BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Palm Harbor Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (727) 786-3276Fax: (727) 445-1899View Additional Phone Numbers1040 Kapp Dr, ClearwaterFL 33765-2148http://www.palmharborac.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Palm Harbor Heating & Air Conditioning is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Palm Harbor Heating & Air Conditioning's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Palm Harbor Heating & Air Conditioning

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Didn't repair AC unit properly despite repeated contacts. Didn't have 24 hour service as advertised. Failure to repair unit caused ceiling to fall.
We purchased our AC/heat unit from this company in 2011. We had it regularly maintained also. The cost was over $6000. On more than one occasion the drain would get clogged and the unit would shut off. Last month same thing happened. Husband called during office hours and no one was ever dispatched. I called 24 hour service later...no response. The next morning I noticed large water stains on roof. Tech showed up...said the float switch had failed but he didn't have one on the truck. Said he had fixed the drainage problem temporarily and no more leaks would occur in the next few days. Woke up that night with water pouring through ceiling. Of course no one answere 24 hour emergency line. Two techs came, installed new float switch, installed new drain line...told me to wait until huge water stains dried and see how much damage. The next day the ceiling fell in. I came home to drywall and insulation all over the floor. Had to get a ceiling repair company in to do the work. Palm Harbor Heat and Air says none of this expense is their responsibility. I say it is since they didn't provide expedited service and it wasn't corrected on the first visit. Total cost...Palm Harbor 1st visit $147, Palm Harbor 2nd visit $300, Quality Ceiling Repair...$581. Very unhappy, will never use their services again and high recommend others do not either

Desired Settlement
Compensation for 2nd visit and ceiling repair in the amount of $881.00

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@phhvac.com
I would like to respond point by point to this customer's complaint so that everyone is on the same page as to what transpired. Before we get started however, I would like to mention that at the time of service and throughout this process of subsequent service calls (all scheduled by the customer and then cancelled and scheduled again) that our company was completely unaware of any kind of disagreement with the customer that would lead to this sort of action in the first place. Also, please let it be known, the as a consolation to this issue in the first place, Palm Harbor Heating and Air Conditioning ALREADY discounted the price of the 2nd repair by $200.00 bringing the total to $300 for the installation of a new drain line. The book price for this work is $500. Also, let it be noted that, Had the customer had the work completed on the original scheduling date of Monday after the first service call was requested, her ceiling would have remained intact. Due to her original scheduling for Wednesday the following week, and ultimately emergency service on Tuesday, after not following the advice from our owner to turn the machine off which would have stopped the water flow to her ceiling, there would have been much less damage. These reasons, among others, are the points in which we stand by in not refunding the customer, nor taking responsibility for her ceiling damage.
Response to her points and complaints are as follows:

1.Did not repair A/C Unit properly despite repeated contacts:
On 9/22/2015, Palm Harbor Heating and Air Conditioning installed a new condensate drain line, as well as installed a new emergency shut off float switch for the customer at the discounted rate of $300.00, alleviating the problem. Since this date, we have not been contacted for any additional water leaks, which was the original complaint for this customer. The first visit on 9/19/2015 was done to diagnose this problem. As this was an afterhours weekend service call, We were unable to install this drain line until the following week. The customer originally chose for this installation to occur on Wednesday, 9/23/2015, even though our service tech and the owner suggested that she have this issue addressed sooner. Not addressing the 9/21/2015, the customer changed the date of installation to 9/22/15, after she had more issues with her ceiling. The owner advised the customer to shut the system off to avoid any further damage, and the customer responded with resistance, stating that it would be too hot in her home.

2.Did not have 24 hour service as advertised:
The original contact was made around 4:15pm on Friday 9/18/2015. At that time the customer was advised that we may not be able to make it out that day, and was suggested to schedule for the next morning when we could make it to the home. Being a small business, at times, we do not have the man power to satisfy every and all requests the customers have, although we would like to. A service tech was out the next morning to look at the issue.

3. We purchased our AC/heat unit from this company in 2011. We had it regularly maintained also. The cost was over $6000. On more than one occasion the drain would get clogged and the unit would shut off. Last month same thing happened.
In 2011, when Palm Harbor Heating and Air Conditioning installed this system for the customer, the system was connected to the original condensate drain line that was installed with the home. Having no way to insure that an existing drain line will or will not have issues (issues typically being clogging issues due to sediment build up over years of use), we do not guarantee or insure anything to with an existing drain line. The customer did not have any kind of maintenance or service until September 2013 in which our company cleared her drain line as an emergency service call, not a planned maintenance. Although we visited this property on a few other occasions due to the same issue, they were all retroactively treated as opposed to having a preventative maintenance to avoid this problem. We were out in JUNE 2015, again for an emergency, retroactive service, to clear out this drain line. Again, previous to the replacement of this drain line on 9/22/2015, the condensate drain line was original with the home. Also: Stated per our invoices which every customer signs at the end of service "WARNING HOME OWNER: WE ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY TYPE OF WATER LEAKS BEFORE, DURING, OR AFTER SERVICE".

4. I say it is since they didn't provide expedited service and it wasn't corrected on the first visit:
This is untrue. The customer originally elected to have this repair done on Wednesday of the upcoming week. We offered change our schedule so that a service tech could arrive for the first call Monday morning so that this issue would be more quickly satisfied. The customer elected to have the drain changed later in the week. She also did not follow the instructions of shutting the machine off causing this issue to happen. A major repair such as a drain line installation will never, and has never been done during an emergency after hours weekend scenario due to a lack of man power, and the fact that parts houses are closed during the weekend. We expedited service for this customer and she refused it. Although we would love to be in an industry in which we carry any and all equipment to anticipate all of our customer's needs, no matter what they may be, it is nearly impossible to do so. We offered a Monday repair, and she chose not to accept this.
Our position is that Palm Harbor Heating and Air Conditioning has serviced the customer in a timely manner to the customer's expectations. It is the customer's fault that she did not choose to follow our advice in turning the machine off while the water was leaking from the ceiling. Had she followed instructions, the ceiling would have required much less work to repair.

07/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had maintenance service done on air conditioner system purchased from this company. Two days later the system stopped working.
I called in evening to tell them of problem. I spoke with a technician who said someone would return call in twenty minutes. No one did. I called in am to request service. I called back to speak with a manager was told by ***** there was no one available and she would not tell me who the manager is. It is a York Affinity 18 VZHXXXXX unit purchased on 6/17/09. I purchased a ten year warranty as well and have yearly maintenance done. I have a folder filled with maintenance receipts as we have had multiple issues. My biggest concern at present is the customer service. When we experience an issue I expect courteous service.

Desired Settlement
I would like to meet with the service manager and him review my service history and explain their service/warranty procedure. I purchase a ten year warranty and would like it to be honored.

Business Response
I would be happy to address the issues stated above in the hopes that we are able to come to a full and complete understanding, clarification, and resolution with the complaining customer. To address the specific complaint, first and foremost, I would like to apologize for the lack of a 2nd communication from our service technician. The customer's call came in AFTER HOURS, and our answering service dispatched the call to our technician, who, being the only service provider on duty that evening, was juggling multiple other service calls and was unable to get back to her on time. Our service department did phone the customer first thing the next morning on June 12, setting up a service call for the early afternoon, which, without charging the customer, re-flushed her drain line, leaving the unit functioning perfectly. After the service technician left her property, the customer called our offices demanding to speak to a service manager who no longer works with our company. The owner of our company, who for all intents and purposes is acting as the service Manager, was not available, as he was attending an off site appointment and could not be reached by the customer. From that point on, we had heard nothing further from the customer before this complaint was filed.
Although there were some issues with the customers initial installation in 2009, we have a solid history of MAINTENANCE VISITS (maintenance being defined as non-repair scenarios in which we provide a service of maintaining the system in a preventative capacity), with the exception of a few issues in 2011 pertaining to a minor repair that was covered under the customers 10 year parts and labor warranty that was furnished by York manufacturing through Palm Harbor Heating and Air Conditioning as the sales agent.

The specifics of the customer's warranty is as follows and was signed by the customer on 6/25/2009: Warranty: Manufacturer's (York) Standard Warranty of 10 years all functional parts, 10 year labor. Warranty valid Monday through Friday 8 - 4 PM and during normal businesses hours only. Warranty specifically excludes drain line, copper tubing, duct work, electrical and any other existing conditions. Palm Harbor Heating & A/C Inc. Is not responsible for water or condensation leaks or damage before, during or after service and or installation.

Our company Gladly serviced this customer's mechanical failures in 2011, under the the 10 years parts and labor warranty provided by York.

Referring to the customer service issues that were voiced by the customer : With reservation not withstanding based on our previous history of attempting to suggest that another company may be a better fit for this customer's needs, we have duly and completely fulfilled our requirements under our Palm Harbor Heating and Air Conditioning 1 year 100% customer Satisfaction agreement after the installation that took place in 2009.

The terms of service stated in the customer's York 10 Year Warranty state that Any Accredited and licensed company that does any Business with York may also make claims against that warranty under the terms and conditions set forth by York, extended to the mechanical operation of the system, excluding the above stated exclusions signed and agreed upon by the customer during repair scenarios. This, again, does not extend to maintenance type services.

Although it was unfortunate that our after hours service technician was unable to get back to the customer that evening due to his work load, our customer service department surely followed internal company procedures, setting up an additional service appointment the following morning, taking care of the additional issue in a completely timely manner (our technician arrived at the customers house around noon the next day) with no additional charges to the customer. Although it was unfortunate that the owner of our company was off site when the customer called to speak with him, we were under the impression that a previous conversation held on 6/11 with the office manager about the customer's previous issues, and the lack there of for the past 4 and a half years (after the warranty repairs completed in 2011 being the last noted actual repairs to the system as defined by the coverage of the Warranty produced by York), was sufficient to explain to the customer that the "reoccurring issues" with here system were, in all actuality, preventative maintenance appointments that were completed, without issue, by our company with no complaint or issue from the customer.

It is our opinion that our company has completely fulfilled and honored the terms and conditions of the 10 year parts and labor warranty that the customer purchased through York Manufacturing, as well as fully abiding by what would be normally expected of us during standard business practices. We were at no time rude, uninterested, or uncaring about the customer's needs. The only fault of our company, as it were, is that our overnight emergency technician should not have defaulted on calling the customer back that evening. Fortunately, we were able to contact the customer the next morning to satisfy her complaint. Although we understand that air conditioning issues may not always arrive between the hours of 8-5 pm, we do our best to take care of our customers as promptly as possible under reasonable expectation. If necessary, after this complete explanation of the scenario and situation, the customer still desires a meeting with our company's owner to go over the maintenance checklists that she has received over the years, it may be possible to do so, However, I have attempted to explain and respond to all questions put forth in this inquiry as accurately as possible.
Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The service department did not call me in the morning. I called them. They would not give me a time frame so I called back to speak with a manager. The person who answered the phone, ***** only said there was no manager available, no explanation was given and she would not tell me his name. I would like others to be aware of the customer service or lack of. They were not honest in their reply and there is no reason why I should not be told who the service manager is if I request.

Final Business Response
In short, the reason you were informed that there was no service manager, is because WE DO NOT HAVE ONE. As it was explained to you, the Owner is the acting service manager, and he was not available when you called. He was out of the building. I am not sure how it would be possible to give you the name of a person that is not employed at our company. You were not lied to in any way shape or form.
Moving forward, it is our companies collective belief that although we have honored all of our obligations in the past, we cannot, and will not offer our services any longer to you as a customer. As we are not contractually obligated to service your equipment in any capacity, there is obviously another company out there that could better fit your needs as a client, and will probably be a better match for you as a service provider. Although it is disappointing that we were not able to come to a more amicable solution, the truth of the matter is that there will not be any kind of mutual understanding reached with you as a customer, as our interpretations of the situation are clearly not, nor will they ever be, lining up. From our standpoint, This is a non negotiable resolution.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/27/1986Business started: 07/06/1978New Owner Date: 01/26/2016
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach
100 S Myrtle Ave Rm 202
Clearwater, FL 33756-5520
(727) 562-4567
http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of BTR-0006580 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach. Their web address is http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CAC1818532 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr.

Type: State Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1992, FL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Brian Harre (President)
Contact Information
Ms. Tamara Harre (Vice President)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Companies, Duct Cleaning Companies, Air Conditioning Cleaners, Air Conditioning Repair Companies, Duct and Duct Fitting Companies, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps Suppliers, Contractor - Gas

Products & Services

This company provides residential and light commercial heating and air conditioning installation and repair, duct cleaning and sanitizing, and mold remediation services.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Palm Harbor Heating & Air Conditioning has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Palm Harbor Heating & Air Conditioning

1040 Kapp Dr

Clearwater, FL 33765-2148

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1040 Kapp Dr 

    Clearwater, FL 33765-2148

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Palm Harbor Heating & Air Conditioning is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (727) 443-6100
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.facebook.com/palmharborac
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.