BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In West Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1998

McLeod's Auto Service, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (813) 831-5130Fax: (813) 837-31422905 S Manhattan Ave, TampaFL 33629-6627

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1998

BBB has determined that McLeod's Auto Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised McLeod's Auto Service, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
02/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: Horrible service, poor completion time, poor communication skills. Amazing that this company is still in business. Non qualified mechanics, very bad
This company had our car for 3 weeks trying to find a $27 dollar hose, they were so un prepared to fix the car that they told me to either go pick up the part myself and pay for it or tow my car out of the garage. After all this horrible service, the owner had the nerve to ask for payment. Any reputable company would have not asked for a nickel, not only did they not say they were sorry, but they sent me a bill for $538. After I refused to pay the invoice, they actually called the cops and reported me for grand theft. Unbelievable!!! my car is a $95,000 car, I don't think affording to pay for the car was the issue. Its hard to believe that a company can actually get away with pressing false charges against a customer, without no recourse. I will be calling every new station in Tampa Bay and reporting this companies behavior. Even the police officer said that this is very poor business practice on their part. They wouldn't even negotiate anything on their behalf. If you need your car repaired, go elsewhere, not only does this company have no idea on how to fix an expensive car, but they will over charge you and file a police report and charge you with grand theft if you don't pay their ransom.

Initial Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We worked on this customers vehicle and had to order parts from the dealership. The parts took a while to get to us and then they were the wrong parts which means it had to take longer. Then there was a problem with the part because Jaguar had an upgrade on the parts. The people who sold the parts to us didn't tell us. The customer was very mad that this took as long as it did but none of this was our fault. He wanted to blame it on us but there was nothing we could do because we had to wait on this part from the dealership only.

Once we repaired the vehicle he came in to pick it up and said he would come back to pay for it but never did. We started calling him for payment and that is when he said he didn't think he should have to pay because it took too long. There is no reason why he shouldn't pay. He then provided a fake PO Box number to send a bill to. My only option at that time was to call the police and the police ended up telling him to pay the bill. We do not believe this is a valid complaint.

We have been in business 61 years and totally rely on honesty and integrity in our business dealings and have maintained an excellent rating.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/19/2012Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/15/1997Business started: 01/01/1989
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Mayo Bldg Rm 217
Tallahassee, FL32399-0800
(850) 410-3800
http://www.800helpfla.com

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

BBB records show a license number of MV456 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

BBB records show a license number of 8163 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2004, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim McLeod (Owner)Mr Norris E McLeod (Director)
Business Category

Auto Repair Services, Mobile Lube Oil Companies, Wheel Alignment, Fr & Axle Service - Auto, Auto Transmission Suppliers, Gasoline Engine Suppliers, Brake Shops, Auto Electricians, Car Diagnosis Shops, Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair, Car Air Conditioning Suppliers, Tire Dealers

Products & Services

This company offers full service auto repair specializing in air conditioning.

Industry Tips
As Gas Prices Rise, so do the Number of Scams
Rising Gas Prices Encourage Gas-Saving Scammers
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for McLeod's Auto Service, Inc.

2905 S Manhattan Ave

Tampa, FL 33629-6627

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 2905 S Manhattan Ave 

    Tampa, FL 33629-6627

  • 3606 W Corona St 

    Tampa, FL 33629-8702

  • 4014 W El Prado Blvd 

    Tampa, FL 33629-8548

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*McLeod's Auto Service, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.