BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
West Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/02/2011

The Law Offices of Steven J. Glaros & Associates

(813) 854-1234View Additional Phone Numbers13513 Prestige Pl Ste 101, TampaFL 33635-9777FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/02/2011

BBB has determined that The Law Offices of Steven J. Glaros & Associates meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised The Law Offices of Steven J. Glaros & Associates' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: Main problems are: failure to advise, fee disputes, no communication to multiple requests on billing issues and poor client relations.
I have a number of issues with the case ledger

1/2/2014 tc with oc when you were retained on 1/9/14 as stated in stipulation to withdrawal. I do not call this a mistake, I call it fraudulent billing.

I see a significant amount of bills for emails at which I have never been copied on any and I have asked 3 times for the emails to be sent to me and phone records related to the billable hours listed in the case ledger.

4/15/2014 I do not agree with review file in preparation to meet client. You changed attorneys on me without any notice, her reviewing would not have been required if the change was not made. The change that I was not aware happened until I arrived for my scheduled meeting with ******. It is interesting that the only conversation with ****** was the free consultation and I have never received an call or email or any response including when I called in Jan and asked for a return call and never received any response.

5/8/2014 I will not pay for a phone conference when *** did not do what was asked of her... which was to create a settlement agreement. In her email she states trying to call O.C. to save me money. It seems like billable hours wasted with the attempt to bill for nothing. The settlement agreement still had to be made and I am sure it would have been billed excessively. I do not for 1 second see how this can save money.

With the above issues with billing I am not able to trust there is any honest legitimate billing without the emails and phone record to correlate with the case ledger,




It bothers me that in the multiple email exchanges no one will address the fact that ****** stated 3500 will get me through mediation. I am not comfortable with *** reviewing the billing of her partner ******. Or course there will not be a problem, it is ridiculous to think same office attorneys will find fault with each other.




I believe my case has been handled so poorly and with a lack of professionalism. This has financially hurt me in several ways, by not advising me about **** to pay half the mortgage, not advising on alimony and the obvious billing issues I will now be forced to hire another law firm to represent my divorce.

Initial Business Response
Complaint: Entry on the billing invoice for 1/2/14 states "T.C. with O.C." (Telephone conference with opposing counsel) and Mr. ******* did not retain our firm until 1/9/14.
o Response: As I stated, I do believe this may have been billed to Mr. *******'s file in error. He is correct that a Retainer Agreement was only signed by him on 1/9/14. Although we obviously always try to avoid mistakes, we are human and sometimes mistakes happen. My explanation for this entry is either that this entry was possibly meant for another client and mistakenly billed to Mr. ******* or, simply, that when Mr. ****** entered his time he mistakenly put 1/2/14 rather than 1/9/14. Either way, the Retainer Agreement executed by Mr. ******* specifically states in paragraph 11 that, "I agree to review each billing statement immediately upon receipt and to raise any specific objections in writing. I must raise objections within 10 days of the date of the statement with a letter, certified receipt mail, specifically stating any questions." Despite the fact that Mr. ******* clearly did not state his objection pursuant to the terms of the Retainer Agreement, the entry total in question is for $60 and we will be happy to give Mr. ******* a credit for that.
Complaint: Entry on the billing invoice for 4/15/14 wherein it states that I reviewed the file in preparation for a meeting with Mr. ******* (a meeting that subsequently occurred and lasted for more than one and one-half hours).
o Response: I billed a .6 (the equivalent of $165) for this preparation. This preparation was for a meeting during which Mr. ******* and I discussed his case and the upcoming mediation. Mr. ******* complained that if Mr. ****** was at the meeting instead of me, that charge would not have been incurred. Mr. ******* is incorrect. Mr. ****** would have prepared for the meeting by reviewing the file - and at a higher hourly rate than mine (my hourly rate is $275; Mr. ******'s hourly rate is $300) which likely would have resulted in a higher charge. Again, pursuant to paragraph 11, Mr. ******* did not state his objection pursuant to the terms of the Retainer Agreement. Additionally, I point your attention to paragraph 2 of the Retainer Agreement wherein it specifically states, "I also understand that work on my case will be handled by members of the family law division of the firm as deemed best by ****** ******, including associate attorneys, paralegals and legal assistants."
Complaint: Entry on the billing invoice for 5/8/14 wherein Mr. ******* complains that he will not pay for a phone conference when I did not do what he asked me to do.
o Response: The entry on 5/8/14 states, "Telephone conference with client. (No charge)" I did indicate that this telephone conference lasted for a length of .6, however, it was clearly marked on the bill that Mr. ******* was not charged for it. Perhaps he is misunderstanding the invoice. I disagree with the accusation that I did not complete the task he asked me to do.
Complaint: Mr. ******* has stated that Mr. ****** told him that $3,500 would get him through mediation.
o Response: I do not know when this conversation purportedly occurred; I can with great certainty state that I was not present for any conversations that occurred between Mr. ******* and Mr. ******. Another certainty of mine, however, is the Retainer Agreement that Mr. ******* initialed and signed. Specifically in paragraph 3, where Mr. ******* specifically initialed, it explained that the Engagement Fee of $3,500 is non-refundable and may not be the entire fee for this case. The following paragraph similarly explained that the Replenishment Fee is also non-refundable and may not be the entire Replenishment Fee for this case.

I certainly understand that going through a divorce is an extremely trying time for someone. I wish Mr. ******* much luck as his divorce process continues and hopefully swiftly concludes. If you have any additional questions for me, please do not hesitate to ask. Thank you for your time.

Regards,
*** *****

*** *** ****** Esquire
Law Offices of ****** ****** & Assoc.
XXXXX ******** ****** ***** ***
Tampa, Florida XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
I have attached a copy of the case ledger and starred items I have a concern with.

First on the response by ***. She makes reference to my having to argue the bill within 10 days but I did not get the case ledger until I terminated my relationship with the firm. I agree there can be human error which is why I require proof of the items on the case ledger.

I disagree with *** the case ledger page 4 on 5.8.2014 states a charge for .60 hr. 165.00 I do not see no charge any where on the attached case ledger.

*** makes reference that she does not know what conversation I had with ****** ******. I suggest she has a conversation with him and he can respond to what he talked with me about. Perhaps he can respond maybe even one time to my repeated requests for information or clarification.

I again request copies of all billable emails and phone records showing calls made to opposing counsel that was billed to me or to refund the monies that were charged. I do need to be sure these are not billing errors of something that was meant to go on another persons ledger.

1. Case ledger page 2 2.10.2014 Please provide a copy of phone record for this conversation.
2. Case ledger page 2 3.41.2014 Please provide emails and phone records for this billing item.
3. Case ledger page 3 3.12.2014 Please provide emails and phone records for this billing item.
4. Case ledger page 3 3.25.2014 Please provide emails regarding this billing item.
5. Case ledger page 3 4.28.2014 Please provide emails regarding this billing item.
6. Case ledger page 3 4.29.2014 Please provide emails regarding this billing item.
7. Case ledger page 3 4.15.2014 Charge done due to change of counsel, not my responsibility to pay for change when ****** was on vacation.
8. Case ledger page 3 4.24.2014 Prep for mediation was done during the meeting.
9. Case ledger page 3 4.28.2014 Please provide emails regarding this billing item.
10. Case ledger page 4 4.29.2014 Please provide emails regarding this billing item.
11. Case ledger page 4 5.8.2014 Addressed above. Do not see no charge unless it was done after the case ledger was sent to me.
12. Case ledger page 4 3.4.2014 Do not accept charge for this when the lack of communication from the office was the cause of the charge.
13. Case ledger page 4 1.2.2014 Not retained until 1.9.2014. This is the error *** referred to. I do not call it an error.
14.Case ledger page 4 1.23.2014 Excessive charge and I was not contacted on reply in any way.
15. Case ledger page 4 2.26.2014 Do not understand this entry.
16. Case ledger page 4 3.3.2014 Do not understand this entry.
17. Case ledger page 4 3.7.2014 Do not understand this entry.

I would like to know if a billable charge was done on creating a form or response how do I know the correct time was assigned to me, or was it again another error like *** addressed earlier. Can documentation be provided on expected billable charges on case work as evidenced by industry standards? I would like to review it if possible.

Kind Regards
***** *******

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/11/2010Business started: 02/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Bar Association
661 E Jefferson St
Tallahassee, FL32301-2787
(850) 561-5600

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

BBB records show a license number of 16027 for this company, issued by Florida Bar Association.

Type: State

BBB records show a license number of 240820 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 240821 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2008, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven J. Glaros (President)
Business Category

Attorneys, Attorneys- - Collaborative Divorce, Attorneys - Child Advocacy, Attorneys - Adoption, Attorneys - Divorce, Family Attorneys

Products & Services

This firm provides family legal services including divorce, custodial rights, adoption, domestic violence injuctions, pre-nuptial agreements, and visitation rights.

Alternate Business Names
Steven J. Glaros, PA

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Law Offices of Steven J. Glaros & Associates

13513 Prestige Pl Ste 101

Tampa, FL 33635-9777

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 13513 Prestige Pl Ste 101 

    Tampa, FL 33635-9777(813) 854-1234
    (727) 938-2900

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Law Offices of Steven J. Glaros & Associates is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (727) 938-2900
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Attorneys

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00-5.99
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.