BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/11/2011

FishTanksDirect.com

Phone: (941) 484-6736Fax: (941) 484-6750View Additional Phone Numbers121 Triple Diamond Blvd Unit 5, North VeniceFL 34275-3601View Additional Web AddressesFacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/11/2011

BBB has determined that FishTanksDirect.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised FishTanksDirect.com's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on FishTanksDirect.com

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Merchandise was delivered with hidden Damage from the shipper. I was told I damaged it! The damage is so extensive it had to have been dropped.
I live in a Highrise building on the first floor 30 feet from the front door. The tank was delivered by a trucker on a hand truck ! I inspected the package and wheeled it top my apartment. The trucker left. When i completely unpacked it there was exten=sive to the
acrylic tank. It was obviously dropped from a good height! I then noticed the delivery ticket stated the tank was not to be removed from the pallet and a lift gate truck was to deliver it. It had no pallet or packing for that matter and was delivered by tractor and trailer no lift gate. the trucker took it off the trailer by hand. **** ********* lead me to belive he would handle it! Then he told me i did it! Then he told me he would personally take care of replacing the tank they were making it at the manufacturer! I have heard nothing since December. Please I need help I cant afford to loose $750.00

Desired Settlement
I want them to make good on the sale and give me back my money or replace the tank. Although Id rather a refund so as to not do business with this person again!Please Im at the end of my rope!

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We spoke with the customer before the delivery to make sure he would be available to inspect the package before accepting the package. This customer did not inspect the tank. If he would have inspected and found damage we instruct all customers to refuse the delivery and we will replace the item. Because the customer did not inspect the tank and he signed the delivery receipt saying it was received in good condition, now we cannot make a claim with the delivery company. There is no way to repair this tank if it is damaged this is why we go over the damage process with every customer before delivery. We still tried to make a claim with the delivery company but they refused the claim saying the customer signed for it at delivery.

We cannot refund the customer for the aquarium but we would be happy to assist him in replacing the aquarium at cost. If he wants to do this we can requote the job for him all he has to do is call our company.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This gentleman has lied to me from the beginning! He kept telling me he was going to handle replacement until the 45 days had elapsed ! After which pay pal will no longer put a moratorium on his business! He should ( as the seller) went after NU Haul trucking! The bill of lading stated not to remove the crating! Deliver with a lift gate truck! They delivered off the back of a tractor Trailer! The driver brought it into my building I wasn't given the opportunity to inspect it before it left the truck! As a matter of fact the drivers copy had all the shipping instructions blackened out! They circumvented every order on that bill of lading! To say I broke the tank! I took it from the driver in the vestibule and moved it to my apartment (on the same floor ) approximately 50 feet! The damage was concealed! But I'm expected to replace it out of pocket! TALK ABOUT RIPPING PEOPLE OFF! HELP! There is so much damage it had to have been dropped from a great height!

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/30/2010Business started: 02/01/2005Business started locally: 06/05/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax
101 S Washington Blvd
Sarasota, FL 34236-6940
(941) 861-8300
http://www.SarasotaTaxCollector.com

BBB records show a license number of 990010093277 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.SarasotaTaxCollector.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2008, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Bielanski (President)
Business Category

Aquarium Dealers, Online Shopping Sites

Products & Services

This company is an aquarium dealer that carries a selection of acrylic aquariums, Biorb fish tanks, custom aquariums, and supplies including protien skimmers, heaters, feeders, filters, and more.

Alternate Business Names
Tanks Direct Corporation

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for FishTanksDirect.com

121 Triple Diamond Blvd Unit 5

North Venice, FL 34275-3601

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 121 Triple Diamond Blvd Unit 5 

    North Venice, FL 34275-3601(941) 484-6736
    (866) 999-8265
    Fax: (941) 484-6750

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*FishTanksDirect.com is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 999-8265
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Aquarium Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.