BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Brian's Auto Repair, Inc.

Phone: (941) 926-2526Fax: (941) 926-48074103 Clark Rd Ste 8, SarasotaFL 34233-2403

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Brian's Auto Repair, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Brian's Auto Repair, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Brian's Auto Repair, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

i brought my car to brians auto for engine rebuild, and got car back with leaks, returned for him to fix and lied and charged me again and did not fix
***** got my car in his shop under very shady tactics, he told me the rebuild would be 4200 dolars. the bill turned out to be 6629.00 he did repairs that were not authorized and gouged me on price and did damage to car. when i brought the car in it had no leaks, now i have a transmission leak. i took it back to him and he said he fixed it but i need to go have my transmission rebuilt. my car runs fine and transmission shifts fine, the front seal at the connection point is leaking. instead of honoring his work, and replacing seal he put stop leak in and told me it was fixed and charged me an additional 129.00. when i got car home and in garage it was still leaking. this is a rare antique car and he told me ready by christmas then my birthday X-XX-XXXX and delivered 4-23 after 7 months in his back area leaving bird **** on car causing paint damage as well, when i asked him about it he said ill clean
it all up. when he delivered car he gave me the answer i fix them i dont clean them. when i bought car back to adress leak, he did not fix leak and told me i need to have transmission rebuilt, as he did not either replace the seal when putting motor in or he nicked the seal when he put motor back in car, i now have a very bad leak at the seal. i had transmission rebuilt less than 2500 miles ago. the car did not leak before i bought it there and drives just fine, just now i have a pint of transmission fluid a day leaking out of seal on my brand new houses garage. he never authorized some of his work and gauged me on the price once he found out my mother is the oldest active Government employee in Afganistan and that she was helping me pay for car, that is when bill skyrocketed. he was completely unprofessional when i would call about my car and time restraints that were not met and talk about his personal life avioding the issues on car like the amount of time it was taking and cost. when i called yesterday to address the fact he did not fix leak, he told me my transmission is bad and i need to spend 900 to fix his mistake. the whole time tekllng me about the fact he was being audited and avoiding the question why it s taking so long, he treated me with disrespect when on phone yesterday about leak and he told me i better take 2 steps back "i dont know who im dealing with, i felt threatened. now transmission needs to be rebuilt after running it with leak and now has problems

Desired Settlement
have the car repaired to the way the car was when i brought it in. i will not take my car back to him as he is clearly dishonest. i will take car to aamco to have repairs done and he needs to reimburse me for damages

Business' Initial Response
Mr xxx brought us the car to inspect for engine noise, electrical issues, heater, ac issues, & steering issues. After inspection, Mr XXX informed us some one had just installed crank bearings in the car recently for this same problem. We were also informed that the engine was rebuilt and there were very few miles since rebuild. At this point we priced an estimate for rebuild, assuming most internal parts were going to be reusable. He was given a rough estimate and said he had to wait as he didn't have the money. He left the car for approximately 3 months, and then on 1/30/2013 authorized us to remove engine and send out for machine work. Upon disassembly by the machine shop, it was found evident that prior rebuild was sub standard and all of the internal components except for the camshaft and crankshaft were damaged or worn beyond repair. Mr XXX was informed of issues and agreed to additional internal engine parts that were not evident at first inspection. This was on 2/11/2013. Locatating all of the new parts for the engine required time to be located and aquired as this is an old car. After engine was installed, and additional missing parts for carburetor was provided to us as the customer had them at home, we finished the engine job. The customer then asked for the lights to be repaired and we did so. He also asked us to repair the front end(radius arm bushings) and the heat/ac. After inspecting the hvac system Mr XXX declined the repair due to cost. On 01/31/2013 Mr xxx made first payment, on 2/14 he made another payment, on 3/19 he made a third payment and asked if he could take car and make payments to which I said no. He made three more payment ending on 4/22/2013 at which point he took the car. On 4/29/2013, Mr XXX brought back car for transmssion leak. We found trans pan gasket large leak and when authorized to repair leak we found transmission full of debris and informed customer of condition to which he replied he had found same problem twice before and had just serviced it to get it to move. He was informed transmission was damaged badly and that it should be rebuilt not patched as eminent failure was coming soon. Mr XXX picked his car up on 04/30/2013. Mr XXX called on 05/03/2013 accusing in a threatening tone that we "nicked" a front transmission seal. This is physicially impossable as we never removed the transmisson torque convertor to even expose the seal in question.
Mr XXX called and was verbally abusive and threatning to my office manager. And then when I returned his call, he was threatning and abusive to me.
I worked with this customer, not charging storage fee's and lowered my price to accomidate him. Allowed him to make payments. We gave him a solid repair on his engine and honest good advise on his transmission, fixed his lights and front end below normal costs. Mr XXX seems to want me to also repair or pay to repair the sub-standard rebuild that he claimes to have been done previously, even though we informed him of the problem and provided him with an opportunity to have it repaired correctly at an honest transmission repair facility, at a cost of what Mr XXX said was less than half of what he was charged previously.
We provide solid repairs at an honest price, but we can not be responsable for another shops poor workmanship or bad parts.

Consumer's Final Response
He did not call to authorize any work, those calls were made by me to find out when car would be finished He would say to me ''Oh'', by the way I had to replace this and that

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/29/2001Business started: 02/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Mayo Bldg Rm 217
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
(850) 410-3800

Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax
101 S Washington Blvd
Sarasota, FL 34236-6940
(941) 861-8300

BBB records show a license number of MV36811 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

BBB records show a license number of 3903820043011 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax. Their web address is

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity


Incorporated: February 1999, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian D. Bruce (President/CEO)
Business Category

Auto Repair Services

Products & Services

This company offers repair, service, and maintenance for automotive incl trucks.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brian's Auto Repair, Inc. has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Brian's Auto Repair, Inc.

4103 Clark Rd Ste 8

Sarasota, FL 34233-2403

To | From


1 Locations

  • 4103 Clark Rd Ste 8 

    Sarasota, FL 34233-2403(941) 926-2526

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brian's Auto Repair, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Repair Services


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.