BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/05/2013

Polar Bear Air

Phone: (239) 466-7771Fax: (239) 574-4109View Additional Phone Numbers2505 Retunda Pkwy, Cape CoralFL 33904-2906

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/05/2013

BBB has determined that Polar Bear Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Polar Bear Air's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Polar Bear Air

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/22/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Works under 3 different names showed by email from BBB. Do job that they are not licensed for and not qualified to do and do not fulfill contract
1.06/06/14, I had to ask **** ******** to come and fix that the AC units as the Owner couldn't fix them so they worked I had to do it because you left my handicapped wife and me Friday morning without working AC.
2.The Company never intended to deliver contracted AC units. You were forced to fulfill the contract before the last inspection. The Company did it the last minute, Sunday before the last inspection. Next day, Monday morning, it was inspected as scheduled by Cape Coral.
3.The Company did not get a permit to put in a new sub-electric panel. They never told me it was necessary to have a permit and an electrician to do that work.
4.The Owner personally installed the electric panel. Without Permit and without a License to do so. Now I know how lucky we were that anyone was not hurt or killed by the companies dreadful work when the Owner installed the sub-electric panel. (We soon have sixteen Grand-Children)
5.After the AC installations passed. The AC Company had to order, an electric Company, in this case, LTE Electric to ask for permit to install the sub-electric panel. You had to ask LTE to correct the badly installed sub-electric panel.
What angers me most is this Company had LTE to try billing me for what I was not responsible for.
6.This Company's owner tried to charge me extra for all that was needed to do because of his failure to install/exchange the two AC units according to code. Examples, I had to take an estimate, 05/19/2014 to change electric cables between the AC units and the electric panel as the Company Owner could not get the AC units working. I was also under hard pressure to pay for working platforms, because he was not a wood-working man and it was not according to the contract this company's responsibility to do as coded.
7.Since May 14, 2014 when I paid more than 77% of Contracted amount for exchange two old AC units it has been just a lot of intimidations from the owner, 99% of the times we had to talk to each other. And that was often as the Owner could not get the AC units working and not intended to deliver according to contract.
It is much more to say about this 3-headed Company that show up as POLAR BEAR AIR, ****** @ ***** *** AND CONTRACTED COMPANY GENERAL MAINTANCE SERVICIES, all three with BBB ID # XXXXXXXX. But I will stop here for now. The truck used at our home is painted with Polar Bear Air.
8.The Company has still not delivered information of what UV-lamps that are installed so I know if it is what is contracted and so I can register them and so I know what lamps are needed to replace them when they stop working.
Last time and the third time I reminded the Owner and the Company was Thursday, September 11, XXXX X:XX AM via email.

Desired Settlement
A.The Owner of the Company should tell me he is sorry that he did not have the skill to properly install the AC units as he assured when I contracted him as not the cheapest Contractor.
B.Ask me for forgiveness as trying to cheat me by installing something less than Contracted.
C.Tell me that he is sorry that he put us at risk the way he did when he without license and knowledge installed a sub-electric panel without required permit.
D.Telling me that he is sorry that about the harsh language he put me into, after May 14, 2014 (Contracted work was started 05/13/2014 as agreed.) even when he knew that I had my handicapped wife in the hospital in the Intensive Care Unit.
E.Promptly deliver all information needed about the UV-lamps according to contract is most important.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:


We did it to the best of our ability, it passed inspection and the State of Florida is happy with what we did. We tried to do our best in every way to help you. If you feel aggrieved in any way we apologize that you feel that way but we are not sorry in any way about the work that we did.

You also have 2 year warranty on the UV bulb from the date it was installed. There is no paperwork to be given, it is written on the invoice. If the bulb goes out within 2 years from the date of the invoice we can contact the supplier, tell them when we bought it and they will send a replacement. If you don't have a copy of the original invoice we can send it to you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As sole owner, according to Mr. **** ****** himself (below called ****), and having no fully paid employee I will call the three companies ******* ********* ********* ****** Polar Bear Air (PBA) and ****** and ***** LCC ****** all BBB ID ********* (all according to BBB's **** ****** , ****, as he is the only person representing two of these companies, *** and PBA, when dealing with the replacing my two old AC units with two new once and himself installing a new sub electric panel.
A - E below is just some examples of the most flagrant examples of ****'s extremely bad behavior as a businessman and as a person. And most important **** is not showing the skill and/or the knowledge needed to do to me contract work.
05/13/2014 **** started the contracted job as planned.

A.) 1. Where is the excuse from **** for not being skilled enough to know how to connect the "too old" Electric Cables in the house to the Breakers?
06/06/14 I had to call **** ******** as **** could not fix it and as **** also left us, my handicapped wife and I, Friday morning without working AC.
**** ******** fixed it, in less than 15 minutes!
2. What is the excuse of leaving two people above 70-years old without working AC?
3. What is the excuse for too little knowledge that **** showed when he demanded new electric cables in the house was needed for him to be able to get the new AC units working?
(I got an estimate from *** ******** to do that.)
What is the excuse for that horrible demand, of new electric cables, from ****?

B.) What is the excuse for trying to cheat me with installing a much smaller HEAT Strip in the, larger, 3 ton AC-unit than what was Contracted?
(**** tried to change the paperwork from 10 kW to 7.5kW with the City of Cape Coral instead of putting in the contracted 10 kW Heat Strip from the beginning.)

C.) 1. What is the excuse for you ****, to install, 05/13/2014, a NEW Electric sub-panel, without Permit and License and most important of all in an unsafe and dangerous way?
2. 07/14/2014 Chief Inspector, Mr. **** ********** Cape Coral, had to email the following information "As per the attached and our conversation last week, project requires an electrical contractor to pull a permit for the electrical work performed outside of the scope of a/c."
**** needed to get an email from Mr. **** ********* to get an Electric Company (TLE Electric) to ask for a permit to correctly install the sub-electric panel permitted.
07/14/2014, was the permit given.
What is the excuse to let us live with a potentially dangerous sub-electric panel for ever and in this case about three month?
3. 08/04/14 **** again tried to lure me to pay for his mistakes. He did that buy telling *** ******** to bill me. They billed me for Permit **** got the permit 07/17/14), and work, to correct ****'s dangerous installation. It took *** a full hour with two people working with redoing the installation of the sub-electric panel. (It passed ********** 08/04/14).
**** what is your excuse for trying to bill me that too?
D.) 1. What is the excuse for you ****, to intimidate me every time you talked with me since May 14, 2014?
2. You frightened me every time; something did not work out for you. For example with the missing working platforms on the 1st Inspection.
You told me I had to pay for them as you were not a wood working man.
What is your excuse for doing that?
3. Everything that was wrong was my fault and I had to pay for it, because it was either the old house fault, the electric cables fault, the breakers fault, or my fault, just to give some examples of your scaring reason for intimidation that was not implanted into me in a soft or excusing voice or way.
We had to talk to each other, repeatedly, and it always gave me "butterflies in stomach".
**** was even threatening by email.
What excuse did you have to do that?
4. 06/30/14 about 14.10, the day the AC Units passed Inspection **** started calling frequently. I told him I did not have time talking to him. I had to disconnect my regular phone. Than **** started frequently calling my cell instead. My handicapped wife told **** that she needed an open telephone line. **** did not care. He continued to call as soon as we hang up. We had to disconnect the mobile phone too.
What is the excuse for that behavior?

E.) 1. 10/03/2014 when I got BBB's answer from ****, the same day, I sent an invoice, certified, Label Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX, for $550, to be repaid for missing one, two years, U/V-lamp in each AC unit.
This is the same situation as when ****, tried to cheat me with a not contracted heat strip. Sunday, before the last inspection, **** let the last part be installed, so the AC units could pass **** the correct, contracted, heat strips.
I have got "Warranty Registration Confirmation" for the AC-Units and the Thermostat, but not for the two U/V-LAM**?
Why?
In my view it is two possibilities:
1. **** has not installed any U/V-Lamps in any or just one AC-unit.
2. **** has installed a cheaper version of U/V-Lamps than contracted as he tried to do with the, 4 ton, AC Unit's heat strip.
(I asked the Inspector, Mr. **** ***** (**) at the last AC inspection, Monday 06/30/14, if he could check inside to see if the U/V-Lamps were installed or not. ** told me he was not allowed to open the units. ** also told me that he or anyone else could not see from the outside if the U/V-Lamps were actually installed or not. ** also told me that both units had a label telling that it was a U/V-Lamp inside.)
10/04/2014 @ 16.48 **** got the invoice, according to US**.com.
When I answer BBB I have still have not heard from ****, by phone, email or regular mail.
Why don't you give me the brand and all needed information of U/V Lamps you installed, according to contract, and when and where you bought them?
Why have you not, close to five month after installation, sent the original invoice already?
2. **** knows he or any representative of his future associates with these 3 companies are not allowed on or into our property now and forever as long as I live and is one of the owners.

F. ****'s answer had an interesting twist. That "the State of Florida is happy with what we did"!
**** please be kind and give me a copy of that Florida State statement.
As it is about our property and how you have handled it, I believe I have a right to see it, so I can believe it.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/23/2007Business started: 12/03/1992New Owner Date: 06/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Lee County Contractors License
1825 Hendry St
Fort Myers, FL 33901-3054
(239) 533-8895

Business Tax Receipt/Lee County
1825 Hendry St
Fort Myers, FL 33901-3054
(239) 533-6000
http://www.leetc.com

Contractor Licensing-Collier
(239) 252-2431

Cape Coral Construction License
1015 Cultural Park Blvd
Cape Coral, FL 33990-1216
(239) 574-0430
http://www.capecoral.net/

Business Tax Receipt/Cape Coral
PO Box 1549
Fort Myers, FL 33902-1549
(239) 574-0430
http://www.capecoral.net/en-us/government/projectandbuildinginformation/businesstaxreceiptsoccupationallicenses.aspx

BBB records show a license number of CAC036910 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of CAC036910 for this company, issued by Lee County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 0806956 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Lee County. Their web address is http://www.leetc.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CGC1522667 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of CFC040017 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of LCC20150001455 for this company, issued by Contractor Licensing-Collier.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 12041 for this company, issued by Cape Coral Construction License. Their web address is http://www.capecoral.net/.

Type: City Construction License

BBB records show a license number of 62474 for this company, issued by Cape Coral Construction License. Their web address is http://www.capecoral.net/.

Type: City Construction License

BBB records show a license number of BT15-78161 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Cape Coral. Their web address is http://www.capecoral.net/en-us/government/projectandbuildinginformation/businesstaxreceiptsoccupationallicenses.aspx.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Abbott (Managing Member)Mr. William Thomas Wilson (Qualifier)Mr. William L. Knorr (Managing Member)Mrs. Susan Abbott (Managing Member)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Companies, Air Conditioning Cleaners, Air Conditioning Repair Companies, Air Quality Service, Duct/Vent Cleaning, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers, Heating Contractors, Contractors-Air Conditioning Balance & Testing

Products & Services

This company specializes in air conditioning and appliance repairs, including refrigerators, stoves, washers and dryers, and garbage disposals.

Alternate Business Names
Abbott & Sons, LLC, General Maintenance Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Polar Bear Air has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Polar Bear Air

2505 Retunda Pkwy

Cape Coral, FL 33904-2906

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2505 Retunda Pkwy 

    Cape Coral, FL 33904-2906(239) 466-7771
    Fax: (239) 574-4109

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Polar Bear Air is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (239) 910-4738
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.