BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/15/2010

Lou's Total Car Care

Find a Location

Phone: (239) 278-1682Fax: (239) 278-0581View Additional Phone Numbers5050 S Cleveland Ave, Fort MyersFL 33907-1306Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/15/2010

BBB has determined that Lou's Total Car Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lou's Total Car Care's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lou's Total Car Care

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
04/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company is not accepting AAA for Covered Claim. This company cxld AAA call without Customer's consent.
I am writing on behalf of a friend. This incident took place in front of my home. My friend was parked in front of my home while we all went out for dinner and coffee. On our way back I received a call advising someone had hit her car and drove off. We called the Police, and the Police called AAA for my friend. She was not sure what repair facility to use, but her vehicle was not drivable due to damage caused in Hit and Run. The driver for the Towing company offered to tow it to their facility until she was able to reach her insurance company. In Route the driver called AAA, and canceled the call without her consent. She, and AAA have called them repeatedly advising this is covered. AAA advised they are paying this claim, however the Towing company refuses to release the vehicle to her unless she pays them 350.00. The staff is extremely rude according to my friend. AAA is also in the process of filing a complaint on this company as they are not authorized to cancel any call without the client's consent. This company needs to accept payment from AAA, and release the vehicle to my friend. They are also charging her for street cleanup, and they did not do that at all. They left glass, and parts of her tail light out in the street. They did not do any debree cleanup. My boyfriend, and I did cleanup. This is not an honest company, and they should be held accountable for their actions. For more information please contact my friend. **** **** XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
Client is asking Towing company to accept payment from AAA, and to release vehicle to client.

Business Response
Please be aware that it is company policy to get the owner of the vehicle permission and signature on any transaction they willingly taking to ensure there vehicle is towed to there destination. We were informed by (***********) husband that he was out of the state. Therefore causing a lack of communication, he stated she never signed the to ticket, we later showed him the tow ticket, with her signature. The matter was brought to AAA, they also saw the tow ticket with her signature. Unfortunately, it appears that she was never informed by her husband of her change in policy. Which is no fault of hers or us. The information you are recieving from her friend is unsubtantiated! She needs to either get her story straight and chose her words wisely. Attached are all the paper work accumilated during this transaction. 6 pages total
(attached)

10/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After my car being at Lou's Auto Care for 2 weeks the problem still exists after I spent $1,958.85
On Monday, June 30th, 2014 I took my car to Lou's Auto Care (again) for the ongoing problem. Car is idling rough,hesitates and then dies while I sit in traffic. Car is an 89 Camaro Rs 2.8L/V6. I've had the car there for the same problem several times. After 1 1/2 weeks I called only to be told they could not duplicate the problem. On July 9th the Mechanic named ***** and I took another test drive and duplicated the problem at which time he also told me I should probably get Motor Mounts and Shocks and Struts. *** (who works the front desk) told the Manager ******* ****** that it was probably the Throttle Body but that part is not made any more and ******* said not to worry they will work around it. On July 11th I picked up my car and was told all was well.Paid $1,958.85, Invoice #XXXXX with Mastercard. On July 16th I was driving back home from the Beauty Shop and while sitting at the light of W. Waters Ave. and Hanley the car simply died. I restarted it and made it home. Called Lou's Auto Care immediately and was told by *** that he doesn't know what to tell me since the part is no longer available. It's not even certain if that is the problem. I would have never agreed to the Motor Mounts and Shocks had I known I am not able to drive my car since that was not a dire or necessary repair at this time. My car only has 72,000 original miles and over the past 4 years I have spent a total of $6,000.19 at Lou's. I don't appreciate the brush-off I received being their Customer in good standing for 4years. As I am a Senior Citizen on Social Security only this large Repair bill is a hardship on me. I can't afford a new car but need dependable transportation. I feel strongly that the issue of my car is fixable. On this same repair bill they also replaced 6 Fuel Injectors, Idle Air Ctrl Valve, Throttle Position Sensor.

Desired Settlement
I would like to either get credited for the Engine Mounts and Shocks/Struts or have them take another look at my car and try to fix it properly this time.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We did everything we could to fix this vehicle. She was originally dealing with our shop in Tampa and then we drove the vehicle to our shop in Fort Myers and we made repairs to the intake manifold and passing cable for the throttle at no cost to her. We drove the vehicle back to Tampa to deliver back to her. The vehicle was running fine for us with no problems. We are really sorry for the problems she experienced and we hope she is happy now.

Final Consumer Response
Case #XXXXXXXX
On Friday, July 18th at 3:15pm, I received a phone call from Mr. *** *******, owner of Lou's Auto care regarding my complaint to the BBB. He was very apologetic and assured me that he, personally, will repair my car to my satisfaction. He will contact me next week once the part(s) are received. I appreciate the fact that Mr. ******* contacted me immediately and the professionalism he displayed in resolving this issue. I will send a follow up once my car is fixed. Thank you for the help from the BBB.

03/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On February 4th, 2014 I called to have my car towed to Running Great Automotive on XXXXX ** ******** *** Tampa, FL XXXXX because the car could not reverse. When the tow truck guy came he persuaded me and my boyfriend to have the car towed to Lou's Total Auto Care. He said that I would get a 10% discount since I am a triple AAA member. So I agreed. On February 5th *** called me to inform me that he fixed a bolt on my car so it was able to reverse. He then told me that my car was smoking and he could fix it with a new valve cover gasket and oil pan gasket. I then asked *** if the smoking would stop entirely. He then assured me that there would be no more smoke and my car would run great. I said yes to the $600 charge to fix my car. On February 10, 2014 I then called Lou's Total Auto care again to tell him my car was still smoking. ******* told me to bring the car in. I was driving it when all of the sudden it started to smoke really bad so I had to get it towed from Bank of America on February 10, 2014 at 2:21 pm to Lou's Total Auto Care. When I got to the shop ******* told me in a rude manner that I could leave. I then told him that I had to wait for a ride. He then took me to my car and said the smoke is normal. There is nothing much he could do. He told me maybe it would be best that I get a new engine or drive the car until it dies. I then drove the car home. It was smoking a lot and the engine now makes a knocking sound. So $600 later I am out of commission with my vehicle. My car is in worse condition then before it went to the shop. It is unfair to me to spend so much money on a car and yet I still can't drive it. I then spoke to *** on February 12, 2014 and asked for a refund. He basically told me that he can guarantee that won't happen.
Product_Or_Service: Service Performed
Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of $600, my engine replaced, and the smoke issue from the back cleared because I feel as if my car is in worse condition then before it went into Lou's Total Auto Care.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@hotmail.com
Miss ************ initial complaint was wheels & brakes not driveable. Our inspection of the 1994 Toyota Camry SE, we noticed that a bolt that holds the brake caliper were missing. we replaced the bolt which allowed the caliper from falling out of place and locking against the steel wheel. This was the vibration and locking the vehicle from driving down the road. This was repaired at no charge to the customer. Upon inspection of her car, we noticed that the top,undercarriage and the sides of the engine was saturated in oil. we also noticed during the inspection that the oil levels were low at least 3 quarts of oil. We call Miss ************ of the oil leaks, which was documented on her invoice #XXXXX, we gave her an estimate for the repairs of the oil leaks at that point there were no oil leaking from the exhaust system. I am wondering if the initial oil that was on the engine was the original smell she was encountering, due to the fact that the engine leaks would have fallen on top of the exhaust system being that the car is a front wheel drive. To reiterate, there was no exhaust smoke from the internal engine combustion. Due to the fact that this car has 140,000+ miles and the engine being neglected of at least 3 quarts of oil,this would lead me to believe that this car was also driven without sufficient factory specifications oil levels. please note her car takes at least 5 quarts of oil at it maximum level. This car being driven with all its oil leaks will definitely cause excess piston rainwear and valve seals wear due to lack of proper oil levels. please note, brake system and other repairs were done by another facility and/ or friend. if copy of invoice need, please provide fax number.
Respectfully,
*** *******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I want my money back. The car drives worst then it did before. Are there cameras in the shop of smoking coming from the hood and the work that was performed? Are the calls recorded because *** assured me that the $600 that I spent would take care of the smoke coming from my car. I also have a witness that heard *** say my car would drive with no smoke. I specifically asked him if the smoke would stop and would my car run better. I am a full time student as well as work part time. I do not find it fair that my car is still not driving being that I spent $600.

09/14/2012Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/18/2008Business started: 06/03/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Mayo Bldg Rm 217
Tallahassee, FL32399-0800
(850) 410-3800
http://www.800helpfla.com

Business Tax Receipt/Lee County
1825 Hendry St
Fort Myers, FL33901-3054
(239) 533-6000
http://www.leetc.com

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

BBB records show a license number of MV54477 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com. 5050 S Cleveland Ave.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

BBB records show a license number of 0503870 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Lee County. Their web address is http://www.leetc.com. 5050 S Cleveland Ave.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of MV75877 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com. 8317 Rustic Dr.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

BBB records show a license number of 270476 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp. 8317 Rustic Dr.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2004, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lou Moralez (Director)Customer Contact: Ms. Nora Moralez (Vice President)
Business Category

Auto Repair Services

Products & Services

This company offers compete auto repair services.

Alternate Business Names
Lou's Total Car Care, Inc., Lou

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lou's Total Car Care

5050 S Cleveland Ave

Fort Myers, FL 33907-1306

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • PO Box 152328 

    Cape Coral, FL 33915-2328(239) 278-1682

  • 5050 S Cleveland Ave 

    Fort Myers, FL 33907-1306(813) 886-0800

  • 8317 Rustic Dr Unit A 

    Tampa, FL 33634-2288(813) 885-5687

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lou's Total Car Care is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (239) 573-8863
  • (813) 886-0800

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (239) 574-2957
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.