BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
West Florida

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/23/2010

Riverview Tire & Auto Service

Phone: (813) 677-4318Fax: (813) 671-1742

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
04/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: They completed my brakes twice and within 4 months after the last repair my brakes were broken again
in Nov 2012 I had some parts repaired on my brakes, then again in Sept 2013 the same parts needed repairs again. they did the work under warranty. now in Jan 2014 4 months later those same parts need to be replaced again and now there is no warranty. I brought the car to another dealership and they found out that the brakes were installed incorrectly the last time riverview tire and auto completed the work. So now I have paid twice for repairs. I spoke with riverview tire and auto and all I get is that they did nothing wrong. There is no way in 4 months that I received new brakes that they need to be replaced again.

Initial Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The vehicle is an older vehicle and the brakes were completely rusted. We replaced the brake lines but you can't buy perfectly bent lines from the factory on older vehicles like this. We had to buy straight lines and then bend them to fit. The customer had an issue with the way the brake lines looked so we took them out and replaced one completely at no charge. They worked perfectly fine and had no problem stopping. We did not replace the brakes, only the lines. They never brought the vehicle back to us to look at any problems, he just brought it to another dealership. He called asking for money back but never brought the vehicle in for us to look at.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First I am a woman, second I never got a line replaced by you. You must have me confused with another angry customer. You replaced my pads, Caliber,rooters,Not only did you this once but you did it twice within a year. then 4 months after you replaced the second time they went out again. There is no way all my pads, rooters and stuff was damaged withing 4 months.

Final Business Response
******* ***** initially came in on November 21st 2012. She brought in her own set of front pads to be installed and also needed to have the right front caliper, right front brake hose, and both rotors replaced. The work was performed and the car was released to the customer.
Ms ***** returned 10 months later on September 30, 2013 with a complaint of a squealing noise from the brakes. Upon inspection we found that the rotors would have to be replaced again. We indicated that there was almost certainly another cause for the wear to the rotors that needed to be looked into, but she insisted we only perform the work that was covered under warranty. So we replaced the rotors and released the car to her, reiterating that the original warranty would expire within two months and that we would no longer be able to cover further damage to the rotors caused by any other problems the car may have. The reason we stated this on the ticket was because we felt that the problem would occur again if the issue was not checked into further to find the root cause of the premature rotor wear. We felt uncomfortable that Ms ***** would not allow us to check the car more extensively and that she argued with us until we agreed to only replace parts which were currently under warranty.
Ms ***** did indicate that she went to have the brakes worked on somewhere else after the problem occurred again. Perhaps an invoice showing the brake work performed by the other shop may reveal what was causing the rotors to wear and shed some light on what was going on with the brakes. If this invoice could be produced I'd be happy to take a look at it.
Please contact me with any questions and/or further instructions.

Thank you.

******* *******
XXX-XXX-XXXX
Email: ***********@gmail.com

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/10/2012Problems with Product / Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.