BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/27/2013

Mattress Dr.

Phone: (813) 889-9020Fax: (813) 304-2591

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
12/28/2012Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered mattress 23 Sep 12; never received it; after my requests, on 26 Oct 12, they told me can't fulfill--I should dispute charge; won't credit me.
Ordered tempurpedic mattress on 23 Sep....was to be delivered in 2 weeks...everytime I called they said next week. Then on 26 Oct, they told me they can't fulfill my order and I should dispute the charge...they won't credit me. They won't answer their phone or my emails anymore. They are a fraudulent company who stole my money; didn't provide me with product; won't credit me...and told me to dispute my charge!!!!

Desired Settlement
Money back...they should be prohibited from conducting business...they are thieves.

Business' Initial Response
NOT OUR CUSTOMER-THIS WAS PURCHASED THROUGH AN EBAY STORE THAT WAS NOT AFFILIATED WITH OUR BUSINESS.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is an outright lie...I contacted the Mattreedr at their phone number as listed on their website, Mattressdr.com...they charged my Amex card directly after I gave them my amex number and they still have not delivered a mattress or refunded me...I have NUMEROUS emails from one of the owners, ****** ******, telling me to dispute the charge with Amex...saying his merchant account has been locked out...which Amex said is not true. I will attach the latest email from the owner of Mattressdr telling me he owes me the money but I need to dispute with Amex. Amex even told me MattressDr could credit me...but they are still holding onto my money and I have not been credited.

Business' Final Response
Hello- all three were ebay orders that unfortunately processed payments thru mattresssdr account which linked us to the transactions. That said once our supplier failed to fulfill the orders the customers were refunded by our merchant processer-paypal and I sent you proof of the refunds so all three cases should be closed
******


****** refunded

------------------------------
-----
Transaction Details
*********************


Buyer's name: ****** ******
Transaction ID: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Transaction date: Sep 23, 2012
Transaction amount: -$3,599.00 USD
Invoice ID: 8885
Case #: XX-XXX-XXX-XXX-XXX
Your transaction ID: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

We carefully reviewed this case and unfortunately, we cannot dispute the
chargeback your buyer filed with their credit card company.

This transaction was reversed for the following reason(s):

Per your response, you accepted liability for this chargeback.

The payment has now been returned to the buyer and removed from your PayPal
balance. The chargeback fee charged by your buyer's credit card company
was also deducted from your PayPal balance.

To learn more about fees and how we investigate transactions, click "Legal
Agreements" at the bottom of any PayPal page and then click "PayPal User
Agreement."

If you have questions about chargebacks and how to avoid them, log in to
your PayPal account and click "Help" at the top of any page.

Thank you for your patience and cooperation. We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,
PayPal

12/18/2012Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a mattress from this company on 09-20-2012,and never received it.
On 09-20-2012 I purchased a tempurpedic rhapsody king from mattressdr.com. The purchase was made over the phone. Several times after that I called to check on the status of my purchase. On October 19th I was told by ****** (salesperson) that my mattress had been loaded on to the delivery truck,and would be headed my way in one or two business days.I waited until Fridat the 26th to call him back and all I get is a recording on the phone. I viewed his latest sales on ebay and he has done the same thing to several buyers this month.

Desired Settlement
If I could just receive my money back I would be satisfied.Also please make sure he is unable to victimize anyone else.

Business' Initial Response
NOT OUR CUSTOMER-THIS WAS PURCHASED THROUGH AN EBAY STORE THAT WAS NOT AFFILIATED WITH OUR BUSINESS.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not purchase the mattress through ebay.It was purchased over the telephone directly with this store.I have a receipt that will verify that. I was offered a $100.00 discount NOT to purchase through ebay. Please explain why I am unable to contact the business? Thank you.
****** ******

Business' Final Response
Hello- all three were ebay orders that unfortunately processed payments thru mattresssdr account which linked us to the transactions. That said once our supplier failed to fulfill the orders the customers were refunded by our merchant processer-paypal and I sent you proof of the refunds so all three cases should be closed
******


****** refunded


------------------------------
-----
Transaction Details
*********************


Buyer's name: *** ******
Transaction ID: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXV

Transaction date: Sep 20, 2012
Transaction amount: -$2,799.00 USD
Case #: XX-XXX-XXX-XXX-XXX
Your transaction ID: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

We carefully reviewed this case and unfortunately, we cannot dispute the
chargeback your buyer filed with their credit card company.

This transaction was reversed for the following reason(s):

Per your response, you accepted liability for this chargeback.

The payment has now been returned to the buyer and removed from your PayPal
balance. The chargeback fee charged by your buyer's credit card company
was also deducted from your PayPal balance.

To learn more about fees and how we investigate transactions, click "Legal
Agreements" at the bottom of any PayPal page and then click "PayPal User
Agreement."

If you have questions about chargebacks and how to avoid them, log in to
your PayPal account and click "Help" at the top of any page.

Thank you for your patience and cooperation. We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,
PayPal

12/14/2012Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Card was charged, and item was never delivered.
On September 27th I ordered a Tempurpedic Cloud Luxe Queen mattress with adjustable base from MattressDr. My order was taken by the manager ******, and I was issued a paid invoice #XXXX. The purchase amount was $4100.00.

I was told the mattress would ship within 10-12 days. After 14 days I called to inquire about where the mattress was, and I was told they were a bit backed up and it would be a couple more days. A week later I called again and was told the same thing. I got into an online chat with the store owner on google chat, and explained how it has now been over 30 days and I have yet to get any form of tracking info or expected delivery date. He informed me their supplier closed down 2 weeks ago and they can't get the bed and that I should dispute the charge on my credit card. Below is the transcript of the chat.

me: Hi ******, Do you have a minute to chat?
******: ref to?
me: This is in regard to Invoce XXXX
Invoice*
Sent at 9:34 AM on Monday
me: I ordered a mattress from you guys over a month ago, and have heard nothing about when it will arrive. When I call to ask I just get told Tempurpedic is a bit behind and you guys expect in in 3 days, or 4 days. Then 3-4 days go by and nothing again. I was originally told 12 days for delivery. It's now been over 30 and I'm getting a bit frustrated.
Sent at 9:36 AM on Monday
******: I am very sorry- our supplier has not delivered on product we paid for and we have no date as to when this will be resolved- I recommend you immediatly put in a dispute on your card , that will be the fastest way to get your refund. again i sincerely apologize for this mess
me: are you kidding me
do you guys just wait for liquidators to deliver random items
and hope that they match what you are collecting money for
Why don't you issue me a refund directly?
Sent at 9:42 AM on Monday
******: our supplier has fulfilled perfectly for three years- they were shut down by tempurpedic two weeks ago- the order was taken in good faith- we never scammed one single customer- this has ruined my business and I am really sorry we let you down- please dispute asap-
me: why cant you just do the refund
why do i need to dispute?
and why didn't ****** tell me that when I asked
Sent at 9:45 AM on Monday
me: So can you just refund the money directly?
Sent at 9:47 AM on Monday
me: Hello

Desired Settlement
I would like my $4100 back, since I never got the items and they claim they aren't going to be getting it for me. I don't believe that disputing a charge is the correct solution to the problem.

Business' Initial Response
NOT OUR CUSTOMER-THIS WAS PURCHASED THROUGH AN EBAY STORE THAT WAS NOT AFFILIATED WITH OUR BUSINESS.

Consumer's Final Response
I did the purchase outside of ebay. They said that since I was already on the phone with them we could just do it over the phone instead of through ebay so there wouldn't be fees. I've attached a screen capture from my credit card statement, and below is the info for quick viewing.

Description of charge: MATTRESSDR.com XXXXXXXXXX FL
Doing Business As: SWEDISHBEDDING.COM INC
Merchant Address: ***********************
Tampa, FL XXXXX
United States

Business' Final Response
Hello- all three were ebay orders that unfortunately processed payments thru mattresssdr account which linked us to the transactions. That said once our supplier failed to fulfill the orders the customers were refunded by our merchant processer-paypal and I sent you proof of the refunds so all three cases should be closed
******


****** refunded:
------------------------------
-----
Transaction Details
*********************


Buyer's name: ****** ******
Transaction ID: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXK

Transaction date: Sep 27, 2012
Transaction amount: -$4,100.00 USD
Case #: XX-XXX-XXX-XXX-XXX
Your transaction ID: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

We carefully reviewed this case and unfortunately, we cannot dispute the
chargeback your buyer filed with their credit card company.

This transaction was reversed for the following reason(s):

Per your response, you accepted liability for this chargeback.

The payment has now been returned to the buyer and removed from your PayPal
balance. The chargeback fee charged by your buyer's credit card company
was also deducted from your PayPal balance.

To learn more about fees and how we investigate transactions, click "Legal
Agreements" at the bottom of any PayPal page and then click "PayPal User
Agreement."

If you have questions about chargebacks and how to avoid them, log in to
your PayPal account and click "Help" at the top of any page.

Thank you for your patience and cooperation. We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,
PayPal

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.