BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/02/2010

Statistics Solutions, LLC

Phone: (877) 437-8622Fax: (727) 342-77172641 McCormick Dr Ste 101, ClearwaterFL 33759-1036View Additional Web AddressesFacebookTwitterLinkedInGoogle+

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We provide educational consulting, business consulting, researcher consulting and statistical analysis software.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/02/2010

BBB has determined that Statistics Solutions, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Statistics Solutions, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Statistics Solutions, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Statistical Solutions failed to use the correct form of data and failed to provide figures as agreed by the deadline on the contract.
Statistical Solutions was hired on or around January 31, 2012 to perform statistical analyses on data for a research study to be submitted to a scholarly journal. The contract indicated that the work (analyses, tables, figures) would be completed by February 1, 2012. However, there were two problems with the work of Statistical Solutions that resulted in the February 1, 2012 contractual deadline being breached: 1) the data analyses were performed incorrectly by using the wrong variable type, 2) there were no figures provided representing the data analyzed. In addition, Statistical Solutions disclosed and disseminate confidential information in violation of the contractual agreement.
The decision regarding the publication of the research study was received on or around November 8, 2012 with a letter indicating that the study would not be published because the statistical analyses performed was incorrect. The editor-in-chief of the journal and expert peer reviewers explicitly indicated the problem with the data analyses; the ''covariate age was ordinal, but an ANCOVA requires the covariate to be continuous.''
The problem of the incorrect statistical analyses performed and no figured provided to provide a visual representation of the data was brought to the attention of Statistical Solutions on or around November 12, 2012. Statistical solutions acknowledged the mistake in the data analyses and re-performed the analyses on two out of six of the ANCOVAs originally agreed upon. Furthermore, Statistical Solutions failed to provide figures for the original (incorrect) analyses and the re-performed (in-part) analyses provide on or around November 12, 2012. In addition, upon further evaluation the mean or average age of participants, as associated with the data, was provided incorrect (7 +/- years, rather than 6 +/- years).
In an attempt to remedy the time and money associated with the incorrect statistical results and failure to provide figures associated with the data analyze, both original and re-performed, a dispute with the credit card company was filed and an investigation opened. However, no refund or portion of refund was provided. It was at this time that Statistical Solutions breached the contractual agreement again. Statistical Solutions ''agrees not to disclose or disseminate the confidential information confidential and proprietary information without the expressed prior written consent of the Client.'' Statistical Solutions provided the members of the card services bureau with all correspondence and the statistical analyses results conducted. There was no written consent provided for the dissemination of this information in whole or in part.
Statistical Solutions violated the contractual agreement - they provided incorrect statistical analyses results and failed to provide the associated figures by the deadline February 1, 2012. They were aware that the analyzed results were part of a study being submitted to a scholarly journal, and by the very nature of this knowledge it should be implied that they were aware that the time-frame for research study review and decision making by the journal/publisher and their two-week policy for services to be disputed were in conflict. Furthermore, Statistical Solutions breached the contractual agreement by disseminating confidential and propriety information to a third party without written/signed consent.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a full refund for services in the amount of $1,175. However, I am willing to consider a reduced refund, because a portion of the services were provided.

Business' Initial Response
We have been trying to reach ****, but haven't had much luck. He has schedule a time to speak, but then doesn't answer when we call at the scheduled time. We aren't quite sure how to proceed from here. We have done all of the extra work he has asked for, at no extra cost, we have tried to work with him, and we are willing to keep working with him to resolve the issue, but it is not possible when he doesn't keep his scheduled appointments.

Regarding a refund, it seems as though he presented his best case to the credit card company (we have already dealt with his dispute with the credit card) and they deemed that a refund was not appropriate in this case. We don't believe a refund is appropriate either, because all of the work that was requested (plus additional analyses) have been completed. With every client we say we will work with them until they are satisfied, but again, it is impossible to work with him without contact.

We are definitely willing to speak with him to work to resolve any issues that he has. Maybe you can organize a time for all of us to speak? We certainly don't want this to affect our BBB rating, and we are at a bit of a loss on what to do. It seems like the only way he will be happy is if he gets a refund, but we don't believe that is fair, as we did all of the work that we were contracted to do. Please let me know your thoughts and how we should proceed.

Thanks,
******* *****
Director of Operations
Statistics Solutions

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Statistics Solutions said, that they "don't believe a refund is appropriate... all of the work that was requested (plus additional analyses) have been completed."

First, there were no additional analyses completed unless the incorrect and 1/3 of the correct analyses are counted. The entire CORRECT analyses were only 33% completed.

Secondly, as indicated in the contract, did Statistics Solutions provide a "figure" to support either the initial incorrect analyses or the corrected analysis?

Answer: No figure was provided.

Thirdly, the analyses completed by SS included an incorrect categorical covariate without attention to the fact that the covariate should have been continuous. If Statistical Solutions can officially state for the record that running an ANCOVA with a categorical covariate is correct, then I will withdraw my case and gladly publish their response on the internet -- as a break-through in statistical analysis.

Lastly, I did indicate to Statistics Solutions that I would be willing to communicate in writing via email, however they declined my request. They have lost my trust -- any verbal conversation would need to be tape recorded. They indicated that they scheduled appointments, however there was one phone call scheduled, and they were made fully aware that my ability to communicate by phone would be limited and might be unsuccessful.

I am not requesting a full refund, but only a refund to cover the percentage of work that was not correctly completed. There were six analyses, supporting figures and tables. Four of the analyses were not correctly completed and no figures were ever provided.

Please provide a response to each of the points raised above, in full, and indicate whether or not Statistical Solutions is willing to make a good faith effort to provide a partial refund.

Thank you.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/22/2006Business started: 01/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach
100 S Myrtle Ave Rm 202
Clearwater, FL 33756-5520
(727) 562-4567
http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp

BBB records show a license number of BTR-0032094 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach. Their web address is http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Melissa Moran (President)Dr. James A. Lani PHD (Owner/Managing Member)
Business Category

Business Consultants, Educational Consultants

Products & Services

This company specializes in dissertation consulting, quantitative and qualitative research and analyses, customer intelligence, and customized software for quantitative analyses.

Alternate Business Names
Statistics Solutions

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Statistics Solutions, LLC has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Statistics Solutions, LLC

2641 McCormick Dr Ste 101

Clearwater, FL 33759-1036

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2641 McCormick Dr Ste 101 

    Clearwater, FL 33759-1036(877) 437-8622
    Fax: (727) 342-7717

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Statistics Solutions, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Business Consultants

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.