BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

American Used Boats, Inc.

Phone: (941) 915-5505

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
11/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not meet the terms of our purchase agreement for a used 210 Boston Whaler Outrage and boat trailer mechanical inspection report.
Purchased used Boston Whaler 210 Outrage and tandem axle Magic Tilt boat trailer from American Used Boats on 08/01/2013. During the mechanical inspection I received on 07/30/2013 which is part of the final purchase agreement it was determined that the sump pump needed to be replaced. The total cost to replace the sump pump was added to the purchase agreement for $350.00. As indicated by the signed purchase agreement the boat, trailer and sump pump were paid in full by wire transfer of funds that were received by American Used Boats 08/01/2013. However the sump pump was never installed due to a parts supply issue with the servicing dealer. It was agreed that the boat would be delivered as scheduled on 08/09/2013 with the understanding that the sump pump would be shipped to me. To date I have never received the pump. I have reached out to **** *******, CEO of American Used Boats three times via e-mail on 09/06/2013, 09/13/2013 and 09/15/2013. I have left two phone messages for **** as well on 09/18/2013 and 09/20/2013. As of 09/23/2013 I have not heard back from **** regarding this issue.
The second issue is the mechanical inspection report did not fully disclose the condition of the trailer. The mechanical inspection report states the trailer is in good condition and the only issue found was minor dry rot on tires. However the trailer brakes are not functioning and the hydraulic brake system including hydraulic actuator, hydraulic lines, and foundation brake assemblies need to be replaced.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded for the sump pump that I never received in the amount of $350.00 and compensated for repairs needed to the trailer brakes, this amounts modestly to $902.00 in parts. Total reimbursement being requested is $1,252.00.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

There were a couple of things this customer wanted done before he purchased the boat. We agreed to make the repairs and the one in question, sump pump, was not done. We agreed that we would either send the pump to him or refund the $350 and that issue should be taken care of this week.

As far as the trailer, he knew the tires were dry rotted. We talked about buying $500 worth of new tires and I told him I would personally drive the boat and trailer up to him and if there was any problem with the tires I would buy new ones. There was one problem with the axle and lug nuts. We repaired that problem and the customer never mentioned anything about brakes or wanting anything else besides the sump pump. There is nothing we can do about the trailer at this point, the boat and trailer were sold as-is.

Final Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I did receive the $350 for the sump pump so I am all set on this complaint.

07/23/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** ******* at American Used Boats misrepresented the boat that he was selling me. The boat had numerous known problems and they are a fraud!
I bought a boat from American Used Boats on May 7, 2013. When I first began the buying process, **** *******, the salesman, talked me out of getting a survey done on this boat (2006 Boston Whaler Outrage 240) stating that this boat is pristine and only had 31 hours on it. I went ahead and used his mechanic to do a full inspection. When I received the boat, it was clear that it has a mouse/rat infestation, found the oil was overfilled and leaking (needed a new powerhead), needs a new power steering pump, etc. His "mechanic" told me that the engine was in pristine condition. I made the mistake of trusting this company and it was a very big mistake. Mr. ******* completely misrepresented the product and did not speak of any of the infestation or mechanical problems. He did mention some minor problems such as the lights, live well pumps inop, and fish box pump inop but completely failed to disclose the major conditions of the boat. I emailed him about my problems but obviously, as a fraudulent salesman, he did not return my email or make an attempt to contact me.

Desired Settlement
I want a very reasonable $2000 in settlement to recoup some of my costs.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************************
**** ******* represented the 2006 Boston Whaler 240 Outrage to the best of his ability. He disclosed all known issues that the boat had prior to the mechanical inspection and prior to the sale. The rat infestation claimed by the customer was said to be under the floor of the boat, in an area that was completely out of sight to *************. It is the mechanical inspector's job to discover such issues, that is what he is paid to do. We highly recommend a 3rd party mechanical inspection on every boat we sell and the case was no different with this boat. This is stated in black in white on our "About Us" page on our website http://ww***********************/about.aspx. Although the mechanic used for the inspection of this vessel is one that we did recommend, he is NOT OUR MECHANIC. He is a 3rd party, independent mechanic, *******************, and we had used him in the past without issue. Since this incident, he will no longer be recommended by American Used Boats. We always give our buyers the option: either hire your own mechanic to do a full inspection or we can recommend one we have used in the past who produced a good, accurate report (whether it led to a sale or revealed problems that prevented a sale--we would obviously rather not sell a vessel with problems because it leads to the customer blaming us, as is the case with this complaint). We would never recommend a mechanic that we think would do a phony inspection just to make the sale. We have proof of this with several invoices from ******************* of accurate mechanical inspections that led to the sale of the boat and a happy customer. We regret that **** ************** did a poor job inspecting this vessel, in retrospect we are sorry we recommended them, but their track record gave no indication that they would do anything other than provide a thorough, accurate, inspection providing full disclosure.



On 6/21/2013 we attempted to contact this customer by phone (we got a voicemail and left a message stating that we wanted to resolve the issue) and by email (requesting that he call ***** the company president ASAP and that we were prepared to attempt a resolution. We have yet to hear back from this customer.



We were prepared to offer a reasonable settlement to show some good faith but this customer has made zero effort to contact us since this date. Let the record also show that this boat was bought "as is, where is" as stated on the purchase agreement and we absolutely are not liable for these issues although we deeply regret that they occurred. The liable party in this case is **** ************** who provided an inaccurate inspection. During the time that the customer claimed we were not responding to his emails, we were addressing this issue with **** ************** and attempting to come up with a resolution before we provided a response. **** ************** refused to help pay for any of the damages incurred by our mutual customer and we made it very clear to him that by refusing to do so he would receive no further business recommended by American Used Boats.

Note that we are unable to attach the mechanical inspection report from **** ************** to this form, but this document and any other supporting documents will be provided upon request. Please contact us if you would like to see the report.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.