BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/24/2012

Bendele Abbey Carpet & Floor

Phone: (239) 936-7176Fax: (239) 936-232611998 S Cleveland Ave, Fort MyersFL 33907-2971FacebookGoogle+

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We supply and install all types of carpet, Area Rugs, wood, vinyl, tile for home and business.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/24/2012

BBB has determined that Bendele Abbey Carpet & Floor meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bendele Abbey Carpet & Floor's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bendele Abbey Carpet & Floor

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tile floor installation done with many uneven tiles, sloppy joints and all baseboards ruined. This tile was to replace wood they installed improperly.
We has"peyton green bamboo" wood floors installed in July 2012. The price was $12,200 which included carpets in 3 rooms that are fine. They were installed improperly and began to "buckle" within a few months.When I contacted the owner/manager ***** about the problem he spent months "figuring out what to do". He stated that they should no longer use this type of wood in Florida due to high humidity and that this fact plus the lack of moisture barrier under the floor was why our floor was warping. I did ask the salesman **** ****** (who is no longer working there)if the floor would be a problem for exactly that reason at the time of purchase and I was assured I would have no problem.
In June 2013 ***** told me that he would have to send people to test the floor for leaks/water damage first. I agreed knowing that we have had no problems. Both of the testing services agreed and stated that it was the fact that the floor had not been acclimated to the home before installing, there was no moisture barrier and this floor is a problem in Florida.
Finally in August 2013 installers arrived to put in tile after they had ripped out the wood flooring. The tile installers, led by ***** were extremely sloppy. Many of the tiles are uneven, felt simply by walking on them, but to be more technical if you run a quarter across them, the coin will keep getting stuck at the uneven edges.
I had made numerous calls to ***** over the course of these months and only once did he call me or return my calls. He was never proactive in seeing that my job would be completed properly even when I requested that of him.
To continue, the tile floor was not just uneven, the edges where the rooms "met" other rooms were chipped and full of cement and grout and probably the worst problem is that the grout and cement was not cleaned off the tile properly and there are several dozen areas of this cement/grout mess stuck all over our tiles with a dirty haze on all the tiles that will not clean off.
Add too this absolute mess the fact that all of our baseboards have been ruined and need to be replaced. They have been chipped at, cut and all areas have been left with a dirty brown grout stain that will not clean off. (I have already received 1 quote for over $375 just to replace the baseboards).
I had asked ***** to please make sure that this job would be done by the best tile people he has. I imagine he did not because everyone that has come in my home is horrified that this business could ruin my floor not once but twice.
He never once came to my home to see the problem or to make sure it was being fixed properly knowing how upset we were. He never once initiated a call to me to check on the quality of the job being done and even when I called him concerned that the tile installation seemed very messy, he did nothing.
I have never experienced such poor quality and service in my life. I now have a second ruined floor from Bendele Abbey Carpet & Floor that will either have to be redone at at great cost or "fixed somehow" also at my cost.
We even went to the store on 9/6/13 with pictures of the floors/baseboards to show him because he did not return my call and he said he could try to send the tile guys back when they were able.(please note it took them 2 weeks to complete our floor-that in itself was poor). I do not feel comfortable with the poor worksmanship of these people to allow them to do anything more in my home.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded the price of the floor. As I stated, we paid $12,200 which included 3 bedrooms carpeted. Our invoice does not show the breakdown of pricing, but the area of flooring I am discussing (living room, dining room, hallways, entryways)is in the range of 1000 sq ft.
I had originally explained to ***** that we are reasonable people and would prefer settling this outside of a court scenario. At this point I am reconsidering because this entire affair from start to finish of "both" floors has been so horrendous. I will try (the BBB) this route first though in hopes that I can be compensated and that they will make changes in the products they sell, the installers they use and the (lack of) customer service they provide.

Business Response
I am very sorry that Mrs. ******'s experience with our store has been less than excellent. We will immediately return to her home and fix any problems with the floor.
The delays in replacing her floor were due to solving why the original floor failed. We used the proper adhesive and followed the manufacturer recommended trowel rate and coverage rate. This adhesive, along with the supplied trowel, provides the moisture barrier. However, the moisture level in the concrete subfloor is too high for stranded bamboo. Because the bamboo floor was not defective and the adhesive was not defective, it was ultimately the responsibility of Bendele Abbey Carpet & Floor to replace the floor so that our customer would be satisfied and happy with her flooring and her home. We replaced her floor with a more expensive, higher quality, color body porcelain tile.
Our tile installer has been with us since January, 2004. I will make sure that we correct all problems, including the baseboard.


Final Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We have not heard from anyone.

Final Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The wood guy called the customer on Monday and she said she already had the baseboards replaced. There is nothing else we can do to satisfy the customer. The original issue was with the flooring, no one would take responsibility for the moisture issues so we stepped up and replaced the floor even though it was not clear who was at fault. We even allowed her to change to a higher priced material without charging more. We replaced the floor but the customer was not happy about the time frame.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/26/2004Business started: 09/09/1975
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Lee County Business Tax Receipt

Fort Myers, FL 33901
http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria

BBB records show a license number of 8800409 for this company, issued by Lee County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2010, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Craig Bendele (President)Mrs. Dina Bendele (Vice President)
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers-New, Tile Sales, Tile & Marble, Floors - Hardwood, Vinyl Flooring Suppliers, Floor Materials - Retail, Carpet Stores, Ceramic Tile Companies, Floors - Laminate

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMSun: 12:00 PM to 04:00 PM
Service Area

Fort Myers, Cape Coral, Estero, Lehigh Acres, North Fort Myers, Clewiston, Labelle, Alva, South West Florida

Alternate Business Names
Abbey Carpet, DCB Flooring, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bendele Abbey Carpet & Floor

11998 S Cleveland Ave

Fort Myers, FL 33907-2971

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 11998 S Cleveland Ave 

    Fort Myers, FL 33907-2971(239) 936-7176
    Fax: (239) 936-2326

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bendele Abbey Carpet & Floor is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Carpet & Rug Dealers-New

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.