BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
West Florida

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Easy Rest Adjustable Sleep Systems

Phone: (813) 626-1777Fax: (813) 436-9643View Additional Phone Numbers4719 Oak Fair Blvd, TampaFL 33610-7386http://www.easyrest.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells adjustable beds.

This BBB Business Review includes information for JLN Sonshine Bedding, LLC a distributor of Easy Rest Adjustable Sleep Systems, which covers consumers in the following states as of February, 15, 2012:

Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New York State, Florida, Washington, Oregon, Nevada, California, Arizona, New Mexico, Colorado, and Idaho.

The company headquarter's is located in Maryland and covers consumers in additional states. A separate BBB Business Review can be found for the headquarter location here:

http://www.bbb.org/greater-maryland/business-reviews/beds-a-electric-and-adjustable/easy-rest-adjustable-sleep-systems-in-baltimore-md-1972

BBB Accreditation

Easy Rest Adjustable Sleep Systems is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Easy Rest Adjustable Sleep Systems' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • 23 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Easy Rest Adjustable Sleep Systems' rating include:

  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues7
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service14
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 23

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (23)BBB Closure Definitions
07/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used high pressure methods

Complaint: I have terminal cancer and these people call me at least 4 times per day, they claim that I entered some kind of contest. I have asked them to stop.
They continue to claim that I gave them some kind of permission to call me, they tell me I won something, I tell them I am not interested but the harassment continues. I have cancer and enough to deal with to put up with their harassment.

Initial Business Response
We have looked up the phone numbers
And show no records of calling this person. The last time we called was in the year of 2003.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: We bought a ease adjustable bed from Easy Rest, we called on the third night of slepping on the bed and explain to **** our problem, she said the deal was not returnable, no refund or exchange, we tried to call several times and they were rude, they said they will call back and they never did, the bed is not right for my wife, she has many back back problems, and the bed is just make it worse, please help us to recover our money for the amount of $7386.17, we are poor, we bought the bed because the representative made us belive it was a great bed, that will cure all your ache problems and will help us to beath better, she described the mattres like the best thing that ever was invented, all the things that took to made the mattres its not through, nothing is the way the described
Product_Or_Service: 4-14-14
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
After much discussion over the last few months with Mr & Mrs ******, both parties have agreed to pick up the bed and Easy Rest will keep $2,000 and refund the balance

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: I ordered a bed that was delivered with the wrong mattress and broke after only three days. There still has been no replacement of bed or mattress.
I purchased this bed 8/15/13 and paid in full by personal check at that time. I received a call the following week to confirm the size of bed I'd ordered at which time they said I was getting a firm mattress. At that time I stated my regular bed was a sleep number and was used to a soft mattress. I was convinced to try the firm as it worked better with the Easy Rest system plus if I didn't like it they could easily send me a soft mattress. Aug 29th the bed was delivered and it was like sleeping on a rock. No way could I get comfortable. Aug 20th I called Easy rest to request the soft mattress. I was told that with the time change and the Labor Day holiday the person inn charge of materials management was unavailable until Tuesday and the new mattress would be sent out Tuesday by UPS and should get to me by Thursday. Sunday Sept 1st the tip of the bed broke, a bolt was found on the floor and metal piece was hanging loose. The Tuesday after Labor Day the main office in Florida was notified of the broken bed plus the mattress. By Wednesday the foot of the bed broke and still no mattress arrived. My daughter then tried to call the main office. We were told that the team that apparently does the deliveries are located in ****** and would not be to ********** for a few weeks. It has been three weeks with no mattress delivered nor has the bed been fixed. The beds are extremely expensive and are used by a lot of disabled and elderly people. Businesses' like this target the disabled and elderly as they are easy to take advantage of.

Business Response
We delivered this bed on 8/29/13. Customer did not like the firmness of the mattress and we replace it with a soft insert on 9/16/13. There was a problem with the base and we replaced the entire base on 9/27/13.
We have not heard from the customers since the base has been replaced. We will service the bed at no charge if customer is willing to have us come out.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation not consistent with advertisement

Complaint: Was supposed to get a free pillow for listening to
the sales presentation. Several attempts to
resolve the matter failed.
Same as above.

Business Response
Pillow was shipped out on 8/10/13.
Mr. should have it by now

customers response
bjb 10/25/13 Customer states she received the pillow. resolved

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: The company sent me two sleep systems that were defective. Once returned they refused to give me my deposit back. and they damaged my property.
On 5/13/13 I ordered an Easy Rest Premier model dual queen sleep System with a limited lifetime motor warranty. The salesman name was **** ******** I gave the salesman a deposit check for $200.00 and signed the contract. The original price of the bed was $5048.00. I called to cancel the order within my 5 day period, spoke with ***** and the price was dropped to $3000,00. The first system was delivered on 5/17/13 the motor was advertised as whisper power quiet motor However, it was very noisy. Repairmen came on 5/20/13 and double bagged the motor with staples to muffle the noise. The brace that holds the mattress in place was also broken. When that didn't work ***** ******* offered to exchange the system and deliverymen brought a new system which was still noisy. They said it was due to my hardwood floor which is carpeted. They then used coasters to try to help muffle the sound. They dropped the second system when installing it. That evening when I attempted to use the second system the head came up on one side only causing the bed to be lopsided and the foot to drop and stay in that position. The massage motor did not work at all. When they dropped the system it must have dislodged the motor from the base it also damaged my wooden bed frame. When I called again I spoke with ***** I asked when I would receive my refund and she said there would be no refund. At first I wanted to keep the bed until I got my deposit back. I was advised to give them back the bed. they came and took the second system away and still refused to give me my $200.00 deposit back and would not even let me tell them about the damage to my property. I spoke with both ***** and ***** to no avail. I have pictures of the performance of the system and also the damage to my property. The delivery men did not ask me to sign the second contract and when I spoke with the office I was told if I didn't sign the contract I would be turned over to the legal department. I never signed the second contract since they took their property back. I am now out of their sleep system, my $200.00 deposit and damage to my property.

Business' Initial Response
This is not our customer, this person is in the state of Maryland, this should go to that state.

Thanks

*****

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 4
08/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: this company is using predatory tactics they sold me and my husband the beds with manufacturer defects and we still have are 90 days warranty they
there are the owners ******* and ***** ****** they seem to be ******* or something because we are getting ripped off we bought a platinum series bed very expensive and there being ****** and try to avoid responsibility please help us

Initial Business Response
Ms. ******** and Mr. ***** purchased a bed from our company on April 12, 2014. We delivered the bed on April 18, 2014. Please see signed contract and signed delivery forms that I have enclosed.
I have also enclosed the signed copy of our Replacement Guarantee. This is for the inserts of the bed. Each bed has a zipper on the bed and with our beds the customer has the option to change the firmness of their mattress. This Guarantee is offered for 90 days; however it is the Ms. ******** and Mr. ***** may be confused and think that it applies to the mattress.
We received a call from Mr. ***** on April 23, 2014 stating that the casters would unlock and he felt the massage motor was louder on his side. We went out to his home on May 1, 2014 and attached both beds together, installed furniture cups, rotated mattress and inserts and tighten the massage motor.
We received another call on May 29, 2014 from Mr. ***** stating there was a hole in his mattress. He sent pictures to me and the hole was located under the mattress. Mr. ***** also stated that he rotates the mattress every week. In order to rotate the mattress you must pick it up and flip it. We felt Mr. ***** put the hole in the mattress when he was rotating it. However in good faith we replaced the mattress on June 10, 2014 at no charge.
We received another call from Mr. ***** on July 8, 2014, stating that there is a hole in the other mattress and he sent pictures again. After many conversations with Mr. ****** stated that the holes had been there from the very beginning and he had used a steam machine on the mattress. I determined that he had put the holes in the mattress not intentionally but somehow had punctured the fabric on the mattress. Mr. ***** became very upset with me and asked to speak to *******. (******* was out of the office). When I told him that he was not in, he became enraged. He then processed to harass us for the next hour calling 17 times, I explain to Mr. ***** that ******* was not in the office several times. He then harassed our office staff and has continued to harass them if he calls here.
******* and Mr. ***** did have a conversation on July 8, 2014, we offered Mr. ***** again out of good faith a "karat color" mattress and no charge because we over ordered on this color. He has refused to accept it and is insisting that it be a "chocolate" color. We also offered a chocolate mattress for $500.00, our cost plus taxes. Mr. ***** refused that offer also. At this time we will not replace the mattress with the chocolate color. We still stand on the offer of the karat color mattress.
I would also like to mention that on delivery Mr. and Mrs. wrote a check for S3,300.00 and that check was returned from the bank. We worked with them until they could pay it. We did not force them to pay right away and put them on payments. I say all this to make a point that both my husband and I do not use evil tactics on our customers. We have worked with Mr. ***** on several occasions. We have never once bullied them into anything.
We have stood behind our product and still have the offer for Mr. ***** of the "karat' mattress at no charge, though we believe that the holes were not there when we delivered the bed. In the pictures that Mr. ***** sent me, there was one picture of the other mattress and after blowing it up, there are no boles the in the mattress at that time.
The complaint of using "predatory Tactics" makes no sense. We have in no way plunder, pillage, robbery or exploitation Mr. ***** or Ms. ********.
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at the number below

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
when the above mechant stated that I would request more services are not accurate because they came much later because the brackets were forgotten so more adjustments were maid I wasn't focused on any cosmetic defect just, if any thing we were more focused on hardware issues like the motor. for Mr.****** to imply we had anything to do with the damage is not true.We just want a peaceful resolution.My husband I explained to Mr.****** that we invested all are hard earn money for for something in good shape, ever since it has been battle for more money I don`t understand were still on the factory defect and workmanship clause

Final Business Response
7/18/14 Easy Rest of Florida stands behind our response. We do not accept Ms ******** ******** response.

Final Consumer Response
**** Focus on the Evidence of picture #1 mind you, when I show this to a Judge this picture is going to be blown up 10 X, do you see a puncture hole its sort of facing the other side but you can still see it I asked them about it and they gave every excuse in the book, things like well he opening it? yea right on gravel. even worst excuse. Next two pictures notice that brand new beds are not in front where the beds would safe from prodding metal objects. There all the the way in the back... Now the last four pictures are the defective mattresses, Mat. #1 I casually stumbled upon / was replaced under Warranty all's well! Mat # 2 stumbled upon again on the other mattresses more defects there are more but those are like moth bites/ small ones. ** please I never experienced such negligence in my life, we have back problems that's why we purchased a high end bed plus we decide to by an American brand but it seemed the we chose the wrong because it all about more and more money for them! please ** help

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

06/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: March 30, 2014
I'm writing this letter of complaint to BBB for my mother, who is a senior in her mid 80s. She purchased an ''Easy Rest Premier- Adjusta
March 30, 2014
I'm writing this letter of complaint to BBB for my mother, who is a senior in her mid 80s. She purchased an ''Easy Rest Premier- Adjustable Sleep System''; purchased 2/17/14 bed under the impression that it would help her with her back, swollen ankles, and her respiratory system. She is dissatisfied with the bed, because as she puts in the recline position it moves off the base of the bed is angled off its base.
The company after she called came and added a spongy cloth (3/11/14) and next they plan to add a brace. She has asked for a refund within 10 days; however, the contract stated that she can cancel within 5 days, missing the 5 days cancellation. My mother shared with me the challenges she had within 2 weeks (end of February). Her concern with this company is the feeling of being taken advantage of because she is a senior.
I'm writing this complaint to demonstrate the safety issue of the bed, the taking advantage of her due to her age and the bed will not recline when she is in it, not to mention the fact that it moves and rises in an angle position. We are requesting a full refund and removing this bed from her home.

Initial Business Response
We have received the complaint from the daughter of Ms ****** ********

I have spoken to ** ******* today and she has no complaint concerning the bed. I gave her our phone number so she could reach us if she needed anything.

We went out on April 4, 2014 and installed side rails and a non slip pad to prevent the bed from slipping. She signed off that she agreed with the service.

If you have any question please feel free to call me at the number below.


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Today is April 13,2014 and I'm at my mother's house and yes the company did make the above stated adjustments; however, she has stated that the bed is "still sliding backwards". She is still not happy with the bed and is concern about her safety while she is in the bed. She feels that she was also coerced to sign the document for the service she received.e

In conclusion because this bed is not functioning as required - she does not want it; she wants a full refund and the bed removed.

I'm having challenges attaching photos of what the bed looks like not functioning appropriately. So my next response will include photos, if the bed and the refund is not reimbursed.
Sincerely, *** ** *******, daughter of ****** *******

Final Business Response
This is in response to the latest letter we have received from EBB.
We will not pick the bed and nor issue a refund.
Please consider this our last reponse.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Today is April 20th (Easter Sunday) and my mother stated she rec'd a letter Monday, April 13, 2014 stating that they brought a brace to prevent slipping. She stated the bed is still concern for her safety and she is afraid that she may fall on the floor.

This company has taken advantage of my mother's amiable personality and I'm concern that her safety is at risk.

The last letter she rec'd dated April 11, 2014 stated she must respond by April 21, so she will respond in snail mail with my help and I'm responding to this complaint through BBB website.
SHE DOES NOT WANT THE BED AND SHE WANTS HER REFUND OF THE PURCHASE PRICE.

As a concern daughter - my question to Easy Rest; would you want your senior parent treated like this if she was unhappy with the product that she thought would take care of her personal need.

I've attached a photo of the bed in a slipping position
G.******* for ****** *******

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

04/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Having more health issues with this bed than a normal bed. Both, me and my wife.
I purchase a Easy Rest Premier bed. i received the bed on the 16th Feb.After i received the bed i had to work out of town for a week.My wife has knee injuries(2 surgery) and i have lower back injuries and bad blood circulation in my arms and legs.While i was working , i receive a phone call from my wife(21st Feb) complaining that she has lots of pain in her knees from sleeping in the new bed.I returned home on the 22nd Feb, and customer service was closed.After sleeping alone in the new bed(my wife moved and sleeps now in my other bedroom) I start having pain in my lower back and every morning my arms and legs are swollen.I try and slept on the flat position and it is much better.So Monday the 25th Feb I called customer support and spoke with a supervisor, i explained her my problems and she said that i had time till 19th Feb to complaint about this and that now she will contact the owner and ask what can be done for me and that she will call me back.I waited till the 28th Feb and call them again.I spoke with a rep and she told me that I can't return the bed now and i have to keep it.What i'm suppose to do with a bed that we can't even sleep in it??? She told me to call next day after 1 pm. I was working and i didn't call in.I called today, 4th March and i asked for a supervisor.She said that she is on the phone and she will call me back.I waited an hour and i called them back.The receptionist transferred me to customer service and they never picked up my call.The supervisor never called me back, i don't have a bed anymore to sleep in, i'm afraid to touch the new bed so i can't even change the mattress with a different one.My wife sleeps in bedroom I sleep in living room. This is insane!!! I need to know how somebody can sell a bed with out firs testing it. I didn't do nothing to the bed, i put plastic on the top so it will not get damaged.I don't have place where to put it that's why i need them to come and take it out of my house so i can sleep back in my bedroom with my wife!!!!

Business' Initial Response
Mr. has spoken with our customer service person and they have agreed that we will send out a soft insert for their bed.
Mr. is passed the cancelation time period.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I didn't agree with the insert. I told them that I need a different bed in order to sleep at night. This bed is not compatible with our health issues. I will not hold on to this bed longer. I need to buy a new mattress. Sales rep give us wrong information's and there wasn't sufficient time to find this. I was out of town for work and i slept only 1 night in the bed. My wife she slept 2 nights and moved in my other bedroom. I sleep in living room and my wife in bedroom. I will not accept any other offers from you other than a return! If this is not going to be solved soon I will take legal actions against Easy Rest.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

12/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/05/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/05/2010Business started: 07/30/2009Business started locally: 01/02/2010
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

BBB records show a license number of 252741 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael J. Newman (Managing Member/Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Robin L. Newman (Vice President)Ms. Diane Peltzer (Customer Service Dir)
Business Category

Bed Retailers, Beds – Electric & Adjustable, Bedding Companies

Alternate Business Names
JLN, LLC, JLN Sonshine Bedding, LLC, Easy Rest Adjustable Beds

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Easy Rest Adjustable Sleep Systems

4719 Oak Fair Blvd

Tampa, FL 33610-7386

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4719 Oak Fair Blvd 

    Tampa, FL 33610-7386(800) 827-0195
    (813) 626-1777
    (800) 523-5383

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Easy Rest Adjustable Sleep Systems is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 827-0195
  • (800) 523-5383
  • (813) 699-4113
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Bed Retailers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.