BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Bayside Auto Works, Inc.

Phone: (352) 556-5255Fax: (352) 835-3220View Additional Phone Numbers13743 Linden Dr, Spring HillFL 34609-5023http://www.baysideautoworks.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Bayside Auto Works, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bayside Auto Works, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bayside Auto Works, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Rusted lines replaced on Cadillac Escalade. Improper work performed. Lied about completion time & price. Lost my custom rim and cut off spare tire.
I brought Cadillac Escalade in on 11/17/14 to replace rusted brake lines. Advised mechanic to not change anything else without permission and was told car would be done that same afternoon by 5 PM. Told the mechanic to not replace anything else and needed back as soon as possible. Told them I could not go over $400. Never received a call or update. Had to call and complain several times and never offered to speak with owner. Car was held for 3 1/2 days until 11/20/14. When I picked up girl at front desk made a pass at me and teased me about looking upset when I picked car up (very bad customer service). Mechanic did not turn rotors as discussed and did not remove rusted brake lines like they were supposed to. They lost my custom rim and I had to call multiple times and complain. They finally returned rim bent and told me i could go to Home Depot to get parts to fix it. Why should I fix something I didn't break or lose? Did not apologize. They cut off my spare tire from underneath my vehicle and left in back of my truck. When I asked why they did not reattach when work was complete they said they would look at parts and let me know. I wrote a check for $591 (which is more than $400-which I did not approve nor was I notified). When I canceled check for bad services since I still have them same rusted brake lines owner called me yelling and threatening. I told owner it took him 3 1/2 days to fix my car he replied "no it only took 20 minutes". When I asked why my car was kept so long if it only took 20 minutes he had no response. I a small business owner myself and would never treat a customer in such a manor. I also have a family to support and cannot just let this mechanic rip me off. I pride myself on being the best at what I do and Bayside Auto Works could use some brushing up on good ethics and business.

Desired Settlement
Have all errors corrected and pay below $400 as originally agreed in timely fashion. Have office reprimanded.

Business Response

Final Business Response
The customer came in with a complaint on 11/18 at 11:30am of no brake pedal. They had just done their own front brakes but could not get a pedal after the repairs. Upon investigation we had noticed that this was a northern vehicle and the brake lines were rusted through and had been leaking.

The customer was still here and we escorted him out to show the damage that needed to be repaired. The original repair was estimated at around $500 plus tax, depending on how much material was needed to complete the job. We estimated the completion date as the end of day on 11/19, it was a fairly time consuming and complex job and wanted to ensure we had adequate time to repair and test drive the vehicle. We drove the customer home.

During the repairs the job ended up taking longer than expected and when the customer called in for an update we explained that it was going to run into the following day, before noon.

On 11/20 we called the customer and advised them that the vehicle was ready and he could pick it up. I explained to him that the spare tire mount was rusted so badly in place that he would have never been able to use his spare if there was a need for it on the side of the road. We had cut the mount off, placed the spare tire in the bed of his truck and would get a price on a used one if we could find one to save him some money from the cost of a new one.

When he arrived I was not in the office, but one of my staff ***** was. When I noticed that the customer was here I came out to the front to greet him, apologize for the delay in repairs and explain to him in person what we did for repairs again and that his spare tire was in the bed of his truck. I had also explained to him that there was a portion of his brake lines that are directly mounted to his fuel lines. I explained that we replaced the brake lines with new lines, however, I cut and left the old portion mounted close to the fuel lines in place so we didn't disturb them and cause any additional necessary repairs. In addition, we needed to replace a L/R caliper due to the rust, as well as the rear brake pads. But I did what I could to keep the price at the original price I had quoted to him. His total bill was $537 plus tax, which was $37 more than additionally quoted. He was very thankful, we shook hands and he went on his way.

Later that day my staff received a phone call that he was missing a small lug nut cover from his rear wheel. We found the cover and called the customer to have him pick it up. It is not uncommon for a 12 year old northern vehicle to have some of the tabs of the covers become weak.

On 11/25 I received a STOP payment from my bank from this customer. I called him and left a message, the following day he returned my call. I asked him if everything was alright and he stated YES. Then proceeded to explain that he did a stop payment cause he felt we did not complete the work that we described to him. He suggested that my invoice stated that we only did a portion of the rear lines, not all the rear lines as discussed. I explained to him what was written on the invoice was the same as I had explained to him in person when he arrived to pick it up. This was the exact notation on the bill.

"Replaced brake lines that go from the ABS module to the rear axle. We removed a large portion of the old lines but did not remove the portion of them where the fuel lines were secured. The front lines looked to be in fair condition with some surface rust at this time."

"Spare tire elevator was seized into place. It was necessary to remove the spare tire in order to perform the repairs, so the elevator was disabled. Spare tire is in the bed of the truck. Need to replace the spare tire elevator."

He stated that he misunderstood the description and he understood it as us not replacing all the lines, just a portion of them. I explained that in order to limit his exposure to further repairs we felt it necessary to leave the mounting places untouched. I explained that is he had just called I would have been happy to put the vehicle back on the lift to show what the repairs were to help understand my description. He just kept saying we didn't do what we stated we were supposed to do and we didn't get his vehicle back to him on time. After there seemed to be no compromise we terminated the call. I called the sheriffs office and we filed a claim. The sheriff contacted the customer and after a few days worked out a payment for services. I discounted his bill an additional $91 dollars as a gesture of good faith. He came in later that week and settled the bill, we each apologized to each other and this issue has been resolved.

The suggestion that the girl on my staff had made a pass at the customer when he picked up his vehicle on Thursday 11/20 would have been physically impossible. ******* only worked for me Monday, Wednesday and Fridays.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 07/30/2012Business started: 07/26/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of MV89056 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

Type of Entity


Incorporated: August 2011, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Fenton (President)Ms. Karen Monroe (Office Manager)
Business Category

Auto Repair Services, Auto Air Conditioning Equipment Suppliers, Tire Dealers, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Window Tinting Shops, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Transmission Suppliers, Brake Shops, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Part Suppliers

Products & Services

This company offers automotive parts, and repair.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bayside Auto Works, Inc.

13743 Linden Dr

Spring Hill, FL 34609-5023

To | From


1 Locations

  • 13743 Linden Dr 

    Spring Hill, FL 34609-5023(352) 556-5255
    (727) 233-3111
    Fax: (352) 835-3220
    Fax: (352) 835-3220

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bayside Auto Works, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (727) 233-3111

Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Repair Services


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.