BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/23/2010

Riverview Tire & Auto Service

Phone: (813) 677-4318Fax: (813) 671-1742View Additional Phone Numbers7839 US Highway 301 S, RiverviewFL 33569-4352FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/23/2010

BBB has determined that Riverview Tire & Auto Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Riverview Tire & Auto Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Riverview Tire & Auto Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
04/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They completed my brakes twice and within 4 months after the last repair my brakes were broken again
in Nov 2012 I had some parts repaired on my brakes, then again in Sept 2013 the same parts needed repairs again. they did the work under warranty. now in Jan 2014 4 months later those same parts need to be replaced again and now there is no warranty. I brought the car to another dealership and they found out that the brakes were installed incorrectly the last time riverview tire and auto completed the work. So now I have paid twice for repairs. I spoke with riverview tire and auto and all I get is that they did nothing wrong. There is no way in 4 months that I received new brakes that they need to be replaced again.

Desired Settlement
Not only do I want my money back because I had to get the work done again at a different location but I want an apology because I drive my 2 children around in that car. What if something else happened.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The vehicle is an older vehicle and the brakes were completely rusted. We replaced the brake lines but you can't buy perfectly bent lines from the factory on older vehicles like this. We had to buy straight lines and then bend them to fit. The customer had an issue with the way the brake lines looked so we took them out and replaced one completely at no charge. They worked perfectly fine and had no problem stopping. We did not replace the brakes, only the lines. They never brought the vehicle back to us to look at any problems, he just brought it to another dealership. He called asking for money back but never brought the vehicle in for us to look at.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First I am a woman, second I never got a line replaced by you. You must have me confused with another angry customer. You replaced my pads, Caliber,rooters,Not only did you this once but you did it twice within a year. then 4 months after you replaced the second time they went out again. There is no way all my pads, rooters and stuff was damaged withing 4 months.

Final Business Response
******* ***** initially came in on November 21st 2012. She brought in her own set of front pads to be installed and also needed to have the right front caliper, right front brake hose, and both rotors replaced. The work was performed and the car was released to the customer.
Ms ***** returned 10 months later on September 30, 2013 with a complaint of a squealing noise from the brakes. Upon inspection we found that the rotors would have to be replaced again. We indicated that there was almost certainly another cause for the wear to the rotors that needed to be looked into, but she insisted we only perform the work that was covered under warranty. So we replaced the rotors and released the car to her, reiterating that the original warranty would expire within two months and that we would no longer be able to cover further damage to the rotors caused by any other problems the car may have. The reason we stated this on the ticket was because we felt that the problem would occur again if the issue was not checked into further to find the root cause of the premature rotor wear. We felt uncomfortable that Ms ***** would not allow us to check the car more extensively and that she argued with us until we agreed to only replace parts which were currently under warranty.
Ms ***** did indicate that she went to have the brakes worked on somewhere else after the problem occurred again. Perhaps an invoice showing the brake work performed by the other shop may reveal what was causing the rotors to wear and shed some light on what was going on with the brakes. If this invoice could be produced I'd be happy to take a look at it.
Please contact me with any questions and/or further instructions.

Thank you.

******* *******
XXX-XXX-XXXX
Email: ***********@gmail.com

10/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misdiagnosted problem, work done was not do properly and did not fix the problem causing more damage
I dropped my car off in operating condition but with a broken hood latch and overheating. Riverview Tire said they could not find my problem initially but then diagnosed it as a head gasket after having the car for a few days. (Note Riverview originally dx the car on March 8 with head gasket problem and charged $25) I needed to raise the money for the repairs since car was drivable at that time. After Riverview had car for a week 6/8/14-6/13/14 it was ready for pickup Paid $1652.00 Car overheated within first 5 minutes. Returned car on following Monday 6/16/2014 Tech took all day checking car and stated it checked out ok. Car still had service engine light on and was still overheating.
Drove car for 5 days (see snapshot from progressive report) On Friday 6/20/14 went to ******** to see why car started hard & engine light was on, was told it was a bad 02 sensor which was not on when car was dropped off. Upon start up at ******** car would not start, tried over & over finally started with giant plums of blue smoke, OMG now what? Called Roadside assistance and was towed back to Riverview after a 4 HR wait. Asked owner **** if this time car would be repaired correctly. He asked what kind of question is that. Car was there for another 8 days 6/20-6/28 car was returned with enclosed receipt stating that radiator was leaking and condenser had plastic bag melted to it.
Drove car 4 miles home that day and had no thoughts of ever bringing car back to Riverview. **** the owner called and stated it cost him $1400 to refix car then asked if I needed a set of tires too. I called my bank to protest the charges. I cannot drive car because it would not hold coolant. Due to the wrong diag from Riverview, the car now has no AC and still overheats. One more call to let them know the situation, Owner **** stated they emptied the refrigerant thinking I was going to spend another $1000 to replace the radiator & condenser.
I took the car to another company to have the car checked out; they did over $800 in work and then informed me my head gasket is bad. What did Riverview Tire do for the$1652.00?

Desired Settlement
I would Like to be refunded & my car fixed and in working order & work not proformed by Riverview Tire at their cost. I would also like to be refunded for additional work that this cost me by having to take car to another shop. ***** proformed additional work on the car and then told me the Head Gasket was bad. This is what Roverview Tire was supposed to have fixed.

Business Response
On March 27th we looked at Mr. ******'s car for an overheating condition and a coolant leak. One of our technicians performed a block test and reported that the test revealed combustion contamination in the cooling system. Mr. ****** was informed of the test results, paid $25 for the block test, and then left.
On June 8th, Mr. ****** left his car in the overnight key-drop with instructions to check the head gasket. A block test was performed again with the same results. We then called Mr. ****** and informed him that the results indicate that the cylinder head gasket would need to be replaced. We negotiated the cost of doing a head gasket replacement with Mr. ****** and he approved the work to be done.
On June 16th Mr. ****** returned and stated the car was still overheating. We had one of our technicians look it over but he was unable to find the problem and the car didn't overheat while at the shop. The car was returned to Mr. ****** that same day.
When the car was towed back to us on June 20th, we determined that combustion contaminants were still getting into the cooling system somehow, and that the head gasket job would need to be redone. We did the entire job over again at no charge. While the car was being worked on the technician noted that the radiator was leaking coolant and that there was a plastic bag melted onto the ac condenser. There was also block sealant found in the radiator. Mr. ****** declined to have these two items repaired. We did offer to put in the Radiator and Condenser at no labor cost to Mr. ******, with him just being responsible for the cost of the parts.
Unfortunately the car was still overheating after the second head gasket replacement. Mr. ****** called the owner of Riverview Tire, ****, and informed him that there was coolant getting into the spark plug hole and he also stated that he did not believe Riverview Tire had his cylinder heads resurfaced and pressure tested by a machine shop. So **** put Mr. ****** in touch with ****** ***** at ******** where they actually had performed the resurface and pressure test on the car's cylinder head both times that the heads were taken off. Mr. Lopez told Mr. ****** to have someone get the cylinder head back off the car and back to him and that he would do whatever it takes to make it right. Being that Mr. ****** didn't want to bring his car back to Riverview Tire, we agreed to cover the cost of having another shop remove and reinstall the cylinder head with the purpose of sending it to ******** to be checked more closely. ****** gave Mr. ****** some recommendations on where he could take the car to have the cylinder head removed.
Mr. ****** apparently decided not to follow ******'s recommendation or to take up the offer proposed by Riverview Tire, and instead took the car to ******* and had the Radiator and Condenser replaced.
Our proposed resolution is for Mr. ****** to follow up on Mr ******** recommendation to have the cylinder head removed so Carquest can have a closer look at the head and make sure we're not dealing with a crack in the head that may have been initially missed. As we agreed to before, we will cover the cost of having the cylinder head removed and then reinstalled after it is looked at by Carquest.
Thank you for your time.


**** **** *******
Email: ***********@gmail.com
Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response to the letter dated 8/5/2014
The owner or no one at Riverview Tire ever offered to fix radiator or condenser at any time for cost or any price. I was never offered by Riverview Tire at any time compensation for repairs to be done. I did speak with someone at *** ***** and they stated that work was done to the Cylinder Head and valves were checked as well. With that being said, my bank and division of consumer services have both found in my favor. If Riverview puts in writing that they would pay for required repairs at no cost, I would gladly agree and withdraw my complaint and would not ask for further compensation for out of pocket expenses. ($800 pd to **** automotive for repairs to air conditioning and radiator,$300 for O2 Sensor, and Rental car expenses to date)


Final Business Response
Just wanted to note that Mr. ******'s bank performed a successful charge-back of the $1652.62 from our account on August 6

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As stated in the letter dated 8/12/2014. I am not satified and confused with Riverviews response. They responded that they would pay for the correct repairs. While they had the vehicle they did more damage to my vehicle causing me an additional bill from ****** The head Gasket still needs to be repaired. My car is still not drivable and I am looking for Them to either fix my head gasket at their cost or damages for rental fees incured and additional Automotive repair bill from *****. Until then i will not be satified and will need to file a small claims with the courts.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/10/1998Business started: 08/18/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Mayo Bldg Rm 217
Tallahassee, FL32399-0800
(850) 410-3800
http://www.800helpfla.com

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

BBB records show a license number of MV1593 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

BBB records show a license number of 7999 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1992, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John L. Hancock (President)Ms. Helen L. Hancock (Vice President)Mr. John P. Hancock (Secretary)Mr. James L. Hancock (Treasurer)Mr. Lawrence E. Mabry (Manager)
Business Category

Auto Repair Services, Car Diagnosis Shops, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers, Auto Air Conditioning Equipment Suppliers

Products & Services

This company offers full service tire and auto repair.

Alternate Business Names
Hancock's Fuel Oil, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Riverview Tire & Auto Service

7839 US Highway 301 S

Riverview, FL 33569-4352

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7839 US Highway 301 S 

    Riverview, FL 33569-4352

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Riverview Tire & Auto Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (813) 677-1067
  • (813) 677-6018
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.