BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/07/2012

Veteran Air Conditioning

Phone: (941) 751-6180Fax: (941) 751-6183View Additional Phone Numbers7359 International Pl, Lakewood RanchFL 34240-8531View Additional Web AddressesFacebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/07/2012

BBB has determined that Veteran Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Veteran Air Conditioning's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Veteran Air Conditioning

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
02/08/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was billed $ 450.00 on a service call to replace a TXV value that I was told by a previous technician that the service would cost $ 250.00.
I purchased a new Trane Air Conditioner on 9/27/13 from Veteran Air. On 6/19/15, we had service on the unit because the unit was not cooling the home properly. A Veteran Air technician serviced the unit, added refrigerant, commented that the TXV value could be the problem and recommended a twice a year maintenance agreement in which I purchased just in case I needed the value replaced. Total bill $ 257.50. Zac stated that the unit was under warranty and I would only have to pay for labor. I told Zac to call the office to see about the labor cost on the value. Zac called the office and spoke to Pete. Pete stated it would be $ 250.00 for labor if the value was the issue and could be installed in two weeks. Zac also stated this maintenance agreement would deduct all future services 10% and one additional full service maintenance would be covered. One week later, I called Veteran Air again because the unit was still not cooling the home properly and the decision was made to change the TXV value and they would call me when the part arrived in the warehouse. Three weeks passed without a call so I called the office again. I spoke to Pete and to my surprise, the part was never ordered. Now mid- summer, the unit is poorly performing, running 24 hours a day to keep up with the heat, cooling the home only to 78 degrees. In addition, my energy usage has increased costing money. Pete finally ordered the part and on 8/14/15, two months later, a Veteran Air technician came to fix the air. Ian installed the new TXV value within 45 minutes and the unit was finally cooling the home properly. Ian handed me a bill for $ 450.00 and I told Ian that I was never told that the labor will cost
$ 450.00 but labor would be $ 250.00. Ian stated that I would need to talk to Pete to get an adjustment on the invoice. I signed the service invoice noting on the invoice that I would speak to Pete. I have made four different phone calls to the office since August 2015 and each call I was promised that Pete or someone would call me back, and/or the invoice would be adjusted. Five month later and I am still receiving an invoice for
$ 450.00 with no call back from Veteran Air.

Desired Settlement
Adjustment to service invoice from $ 450.00 to
$ 225.00. ( $ 250.00 agreed labor cost - 10% discount for yearly maintenance agreement of
$ 25.00).

Business Response
I have resolved this with the client.

Consumer Response


10/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not preform service requested
Called to service AC unit for freon leak. Tech came and charged unit with freon stating that he forgot equipment to find leak. Paid $277 for service call and freon is still leaking . Was informed that I would need to pay an additional $122 to have them return to locate the leak and also pay again to recharge the freon again since it is still leaking

Desired Settlement
Do what I called them to do initially which is to repair freon leak. I should not have to pay again because the tech forgot the equipment to do the job

Business Response
Client's request was system is cooling ok, but there is a hissing sound when it shuts off. The hissing sound was do to the unit being low on refrigerant. We quoted the diagnostic fee, leak search and refrigerant on the invoice. The technician informed him that we can add the refrigerant and comeback to do the leak check because my technician left his leak detector at a previous job site. We did not collect the money for the leak search on that day.

Customer was ok with that. Gave my technician a credit card and signed the invoice.

We do not charge the client's for return trips. But we will need to collect for the leak check that was clearly quoted on the invoice that the customer signed.

I feel we have been honest and professional with this client. I am enclosing a copy of the invoice to show we quoted the work to be done and we did not charge him for the leak check.

I hope this is just a misunderstanding and I would like to visit the clients home personally to discuss the matter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
*****, the owner, is working with us to resolve the problem. He sent a tech out last Friday but the tech could not find it. ***** is coming out next week to further investgate. He has not charged anything additional to do this.

07/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
we had veteran air install a new air condition unit in our at a cost of $6400.00, an within 8 month from the install date unit was not working. When I
when we called for service was informed we had to pay a trip charge, and a labor charge to see the problem,
before any warranty would be involved

Desired Settlement
we expect not to have a bill on an completely new unit

Final Consumer Response
This response was taken verbally by the ***:
The technician was very professional and
the business has taken care of the issues. You may close this case as resolved.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/30/2012Business started: 01/13/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Manatee County Contractor's License

Bradenton, FL 34201
(941) 749-3079

Sarasota County Contractor's License

Sarasota, FL 34231
(941) 861-3285

Hillsborough County Contractors License
5701 E Hillsborough Ave Ste 1140
Tampa, FL 33610-5428
(813) 272-5600

Charlotte County Contractors License

Port Charlotte, FL 33952
(941) 743-1201

Pinellas County Construction License Board
12600 Belcher Road, Suite 102
Largo, FL 33773
(727) 582-3100
http://www.pcclb.com

Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of CAC1816468 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of CAC1816468 for this company, issued by Manatee County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CTACA - CAC1816468 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CAC1816468 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CAC1816468 for this company, issued by Charlotte County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of I-CAC1816468 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of TC4458 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Type: Telemarketing License

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2012, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Henault (General Manager/License Holder)Mr. Steven Pimlott (President)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Companies, Air Conditioning Cleaners, Air Conditioning Repair Companies, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps Suppliers, Contractors-Air Conditioning Balance & Testing

Products & Services

This company provides complete residential and commercial air conditioning, heating sales, installation and services.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 12:00 AM to 11:30 PMTue: 12:00 AM to 11:30 PMWed: 12:00 AM to 11:30 PMThu: 12:00 AM to 11:30 PMFri: 12:00 AM to 11:30 PMSat: 12:00 AM to 11:30 PMSun: 12:00 AM to 11:30 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

100% Satisfaction or Money Back within 6 months of Service Date

Alternate Business Names
Veteran Property Services, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Veteran Air Conditioning has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 6 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Veteran Air Conditioning

7359 International Pl

Lakewood Ranch, FL 34240-8531

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7359 International Pl 

    Lakewood Ranch, FL 34240-8531

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Veteran Air Conditioning is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (941) 526-8034
  • (941) 504-5987
  • (941) 404-1788
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.