BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/19/2011

Martin Carpenter's Air Conditioning and Heating, Inc.

Phone: (727) 528-0171Fax: (727) 528-32053691 27th Ave N, Saint PetersburgFL 33713-3520Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/19/2011

BBB has determined that Martin Carpenter's Air Conditioning and Heating, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Martin Carpenter's Air Conditioning and Heating, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Martin Carpenter's Air Conditioning and Heating, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Adding a newer kind of Freon / refrigerant to the our A/C system without performing the leak test.
We're so disappointed for the repair that this company made early this July, 2015. Our A/C system was working fine except that lesser cold from the inside before the service call. We trusted them to provide us the right repair procedure since we don't know anything about air-conditioning. Part of their diagnostic was testing that our A/C system had low Freon (25 instead to have 75- does not know the unit). The company added newer kind of Freon mixing up to our old system and without performing a leak test. After the service call, our inside was super cold but the following day, early in the morning our condenser coil open up a big leak damaging the whole condenser unit. Could this be prevented if the company perform the leak test first? Could this be prevented if the Freon was the same kind as the old one and it was not mixed or probably flushed the old one & then put the newer kind?

We were charge for $229 for the diagnostic fee and the loading of the new kind of Freon. We called to ask a discount but it was declined.

After we got second opinion and do our research, we decided to file this complaint.
And till today, our A/C is still broken and not in working condition.

Desired Settlement
If possible, please refund us so we can use the money to find other company to fix our broken A/C.

Business Response
Mr. ******** contacted our company through our website on 7/4/15 saying his a/c was not as cold as usual or as normal as it used to be. He wanted a request for a/c check for refrigerant. He wanted to know how much we charged for the check and the loading of the refrigerant. He indicated his system was an old 1990's ******. I responded that we charge a $79 diagnostic fee to come to the residence and refrigerant is $50 per pound. He emailed later that day asking what type of payment we accept. I replied cash, check, or charge. He called the next day 7/5 asking if we could come add refrigerant to his a/c system. Marty went to Mr. ********'s house and checked the refrigerant charge, it was low. Marty informed him anytime the system is low on refrigerant there is a leak somewhere. At that time ***** performed a visual inspection on the exterior of the
condensing unit for any leaks. There were no visible leaks at that time. Marty added approximately 5 pounds of Freon to the unit. He used R407C Freon which is the new universal substitute for the old R22 refrigerant. Marty charged Mr. ******** $79 for the service call and only 3 pounds of Freon at $50 per pound for a total of $229. He did not charge an overtime rate for coming on a Sunday nor did he charge him for the additional 2 lbs of Freon. In many cases there might just be a small leak in the unit that is difficult to detect and may take a long time to start to lose charge. A leak test (either by inserting dye or nitrogen) is $150 to perform. Had Marty charged the $150 for the test and found the leak that day, he probably wouldn't have been able to repair it. The system is a 1988 model Bryant. It is 27 years old. Any type of soldering to repair a leak on equipment that old could do further damage. The average life expectancy of an a/c unit in the state of FL is 9-12 years.
***** returned on Monday 7/6 after a phone call from the customer stating the unit wasn't cooling well again. At that time we checked the charge on the machine to find next to no Freon in the system. At that time we did a visual check on the ac and found the leak at the outdoor unit in the condenser coil.
Marty did not put the incorrect Freon in. R407C is widely used as a substitute for R22. If we had done a leak test at that time, the charge would have been the same as he paid for 3 pounds of Freon. It is unfortunate that Mr. ******** is without air but we are not responsible for that. His system is 27 years old, well past the expected life in Florida. We tried to help him out by getting him air conditioning on a Sunday, on a holiday weekend without charging overtime and inflated Freon charges. He needs a new air conditioning system. I have offered to apply his service call charge as a credit on a new system or repairs.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In BBB system , I just made inquiry how much it would cost to add freon to about 4 A/C BBB accredited companies. This company replied and offered to come without charging overtime. As we can see on the reply, it seems we owed them something like overtime fee and the discounted service. What service they did turn our A/C from a functional to not working / functional, damaging the condenser coil. Could we charge them for damaging our A/C system? Could you mix old refrigerant to new refrigerant without having problem this?
From the second opinion we got, with this 27 year old system they did not follow right repair procedures. Again before the service, A/C was blowing 78 degrees farenheit and after the service, the outcome damaged the condenser coil. Contrary to the their reply that we did not have air, it was working fine before service - in short we just need a colder temperature. We would say that they were not careful dealing with this old system. In service receipt, they declared R22 was added. And before the service, I spoke to them - it was $40 per pound was given to us for adding refrigerant.
It's fine if they will not refund the money we paid. We would just like to suggest to this company that please improve your service the way you stated and advertised in your website.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/28/2011Business started: 02/22/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Pinellas County Construction License Board
12600 Belcher Road, Suite 102
Largo, FL 33773
(727) 582-3100
http://www.pcclb.com

Business Tax Receipt/St Petersburg
PO Box 2842
Saint Petersburg, FL 33731-2842
(727) 893-7241
http://www.stpete.org/billing/business tax division

Hillsborough County Contractors License
5701 E Hillsborough Ave Ste 1140
Tampa, FL 33610-5428
(813) 272-5600

Sarasota County Contractor's License

Sarasota, FL 34231
(941) 861-3285

Manatee County Contractor's License

Bradenton, FL 34201
(941) 749-3079

BBB records show a license number of CAC058618 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of I-CAC058618 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 16-00044989 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/St Petersburg. Their web address is http://www.stpete.org/billing/business tax division.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CAC058618 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CTACB - CAC058618 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CAC058618 for this company, issued by Manatee County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2011, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Martin Carpenter (President)Ms. Karyn Carpenter (Secretary/Treasurer)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Companies, Air Conditioning Repair Companies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Martin Carpenter's Air Conditioning and Heating, Inc.

3691 27th Ave N

Saint Petersburg, FL 33713-3520

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3691 27th Ave N 

    Saint Petersburg, FL 33713-3520(727) 528-0171
    Fax: (727) 528-3205

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Martin Carpenter's Air Conditioning and Heating, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.