BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/12/2009

A-1 Tire & Auto Service

Phone: (727) 393-7581Fax: (727) 397-1759View Additional Phone Numbers8592 Seminole Blvd, SeminoleFL 33772-4330

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/12/2009

BBB has determined that A-1 Tire & Auto Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A-1 Tire & Auto Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A-1 Tire & Auto Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/28/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Given an estimate of 1800.00 for a repair that was to be done in 2 days. Seven days later truck was ready and the bill was 2899.56 plus tax.
Brought my Ford F-250 in to A-1 on Wed December 18, thought there was a problem with the brakes. A-1 called me back later that day and said the brakes were fine but the upper/lower ball joints were bad along with the bushings and the L/F hub for the 4 wheel drive. I was told the repair would be 1800.00 and would take 2 days. I called them on Friday December 20, they were waiting on a part truck should be ready Monday. I stopped in on Monday, they were still waiting for part. Called Thursday, they were still waiting but it was due in anytime. I received a call on Thursday at 5:45 saying the truck was ready. I picked it up Friday morning and was told the bill was 3102.53. I spoke the owner and told him no one called me with a new estimate and that I did not authorize this large of a bill. He said there was nothing he could do that he already didn't charge me for some labor. In order to get the truck back I had to pay the amount which I did with my Visa card. I went back in on Mondayand told him that the 4 wheel drive still didn't work and that I wanted a refund. He laughed and walked away.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of $1,176.53 for the unauthorized repair.

Business Response
I received a complaint letter on Friday Jan 3, 2014 from ****** ****. On Wednesday 12/18/2013 Ms **** and her son brought in a 2002 Ford F250 $x4 and ask us to check the brakes, do a oil and filter change and said the brakes pedal was hard to push and said the one have an air bubble in them, and the 4 wheel was not working. We out the truck on the lift and pulled the wheels to check the brakes. All the pads and rotors were good. when raising the truck the front wheels dropped down some and the left front wheel tilted in. We then could see all 4 ball joints were very bad. The truck has 117,119 miles on it and the ball joints was all original. Also the left axle was spinning free. It appears that the wheel bearing were bad.
This truck had resently had a lift kit and new front springs installed extra high ones. then we seen all 4spring bushing were bad the metal sleeve had been twisted out of all 4 ends. I priced all 4 ball joints and estimated the spring bushing at $150.00 for sublet repair. Also the left front wheel hearing of maybe $250.00. The Estimate was for the ball joints spring bushings and oil change of just over $1500.00 plus taxes. I called Ms **** and said hopefully the repair could be amount $1800-2000.00 She said go ahead. Depending on availability of the parts it could take two days.
We then removed both front axles for access to the ball joints. Right side first all was good. On removing the left axle assembly the pieces fell on the floor. the hub - bearing and seal, also the automatic 4X4 lock assy was broken. That's why the 4X4 wasn't working we figured. I then priced the broken parts from the Ford dealer on Friday, if they were all the right parts. The dealer couldn't get the parts until Monday. We told Ms **** that. Also we removed the springs and took them to be rebushed. They didn't have the parts either. the springs was not stock so bushings was ordered. Ms **** came in on Monday and the ford parts were not here yet. I held the 2 largest parts the hub and lock assy up and showed them to Ms **** and said one was $500 and the other one was $300.00 Also I showed her the broken seals and said they are over 50.00 each. She turned and went ot the door say we have to fix it. I then finished getting the parts on Thursday after Christmas. We were closed at noon on Christmas eve and all day Christmas. I did not charge Ms **** for disassembly of the front differential to put all 6 seals back in it.
Whoever put the past springs on didn't know to take the twist out before tightening them down. The 4X4 light came on indicating the 4 wheel drive was working, the 4X4 low range light did not come on, we hurried Thursday to get the tuck done for her. I did try a new relay for the 4X4 low but that was not the problem. We told Ms **** that. The truck drove very well. Before her son couldn't hardly keep it on the road. People want estimate before things are taken apart You can not see internal problems being Ms **** was in on Monday and I showed her the extra parts and told her how much they were, I did not call her again. I dont know how much the springs repair was until 11 am on Thursday. The spring shop could not give me an estimate, because they couldn't get the bushings until Thursday. On Friday Morning I told her son not to be so rough on the truck and she said to him, listen now and wee what it cost to drive it so hard.
On January 2, 2014 they brought the truck next door to me and had a stereo system installed it was over $800.00.
We called Ms **** Monday to pick up the hitch we left off. We had to take the receiver out to close our shop doors and forgot to put it back on. Also I offered to look at the 4X4 system at no charge. to see what was wrong, she said no way. I told her a offered. I told her I could not give her the new parts of over $1000.00 I ate the labor as is trying to keep the bill as low as possible. We had no way of know all there parts were internally . Dealer or local parts can be estimated close, but after market conversations are very lard to identify exactly for repair. All the front axle parts come from the dealer and very little markup. I told Ms **** I gave her most of the extra labor, but cant afford to give the parts away.
I didn't break the truck, only repaired it back to original as possible. The labor I gave away was about $650.00.


Final Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The company gave verbal estimate of $1800 and 2 days to repair. I followed up after two days and the business never said anything about the price being higher, just that he was waiting on parts. When I went in to the shop he did show me the broken parts and said something about the old one being $300 and the new one being $500 but he never clearly explained that the price of the repair was going to be $3200 until the truck was done and they presented a bill for that amount. I was shocked and never agreed to that amount. I tried to talk to the him but he refused to discount the bill or refund any amount, he just said that after they took it apart they had no choice but to fix it. I disagree, if they would have called to say the price was higher it would have been my decision whether or not to proceed. I didn't want to argue with him so I just paid the bill but I am very upset about the way they did this. I went in expecting to pay $1800 and was presented with a bill of $3200 instead. To make matters worse, the 4 wheel drive doesn't even work, they also didn't tighten the seals and it was leaking fluid. Luckily, I had a friend tighten them to stop the leaking. I will never go back to the business after this experience and plan to have someone else look at the 4 wheel drive. I was originally asking him to refund the difference between the quote I was given and the amount actually charged, approximately $1400. I would settle for a refund of $900 which covered the cost of hub assembly, automatic lock assembly and wheel seal that did not even work.

Final Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We didn't know enough about the problems with the truck until we started ordering parts and taking the vehicle apart. When she was calling to check on the status we didn't have any prices. When she came in to check we did show her the parts that we ordered at that time and told her one was $300 and one was $500 and that was in addition to what we already had to do. She didn't ask anything specific and said to "just fix it." We didn't break the truck so we can't pay for the parts to fix it. We did give her labor to try and help with the repair and she was already told that it was more than quoted. We had no way to know how much the parts were going to cost because the parts needed were not regular dealer parts since the truck was modified and lifted.

In response to the 4x4 issue we didn't even have a chance to look at the 4x4 because the customer just wanted the vehicle back. We made repairs to the front axle and the seals.

We can't refund for any of the parts. The quote was between $1800-$2000 before we ever even took the truck apart. When she came in we showed her the other parts that were needed in addition to the original quote. The parts were over $1000 and we cannot refund for them. Taxes and shop supplies came to about $250. We can't even put the old parts back in because they are broken. The customer didn't want to hear any more about the cost she just walked out and said go ahead and fix it.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/17/1986Business started: 01/01/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Mayo Bldg Rm 217
Tallahassee, FL32399-0800
(850) 410-3800
http://www.800helpfla.com

Occupational License/Seminole
7464 Ridge Rd
Seminole, FL33772-5226
(727) 392-1966

Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of MV19408 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

BBB records show a license number of 250 for this company, issued by Occupational License/Seminole.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of MV87207 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1981, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Arden L. Ford (Owner) Dodie Meischke (Contact)
Business Category

Auto Repair Services

Products & Services

This company offers auto repair and service specializing in Ford and GM models.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A-1 Tire & Auto Service

8592 Seminole Blvd

Seminole, FL 33772-4330

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8592 Seminole Blvd 

    Seminole, FL 33772-4330(727) 399-9666

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A-1 Tire & Auto Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (727) 399-9666
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.