BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In West Florida

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/13/2009

Purr-Fect Air, Inc.

Phone: (239) 242-4213Fax: (239) 242-4214

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues8
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints15

Additional Complaint Information

This company is working with BBB to reduce its number of complaints. BBB recommends that if you have any complaints or concerns, please contact the Production Manager, Beth Marler, at (239) 242-4213 or purrfectair@gmail.com prior to contacting BBB.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
02/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used high pressure methods

Complaint: I receive dozens of calls a week from this company, they will not stop calling me
I have continually asked to be removed from their call list, and they have flat out refused, calling me nearly every day. I run a business from my home and am repeatedly interrupted by this rude and disrespectful company.

Initial Business Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

I have spoken to this customer yesterday regarding this complaint. The customer was called because her number was the number of a previous customer. When the customer asked us to place her on our do not call list, we honored her request.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I really hope that I have been removed this time. My other 25 requests were ignored. I will hopefully not be hearing from this company again.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/06/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: Company refuses to respect the DO NOT CALL list. They are required by law to purchase the list and comply with the list.
Woman who called refused to acknowledge the DO NOT CALL requirements or respect our right to be on the list and not be harassed with Purr Fect Air's repeated calls to XXX-XXX-XXXX. This number belongs to my disabled son and is his only means of getting medial help. Purr Fect Air's rep refused to give me her name or agree to stop harassing my disabled son with her calls.

Business' Initial Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

We do not call numbers off the Do Not Call registry. We recently had an employee who was calling people off her own list. The employee was terminated for doing this and I called the customer to apologize.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
07/06/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
01/27/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2
09/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Drain pan drain pipe stuffed with a/c tape.which i don't have, and drain pipe taped over with same tape. Fnd by indpt hme wrnty co.


Had preventive mainentenance contract with this company over 3 years...had called to get pm done. They had actually called me twice to schedule it. Every time came out for maintenanIce told me I needed new A/c unit. But I refused & unit would work fine. This past time same guy came out for maintenance, and I was paying my bills @ my desk. He saw pink sheet from AHS that they had come to pump out the drain pan AGAIN in 8/12 bcz I thought I could call Ahs since they had warranty/repair service; I thought Purrfect was MAINTENANCE, not repair, and I had called them br I called AHS.@ purrfect I was told itwould be an emergency call and would cost me that fee. So that's why i called AHS. Anyway, when the tech saw the pink sheet, he got enraged; told me my contract that was paidin full til 8/14 was void, I lost my money paid, while on cell phone with office. I askedto speakto office manager, cou;dn't get 1 word in while she ranted on how my contract was void; meanwhile tech tells me how stupid I am to keep this unit running up my electric bill standing over me while i'm seated at my desk in my OWN HOMe!!! Told him to leave. 2 hours after he left felt warm in house, looked at stat and now it was not cooling in house. set at 78, 81 in house. AHS guy 3 days later found upon arrival my drain pipe had been stuffed and taped closed. also coolant gone, he showed me on his cell phone camera!!!

Initial Business Response
I am the manager that this customer said she spoke to and was ranting. I never raised my voice once to this lady. I explained to her that our contract clearly states that if you have another company come in and touch the unit it voids our contract due to the liability of damages that could come back to us. Just as this did. You see she called her All Home Appliance company to come clean out her drain line not us. They were the very last ones to touch her unit. When our technician arrived there they realized that she had in fact called this other company to service her unit even though she had a contract with us. We informed her we are not a janitorial service to just come clean and changer her filters. When repairs need to be done we expect to also be called. She in fact told me that she had to pay the other company money to come clean out her drain line before we even came to her home. The Preventative maintenance agreement we gave her is buy one year and we give you one year free. The one year she purchased was used so there is no refund for the free year. Also, I explained that in her contract it states it will void your contract if we find that you are having another company service your unit. As you see she wants to blame us now for the problems she claims to have had but the other company was the last one to touch her drain lines. Perhaps they should be the ones she turned the complaint into you for. I will not be offering her a refund on her free year of service. She has the all home warranty company that I suggest she call. This customer also claimed that she did not know we did service calls for free but in June 2011 and Sept. 2011 we did in fact come to her home for service calls and she was never charged. We also did two more maintenance check ups for her in 2012 and the last one done in Nov. of 2012 she was told that her Freon was low and her unit was drawing high amps and she was made aware of that and did not want to do anything with us because she apparantely had another Maintenance contract with this appliance warranty company. She did receive the cleanings that came with her contract with us and we do not refund the free year especially when she is the one that voided the contract as stated in the signed contract with us. I heard the conversation she had with the tech that was there and he explained to her that he was not going to service a unit that she had another company come and fix. So she should go after them for there work.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Of course this company is not going to admit any fault for their bad behavior...fact is the drain pipe was plugged off period! AHS guy in 8/12 only got on my ladder, used my wetvac to drain the pan to get the a/c to go back on. He did not even get all the way up in the attic. He was here less than 15 minutes and never out of my sight. ****** had been here 5/25/12 (work record XXXXX) and 11/6/XX (XXXXX). Last visit was AFTER AHS came out! Both times tried to badger me into buying new unit. Unit coincidentally quit cooling after Purrfect Air tech left this past disputed time...he had gone outside while I was on phone w/manager. He never got in attic this time. Purrfect Air nullified my contract that day. AHS came out to do repair, and tech found the plugged pipe as soon as he got up in attic. He never left my sight either, as I was ready with wetvac at bottom of ladder. Tech had to replace coolant also. Purrfect Air never replaced any coolant even though they knew it was low on maintenance check 11/12. Purrfect tech only gave me a $6100 quote for new a/c at that time. I refused it simply due to finances. The fact I had a repair contract w/AHS did not even come up. If it had, wouldn't Purrfect have immediately cancelled me right then?!? But they didn't did they? Purrfect Air found out about AHS this last visit in July 2013 when they came out to do Maintenance, and the tech saw AHS receipt among other a/c things on my desk. I have documentation to prove everything above. At this point, I don't even care about any reimbursement. I do not trust Purrfect Air, and I can assure you that no positive endorsements about this company will ever be given by me.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

06/05/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used high pressure methods

Complaint: abusive and dishones methods were used to charge fraudulently for unnecessary work.
The person making the cold call assured me that no dishonest or high pressure methods would be used for the service call. I told the caller the unit was working fine I just wanted to have a check up.

I was sold a hard start when the unit already had a pre-installed hard start. I was sold a capacitor that was unnecessary as tested by a professional, subsequently. I was told that refirigerant was needed when in fact it was not and then the person pretended to add refrigerant without weighing the container. There was an attempt to sell an acid wash for the condensor coil, not needed. Bushing and vacuming was sufficient. I was told a new motherboard was recommended to make the unit run efficiently this is not appropriate for this unit. there was a claim that mold and mildew was present when in fact it was not found on subsequent examination by a professional. hundreds of dollors of services and equipment were attempted to be ssold including an ultraviolet light.
This business claims BBB endorsement, on their truck. They have several complaints that the BBB web site claims were resolved. I talked with the office staff and the owner about a process for resolving this matter and was threatened that they would refer me to the Sheriff. i will talk with the Sheriff and the Att.General's office if necessary. And gladly go to court and testify under oath if that is necesszry.

Business' Initial Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

We called the customer and set an appointment to do a clean and check. Upon inspection recommendations were made which the customer agreed to have done. He signed the invoice to complete the work and gave payment. The next day we found that they payment was not valid and contacted the customer. At that point he said he didn't think that he needed the stuff and was going to get a second opinion. We told him that this was not work that another contractor would be able to verify after the fact because now the parts are working properly. We told him if he wasn't going to pay that we would need to come get our parts back. He refused to let us on his property and said he was going to see first if it really needed it before he decided if we was going to pay. The owner did tell him that is not how it works. He would have to pay first and then go through the proper channels to dispute the work that was done. The technician called him the next day and spoke with him. He told him to come over and get a check which we did pick up. That is the last we heard from him and we did try to negotiate with him by taking the parts back and not charging him. Except for the freon which we can't take back. From the get go this man was intending to not pay for the work.

Consumer's Final Response
Again, thank you for your follow through and thorough work.
Enclosed is my copy of the AAir maintenance check list -I contacted Air Advantage for the original copy and they are mailing it to me.

I received a call this morning from the P-A technician asking me if I made a complaint to the BBB. I said I did, ''against Purr-fect Air'' not him specifically, He replied '' I guess I will have to get another job.'' I had called him previously to see if there was any way of resolving the matter and he never called back after that call.

As stated previously, I believe the issue is more extensive than the technician. What is the motivation and reward system in this company that supports this type of sales, marketing and then service work? The misrepresentation began with their unsolicited phone call and fraudulent assurance that their BBB certification would guarantee the quality of their work and service.

The owner clearly understood exactly what had been done and wanted to remove the evidence - unnecessary parts. He also knew it was my word against his in questioning the charge for refrigerant. Clearly no scale or measurement process was used to pretend something was being done when it wasn't. He suggested he would call the sheriff if I didn't pay immediately. I did not trust them with my credit card information after the behavior exhibited. I paid with a personal check.

I am enclosing the original invoice from Purr-fect Air - it notes ''high voltage" Amp usage, this is not confirmed by Air advantage the Amp Usage as the compressor label states it should be 9.5. under, AH, Air handler ''found Bacterial Growth from top to bottom on coil and over every side of air handler insulation''

Air Advantage found no issues like this.

At an early point in the service call by Purr-fect air I began to question what I was being told and said I was going to seek a second opinion. I did not allow an acid cleaning of the inside coil, I did not order a cleaning of the duct system or an ultraviolet light as recommended which would have been hundreds of dollars more.

I can't get inside the history and records of this company but if a thorough investigation was possible I believe all of these and similar practices are used daily by this company. I do not believe I was a special target, this is their business model and their records will confirm it. I did not find their history until after this event but see the same pattern in previous BBB history.

Again, they are using BBB as a ruse to market their company. Firing technicians at the bottom of the system is a temporary solution if the reward system encourages and rewards another type of behavior.

Thank you for listening. I truly hope BBB can understand the entire consequence of what happened.

**** *********

Business' Final Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

The technician did a written estimate explaining what parts were needed and why. The customer approved it and gave us a credit card number. When we found out the credit card didn't go through we called and he said he wanted to get a second opinion. We offered to come back and take the parts out and he said no.

As far as the hard start, the invoice says the technician "found CU (condensing unit)amping high. Recommended new capacitor and hard start to bring down amps." The invoice also states the technician found bacterial growth from top to bottom and if that was case the existing hard start would have been corroded as well.

The recommendation for replacing the capacitor was because the old one was rusting and aging and would have gone bad. The customer approved the replacement. It was a maintenance recommendation and the customer approved it. If the technician was trying to replace unnecessary parts he would not have left the old capacitor with the customer. The invoice from Air Advantage says the compressor amps checked out at 9.5 which is what they should be. The amps before read 7.7/4.4, the reasons Air Advantage checked out at 9.5 was because the part was replaced by us. The invoice does not say anything about checking the amps on the old capacitor as the customer is claiming.

We offered to come back and get the parts and he said no. Additionally, the invoice was for $440 and the customer gave us a check for $400. After we replaced the parts his AC was running great. There was no problem or complaint until we called him about the bad credit card number.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

05/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: Company installed a coil in AC system and was improperly installed causing water damage to ceiling & wall.
Purrfect Air Company came for routine AC servicing and told me that my coil was bad and I needed to replace it at a cost of $2000.00. They intalled it and 2 weeks later I noticed water coming through the ceiling and walls. This was caused by what "they said" was a crack in the drip pan which was in the same area as the coil. They offered to replace that pan at a cost of an additional $1000.00. They also said they would repair the drywall. They then sent out a drywall repair man to look at it and he told us they couldn't fix the drywall for about 2 weeks until it was thoroughly dry. Then Purrfect Air sent out another person to double check the coil to see if it was possibly faulty. Turns out that he wasn't even a repair man, he was a salesman. At that time he told me that I really needed a new AC system and that he could apply the $2000.00 originally spent on the coil towards a new AC system. The total cost of a new system after the $2000.00 was applied would be an additional $5500.00 or $7500.00 total. After hearing this my daughter got involved and we got 2 other estimates for a new AC system that was exactly the same make/model of the unit Purrfect Air quoted us. Their quotes were $4500.00 and $4550.00 total respectively. So we went with one of the other companies and had a new unit installed for $3000.00 less than Purrfect Air would have charged. Then when my daughter called Purrfect Air to see when the dry wall would be repaired, they said they had no intention of fixing it. They claimed the water dripping was because of a crack in the drip pan and had nothing to do with thier repair. However, the company that finally installed the new AC system for $4550.00 inspected the coil and drip pan before installing the new AC unit. They said that the coil drain lines were installed in reverse thus causing the water to backup and overflow to the ceiling and down the walls. They also inspected the drip pan and found there was NO crack in it anywhere. When calling Purrfect Air to report this to them, they said "we have done nothing wrong and refused to repair the drywall". We have possession of the pan to prove there is no crack thus proving that the drain lines were not intalled correctly. This has been verified by the new AC company. I am a senior citizen and I feel that I have been taken advantage of by Purrfect Air.

Business' Initial Response
We have been servicing Ms. *****'s ac unit since July of 2011. We found that the equipment installed previously by another company was not a good install and we recommended replacing her unit way back in 2011. Her freon levels on several occassions was low and recommendations were made to her to repair or replace. On 3/27/13 upon inspection of her unit we found it freezing up and badly rusted with low freon levels. We suggested replacing the evap coil which she agreed to and the work was completed. We were not fixing any other item at that time. A few weeks later she said she noticed a water spot and we checked the unit. Her drain line also was clogged and we cleaned that out. When my technician explained to her the water damage was from a cracked primary drain pan which there is no way to tell when or how that pan became cracked. ofcourse the most obvious suspect is the one that touched it last which does not make it true. We explained to her we would credit her the repair we had made towards the purchase of a new unit if she chose to get one. The damages to her drywall were not by fault of us. The explanation that another ac company said it was installed backwards is impossible. If she in fact can prove or has the primary drain pan that was actually the one in the unit I would like her to provide that to us along with a statement from the other ac company that we installed a coil backwards? If you go for a oil change on your car and three weeks later the radiator leaks does that make the guy who did the oil change responsible? We tried to do the least expensive repairs for Ms. ***** and have taken care of her for over two years without issue and the first time a accident happens it becomes our fault. We take care of any repairs we cause but this we do not see being our fault.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I want to take their response to my complaint one issue at a time because they are way off on all the major points of the complaint.
1. They state "a few weeks later she said she noticed a water spot and "we" cracked the unit". My reply is that I called them when I noticed that there was water draining out of the AC vent in the kitchen. Not a spot - but "draining" as in water running out of the vent. I had to put a bucket to catch the water. I never said that "they" cracked anything. They came out and said the drain line was clogged and they cleaned it out. Question is this shouldn't this have been done as part of the original/first service call.
2. They state that "the water damage was from a cracked primary drain pan and there was no way to tell when it became cracked. The most obvious suspect is the person that touched it last". My reply is that they are the only ones who touched it for the last 2 years so if it was cracked they would have been the most likely suspect. However, the drain pan is not cracked and this has been verified by another AC company. I still have the pan that was removed and there is not crack in it.
3. They state that we said "the coil unit was installed backwards". My rely is that I never said the coil was installed backwards but that the "primary and secondary" drain lines to the coil unit were installed in reverse which would have caused the backup of water to create the leak. This was also confirmed by another AC company that the lines - not the coil - was installed incorrectly and this is what caused the water backup and leak that caused the drywall damage. It had nothing to do with the pan.
--One major question is why were they willing to fix the drywall damage from the leak until we decided to get another AC company to replace the unit instead of using them. They will probably say that they never agreed to fix it but again why did they send a drywall man out to assess the damage? Also when the man (his name was ********* came out to inspect the leak he stated he was not a technician but a salesman. So how could he tell if the pan was cracked or not? All he did was vacumm/suck out the water in the pan. So why wasn't a technician sent? When I called to ask why a technician was not sent they said a manager would call me back - but he never did and I tried several times to get a manager to talk to me. After several unsuccessful attempts to reach a manager, I asked to have the company owner call. To this day no manager or owner has called as we asked. This company is not reputable, and is just out to rip people off and I want everyone to know that. They do not take responsibility for their work.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

02/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: Company recommended and sold me and installed an air conditioning unit that has never worked properly.
****** ******
*******************************************************************

*********************************************************************************************************************************************************

Subject: Air Conditioning Unit

I had a new air conditioning unit installed on 5/8/2010 by Purr-fect Air
and paid $5710.00. They recommended and installed the unit. On 7/31/2011, I
had the same company come to my home to service the unit because it was not
cooling. At that time, they told me I needed to have my ducts mastic-sealed. I paid
them $1179.00 to complete this job. On 12/14/2012, I had to have the unit
serviced again because it was leaking water into my laundry room. The company
cleared a pipe, but that did not solve the problem. I drained 6 gallons of water out
of the duct work at the company's advise. I had them back again for service
on 12/17/2012. They inspected the A/C unit and advised me that I need to
install new duct work to solve the problem at a cost to me of $3800.00. I hired
this company to use their expertise and properly install an air conditioning
unit that is appropriate for my home. I purchased the unit that they
recommended. They installed it and now less than two years later, they tell me the unit
will not function properly unless I install new duct work. I asked why I wasn't
told this when I was sold the unit. I was told by ****, their representative
that the men who installed the unit no longer work for them and that the
reason that I wasn't told was probably because they were afraid that the cost
would deter me from buying the unit. I feel that this company has tried to take
advantage of me. I would like your assistance to get them to make this
right.

Business' Initial Response
We were never notified from this customer that he was having any issues which we were not returning to repair. I found out he had concerns from the notification from the BBB. I immediately contacted the customer and asked if we could come to his home to observe and correct his problems. He said he would have to let us know when would be a good time for us to come due to the fact he worked. He schedule several times having to cancel on his part. We went to the home and addressed some of his issues. We told him at any time if there is a problem to contact us directly and we will make it right if it is our error. He had a appointment last week for us to come back and do a follow up but again he cancelled and rescheduled it for tomorrow. We intend to keep going back and fixing any thing that is due to our installation or equipment. We assured this customer that we do not install and leave the customer hanging. The issues he is having are also issues that have nothing to do with our air conditioning unit. However, we will take all measures to make sure that the equipment we installed is working properly to all manufacturers specifications. If this customer had just notified us first this would have been taken care of immediately without him having to take time out of his apparent busy schedule.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
****, a technician from Purr-Fect Air called me on January 23, 2013 to ask me if I wanted to install new duct work for my A/C unit. Clearly he is just a tech trying to sell additional work. If this was not the case he would have that I had scheduled a service appointment with his company, Purr-Fect Air with ***.

When *** serviced my A/C unit on January 23, 2013, he installed a new valve, and installed a U.V. Purification System at a price of an additional $685. When I asked him if the work that he performed on January 23 would completely fix the problems with my A/C unit without replacing the duct work and function properly, he responded, "Yes".

My experience with this company has shown me that few, if any of the technicians are experts in their field. Instead, they are sales people who will constantly try to sell customers more work in order to make more money for themselves. On May 8, 2010, I purchased the unit that Purr-Fect air recommended and had them install it at a cost of $5875. The unit was not functioning properly. I have the unit serviced on July 31, 2011 and first I'm told I need to have ducts mastic-sealed for $1179. On December 17, 2012, the same company comes back and tells me that I need to rip out that same duct work and replace it. This job would have cost $3800. I refused this work and contacted the BBB. After my complaint to the BBB, I'm told that my system will function properly with the addition of a U.V. light. As previously mentioned, I purchased this for an additional $685.

This company is neither professional nor trustworthy in my experience. I am still doubtful as to whether or not the unit will ever function properly because I've been told so many different stories by so many of their different technicians. Ideally, I would like all of my money refunded, the unit removed and be allowed to purchase a new unit from a reputable company.

Business' Final Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

We went there and fixed everything that he felt needed to be fixed. He is upset that he needs new duct work. The reason the tech first suggested mastic was because that is the cheapest option without replacing the whole duct work. The ducts he has are not the right ones for the home and they need to be replaced. We can't do that for free and did not install them in the first place. When we went out there on January 23rd he wanted to get more repairs and wanted to buy a UV light. If he thought we were just ripping him off why would he want to buy more products from us? It was his option and he wanted to do it. As soon as we received the BBB complaint we made arrangements with him to go out and try to address his concerns. I thought he was happy with ***'s explanation especially after he wanted to purchase a UV light.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

10/19/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Purr-fect air said that my ducts were not sealed which is against building codes that were changed. Said they should be sealed to bring them up to cod
Purr-fect Air said to bring the ducts up to code it would cost $900. I had my airconditioner install in February. The new building code was changed in March and that was for new construction. They did this against the law.

Please see fax number XXX-XXX-XXXX

Business' Initial Response
The code that Mr. ******** is speaking about is not for new construction only. The law passed in March of this year. Any time that we change out a a/c unit or do duct work it is code to make sure that all ducts are sealed to meet code. Mr. ******** beleives it is only for new construction which it is not. We have to supply the counties with a duct seal affidavit to prove that all ducts are sealed to pass inspection. The ********s said they were selling their home and my technicians told them that sealing their ducts would bring the home up to the current code and that is what they were told. Not that they had to do it to sell the home. I will forward a copy of the duct seal affidavit that shows the new law. Also, Mr. ******** signed the work order, the customer satisfaction completion certificate and made payment. Only after speaking with other people he felt that we charged too much for the labor it took to complete the job. He came in the office and spoke with the owner. He offered him a refund of $250.00 to try to make it more affordable for him and he refused. He feels that he didnt get enough for his money. Never did he ask how long it would take and how much supplies it took. He agreed to the work and approved the work. Saying that we broke the law or mislead him is untrue. A auto mechanic shop charges a job by a estimated standard rate. It may take a very experienced mechanic half the time as someone with less experience but you still pay the same price for the job. We are willing to refund him a portion of this job but he wants a full refund only. He has stopped payment on his credit card and we are trying to reverse that as well.

Consumer's Final Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

I have filed complaints with 7 different agencies against this company. They are investigating the company for price gouging on the sale of the air conditioning and this code issue. I don't think it would be very wise for me to accept their $250 offer at this time while the investigations are still going on. Some of the agencies have said they price gouged the ac by $2000, with that in addition to the $900 for the work that didn't need to be done I am pursuing this for $2900. The company's offer of $250 does not come close to the settlement. I have now found out that they sold me a 3 ton unit when I only needed a 2.5 ton. I will continue pursuing this issue in hopes of reaching a resolution.

Business' Final Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

The technician didn't tell him that he has to do the work, they recommended that he do it in order to bring it up to code. He was told it would be beneficial to him not just because it was not up to code but because it was beneficiary for energy and for the sale of his home. He was happy with everything but then after the job was done he complained that it didn't take very long and he thought he should get a refund. The owner offered him $250 refund but the customer did not accept and wanted a refund. Again, we did not tell him he had to get it done. It was recommended so the new owner of his home could be assured that everything was up to code. He did try to reverse his credit card fee, we fought that and they reversed it back to us. I don't know what else we can tell him, I'm sorry that he was dissatisfied. If he wants to accept the $250 we would still be willing to refund that if he will end the dispute.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Page 1 of 2
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.