BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Peterson Auto and Truck Services, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (727) 329-8728Fax: (727) 329-8729View Additional Phone Numbers4655 118th Ave N Ste B, ClearwaterFL 33762-4453http://www.petersonautoandtruck.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Peterson Auto and Truck Services, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Peterson Auto and Truck Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Peterson Auto and Truck Services, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
04/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I would like to file a formal complaint as you have committed a severe injustice on multiple occasions, while claiming to "FIX" my car, but in fact replacing parts that had been previously replaced; and over-charging me in other instances; but at no time fixing my car.



To begin with on April 9, 2010 the intake gasket and thermostat radiator were replaced by ******** **************. My radiator was replaced on 4/22/10, and on 5/26/10 they replaced the head gaskets. On November 2010 the water pump was changed by a neighborhood friend, who is a Certified Service Technician.



My car was brought to you on January 15, 2013. On January 24 and 25th of 2013, you began working on my car (******** ****************************. During these two dates you completed the following work based on the fact that my car failed to start following my shopping in the mall for a period of three hours. It did not overheat, it failed to start! I called Triple AAA, and they jumped my battery. I left for NC the following day and a friend of mine stated he would drive it to your station, as he received car care in the past from you. He was taking it to you as I felt it might need a new battery.



You indicated on the repair bill the car did not restart because it was running too hot? This had not been the case prior to your station working on my car! The repairs you completed were as follows:

Engine mount block $53.33, Mount (R/S Engine) $135.65, Timing Cover Gasket $26.51, Timing Cover Bolt $6.89, Water Pump $46.03, Radiator $198.00, Thermostat $12.50, T Stat Gasket $2.83, Radiator Cap $15.53, Oil Pan Gasket $54.22, Balance Seal $55.75, Drive Belt $53.33, System Kit $0.00, Parts Discount -$66.06, for total $800.00. You also put in a Fuel Level Sensor based on me advising I had an oil leak $374.64. You also flushed cooling system, added cleaning additive, flushed in both directions for $99.95. Installed sealing agent and new antifreeze $79.71. While cleaning the vehicle secondary to the oil leak, you indicated the engine mount bracket was cracked in half and the mount was destroyed due to oil contamination. Upon removal o broken engine mount you stated you found one of the bolts that go into the engine was sheared off and broken in the side of the engine. $538.86. Labor discount of -$145.19 was applied. Total of all charges was $2,097.87.



*The right side engine mount should not have had to be replaced as it was just done in 2012. The water pump, radiator and thermostat were just done in 2010, and should also not have been required to be replaced. You replaced the entire cooling system and then completed an unnecessary flush on the new system charging me $100.00.



On 2/6/13, I pulled into a friend's home and turned off the car and noticed coolant leaking was pouring down the road! Your stationed towed my car to ********'s as it was under warranty. You advised me it was a faulty radiator cap (you had claimed you replaced my radiator cap in 1/13 and charged me for same. On May 25, 2013, Triple A was again called to tow my car to you due to overheating. Coolant was again put in. June 1st Triple A towed my car to you and I received another bill on June 6, 2013 for a total of $650.00, which included the following work: Intake manifold gasket $91.49, valve cover gaskets $31.10, and spark plug grommets $17.26, parts discount $27.97. Labor time $583.77. On June 10, 2013 you towed my car back to your shop due to failing to put the radiator cap on and the hood of course had not shut properly as the cap was in the way! On June 12, Triple A was called and towed my car due to overheating and you put coolant in once again. You towed my car for the last time on 6/15/13 promising the owner would work on it and fix it! Nothing was ever completed on my car properly-my car overheated repeatedly due to the negligence of your mechanics!!!



An automobile should NOT overheat after an entire coolant system and radiator have been replaced. The radiator cap itself was never replaced as indicated on your bill dated 1/25/13. You charged me $15.53 for this. The old cap is still on my car.



After having my car from 6/15/13 to 7/10/13 you advise me because I overheated my car so many times the motor now needs to be replaced. The car overheated because you failed to fix my car as promised after a total of $2,XXXXX! Never did I run my car while it was overheating-I immediately turned it off and as seen above it was towed back to you over and over, only for you to advise me it was again another problem. YOU OWE ME A NEW MOTOR DUE TO YOUR NEGLIGENCE!!!!!



My friend has looked over the car since me getting it home and has found two more discrepancies. The radiator fill bottle was so stripped out that he couldn't get the cap off even using a screw driver and states that must be replaced (cost $35.00) at Auto Zone, and you took off the 3-4 coil (spark plugs) and put an old one on-stating maybe this is why my car is running rough.



I'm a single woman with multiple medical problems living on Social Security disability, which is extremely limited. You have caused me extreme financial hardship, along with transportation problems causing me to miss doctor appointments, etc. Without the help of friends I would be stranded. I have had to take loans, as you know, just to pay the car bills and I am still paying off the last $650.00, without the benefit of a running car! I am requesting you replace the motor you have destroyed, because after excessive charges and replacing parts unnecessarily, you claim it is no longer any good.



The finally was you didn't even have the decency to tow my car back to me, because I am unable to afford to put a new motor in my car! So once again, using the last tow afforded me by Triple A for the year, I had my car towed to my home (unusable).

Awaiting your reconciliation of the above,

08/16/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/06/2012Problems with Product / Service
02/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repairs were done incorrectly 3 times, damage was done to my vehicle which they didn't repair, they sent me home in a death trap for a loaner
On 10/12/12 I took my 2007 Toyota Camry into ******'s to have my air conditioning checked as it was blowing warm air. I was told I had a hole in the condenser and it would cost $680 to repair. Wihin 2-3 days it was blowing warm air again , I called ****** & took it back to ******'s. They returned the car to me said they had replaced the O Ring & recharged the a/c. Within 2 days my a/c was blowing warm air again
I took it back on 11/12/12. Since I was going on a trip I asked them to check the a/c, change the oil, rotate the tires & check the car out for the trip. Got my car back they said the a/c leak was the evaporator core which required taking off the entire dashboard, the cost would be about $700. When I got my car back the oil change sticker said I needed to change my oil at 11,112 miles but I had 108,000 miles on my car; going thru Nashville @ 3AM the Maint Req light came on. I include this because to show how negligent they are in doing the small stuff. No quality control.
12/15/12 took my car back to ******'s to fix my a/c. ****** called 4pm car wouldn't be ready but they would give me a loaner for the night, finish on Saturday. The loaner was a Nissan, about 15 yrs old, the seats were black w/dirt & grease. The rear brakes ground so badly I could barely stop, the automatic transmission slipped so much I had to manually shift to get it over 15 mph to drive in traffic & it was on empty.
Car back Saturday as promised. When I got in to drive home I was so angry I just started crying. There were black greasy hand prints on my dashboard, radio didn't work, no AM stations & only 4 FM stations, There was a knick in my dashboard; a deep scratch on the front of my radio, the screen for the air vent by the windshield was sticking out where it had been put back on half way. My car was in pristine condition when I took it to ******'s. I met ****** at 7am Tuesday morning. He told me that the radio ''had not been retaught'' & he would fix the gash in my radio window and the knick in the dashboard.
When I got my car back the radio worked, the gouge on the radio was not as noticeable nothing was done to the dashboard & it looked as if the dash was still incorrectly aligned. ****** gave me a ''Car Care Kit'' which includes free oil changes and a free detail & other discounts. I called ****** a few days later, asked him to make some financial concessions for this disaster. He mentioned the Car Care Kit and I told him I wasn't sure I wanted to bring my car there again His attitude immediately changed to sarcastic & angry. I reviewed this entire mess with him and his comment to me was ''so you have a knick in your dashboard, BIG DEAL...'' It is a BIG deal, it's my car & he damaged it.
I explained that my car was in there 3 or 4 times to fix the a/c. I had talked to 2 mechanics 1 works for Toytoa, 1 an auto a/c specialist for over 20 yrs. Toyota regarding the radio, diagnosed the problem correctly within seconds of my describing the problem; the a/c specialist said there is a BIG question that if the O ring had been seated correctly during the first repair, the evaporator core may never have had to be replaced which cost me $704. I can't prove this nor can ****** because he didn't run the complete diagnostic of the a/c system when I took it there on 10/12/12. If he had we would have known the total problem and the complete cost to fix it.
I will say ****** worked with me on the bill. I paid ½ up front and gave him checks over the next 3 weeks to pay the bill. They have all cleared my bank. Based on the problems of this repair, inconvenience and shoddy workmanship, lack of concern for the customer's time, inconvenience or concern for my safety I feel a resolution to this debacle would be fair. During this time ****** was less than honest and condescending on at least 2 occasions. This is no way to treat a customer.

Desired Settlement
I have 2 seasoned mechanics both of which have questioned the necessity of the 2nd repair. Not that it didnt need to be done but would it have been leaking if the O ring had been properly seated in the first place. Also I used to sell Toyotas so I know more than most about them. ****** treated me in a very condescending manner on several occasions during this mess and shows no remorse. That tells a lot about his business ethics. I certainly don't expect a full reimbursement for the last repair bill of $704 but I think it would be fair to have at least 1/2 of it reimbursed since ******'s mechanics didn't run the diagnostics on 10/12/12 so we would know the full problem. As said in my complaint, I can't prove the incorrect placement of the O-ring which leaked causing more pressure on the evaporator which was the $704 2nd repair. But ****** can't prove that if they had placed the O-ring correctly therefore there would not have been a leak so no extra pressure on the evaporator so possibly the $704 repair could have been avoided. Since we neither one can prove this I think sharing the financial reponsiblility is fair. Also, I still have to have my dashboard fixed and have Toyota adjust the dashboard and the a/c isn't cooling properly so I have to have that looked at.

Business' Initial Response
****** ****** first visited ****** Auto and Truck on September 29, 2012. It was during this visit Ms. ****** asked us to determine why her cars A/C was blowing warm.
(See attached invoice #XXXXX). During a visual inspection of her automobile we saw the cars Outside Ambient temperature Sensor was broken off and had been banging against the vehicles A/C Condenser, and had made a hole in it. At that time the customer was made aware of the problem and cost of repair.
On October 12, 2012 the vehicle was returned to us for this A/C repair.
(see attached invoice #XXXXX); which included;
Labor time to remove and replace system expansion valve.
A/C system Evacuation and Recharge.
System Condenser and Expansion valve.
Totaling $679.55 which included a corporate discount of $150.34.

One month later, on November 12, 2012 The customer returned to have an oil change and headlamp cleaning service performed. At this time also stated the vehicle A/C was blowing warm and asked if we could find out why.
(See attached invoice #XXXXX).
Upon further inspection we found one of the O rings we had previously installed for the Expansion Valve had been nicked during installation. The damaged part was replaced, the system was fully recharged, and the customer was NOT charged for this issue.

Another month later, on December 14,2012 the customer returned with her vehicle stating that the A/C was blowing warm again. We found the system was completely empty of refrigerant. We charged the system again and proceeded to inspect it for leaks. No visual leaks were found on the system. We then performed an electronic test using a specialized tool that locates (Non Visual) leaks by detecting Hydrocarbons/Chlorofluorocarbons.
It was determined at this time that the cars Evaporator core was leaking.
The customer agreed to have this repair completed, totaling $704.59 which included a corporate discount of $158.78.
This was a HUGE repair, it requires the removal of the entire dashboard of the car, including the steering wheel, and both front seats, just to gain access to the evaporator case. There are literally hundreds of nuts, bolts, and screws involved in this procedure. Once the case is removed you can obtain the leaking core inside of it.
(We still have on hand this failed component) for review if needed.
We, with good intentions tackled this repair with the intent of being able to complete it by the end of our business day, which is 5:00pm. However due to the vast work involved in this repair we were not able to do so.
I called the customer prior to the end of the day explaining this situation to her. However, we were going to come in on our day off the following day to complete her repair, and get her car back to her. I also realized that she lives about 20 minutes away and has a varying work schedule, including nights and weekends, so I knew she would be stranded without a ride. I offered her some temporary transportation to avoid any financial hardships for her. We have a 1996 Nissan we use to run shop errands. I understand it is not the best thing in the world to drive, it does have its quirks, but it was a safe and reliable transportation alternative. One in which ****** graciously accepted at the time.

The following Monday morning December 17, 2012 Ms ****** was already in the parking lot waiting for us to open @ 6:55am. At this time she had concerns that her radio was not able to obtain all stations, the dash had a small nick in it, the radio faceplate had a scratch on it, and she wanted to make sure the dash was properly secured.
Upon inspection we did find the dash, and radio damage she described. we did all we could to polish the radio faceplate, and dash. We were able to correct the radio issue by re securing the antenna connector again, and found that her dash was not loose or crooked, or improperly secured. I personally went to pick up Ms ****** from her office on this day once we were finished with her car. I explained to her what we did, and what we found. I also gave to her one of our coupon books which would entitle her to multiple FREE oil changes, tire rotations, a set of wiper blades, a free car detail, and discounts on additional service work as well, totaling $581.00 in SAVINGS.
All of this was ABOVE and BEYOND the 20% discount Ms. ****** already received on these repairs because she works in our Preferred Employer Network. Between these 2 repairs the customer has already received discounts in excess of $300.00.
I understand the stress that this has caused our customer, and I am truly sorry for her experience. Cars are very complex, and their A/C systems have multiple components that can, and do fail.
Ms. ****** has been a wonderful customer, I genuinely appreciated her business, and
I am saddened to hear that she may never use us again, but I just simply cannot afford to lose any more on this vehicle.
On behalf of EVERYONE at ****** Auto and Truck; thank you for your business and we apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you.

**********************

Director of Operations
****** Auto and truck Services Inc.
XXXX XXXth*******************************************************************************

Consumer's Final Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

The customer does not accept the company's response and feels they are responsible for the second repair.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/02/2009Business started: 01/29/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Mayo Bldg Rm 217
Tallahassee, FL32399-0800
(850) 410-3800
http://www.800helpfla.com

Agriculture and Consumer Service
Sec'y of State, The Capitol PL-02
Tallahassee, FL32399-0250
(850) 245-5500

BBB records show a license number of MV75258 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

BBB records show a license number of MV81142 for this company, issued by Agriculture and Consumer Service.

Type: Department of Agriculture

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2009, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Peterson (President)
Business Category

Auto Repair Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Peterson Auto and Truck Services, Inc.

4655 118th Ave N Ste B

Clearwater, FL 33762-4453

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4655 118th Ave N Ste B 

    Clearwater, FL 33762-4453(727) 329-8728

  • 7121 9th Ave N 

    Saint Petersburg, FL 33710-4654(727) 343-4242

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Peterson Auto and Truck Services, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (727) 530-0510
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.