BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/30/1999

Cornerstone Kitchens, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (239) 332-3020Fax: (239) 479-7854View Additional Phone Numbers3150 Metro Pkwy, Fort MyersFL 33916-7517

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/30/1999

BBB has determined that Cornerstone Kitchens, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cornerstone Kitchens, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cornerstone Kitchens, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/18/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The delilvered countertops color did not match the small sample. After months of phone calls the owners son/salesman never took care of the problem.
On 8/13/12 they installed new countertops. They had a very mauve/purple color vs the small sample
we chose from. We were not informed that would happen with that color choice. Our tile floors are a beige/almond/brown color which totally clashes. **** Jr., the owners son, did come out & saw how badly they clash, and said he would work out a deal to change them out. He kept giving us stories about selling them to someone else who was fixing up a house to resell, and after several weeks that "person" decided he did not want them. Then he said he could remove the countertops & put them in a garage for other customers to see that might want that color, and then he could give us more of a discount. That did not happen because he never answered any of the phone calls we made to him for several months after. Evidently he never put anything in the records about the problem, so Cornerstone says they can't or won't do anything about it now in the way of compensation. After all the waiting and unanswered phone calls, we decided to have someone else put in new countertops. So Cornerstone says they "would have worked out something" for replacing the countertops, but since we have already made other arrangements they won't do anything. **** Jr. always told us to call his cell phone and not to call the office number, so there are no records of the many times we tried to contact him in the last couple of months or so. Now we find out he is no longer even working there. You would certainly think you could trust your salesman, who is the son of the owner, to tell you the truth and to look out for his fathers business as well. They advertise they want satisfied customers,"wowed" as they say, but we are far from "wowed". I have 3 more bathrooms to redo and they would have probably gotten that work too if they had properly done their job & followed up to see if the customers was satisfied, and if not, to see what the problem was.

Desired Settlement
We would at least have some compensation for all the aggrivation and delays. I offered to them that they could have these countertops back and was told no,they don't resell them. If they don't why did **** Jr. keep telling us to wait & see if they could find another customer for ours ?? We paid $5,548 for the countertops/cabinet refacing & installation. I would like to think they would be willing to reimburse us a portion of that for all the run around we were given by his son that we trusted was telling us the truth.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***********, Vice Pres.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******************
This is an unfortunate situation. The customer chose a color that doesn't look well with their existing décor. They never let anyone at Cornerstone know for almost a year. Here we are a year later and they finally call. I offered to work something out to replace the countertops with new ones at a discounted price; however, they had already hired another company to replace them.
Had they purchased a Jeep from Galeana that was White and didn't like it a month later, called the salesman and told him, and never called the dealership, then a year later hired a body shop to paint it and present Galeana with a bill for the paint job. This doesn't even make sense, just like my complaint answer above.

Consumer's Final Response
In reference to your call today, I am sending the attached pictures again that **** Jr took of our countertops, and wrote his cell number for
people to contact so he could explain that he could re-configure these to fit other kitchens. At first he told us about a contractor he had spoken
with that he thought was interested in buying them for a house he was fixing up. So, **** kept saying the guy hadn't made up his mind yet so
we just kept waiting, until finally he decided we should try & sell them around here in Cross Creek. He had said he could probably give us
about a $1,300 off the discounted price of new countertops. So, we agreed to wait a little longer and see. Actually, ****'s daughter who
works in the office, is the one who ran the pictures of the countertops off for **** Jr. His small printer did not do a very good job so he had
her do them several days later on a better printer.

Monday Feb. 4th, we followed **** over to the workshop where they have many slabs of granite, etc. to look at. There was a large slab of
******** color granite that we had decided on. He told them to hold it for us, and I think he either wrote or was going to write our name on
it. They did have one of the fellows break off a chunk of one corner so we could bring it home to be sure it looked ok. This location was a
couple of blocks over from their Metro office. The man working in the workshop was the brother of the guy who installed the original counter-
tops. In fact, we asked him if he was the same person, and he said " no, that was my brother who does the installation". We still have the
corner piece they broke off of that slab.

At first, **** Jr was good about returning call within a day or two. As time went on, it took longer to get any call backs. We heard....."I got
rear ended in Naples", "I was in the hospital ", " I accidentally erased your phone number" etc. We were very patient, didn't push the issue
and kept waiting because we liked ****, and never dreamed there would ever be any real problem. After all, he was the son of the owner.
Why would he be anything but honest about everything. Finally, after my patience ran out and I could not stand it any longer, I had someone
else replace the countertops.

We have been dealing with and stressing over this since last August. I would like to think that some compensation would be offered by the
company that advertises they "stand behind every job". I would be satisfied and my faith somewhat restored in Cornerstone, if they offered
us $1,200 for all of our aggravation.

Sincerely,
***** & ***** *****

Business' Final Response
***** here is my take on this job from the beginning. I see the pictures of countertops that look absolutely beautiful, but they are solid surface and they got tired of the color. The job was done well and it was sold $450 below where it should have been sold. I believe they wanted to buy new tops and in doing that my son tried to help them sell their old ones. This is not something we would normally do. There was nothing wrong with their tops. They decided to buy new tops and not from us so why in the world would I pay them anything. We sold them a job a year ago. They paid for it. They bought new tops from someone else and now want me to pay them. This has become a joke from my son trying to help them sell their old tops to trying to get us to pay for them. This is the most bogus claim I have ever seen. I tried to find fault with my son on this but he was trying to help them get granite. They should not have bought the granite especially from someone else expecting us to try and sell their old tops. Take a look at the pictures. The tops look great.

Additional Information

top

The owner of this company, Anthony Leeber, also owns Cornerstone Builders of SW Florida, Inc. A separate BBB report is available for this company.

BBB file opened: 10/26/1998Business started: 03/31/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Lee County Business Tax Receipt

Fort Myers, FL33901
http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria

BBB records show a license number of CFC1427207 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 9700474 for this company, issued by Lee County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 0702251 for this company, issued by Lee County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CBC1253280 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony J. Leeber (President)
Business Category

Cabinet Makers, Counter Top Suppliers, Marble Distributors, Granite Distributors, Kitchen Remodeling, Remodelers, Kitchen Bath Remodelers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cornerstone Kitchens, Inc.

3150 Metro Pkwy

Fort Myers, FL 33916-7517

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3150 Metro Pkwy 

    Fort Myers, FL 33916-7517

  • 7700 Tamiami Trl N 

    Naples, FL 34108(239) 593-1112

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cornerstone Kitchens, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (239) 332-4238
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Cabinet Makers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.