BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/18/1998

Bay City Plywood

Find a Location

Phone: (813) 621-2198Fax: (800) 432-7916View Additional Phone Numbers4335 E Hillsborough Ave, TampaFL 33610-5244

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/18/1998

BBB has determined that Bay City Plywood meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bay City Plywood's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bay City Plywood

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/05/2015Problems with Product / Service
02/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SALESMAN & I CONTACTED EACH OTHER BY EMAIL, AFTER MEASURING AT MY HOME FOR CABINETS. MEASURMENTS FOR ME WERE CORRECT,CONTRACTOR SKETCH HAD 1 WRONG.
I AM A LICENSED REALTOR IN FLORIDA. ON MY FIRST VISIT TO BAY CITY PLYWOOD I HAD A SALES WOMEN,I EMAILED MY MEASUREMENTS & SKETCHES. NEXT VISIT I WAS TOLD SHE WAS NO LONGER THERE. SALEMEN ***** ***** MEASURED FOR MY KITCHEN CABINETS AT MY HOME. ON FIRST SKETCHES A BASE CABINET (36") WAS THE PROPER SIZE. ON THE QUOTE INITIALS WERE USED INSTEAD OF DESCRIPTION OF CABINETS - SRB33, BTD24, BEPO4 -STILL DON'T KNOW WHAT THAT IS. ALSO QUOTE PRICES CHANGED THE DAY OF DELIVERY. I CALLED SALESMEN ***** ***** AND FELT STUPID WHEN HE SAID SRB33 IS SINK RIGHT BASE 33". I'VE GOTTEN ESTIMATES FROM HIGH END COMPANIES - EVERY WORD WAS SPELLED OUT. I STARTED WITH THIS COMPANY IN LATE MAY, WE DISCUSSED CROWN MOLDING. SALESMEN ***** ***** DID NOT KNOW THAT WITH MY DESIGN MOLDING DOES NOT WORK. THE SKETCHES WITH MEASUREMENTS FOR THE CONTRACTOR WAS EMAILED TO ME - I SENT TO CONTRACTOR. I DID GLANCE AT PRINT - WAS NOT TO MY UNDERSTANDING - WAS FOR CONTRACTOR. DELIVERY DATE WAS JULY 27, 2013. INSTALLATION WAS PLANNED FOR MID-WEEK. AFTER CABINETS INSTALLED, I CALLED SALEMEN ***** ***** SAYING- THERE SHOULD BE MORE SHELVES FOR THE 2 UTILITY CABINETS. HE SAID I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR SHELVES - SOME PEOPLE USE WITHOUT. ABOUT 5 OR 6 WEEKS LATER I CALL WITH A COMPLAINT AND WAS TOLD OH, YOU HAVE SHELVING HERE THAT WASN'T DELIVERED. WHAT IF I NEVER CALLED? SPOKE TO OWNER GOES BY NAME ******** HE WOULD REFUND FOR MOLDING. I RETURNED THE ONE SHELVING KIT THAT WAS DELIVERED & CROWN MOLDING & MAGIC MARKERS I DID NOT ORDER. NOW I GO BACK TO ORIGINAL SKETCH & SEE THE 36" BASE CABINET MEASUREMENT -WHAT WAS SENT WAS A 33". TWO OTHER ORDERS WERE NOT SENT 2 BASE END PANELS & FINISHED ENDS. I RETURNED CABINET TO STORE, OWNER KEEPS TELLING ME LAZY SUSAN CABINET IS WAITNG FOR ME TO PICK UP , I WANT A FULL REFUND FOR THEIR MISTAKES. I WAS CHARGED TAX ON THE $175 DELIVERY FEE. HOW MANY PEOPLE QUESTION THAT NOT LEGAL CHARGE? ON OCT. 17,SALESMEN ***** ***** CAME TO MY HOME TO DISCUSS PROBLEMS, HE COULD NOT SHOW ME WHERE THE 2 BASE END PANELS WERE INSTALLED. WHEN HE REALIZED HIS MISTAKE (I POINTED OUT) (YES, A 36" CABINET WAS REMOVED TO BE REPLACED WITH A NEW 36" CABINET, WHY WOULD I DO SMALLER? NO ANSWER)HE RAN OUT SAYING I WAS SHOUTING AT HIM -HIS DISCUSSION TOOK 12 MINUTES.PRIOR TO THIS VISIT, I SENT THE OWNER *** EMAIL SKETCHES WITH MEASUREMENTS AND EMAILS BETWEEN ME & SALEMEN AS PROOF OF THEIR OVERSIGHT. NO REPLY FROM **** ON DAY OF DELIVERY I DATED AND SIGNED ALOT OF PAPERS FOR THE DELIVERY. CONTRACT STATES ALL (VERY HEAVY & LARGE) BOXES MUST BE OPENED AND INSPECTED. THIS IS FOR CONTRACTOR TO DO, NOT ME- HAD BOXES IN GREAT ROOM % OUTSIDE. PAPERWORK STATES BAY CITY PLYWOOD TAKES NO RESPONSIBLY FOR ANYTHING TO DO WITH THIS DELIVERY, ETC. ALL THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN FRONT & CENTER ON THE QUOTE. DISCLOSURE, DISCLOSURE! I NEVER SIGNED A CONTRACT UNTIL THE ONE HOUR DELIVERY ENDED. THIS IS CALLED DISCLOSURE. I MAILED 2 CHECKS UP FRONT- SEPARATELY MONTHS BEFORE THE ORDER. I ASKED FOR RECEIPT IN JUNE, JULY, AUG, FINALLY 2 WEEKS AGO WAS SENT COPY BY EMAIL. THE OWNER *** WILL NOT MEET WITH ME TO SETTLE, SAID WE WOULD BE RE-DISCUSSING. A CHECK FOR $936.99 WAS SENT TO ME. AM NOT CASHING. THE BALANCE THAT IS OWED TO ME IS $1,761.38. BAY CITY PLYWOOD HAS CLOSED TWO STORES THIS YEAR. HOW MANY OTHER PEOPLE ARE AS SORRY AS I AM FOR USING THIS COMPANY? MAKE MY REFUND FOR RETURNED CABINET/LAZY SUSAN, NOT DELIVERED PANELS & ALL TAXES INCLUDED. THEN, AT LEAST I CAN SAY COMPANY CORRECTED THEIR OVERSIGHT. WAITING FOR MY CHECK OF $1,761. THANK YOU, REGARDS, ******* ******, ******* ********* ******* SPRING HILL, FLORIDA XXXXX

Desired Settlement
A CHECK MADE TO ******* ****** FOR THE AMOUNT OF $1, 761.

Business Response
Ms. ****** did start her process with a salesperson who is no longer with Bay City.
Once I was contacted I looked into her design and followed up with her by fax and phone and at some point email.
She had a specific look in mind which resulted in multiple changes being made to her design over the weeks we talked about it.
This would also include the entire design shape and layout changing again after her measure was done to confirm the fit.
The customer and the contractor doing the work were asked many times to come in and go over the design changes.
However they were both too busy so after roughly 10 days Ms. ****** asked me to email the design to her.
I had the contract all printed waiting to go over so I took it and had it scanned into a format I could email.
She went over the design and signed off on the special order contract approving the cabinets .
After receiving the cabinets and installing them she contacted us to voice some things she had questions on.
One of which being the amount of shelves in her utility cabinets which she had installed 2 per cabinet I was unaware of the number.
As I did sell her 4 for each. We set a date and time to come and look at the cabinets for her which I had followed up and had found out
One set of 4 shelves had not been shipped with her cabinets. I had them with me and still have them as well as the installed corner base.
That she dropped off at my store. She needs this cabinet and the shelves to complete her order as designed.
These are a special order product and are not returnable.
She was issued a refund for Crown molding that was not used and approved for return by our owner as well as the tax on her delivery
and another piece of molding that was overlooked during the multiple changes that were made.

Please contact me with any other questions you may have.



Final Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I do not accept the refund amount. The company did not properly measure which caused them to send material that was not needed. I want to return the matieral for refund. I have attached the original documentation. The June 17th drawing you can see "LS 36", the hand sketched drawing showing "Lazy Susie 36"' again. The email from ***** ***** dated June 19th shows the quote with the cabinet $7,523.71 including crown molding which we later found out would not go with these cabinets. *** should have known that, he is the professional. I paid for crown molding that I didn't need. They did give me a refund of about $900 but I paid for other things that were not needed. The supply list shows the Lazy Susie that was delivered was 33" and the business was going to use spacers to make up for the difference in the measurements. I returned the 33" lazy susie and I called the business before I returned it to question the shelves the box of roll out shelves. I ordered 8 shelves but only received 4. He said that was what I ordered so I went out and bought racks to go in the closet to make it work. Then months later I found out they did have the shelves, I told them to keep them and want to return the other shelves as well.

I want a refund for the following:

Sliding Shelves that were delivered (returned to their shop) - $320
Second set of sliding shelves that weren't delivered (returned to their shoo)- $368
Crown Molding (returned to their shop) - $717
BEPO2 End Panel (not delivered, don't know what this is)- $91
33" corner lazy susan base cabinet (returned to their shop)- $1073
Polish (did not order, returned to their shop)- $32

Received a check from the company that has not been cashed $936.99

Still seeking $1665 (this total is less than the original total request because I was originally asking for tax to be refunded on the items listed above.

Final Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The additional refund she is asking for is for material she ordered and installed and then changed the plans and uninstalled. The material she returned was used and cannot be refunded. Also she is referring back to the quote but that design changed before the contract was signed.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/04/1992Business started: 01/01/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL 33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

BBB records show a license number of 10829 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1979, FL

Business Management
Mr. Carl Lewis Dunbar (President)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Poole (General Manager)Mr. Rick A. Buathier (Treasurer)Ms. Gail Przybylski (Vice President)Mr. George Purvis (Manager)Mr. Joe Slack (Manager)
Business Category

Cabinet Makers, Plywood Veneer Materials Suppliers, Roofing Material Suppliers, Home Kitchen Cabinetry Equipment Suppliers, Cabinet Stores, Building Materials Suppliers, Ceramic Tile Companies

Products & Services

This company offers retail building materials.

This company offers retail sales of building materials at wholesale prices.

This company offers retail building materials.

Alternate Business Names
Cabinets by Bay City Plywood, Maxwell Products, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bay City Plywood

4335 E Hillsborough Ave

Tampa, FL 33610-5244

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4335 E Hillsborough Ave 

    Tampa, FL 33610-5244(941) 746-4333
    (813) 621-2198
    Fax: (813) 620-1277

  • 6706 N 54th St 

    Tampa, FL 33610-1912

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bay City Plywood is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (727) 697-1500
  • (941) 746-4333
  • (727) 535-5055

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (813) 620-1277
  • (727) 697-1589
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Cabinet Makers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.