BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Expert Security Professionals LLC

(813) 390-10514620 Castlewood Rd, SeffnerFL 33584-3813

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company provides residential and commercial burglar alarms, closed circuit television cameras and systems, fire alarms, medical emergency response systems, security gate access systems, and audio visual home theater installations.

BBB Accreditation

Expert Security Professionals LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Expert Security Professionals LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Expert Security Professionals LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Expert Security Professionals supplied inferior equipment, company said they will not honor contract unless I spend more money. Basicly said sue me.
I signed a an agreement with ESP on X-XX-XXXX to install a fully functional security system that could be accessed from a remote location. The representatives name is ************
The work was to be completed on X-XX-XXXX or X-XX-XXXX as per contract. I was told that all equipment needed would be provided as per contract. The technicians did install a Dvr and 5 cameras. I added to the order another camera as the technicians suggested and paid for entire contract via credit card. I had to buy a router from wal-mart, get a working computer and install the day the technicians installed their equipment. ************specifically told me that I did not need a computer as the Dvr has a hard drive and no mention of buying a router. Before the technician completed their work they informed me that Someone would have to come back to program the Dvr and set me up so that I could access cameras from remote location. They provided me a receipt for bill paid and noted someone would have to come back to install camera as the added one to the order installed did not work and programming would need to be done.
I called ************on many occasion from that time until present and received voice message. Never had a problem getting him on phone when he was selling and now I do.
I sent many voice messages and e-mails to try and get him to complete the job. **** always had an excuse as to why he could not make it. The last message sent to ************was to schedule for a Friday appointment and asked for him to let me know if the date would work for him. He never confirmed via e-mail or phone except on that day. He left a message on my cell phone that he would be there within the hour. He had all week to confirm and now he calls to let me know he will be there in an hour. I was obviously not available and did not check messages until later that afternoon. I did not call him back that evenning because he was obviously not at the location and I figured that it would be best for me not to call as I was thinking unpleasant thoughts about this rep with poor communications and lack of planning!
I will prove my communication attempts through my phone logs as per the provider and can also prove his communications through a subpoena once we reach that stage. I also have all e-mails for the record from myself and from ************ The company and ************feels their defense for not fulfilling the agreement is that I did not show up to an appointment so the only way they will come out is if I spend more money. The company and ************has stated that the appointment was confirmed through a phone conversation ,on a Sunday a week prior. This conversation never took place between myself and ************and both of our phone records will prove that. Tell ************and ESP to provide a phone log via their provider as it should reflect date,time and the amount of time the conversation supposedly took place. They will not be able to provide that as it did not happen! So, the problem is the Dvr only records up to 4 days in which I was told by ************and the techs that installed that it would hold up to 20 days of continuous recording. I paid for extra items to make it work that I should not have had to pay for, I paid for 6 working cameras and received 5, I can't access from a remote location for free via Internet as promised. I have communicated on X-XX-XXXX and X-XX-XXXX with ************to try and meet this Friday X-XX-XXXX and he said he would not be coming down and he would talk to the company on how they want to handle it.
I received that as the usual excuse of why the jobs not getting done. I communicated to him that if it is not completed I will take him and ESP to court for breach of contract.
I received an e-mail from a ****** from ESP for whom I don't know .
He into many words said you missed the appointment and if you pay $100.00 we will come down to fix other wise file a claim with the court.

Desired Settlement
Simply do the job you were contracted to do. I paid on time and have not received any where near what I paid for.
Iam not paying any more money.

Business' Initial Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

We had already worked out a resolution with this customer before he filed a complaint. Everything has been taken care of.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/24/2012Business started: 01/27/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395

Hillsborough County Contractors License
5701 E Hillsborough Ave Ste 1140
Tampa, FL 33610-5428
(813) 272-5600

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL 33602-4156
(813) 635-5200

BBB records show a license number of EF20001009 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of EF20001009 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 252481 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Hottle (Managing Member)
Business Category

Burglar Alarm Systems Dealers, CCTV Companies, Medical Alert Companies, Emergency Response Systems - Personal, Medical Alarm Companies, Security Systems Consultants, Security Cameras, Security Control Equipment Suppliers, Audio-Visual Consultants, Home Theater Equipment Providers, Electric Door Gate Product Suppliers, Fire Alarm System Companies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Expert Security Professionals LLC

4620 Castlewood Rd

Seffner, FL 33584-3813

To | From


1 Locations

  • 4620 Castlewood Rd 

    Seffner, FL 33584-3813(813) 390-1051

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Expert Security Professionals LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Burglar Alarm Systems Dealers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.