BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Seabee AC & Heat, Inc.

Phone: (855) 833-2665Fax: (727) 835-0111

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues10
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service11
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints23

Additional Complaint Information

BBB has received a pattern of complaints from consumers involving sales practice issues alleging misrepresentation in diagnostics and the need for parts or replacement. Some complaints allege issues with services performed.

In May 2014, BBB contacted Seabee AC & Heat, Inc. requesting information as to why the business believes the customers are filing the complaints, and what actions the business has taken to help eliminate the causes of complaints.

The business responded, stating: "We at Seabee do not believe there is a general pattern of complaints. It may be due to the increased volume of clients we are serving during the intense summer months. As our customer base grows we diligently try to satisfy everyone. We will continue to work with the BBB and our customers in an effort to reduce our number of complaints and to ensure everyone is treated fairly. Customers can contact our Customer Care dept. toll free at 1-855-833-2665 prior to contacting the BBB for immediate resolution."

The business requests and BBB recommends that if you have any complaints or concerns, please contact Angel Cabrera, Operations Manager, prior to contacting BBB. Mr. Cabrera can be reached at 727-232-8999 or e-mail seabee@seabeeacandheat.com.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (23)
07/14/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Deceptive Sales Tactics, No Permits Pulled for work done, Quoted work not completed.
I am filing this complaint on behalf of my 75 year old mother, as I am her Power of Attorney, as she has moderate dementia. In late 2015, I was contacted by this company, while my mother was hospitalized. At the time, they advised that they had received a client list from a company that previously worked with my mother. I explained to the gentleman calling, that we had a new company, Majestic Mechanical, and that we are very happy with them and do not need their services. At the beginning of April 2016, my mother was contacted cold-called at her home phone number by a representative of Seabee AC & Heat to schedule routine maintenance. She believed that she was being contacted by Majestic Mechanical (who installed a new AC system in Sept. 2013) and scheduled an appointment. When the Seabee representative visited, they advised that her ductwork was more than 40 years old, falling apart and that she was going to burn out her new unit by air conditioning the attic. We feel they used high pressure scare tactics and deceptive business practices to coerce my mother into these services. They quoted a 10 point duct change out, removal of all old duct board, install R-6 flex ductwork, hung on the rafters, mastic and seal all new ducts for $5,240. They said if she decided that day, it would save her $2,000. She gave them a credit card deposit of $747.00 and agreed to finance the rest for 18 months. We discovered this past weekend, that Seabee (Not Majestic Mechanical)did the work on 4/7 and 4/8/16, but saw that old ductboard remains in the attic. It also appears that not all 10 ducts were completed. During the work, workers knocked a light fixture loose in her hallway and did a very poor job repairing it. My mother is not one to complain or confront, but as you can see in the attached photos, the repair looks shabby. The company did not pull permits in Hillsborough County for this work and we have initiated a complaint with code compliance as well. This company exploited my mother into committing to spend money using fear and high pressure.

Desired Settlement
We wish for this to be investigated and for it to be determined by a professional if the work done is what was quoted. If the work done, without permit, is not what was quoted, we would ask that the work be done at no additional cost to her. We believe this to be exorbitantly expensive and would ask that a fair estimate of this work be made by a third party. We ask that she be allowed to cancel the financing agreement and that we will pay the remainder of what is determined to be a fair cost for these services, though I would prefer not to give this company another dime.

Business Response
Business Response:

May2,2016

Better Business Bureau
Serving West Florida
2655 McCormick Drive
Clearwater, FL 33759

RE: Case ********** *************** *************************

To whom it may concern:

The first statement Ms. ******* has in her complaint is we have deceptive sales tactics, no permit pulled for work done, quoted work is not complete. First of all, it is NOT deceptive sales tactics to tell a customer the truth. The truth is the ductwork was original to the house built in 1973. The ductwork WAS 43 years old. There was a mix up in the paperwork with one paper saying duct repair. We found
out it was a duct change out and that is when the required permit was pulled. That is the reason for the delay in pulling the permit Duct repairs do not require a permit. It would have been harmful to the air conditioning system because the ductwork was falling apart and would have caused a strain on the system. As to the work not being completed, we need to be able to go back and check to see what has
and has not been done before we can reply to this complaint.

How can ANY company know a customer has a Power of Attorney unless the customer tells the company??? Ms. ******* NEVER told any of our personnel she had a Power of Attorney and the daughter is the Power of Attorney. We need a copy of that Power of Attorney for Ms. ********** file.
Had we been aware of that fact, we would have contacted ***************. How is it a person with "moderate" dementia can use a credit card as Ms. ******* did for the deposit in the duct change out??
How is it a person with "moderate" dementia is allowed to drive a car??? Doesn't Ms. ******* care if her mother loses her way home??

We did NOT talk to Ms. ******* as she stated in her complaint. According to the worksheet our
representative used shows there was No Answer at Ms. ********** home on December 7, 2015 when he
called her the first time. No one talked to Ms. ******* because there was no answer and we did NOT
have Ms. ********** phone number, only her mother's. The second time we called Ms. ******* was on April 6,2016. Our representative told her we had purchased the customer base from her old air conditioning company, Winton's AC. He talked to Ms. ******* for quite a while as you can see by the statement our representative wrote. (See enclosed copy of worksheet and statement.) Ms. ******* was
very much aware she was talking to a representative of Seabee AC & Heat, Inc.

According to the customer survey Ms. ******* filled out she gave us positive responses to the seven questions. Question number 4 says, "Did the representative fully explain the services performed or any additional services to be performed in a professional and non-pressuring manner?' To which Ms. ******* responded "Yes" and she initialed the answer. Question 7 says, 'Overall, how would you rate
the value you received from Seabee AC & Heat Inc.?" She checked off excellent and also initialed her answer. There were NO high pressure tactics used. We do not tolerate such behavior from our employees. Ms. ******* was of Sound mind when she wrote a hand written note with the information she was given by the technician who sold her the ductwork. Looking at her note, it does not say if she
bought the ductwork that day, it would be discounted another $2,000.00. She wrote everything else the
technician told her, why not that? The $4,493.00 is the amount she financed with a deposit of $747.00
charged to her credit card for a total of $5,240.00 for the duct change out. (Copy enclosed.)

This is the first we are hearing about our technicians knocking a light fixture loose in the hallway and not
doing a good job repairing it. No one has contacted our office about this problem. We were never told about this when the ceiling was repaired on April 21, 2016. Until we are allowed to go back and inspect the duct charge out, we cannot answer the part of the complaint that says the job is incomplete.
Sincer ly
Angel *******
Operations Manager
AC/lfa
enclosures

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the aforementioned response from Mr. *******, as a representative of Seabee AC and Heat.
It is shameful that a vendor would choose to make personal accusations about me as my Mother's Power of Attorney. It appears to be an attempt to take the focus off of his company, and we will not respond. Nonetheless, my Mother does have moderate Dementia.
My Mother told the tech (John C.) that completed the estimate of repairs that the current AC unit and air handler were installed by Majestic Mechanical. According to my Mother, John's response was that that company went out of business and is now being operated by Seabee AC & Heat. Despite Mr. *******'s assertions, my Mother believed, the entire time, that she was working with people who worked for Majestic Mechanical. She has always been very pleased with the care and professionalism that Majestic Mechanical has served her with since 2013. When completing her evaluations, that is the company with whom she thought she was dealing. Since Mr. ******* is not a licensed mental health professional, his estimations of my mother's state, given the fact that he was not aware he was dealing with an elderly person with dementia, are observational at best. The only evidence that he met my mother was when he went to check on the light repairs at the end of April. To his own admission, he did not enter the attic to see the work done by his team at that time.
In speaking with Mr. *******, he advised me that he did not search to see if my personal cell phone number was called by any of his sales staff in 2015. To this date, I do not know if he has checked that to see the evidence of the conversation. I can assure you, there was a conversation and I dissuaded them from contacting us again.
Following our complaints, Mr. ******* visited my Mother's home on May 16, 2016 and saw that the work quoted in the initial estimate, was not done. He seemed disappointed in his staff and even advised that a staff member was suspended for what had happened with my Mother.
When Seabee was notified of the fact that a permit had not been pulled, because we filed a complaint, they then pulled a permit for the work. We are being told now, by Mr. *******, that they MUST be allowed to finish the work quoted. The price offered is $3,800.
My mother does not trust anyone related to Seabee AC & Heat and does not wish to have them step foot in her home. She does not want to give them any more money for a job that was not done as quoted.
We wish to know if the permit Seabee pulled, AFTER the work was done, can be cancelled? If so, we wish to have that permit cancelled.
The work done to date, while not up to code or contract, has been estimated at $1000. We will be glad to pay $353 to Seabee for the work done and no more. They did not honor the work promised in their contract, nor have they taken full responsibility of their faults thus far. This is not yet resolved.
Sincerely,
******* ******* *** **** *******




Final Consumer Response

01/04/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
07/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Employees while installing a new a/c system damaged a spa burning up pumps and blower by switching spa breaker on when spa was empty.
On March 2nd a Seabees technician inspected my a/c system and breaker box next to outside unit. I was sold a new a/c system which was installed on March 7, 2016 by two other service technicians.
One of the installation technicians I was told was ***** *******, Operations Mgr. All three servicemen accessed, inspected, and or worked in the breaker box which had only 3 breakers. Two for the a/c units - one for spa. On March 15th, 2016 two technicians arrived again to change out a box at inside air handler - they also again had access to breaker box outside. The spa had been emptied of water on March 1st for normal cleaning
maintenance. On April 1st when I opened spa cover to refill with water I noticed panel flashing "no flo" and saw the light was on I immediately realized spa power had been switched on at breaker. I went and saw that the breaker was switched to the on position along with the two
a/c breakers. I turned it off and called the Seabee office and reported what I had found to Kara who had answered the phone. I told her I was refilling tub and hoped that when I turned power on again with water in tub it would start up with no issues but that I was afraid of the worse....since it had been running dry (it is on a timer and goes on and off at scheduled intervals) She asked me to call back after the weekend and let her know. I filled tub and could not get pumps to operate or blower to blow. I informed Kara and she referred me to ***** *******, Operations Mgr, who said he would look into it - but that I should get a spa technician out cause it probably was as simple as a reset switch. I told him spa technician would cost me $170.00 and he advised me to go ahead and call them and he would work out the $170.00. The spa technician confirmed my worse fears that the pumps and blower were seized up and needed to be replaced due to it running dry. The cost would be $1471.25. I was also advised that heater and display could be blown as well but they would not know that until the pumps were running and it had water in it - could be up to another $1500 in damages. I advised ***** ******* and he told me he was the installer and he didn't do it - couldn't speak for anyone else would talk to owner, asked for copy of estimate. After two weeks I contacted him again and he said they had decided not to take responsibility for the damage.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the $1471.25 for the two pumps and blower and if the heater and display are damaged I am seeking reimbursement for those charges as well.

Business Response
Business Response:

May 5,2016

Better Business Bureau
Serving West Florida
2655 McCormick Dr.
Clearwater, FL 33759

Re: Case #******** ***** *****

To whom it may concern:

Mrs. ***** is claiming we damaged her spa when we installed her air conditioning system on March 7,
2016. I explained to her that I did not think it was possible because I was the one who installed her system and I know I had not touched her breaker for the spa. I told Mrs. ***** we take before and after pictures of all our installations and her pictures showed the breaker was on before installation even began. Then she said it could have been the guy who came out and sold her the system. I told her the spa breaker had nothing to do with her air conditioning system therefore, we would not have touched it for any reason. I told her if we had needed to kill the power while working on the air conditioning system the breaker would be in the off position, not in the on position.

Mrs. ***** sent in a copy of the estimate for repairs to her spa She claimed there was $1,471.00 in damages done to her spa. Seabee AC & Heat is not in the spa business and would not touch a breaker that did not go to her air conditioning system. Mrs ***** is correct in stating the panel for the air conditioning system is outside along with a third breaker but as I explained to Mrs ***** the breaker
was on prior to our arrival. Mrs. ***** is looking to blame someone for her misfortune but it was not Seabee AC & Heat who turned the breaker on. Mrs. ***** claims it had to be someone from Seabee who turned the breaker on and I told her that is why we take before and after pictures of the system so there are no false claims made such as this one. I told her Seabee AC & Heat will not be responsible
for the repairs to her spa.

Sincerely,
Angel *******
Operations Manager
AC/lfa

Consumer Response
In response to Mr. C******'s response of May 5, 2016:
Mr. C****** told me when I first reported the damage to his company that he had installed the system and that he did not switch the breaker. However, he also stated that he could not speak for the other two employees from his company that were working on the system prior to his arrival and prior to him taking any pictures. When I informed him of the damage he told me to get an estimate and that he thought it was only a reset switch -when I got the estimate and sent the info to him....it was at that point he started to deny any obligation or responsibility on behalf of the company due to the high cost of repair. He alleges that they didn't kill the power while installing the system that is simply not true - his very young assistant rang my doorbell and asked if there were any other breaker boxes in garage cause he needed to kill the power before he started. The breaker for the spa was in the off position when they arrived - what I am alleging is that when they flipped the a/c power breakers back on again - they accidentally flipped the spa breaker as well. Since there was no water in spa it was running dry and caused the extensive damage. They had a young man working on the system prior to Mr. C****** arriving at my home. In fact in a subsequent service call in May,the same young man came out and left all his a/c gages attached to my a/c system and left. The Seabee office had to call me and ask could they come get them, which I agreed to, but this is just another demonstration of the ineptness and carelessness of the young employee - he mistakenly left the companies' equipment behind on the service call, and after my system was installed he mistakenly flipped the spa breaker on along with the 2 a/c breakers in the same box. Mr. C******'s assertion that this is a false claim by me is ludicrous. One would only need to read all the complaints about this company, their work, sales practices and their ethics to see who is falsely accusing who here.

07/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SeaBee Air came to my house to inspect my air system. The tech named Gary completely lied to me trying to get me make repairs in excess of $850.00.
SeaBee Air tech Gary completely lied to me to try to get me to purchase parts for my Air conditioning unit..a capacitor and a safety package in excess of $850.00. He said the capacitor was rusted and I needed the safety package right away. He was pressuring me to purchase it immediately trying to scare me telling me it could blow up and end up costing me $5000.00 and could cost me all kinds of damages in my home if I did not purchase it right now. I repeatedly told him no I had to speak with my son first. I called another company to come out the next day. Seabreeze came out inspected my entire system and told me nothing was wrong. They told me I was being scammed. I decided to do something about it so someone else won't be put thru this.

Desired Settlement
I paid $147.95 which I want back. This company did nothing but try to scam me.

Business Response
Business Response:

June 17, 2016

Better Business Bureau -
Serving West Florida
*****************************************

RE: Case it XXXXXXXX : ******** ************

To whom it may concern:

I have received the complaint filed by Mrs. ************. She is claiming the technician who came to her home lied to her. I reviewed all the reports in her file and I saw that the service was done and all the paperwork was filled out properly and signed by the homeowner. She was given recommendations to upgrade her 12 year old air conditioning system but she declined to do so.

She is also requesting a refund from us. Mrs ************ has been a customer of ours since April 2015 and there have been no issues during that time. On April 17, 2015, she purchased a one year agreement from us. These agreements are good for one year. On October 9, 2015, she received her first of two free check-ups covered by the agreement. There were recommendations made at that time but she declined to do so. On June 2, 2016, she received her final free check-up. Again, recommendations were made but she declined to do so. Our General Manger, Robert, called Mrs ************ and she was very rude to him. He offered to personally go to her home at no charge and re-inspect her air conditioning system and see why the recommendations were made. She refused to allow him to come out and hung up on him.

Mrs. ************ is requesting a refund of $147.95. This is for the original check-up for $49.95 done on April 17, 2015 and the $98.00 for the one year agreement purchased at that time. This is totally unrealistic since the check-up was done and she received her two free check-ups which she paid for.
This should not be a complaint against our company because the work was done over one year ago.
According to the BBB National Complaint Acceptance Guidelines, you cannot accept a complaint for
work that is over a year. (See enclosed copy.)

Mrs. ************ is also claiming she had another air conditioning company come out and give her a
second opinion. Since her unit is 12 years old there would have been some comment on their
inspection sheet. She failed to turn in a copy of that inspection How can we respond to this without a
copy of their second opinion? The only thing we can verify is the condition of her 12 year old air conditioning system at the time of the inspection by our company.

There will be NO refund coming to Mrs ************ since Seabee AC & Heat has fulfilled its obligation to her one year agreement and the money she wants is over a year old.

Sincerely,
***** *******
Opearations Manager
Ac/If

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did receive a call from the General Manager who treated me condescending and was rude to me. I did have another Air conditioning company come out and they told me nothing was wrong with my system and the safety equipment they said I needed, I already had. After this company trying to rip me off why would I want them to return? They did absolutely nothing for the $147.95. The salesperson also was using scare tactics to try and get me to spend unnecessary money on my air conditioning. He was pressuring me big time. He states I was a customer for a year with no issues...wrong. They scammed my husband into buying this one year agreement. They did absolutely nothing for their money but try to scam me. They never did any work for me in the first place...they just took my money and tried to get more out of me. They are a huge rip-off and I am sure they scammed many a customer. They won't be scamming me. It is a shame they get away with their tactics.

06/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Called Company because air-conditioners were not working. We were told they could not be repaired and needed to be replaced. Quote was $6,900.00 +
We were told that 1. The breaker boxes were struck by lightning. 2. The wires and compressors were fried. 3. The air handlers needed to be changed. John, the technician, stated that the upstairs air-conditioner was used so much that it drew all the power from the downstairs unit and overworked it so much that all the insides were FRIED. He said that he could replace it for $6,900.00 to $7,200.00, and then he would throw in other services for free. He also stated they would replace the air handler breaker as well, because it was only 25 amps. This company replaced the upstairs air-conditioner less than 2 years ago and should have replaced the breaker with a higher amperage breaker at that time, which is when the company is allowed to do this without having to contract an electrician.
We had a second opinion today. We were told that there was no lightning strike, the units are fine and in good working order. The problem is the BREAKER. It is not capable of handling 2 units that each pull 25 watts of amperage, with a 25 amp breaker. We are lucky that the breaker has not caught fire. We are happy that we do not have to replace the units and or the air-handlers, but now we have no air until we can contract an electrician to replace the breaker- which should have been done 2 years ago.
We feel that Seabee AC should be responsible for the replacement cost and refund the service fee that was paid.
We paid Seabee AC $7,000.00 for the unit they installed in 2014. We have been advised that the unit that was installed, was not name brand, and is only a $4,000.00 unit retail. They took advantage of us, and who knows how many other people. We feel they are responsible for any additional costs we are now incurring.

Desired Settlement
We are Senior citizens and are on a fixed income that is very tight. We feel that Seabee AC & Heat, Inc. should be responsible to return our service charge, the cost of the breaker that needs to be replaced, and a partial refund for the off brand unit that was installed 2 years ago.

Business Response
Business response and documentation

April 19, 2016

Better Business Bureau
**** ********* *****
Clearwater, FL *****

RE: Case if ******** :******* and **** ******

To whom it may concern:

Mrs. ****** has been a customer since October 28, 2010- We went to her home on April 7,2016 for a
service call because the air conditioner was not working. The technician charged her $49.95. Upon
arrival, the technician found the systems had no high voltage running to them Upon further inspection, he saw the breaker on the main panel was fried. Mrs. ****** is claiming we tried to sell her a new system. The system we installed in her home has a 10 year warranty, so all the parts are covered.

She has a second system in her home that is a 2006 Rheem system which we did not install and has no warranty Both systems were down and not working due to the electrical breaker in the panel. Mrs. ****** is claiming we told her everything was fried. This is not true because it was impossible for my technician to diagnose anything wrong with the systems due to the home having no power going to
either system.

She was told by our technician she needed an electrician to come out and correct the problem. Mrs. ****** took it upon herself to call another air conditioning company. They told her the same thing we did, she needs an electrician

Mrs ****** is also claiming we should have changed the breaker back in 2014 when she purchased the
system from Seabee AC & Heat We pull permits on all work performed. The system was inspected by
the county on April 15, 2014 and was approved. (See enclosed copyj Checking the breaker is one of the items the inspector checks. As a licensed contractor for air conditioning systems, we are NOT allowed to upgrade any electrical panel. We are allowed to change a whip from the disconnect box to the unit and breakers in the panel to bring a system up to code, but thats all we are allowed to do

Mrs ****** stated she paid too much money for her air conditioning system in 2014. This is the first
time she ever had any concern about the pricing. If she felt Seabee AC & Heat had overcharged her,
why would she continue to do business with us??? She has allowed us to service her units 4 times after the installation of the new unit. Mrs. ****** also stated the system is not a name brand. This does not make any sense to me because we private label all of our air conditioning systems and the brand name is Envir 0 Tech and the manufacturer is ICP who is one of the largest manufacturer in the world, not just the United States.

I feel Mrs ****** was wrong in filing this complaint about us because we have done nothing wrong here. She needed en electrician to fix her issues not an air conditioning contractor The price issue is over 2 years ago and is not valid under the National Better Business standards. (See copy enclosed.) If further information is needed, please contact our office.

Sincerely
Angel C******
Operations Manager
AC/Ifa
enclosures

Consumer Response
To Whom It May Concern,

I filed a complaint regarding Seabee AC and Heat in April, 2015.

I am writing to determine if you have received a response.

I, in fact, received a call from Mr. C******, on or about April 15, 2016. Mr. C****** stated he was concerned about what I had related to him. He stated to me that he would insure that his employee was appropriately counselled or disciplined. In addition he stated that he # 1...would refund to me the diagnostic fee of &100.00+. paid to determine if the information I received from his service technician was accurate, #2...would extend our service contract for an additional year, #3... in the future any calls would be responded to by a supervising technician, #4...I should contact him, Mr. C******, personally should I require future service to my HVAC systems, and # 5...He would, after I asked, be amenable to confirm in writing all of the above.

As of this date May 6, 2016, I have not received any further contact from Mr, C****** verbally or in writing. I have forwarded my complaint to the Hillsborough County Consumer Protection Agency.

I thought that this information would be important to you, as a follow-up to the complaint I originally filed.

01/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased and had AC unit installed by this company. Had a leak and was told by service man that the drain line was installed incorrectly as it was pitched too high. After service man corrected the pitch to the drain line he said it would be $250. Since the drain line was installed incorrectly I told him I should not be held liable. After he spoke to his supervisor he stated that the unit was not purchased from them and that if I refused to pay the $250 they would not return for any future work. This all happened on 11/30/15. Prior to this on 11/5/15 I had a a tune-up perform by them and I also renew my yearly tune-up contract. If the tune-up done 3 weeks prior was performed correctly I should not have had a drain back-up. That was 2 things that the company did incorrectly and I should not be liable for their errors.
Product_Or_Service: Yearly tuneup
Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Since they will not be doing any further work for me I requested a refund of the $98 I paid on 11/5/15 for the yearly tune-up. To date I have not received the refund.

Business Response
January 5, 2016

Better Business Bureau
West Florida
2655 McCormick Drive
Clearwater, FL XXXXX

RE: Case # 67327225 : **** ******* *****

To whom it may concern:
Mrs. ***** purchased a new heat pump system from us on September 4, 2012. (See Invoice #XXXXX). On the front of that invoice under Labor Guarantee, it states "Customer also agrees that it is their responsibility to check and maintain their drain Lines on a regular basis. Seabee AC & Heats Inc. will not be held responsible for any damage resulting from a water leak" (Exhibit A) Also, on the back of that invoice under Warranty it states, "NO WARRANY ON DRAIN LINES.' (Exhibit B) It was installed on September 6, 2012 and passed inspection on September 26,2011 (Exhibit C) This system is covered by a factory warranty supplied by the manufacturer. This warranty strictly covers parts in the equipment, and does not cover any items attached to the equipment such as drain lines or ductwork or the company's labor costs. The uncovered items and the labor are the responsibility of the homeowner as stated in the factory warranty that is given to the homeowner.

We have been to Mrs. *****'s home 6 times since the install of her equipment. We went approximately every 6 months for her check and tune on her system. The dates are: February 13, 2013, September 13, 2013, May 6,2014, November 5,2014, May 19,20Th and November 5, 2015. In all of the Field Report
Worksheets done for each date, there are NO notations of any problem with the drain line. As part of the check-up, we flush the drain line and add algaecide tablets to the drain pan. The algaecide tablets do help keep slime from building up inside of the drain line. However, there is NO guarantee the drain line will never back up. A drain line can clog at any time, in a matter of days from the last time it was flushed out. Not only will slime build up and cause clogs, but so do many other items, such as lawn clippings and sometimes even frogs get stuck in the line.

On November 30, 2015 we went to Mrs. *****'s home for a service call due to a water leak. Our technician found the drain line was clogged and the drain line was pitched too high causing a back up to occur. He corrected the problem by cleaning out the drain line, re-piping the primary drain line and he added a clean out to the drain to make it easier to flush should a problem occur again. This repair is NOT covered under any warranty, so the cost of all parts and labor required to fix the problem are the responsibility of the homeowner as I stated earlier. Mrs. ***** was told by our office this would be chargeable BEFORE the work was completed. We are in no way liable for the drain line being clogged or being pitched too high. As you can see on Invoice #XXXXX, dated September 6,2012 the day of the installation, it is noted we cleared the drain line but we did NOT install a new drain line. Also, it is noted on the same invoice we did make sure the system was draining properly upon completion of the work. The equipment was connected to the existing drain line in the home. We tried to explain this to Mrs. *****, we did NOT install the drain line. (Exhibit D)

We are in no way trying to upset Mrs. *****. We value all of our customers, but warranties only cover so much. Unfortunately, her system had a problem her warranty did not cover We simply did the repair and charged her a fair rate for the work that was performed Mrs. ***** was clearly satisfied with the work that our technician did as you can see from the customer survey she filled out and the note she wrote on Invoice # ***** (Exhibit E) In going through Mrs. *****'s other paperwork, she has on multiple occasions given us a positive review and an excellent rating on our surveys, even as recently as November 5, 2015 on Invoice #XXXXX when we did her routine maintenance. (Exhibit F)

As for Mrs. *****'s desired resolution for a refund of $98.00 for her maintenance policy, we will gladly deduct that amount, from the outstanding bill for the repair she refused to pay for. The total repair came to $250.00, with a $98.00 deduction from her outstanding balance will be $152.00 due Seabee AC & Heat Inc. Payment can be submitted to Seabee AC & Heat, Inc. via mail by cashier's check, or cash or by phone if she wishes to use a credit card. The balance of this bill will remain in effect as she agreed to the work done at her home that is NOT covered under warranty and our company is due payment.

Sincerely,
****************
General Manager
GG/lfa

11/18/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Told I needed a product to remedy excessive condensation. Overcharged for unit.
I was charged $2495 for an Apco in duct air purifier. I found them on line from $409 to $450, free shipping. I called immediately and was told those were probably bootlegged items with no warranty. Not so. Manufacturer said they only sold to distributers, not contractors as they told me. They gave me names of businesses to contact. I called and found that top of the line Apco installed for $875. 1/3 of what I was charged. I don't like being lied to or scammed. Trying to resolve the issue. Repairman was nice , but he has to charge what he is told.

Desired Settlement
I will pay $875 for the service or they can come and remove the unit and I'll get someone else to come out, the ones that gave the quote. They already talked me into the ultraviolet light that was supposed to take care of the problem the visit before. That was $2000.

Business Response
Due to the criteria of the Better Business Bureau complaint process, this complaint is beyond the purview of the Better Business Bureau. Number 4 of the criteria for the Better Business Bureau lists the complaints that the Better Business Bureau DOES NOT handle. Please find enclosed a copy of the criteria for the BBB National Complaint Acceptance Guidelines. Ms. ******* is complaining solely over the price she paid to us and now has buyer's remorse. Because these are listed as criteria that the Better Business Bureau DOES NOT handle, we are unable to address this issue. Our prices are listed on our website for ALL consumers to educate themselves and review. Since the complaint DOES NOT meet the Better Business Bureau's guidelines, we would ask that this complaint be removed from the Better Business Bureau file.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I contacted them (Seabee, by phone and 4 e-mails to both of their sites within the 3 days. I trusted them and they lied to me. I didn't need what they said. They told me my ducts were collapsed and they would have to write mold on the invoice. They said the light would take care of that. On 12/10/15 they installed a UV light system plus a hard start = $1878, then on 8/7/15 they told me still a problem and a charge of &2495. I had someone else come out and found out ducts are not collapsed, no mold starting and Both lights installed for $875.They told me the prices I found on line were probably bootlegged . Yes, the money is a problem, but lying is worse,especially to a Sr citizen. So Basically they scared me. Scott the tech was talking about mushrooms growing up in the attic. I understand you don't have anything to do with pricing, but the George told me Apco told him what to charge. I talked to them and they said Not so. Also that they didn't sell to him, he had to get the unit from distributors.Charging a little more is one thing, but lying and charging at least 4 times as much is robbery.
George,
Seabee charged me $195 for Hardstart ( you can see below available between 40-$60) plus $275 for transformer plus $870 for UV system plus other charges totaling $1788 on 12-10-14
On 8-7-15 you wanted $2495 for an Apco unit. I could have the 2 light Apco unit installed for $875. Then I wouldn't need what you installed in Dec. I had the ducts checked and there is Nothing wrong with them! That's more than 5 times what it should cost.
Shop for apco in duct... on Google
The AC Outlet TUV-APCO - In Duct Air Purifier
The AC Outlet TUVAPCO I...
$369.00
The AC Outlet
Fresh-aire In Duct Air Purifier High Voltage w/ (2) 2 Year Lamps
Freshaire In Duct Air Purifie...
$651.07
ACWholesaler...




APCO Fresh-Aire UV In-Duct Air Purifier
APCO FreshAire UV...
$450.00
filtershipping.c...
APCO Ultraviolet UV Air Purifier w/ 2 Year Bulb
APCO Ultraviolet UV...
$421.99
ComfortUp.com


The AC Outlet CSR-U-2 - Hard Start Capacitor for 3.5 Ton - 5 Ton Condensers and Heat Pumps
The AC Outlet CSRU2 Har...
$49.20
The AC Outlet

Special offerSpecial offer
Goodman Hard Start Kit for 3 to 3.5 Ton Units
Goodman Hard Start Kit for 3 t...
$44.64
ACWholesaler...
The AC Outlet CSR-U-1 - Hard Start Capacitor for 1.5 Ton - 3.0 Ton Condensers and Heat Pumps
The AC Outlet CSRU1 Har...
$39.14
The AC Outlet
Zoro
Special offerSpecial offer
Goodman Hard Start Kit for 4 to 5 Ton Units
Goodman Hard Start Kit for 4 t...
$60.60
ACWholesaler...

Final Consumer Response

Page 1 of 5

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.