not ****** with a different name. They have ran 16 checks with each one having a $30 fee plus that put me overdrawn with my bank and other checks also were sent back and on top of the $30. dollar fee my bank has charged me $17.00. The checks were not written to ******* Company and therefore they have no right to debit my account in anyway. This is fraud and a violation of my privacy. I have requested copies of the checks from them but they say they do not have them. So where are my checks? I was contacted by the owner of ****** who said this company had 3 checks come back on me and he would get them so they could be picked up which we did. They were made out to ******, why did this man not contact about the other 13 checks they say they had?? I believe it is illegal for anyone to play in someone's checking account. It might be different if we had an agreement with ******* Company but we don't even know who they are.

Desired Settlement
I want all my overdraft fees returned to me, that they caused by playing withdrawals out of my account and charging such fees and causing other checks to also go back and accrue fees also as a direct lie from them trying to cash in when they should not have had access to my account. If there was a problem with my checks they should have went back to D&L 66 and dealt with there. The total I deserve back is $1,415.00. By law they were not entitled to do anything to my account without my agreement which they never had.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

Money Transfer Systems in contracted with ****** Bank where the parent company of******* is a commercial customer. The parent company is known as ******* Company, Tulsa OK. We collect the checks for******* that are returned for insufficient funds. In addition to attempting to collect the face amount of the check, we also attempt to collect the state allowable NSF fee; which in this case is $30.

The 16 checks in question were returned for insufficient funds and per our agreement with ****** Bank the fees charged are valid and accurate. We have sent a copy of the checking history to BBB in addition to this response.

Additionally, we reached out to ******* Company in goodwill to ascertain if they wish to reimburse any of the NSF fees. We will follow up to this correspondence when more information is received from ******* Company.

***** ****
Executive Vice President

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not satisfied with the response given by Money Transfer. I Bank at ****** Bank in Nowata and they knew nothing of this Company ChecXchange or Money Transfer. I have spoken to other ****** Banks and they are also not familiar with them.******* does bank at ******, the same one that use and ******* is not the Parent Company of*******, all ******* Company is a supplier of gasoline to*******, not affiliated in business together other than a consumer relationship, meaning D&L buys and sometimes consigns fuel from B&M and D&L sells to his customers. As I said in my complaint, I have done business with******* for at least 20 years. I have spoken to **** ********* the owner of D&L and he knew nothing about this and has never had a check taken care of by ChecXchange, he was not aware of any kind of Company like that and does not approve. I also spoke with *** ****** of *******, he also is not aware of this Company taking over checks and charging extra fees. His checks, if one is sent back to him for being overdrawn it comes back to him, as does******* and they take care of them their selves. I have never written a check to *******. *** said if a check is written to******* it would definitely not be changed to his Company as the payee. Money Transfer, according to your records, said on August 26, 2013 "We did hear back from ******* Company and we agree that the fees are valid. There were 16 checks written over a 45 day period. No offer will be made out of goodwill to refund any of the fees." Well *** ****** says he never called Money Transfer but they did in fact call him, he did not know who they were or how they got his number, but then they asked him if they should return the fees to me, in which *** replied yes definitely, they are very good customers of*******. I have also spoke to Money Transfer on numerous occasions and asked for copies of my checks and each time they have refused to provide me copies. On three different occasions I was told that a supervisor/manager would call me back but I have yet to receive that call or copies of my checks. I tried to call them again and you get a recording that tells you to push 3 for customer service, 4 for sales, or star for a directory, it doesn't matter which you push it says it is an invalid entry. If you write a check to one business how can they change the payee to another business, then not provide copies of your checks. Maybe because that is fraud, changing the payee. Out of those 16 checks, *** ****** from B&M brought 3 of those checks to*******, that is who they were made out to and they were taken care of, although Money Transfer still charged $30 per check. Why were the other 13 checks not treated the same? Instead they were changed to a different payee and never have we seen a copy of them. If ****** has a contract with Money Transfer, our ****** has no knowledge of, would the checks not all be treated in the same manner? I have spoken to both owners of*******, whom I do and have done business with and do write checks to, and have spoken to the owner of ******* Company who I do not do business with nor have ever written a check to, They both have told me that they do not and have not done any business with Money Transfer/ChecXchange whatever they call their self and have no agreements with them to take care of any checks for them. It is a Fraud for someone to remove money from a checking account without authorization and changing the Payee is a direct attempt to change a check that they refuse to provide copies of and further that fraud by lies. I have not given any authorization for ******* Company to remove money from my account and the Money Transfer think they can change a payee to further their theft of money from my account. *** ****** the owner of ******* Company does not understand why they would change the payee from******* since neither one of these companies even know what this Company is trying to pull but they agree it is wrong.

Final Business Response
I sent her $420 last week after ****** Bank requested me to do so. I have attached a letter from ****** Bank explaining the confusion. ****** Bank has an existing contract with my company and has since 2011. I can supply proof of this as needed.

07/10/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/12/2010Business started: 11/28/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Financial Services
200 E Gaines St
Tallahassee, FL32399
(877) 693-5236
http://www.myfloridacfo.com

Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach
100 S Myrtle Ave Rm 202
Clearwater, FL33756-5520
(727) 562-4567
http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp

BBB records show a license number of CCA9902073 for this company, issued by Department of Financial Services. Their web address is http://www.myfloridacfo.com.

Type: Collection Agency

BBB records show a license number of BTR-0030050 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach. Their web address is http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2006, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Melvin D. Ora (Director/Chairman/CEO)Customer Contact: Mr. M. Craig Metz (Senior VP of Operations)Mr. Harry Johnson (Director/President)
Business Category

Check Verification & Recovery Service, Check Cashing Protection Systems Providers, Collection Agencies

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

Please contact support@checxchange.com or call 800-208-2964. Please ask for the Customer Service Manager and mention you saw us on the BBB web site.

Service Area

Entire United States

Alternate Business Names
Achxchange, ChecXchange

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Money Transfer Systems, Inc.

2635 McCormick Dr Ste 102

Clearwater, FL 33759-1065

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2635 McCormick Dr Ste 102 

    Clearwater, FL 33759-1065(800) 208-2964
    (877) 343-1823

  • PO Box 936 

    Dunedin, FL 34697-0936

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Money Transfer Systems, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 208-2964
  • (877) 343-1823
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Check Verification & Recovery Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.