BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/23/2009

Bill's Automotive Repairs, Tires and Mobil Gas

(727) 787-847232505 US Highway 19 N, Palm HarborFL 34684-3112FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/23/2009

BBB has determined that Bill's Automotive Repairs, Tires and Mobil Gas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bill's Automotive Repairs, Tires and Mobil Gas' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bill's Automotive Repairs, Tires and Mobil Gas

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged $600 and the car is worse than when i dropped it off!!
I brought my car in this morning (11/08/2014) because it would only start when i pressed the gas pedal. It also felt like it might stall sometimes but never did. They called me and told me I needed a tuneup and spark plugs and a fuel filter and said it would cost $558.39 ($330.29 of that was just for labor!) and I said okay. Called me at 3 and told me all the codes are cleared but they still want to look at exhaust if I wanted to leave it until Monday to have them diagnose it since they were supposed to close at 2. I said no I'll come get it now. Picked it up and car took a few tries to start while pressing the gas and then I stalled out in the parking lot which it NEVER stalled before I brought it in! Nothing was fixed. The car had a burning smell when I entered it and the same problem I dropped it off for and got charged $600 for was not fixed. I was definitely taken advantage of and I'm extremely upset. I ended up parking the car right back after and told them to look at it Monday because I cannot drive a car that is going to stall out on the busy roads I travel on daily. It is too dangerous. The man I talked to was "just a lube guy' as he worded it and he clearly did not care at all and was just concerned about closing shop and going home. There was nobody else available to talk to.

Desired Settlement
I just want them to fix the problem I came in for which is trouble starting the car minus the $558.39 they already charged me or at least the $330.29 they charged me for the labor!

Business Response


Consumer Response


Final Business Response
This response was provided verbally to ****

When the car came in she had a couple symptoms. Her main concern was a hard starting. She had a check engine light on and the vehicle had 160,000 miles. We inspected and found worn out spark plugs and 3 different misfire codes. This issue can cause starting problems. We started checking out the spark plugs and wires and they were very aged and needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not had any tune up. We were thorough in the description to her in what needed to be done. This may or may not have fixed all of the problems but it was a starting point and needed to be done. The end result of that day did correct the misfire and the rough running but not the hard start issue. The customer did not want to leave the vehicle on Saturday. She brought it back on Monday and with the misfire issues resolved we were able to diagnose the issue with the fuel pressure regulator. We offered to do the repair at the cost of parts only to try and help her out.

We understand car repairs are never fun and we don't have a reputation of doing things that don't need to be done. We are sorry that she is still unsatisfied and would like to extend a $40 gas or restaurant gift card to her as an effort of goodwill.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I did not bring the car back on Monday. The car did not make it out of the parking lot on Saturday. It stalled in the parking lot and I parked it. As I previously stated I could not drive a car that was going to stall out which had never stalled prior to me bringing the car in. When I brought the keys back in Sat, I was told the car would not get looked at again until Monday. The car was worse then when I dropped it off. However, I will accept the mere $40 gift card and be done with them. They did finally fix the problem on Monday.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/20/2012Business started: 05/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of MV5502 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1996, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Gallant (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Repair Services, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Towing Companies, Towing - Heavy Equipment, Tire Repair Shops, Tire Repair, Tire Dealers, Propane Gas Plumbing Supply Stores, Gas Stations, Diesel Auto Repair Shops, Convenience Stores, Consultants - Auto Repair, Auto Windshield, Glass Shops, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Repair & Service - Airbags

Products & Services

This company is a full service auto repair shop also offering gasoline and convenience store services.

Alternate Business Names
Bilmartex, Inc., Gallant Investments, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bill's Automotive Repairs, Tires and Mobil Gas

32505 US Highway 19 N

Palm Harbor, FL 34684-3112

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 32505 US Highway 19 N 

    Palm Harbor, FL 34684-3112(727) 787-8472

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bill's Automotive Repairs, Tires and Mobil Gas is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.