BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Pam's Motor City Automotive

Phone: (239) 278-0086Fax: (239) 278-171713395 Metro Pkwy, Fort MyersFL 33966-4704http://www.pamsmotorcity.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Pam's Motor City Automotive is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pam's Motor City Automotive's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pam's Motor City Automotive

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged for Pams Motorcity without any work, fixing on my nissan altima.
I took my car to Pam motorcity on 09/24/2014 with some Ac malfunction, the Ac system was switching on and off blowing hot air and cold. The technician charge me $50 dollars for diagnostic all ready done before when the change my left front wheel b ring "one wheel ($354 dollars) he told me the ploblem was the sensor  temperature switch and charge me $104.94 without any working on the car and told me to take the car back on next day, because he was going to order  "the switch"
The next day I went back and left my car with him...and nothing was done again when I went to pick it up, he told me that he order a wrong "switch " and tomorrow he was going to get the right one and charge me $157.75.
I got really frustrated after 4 days taking my car there and nothing was done, I ask to speak to the owner *** *****; she was not helpful at all question me about the deal,if it was good for her, I told her you are "the Best" and that was the reason of my car being there.
On the end of the next day,without any update of the car being fixed or not I decide to call the shop and ask how was my car, the employer told that he was going to call me back...
After 3 hours waiting the owner *** ***** Called me and told me to take my car to ********* Nissan, because "she could not fix it"
After all the harassment, time and money spend,I demand my $262.69 dollars refund!
I'm not satisfied how it turned, the advertisement of being "the best" didn't work, I was expecting 100% satisfaction guarantee. Pams Motorcity highlights soo many certificates, awards and to be "the best"
********* Nissan (autorized dealer)fixed it on the next day in 2 hours for $523 changing the 2 radiator fans, we'll done!
Ac is blowing super cold, freezing!
They couldn't believe that any Mechanic could fail to diagnose the ploblem.

Desired Settlement
Refund from a service that was never provide.

Business Response
8/26/14, 125850 miles (vehicle dropped off before customer went to work - works down the street from the shop; picked up after work)
********* had ASE Master tech check a/c (hot air, not cold); system full of Freon (tech now looking for electrical issue) checked power to compressor (none); checked power relay to a/c system; swapped with known good relay; a/c began working
9/24/14, 127510 (one month later)(vehicle dropped off before customer went to work; picked up after work)
********* had same ASE Master tech check intermittent a/c cold/hot; shop service writer called ********* to confirm symptoms and advised that vehicle's a/c system had not failed; vehicle sat overnight at shop; a/c would not operating next morning (9/25). ASE Master tech traced power to the receiver-drier switch, but no power out of the switch (ground ok). Need to replace faulty switch before continuing. Ordered switch (Nissan part); Told customer (see invoice) that we needed to replace switch, and recheck (due to the failed relay, now receiver-drier switch not common); customer took vehicle since part was not immediately available.
9/26/14, 127530 miles (vehicle dropped off before customer went to work; picked up after work)
ASE Master tech installed Nissan pressure switch; electrical circuit now complete. Power to and from pressure switch, but no power to thermal control amp (under dash, next to evaporator core). All grounds, again, ok. Ordered thermal control amp (Nissan part).
9/29/14 (vehicle dropped off before customer went to work; picked up after work) Nissan thermal control amp delivered part was incorrect. Called customer and advised. Customer picked up after work and wanted us to compensate him because Nissan delivered the wrong part. Advised customer that receiving the wrong part from Nissan was completely out of our control and there would be no compensation. I also advised him that I was not please with Nissan as well because my tech wasted his time removing panel and reinstalling for "free." I advised customer that Nissan said the correct part was to be delivered the following day.
9/30/14 (vehicle dropped off before customer went to work; picked up after work) Again,**** Master tech removed panel for part replacement. Nissan part delivered, and, again, wrong part. Called customer. Customer began blaming me. I, again, explained that all I can give the dealer is the vehicle identification number and the part needed. It was a thermoal control amp, but not one that would fit his vehicle. Customer began to swear and yell at me over the phone. At that time I explained that this relationship was over. He continued the swearing. I told him his next step was to take his vehicle to the dealership. I hung up. Customer came in after hours to pick up his vehicle and continued his unprofessional attitude with our tire manager. Tire manager advised him that his car was out front and to leave. The customer continued his rant to the point the tire manager was considering to call law enforcement. Tire manager, again, told him to leave. But, before the customer exited the building, he said that he was going to turn us into the BBB.
As for the cooling fans: the fans are on a separate circuit. The fans were working at that time. If the fans were not working, not only would the a/c not cool, the engine would overheat. The customer never complained that the engine was overheating at the time of no a/c. Both fans were working when the a/c was not cooling (it's one of the first, basic things checked). Also, the customer would have complained that the a/c stopped working when waiting at a stop light or stop sign (no ram air flow). This was not the case, as well.
The only relationship between the relay and switch replaced and the cooling fan assembly is the electronic command module (ECM). If there is an issue with the ECM, at the time of diagnostics, it was unfounded; it was functioning.
The customer may have more going on with this vehicle electrically that just cooling fan and a/c electrical malfunctions.
The customer agreed upon the needed repairs before repairs/diagnostics performed. He was kept informed even if he didn't like what we were telling him. He did not get charged for any extra services, no obscure shop fees, no obscure disposal fees. These services were provided w/documentation; the switch was replaced.
(Mailed supporting documents - invoicing, electrical diagrams)

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Why the business is not responsible for the diagnostic?
I'm not the only one with the same complain.
I was charged for something that was never done.
my car is here with all the paperwork from Nissan,you don't need to force you dirty way to make business. I know that you have to spend alots of money advertising the 'best' signs all over the door.
I feel complete sad for your employees been in this situation all the time. Honor doesn't have price, very sad...
keep the money you hassle for it!

12/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misrepresentation of service. Charged for services not peformed.
11/26/13-2000 Ford Mustang/VIN: ***********XXXXXX



I requested an oil change and a diagnostic check for my 2000 Ford Mustang which they failed to do after charging me $99.00 just for the diagnostic check. My statement description was just a list of the retrieved codes from the computer. They had my car for almost two days in which time, I never received a call from the mechanic and when I called them, I was abruptly told that they had other customers they needed to service and that they could not pinpoint what the problem was with my car. In addition, I asked if the oil change was done in which he responded “no”. I called several times for an update but no one had the courtesy to return my call…in the meantime, I™m walking to and from work. I read the paper I signed and feel that it is a complete misrepresentation of service. For someone to charge $99.00 for a diagnostic check, you would think that they would at least come up with a diagnosis in a reasonable amount of time?? After two days and no explanation or diagnosis, I am only requesting to be refunded the $99.00. I am happy to pay for the labor and parts used for the oil change that I assume they did.

Desired Settlement
Refund the $99.00 for a service they did not complete.

Business Response
******** **** dropped off (no appointment) her 2000 Ford Mustang on Monday, Nov. 25, at 220p. (Video time stamped)She picked-up her vehicle Tuesday, Nov. 26, at 3:59p. (Credit Card time stamped)
I checked in **** and wrote down the following items she wanted to have addressed: 1) Rattle (noise) upon acceleration at 40 mph; 2) Check engine light illuminated, hesitates at 35 mph-plus (occurs all the time); 3)Oil Change 4) Tire rotation. She added wiper blade replacement, after the paperwork was signed.
**** signed the appropriate state mandated documents and approved $134.90 - plus tax. (She was billed $133.95 - plus tax.)
**** complained that the diagnosis was not complete.
**** called and talked to service manager *** ** regarding her vehicle. I was standing next to him and heard both sides of the conversation. *** ** explained that she had someone reset the computer (P1000)which lost its "snapshot" of what engine components were not responding properly. The service manager told her that it would be several more hours to finish the Ford trouble flowchart. The service manager explained that the tech was 1-1/2 hours into the chart. She asked about her oil change. The service manager responded that the tech was addressing the drivability issue, first, as it was first on the list. She was became very rude, very loud with my service manager (remember: I could hear her over the phone) and demanded that we stop the diagnosis and perform the oil change. She told the service manager that the vehicle had been at the shop for two days and she was walking everywhere. She told the service manager to just do the oil change and she wanted her vehicle back, ASAP.
The service manager attempted to explain that there were multiple faults and that it took time. She did not want to hear what the service manager had to say and was talking over him while he was trying to explain.
Due to the fact that **** requested the diagnosis on request #1 and #2, and that it was explained to her how important it was to perform the proper test procedures per Ford, she took it upon herself to stop the test in mid-stream. I see no reason for a refund.
She wasted the tech's time, her time and owes my service manager an apology for the rude manner in which she addressed him during the phone conversation.
**** is no longer welcome at the shop due to her unprofessional behavior towards my staff, for the last time.
*****: You will be receiving the work order, test procedures and other supporting documentation via fax in the a.m.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, I only spoke to the service tech once and with that I made another follow up phone call regarding the status of my car when no one had the courtesy to call me after two days. I was never rude just simply questioned the services provided which is my right as a consumer. I apologize if I "wasted" their time but unfortunatley, if this is how they treat customers, I have no intention of ever walking through their business doors again. Nor, will I ever recommend them to anyone else. It's a real shame that they feel they need to fabricate a story for money.... It's all about the principle! Again, the service that I signed for was not completed. I am demanding a $99.00 refund.

Final Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

If the customer wants to come by and see the video of her behavior she is welcome to do that. She didn't have her car here two days, she had it just under 24 hours and then wanted us to stop work and we have the date stamp of when she came in and when she left. She did not even have an appointment, she just dropped the vehicle off and knew we were working on it in between appointments. She signed the paperwork agreeing to the assembly fee of $99/hour. We didn't even charge her that amount. We were in the process of diagnosing her vehicle properly. If she was having some personal time constraints she should have told us that instead of treating our guys the way she did. We had to go through the flow chart of diagnostics to try and find the problem with the vehicle per Ford recommendations. We spent more than an hour doing this and did not charge her to put everything back together.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/22/2001Business started: 09/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1995, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Pamela Oakes, ASE (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Peter Sudak (Tire Manager)
Business Category

Auto Repair Services

Alternate Business Names
Cassiopeia Enterprises, Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pam's Motor City Automotive

13395 Metro Pkwy

Fort Myers, FL 33966-4704

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 13395 Metro Pkwy 

    Fort Myers, FL 33966-4704(239) 278-0086
    Fax: (239) 278-1717

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pam's Motor City Automotive is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.