BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Stamatakis + Thalji + Bonanno

Find a Location

Phone: (813) 282-9330Fax: (813) 282-8648View Additional Phone Numbers8751 N Himes Ave, TampaFL 33614-1624http://www.myinjury.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Consumer law firm located in Tampa, Florida.

BBB Accreditation

Stamatakis + Thalji + Bonanno is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Stamatakis + Thalji + Bonanno's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Stamatakis + Thalji + Bonanno

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I used this firm for a bankruptcy. I had a specific issue that they completely ignored. This ended up costing me $8k.
My bankruptcy was finalized in 2011. I am still paying for it. When I originally met with the attorney, I explained I could not include a credit card bill from the financial institution I was working for because I would get fired. Mr ****** said he had never heard of this, but they would look into it. I was later told I could either pay it off before the bankruptcy or request it be excluded and hope that would be approved. Mr ****** also told me to stop paying my bills and I could use my tax refund to pay the attorney, etc. I chose to pay the card off with my tax refund. I made this very clear to the bankruptcy paralegal and she made note of it in my file. Neither her nor the attorney said a thing about it.

Later I got a bill from the Trustee for over $6000. I emailed the attorney to explain. After no fewer than 3 emails with a response that had nothing to do with my actual issue they finally said there was nothing they could do because I had paid a creditor preferentially. The trustee was asking for my entire tax return. The next year my tax return would have been about $2000 That I was going to owe this money was never discussed with me before though my issue was brought to their attention from the beginning. I was able to make payments to the trustee, with interest. And now I have just recently received another bill for $1800 from the trustee for service fees. I am furious because the attorney didn't tell me this would be coming even after I had the other issue. I don't have the money to pay it.

If the attorney had simply explained the process I could have made some better decisions. I definitely could have delayed filing the bankruptcy thus saving myself at least $6000. But I was ignorant of the law and bankruptcy process, which is why I hired the attorney in the first place. It seems obvious their only concern was getting me to be a paying client and could care less how the actual bankruptcy went. This firm is basically a clearing house that takes advantage of the poor economy and the ignorance of their clients.

I did ask for the money I paid them ($1600) since they didn't handle the issues of my case and couldn't answer my questions after several emails. The request was refused and I was vaguely threatened with a slander charge against me. I am now working on filing a complaint with the FL Bar.

Desired Settlement
I would like to at least be reimbursed the $1600 I paid them since they did such a terrible job with my case and did not have my interests at heart at all. I was ridiculous they couldn't even read my file to answer my questions when the problems came up. I have all the back and forth emails to show they simply ignored my case and my issues.

Business' Initial Response
We unequivocally stand behind the work that our firm did for Ms. ****** on her bankruptcy file. Ms. ****** hired the firm on or about February 21, 2011. At that time, she was either in the middle of or just coming out of a contentious divorce with her ex-husband. Ms. ****** was in a foreclosure lawsuit over her marital residence which was significantly underwater. In addition, she had substantial credit card debt. Ms. ******'s net income was below the median income and qualified for a Chapter 7.
Ms. ******'s claim that she "explained" that she couldn't include a credit card in her bankruptcy is without merit. First, we always explain that it is the client's duty to disclose all debts in bankruptcy. Further, such disclosures were given in writing. Ms. ****** was not advised that she could exclude a credit card. Second, Ms. ****** turned in her Questionnaire on February 21, 2011, and did not state that she made payment to this specific creditor. Third, our office sent Ms. ****** communications on March 14, 2011, informing her she must include the debt in bankruptcy. Fourth, on September 1, 2011, Ms. ****** sent our firm a communication essentially admitting she paid a specific creditor outside of our counsel and without our knowledge.
We can certainly empathize with Ms. ******'s situation and her personal struggles. It is not easy for many of our clients that have struggled through these difficult times. Obviously, getting a divorce and facing bankruptcy puts a lot of pressure on people and there is no way to come out of the situation feeling good about it. Our firm always strives to help the situation and to help each and every client in a competent, efficient manner and at a very reasonable price. At the end of the day, our firm prepared and filed Ms. ******'s bankruptcy in a very timely manner. We communicated with Ms. ****** numerous times throughout the process and any mistakes that were made were the result of a client that decided to do what she wanted to do rather than allow the process to play out properly. Rather than accept the discharge and move forward with her life, she feels the need to attack our firm and demand a free bankruptcy. While we do empathize with Ms. ******'s situation we feel strongly that we properly advised her of her rights and obligations at all times and that we earned the fee we were paid.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response because it does not address the actual issue I had. The issue was not the divorce. I told Mr ****** that if that card was included in the bankruptcy I would lose my job. I also explained that I would be getting a bonus at work and my tax refund. This would have allowed me to pay half of my credit card debt in one payment. Apparently, that was not even considered by Mr ****** or any of his staff. I also explained the taxes are different every year because I claim my children on even years. If I had waited to file the following year I would have been able to pay off that card and have a much lower tax refund to turn over. I see that now in retrospect, but I had no idea how it all worked at the time because I had never been through a bankruptcy. This is what I hired an attorney to advise me. It is clear that my personal situation was not really considered by Mr ****** or his paralegal. I was not even told my tax refund would be used by the trustee. Mr ****** expressly told me I should stop paying my bills and use the tax refund to pay my lawyer fees.

As for the assertions that I never disclosed the payment. It should be in my file from emails and the meeting with the paralegal that I paid that card. I watched her note it in the file. The card was paid off before the final meeting. If it was an issue then that should have been discussed by the legal professional before the bankruptcy was filed as she supposedly updated the file. Again, when I actually filed the bankruptcy the card was paid off and not included.

When I was informed by the Trustee of all the money I owed, I went to my attorney as I did not understand what had happened. It took 3 emails back and forth for them to even understand what the problem was. Mr ****** himself never answered an email. It was impossible to call them as all I could do was leave messages that were never returned.

The bottom line is that they refused to look at my case for what it was, made it fit in the cookie cutter bankruptcy, did not offer the legal advise I needed and cost me $6000 I should not have owed. I am not asking for the $6000, I simply want a refund for the legal fees I paid them. Yes the paperwork was filed, but anyone can file paperwork. I came to them for legal help with a somewhat complicated issue and my legal ignorance was taken advantage of.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/07/2003Business started: 04/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Bar Association
661 E Jefferson St
Tallahassee, FL32301-2787
(850) 561-5600

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

BBB records show a license number of 178454 for this company, issued by Florida Bar Association.

Type: State

BBB records show a license number of 165913 for this company, issued by Florida Bar Association. Sami Thalji.

Type: State

BBB records show a license number of 253948 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 253953 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 253950 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 506931 for this company, issued by Florida Bar Association.

Type: State

BBB records show a license number of 103619 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp. Robert Bonanno.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 261816 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott D. Stamatakis (Managing Member)Mr. Robert Bonanno JrMr. Sami Thalji (Managing Member)
Business Category

Attorneys, Attorneys - Insurance Law, Attorneys - Collections Law, Attorneys - Bankruptcy & Taxes, Attorneys - Bankruptcy, Attorneys - Tax, Real Estate Attorneys, Attorneys - Personal Injury & Property Damage

Products & Services

This firm provides representation for auto accidents, bankruptcy, foreclosure, credit repair, short sale, loan modification, sinkhole, and personal injury cases.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

No Refunds or Exchanges!

Service Area

Legal Services Provided Statewide

Alternate Business Names
Stamatakis & Thalji, PL, Stamatakis, P.A., The Bonanno Firm, P.A.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Stamatakis + Thalji + Bonanno

8751 N Himes Ave

Tampa, FL 33614-1624

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 8751 N Himes Ave 

    Tampa, FL 33614-1624(813) 282-9330

  • PO Box 341499 

    Tampa, FL 33694-1499

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Stamatakis + Thalji + Bonanno is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 479-6946
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.MyForeclosureAttorney.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Attorneys

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.