BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/10/2009

Lloyd's Heating and Cooling, Inc.

Phone: (813) 631-1418Fax: (813) 971-4603

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
06/26/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
when I got my Trane 20xl installed which OI can say was a good price with an extended warranty as what idiotic person would not
they not only did not give me an extended warranty but also failed to register my unit in 60 days so it resulted in only a 5 year parts only warranty instead 10 years. there response you should of called it in as we told you but the truth is there the installer did not say one word and took off leaving me with no paperwork so how am I to know to call when I never need to do that before and not one word that I needed to do it

Desired Settlement
tell Trane you screwed up and get me my warranty you promised and the paperwork you never gave me

Business Response
*****'s Heating & Cooling, Inc. response
BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX

May 31, 2014


***** & Glenda **********
1709 W. Humphrey St.
Tampa, FL. XXXXX
Reference: Trane 2 ton XL20i HP (Invoice# XXXXX)

Thank you for allowing *****'s Heating & Cooling, Inc. (*****'s) the opportunity to respond to Mr. **********'s complaint.

On April 17, 2012 *****'s installed a new HVAC system for Mr. ********** at his residence. At the time of Mr. **********'s installation it was *****'s office procedure to provide customers their new installation paperwork via US mail. New installation paperwork included the following documents:

*****'s Heating & Cooling Cover Letter
Warranty and Registration Information (time sensitive)
Maintenance Information
Thermostat Information
Referral Program Information

*****'s office documentation indicates new installation paperwork was sent via US Standard Mail at the end of April 2012. *****'s has no record of this item being returned by the US Postal Service. All HVAC manufactures require the customer to register their equipment following installation. This is discussed with the customer at time of sale and their paperwork provided details on how to register their system. It is not *****'s responsibility to register the equipment for the customer. Upon request, we have helped customers accomplish this.

Mr. ********** contacted *****'s business office several times in April 2012 requesting assistance with the error codes being displayed on his Comfort Link II 7 Inch thermostat (950 series) thermostat. After an unsuccessful attempt to reset the thermostat over the phone, a service technician was dispatched on April 24, 2012 to Mr. **********'s residence. *****'s technician, Rob Hof, reported that he rebooted the system and the thermostat was now working correctly. The service call was coded as a New Install Warranty call (covered under *****'s two (2) year labor agreement for Trane high-efficiency products (XL20i)), and Mr. ********** was not charged for a service call.

Mr. ********** contacted *****'s business office on September 18, 2013 to report that his system was leaking water and requested a service call be scheduled. *****'s dispatcher scheduled an appointment for ***** ******* to go to Mr. **********'s residence the following day. On September 19, 2013, ***** ******* arrived at Mr. **********'s residence and upon his inspection of his system, discovered that the drain line was clogged. ***** explained to Mr. ********** that his system was in need of maintenance. Mr. ********** stated that he was not going to pay for the service call because he thought any cost would be covered under his extended warranty, he had purchased on April 17, 2012. Mr. ********** advised ***** that he did not want *****'s to service his system; therefore, ***** left his residence. *****'s did not charge Mr. ********** for the September 19, 2013 service call even though Mr. ********** had not had a maintenance performed on his system to help with keeping the drain line unclogged.

On May 19, 2014, Mr. ********** contacted *****'s by our website messenger function stating that his system was not working, as well as his Comfort Link II 7 Inch thermoset that *****'s had installed with his 20XLI system in April 2012. The same day, *****'s business office contacted Mr. ********** by phone upon receipt of his e-mail. He stated that in addition to his original request, he was also having difficulty linking his Comfort Link II 7 Inch thermostat to the Wi-Fi in his home. The dispatcher scheduled a service call for the following day. On May 20, 2014. *****'s technician Rob Hof found that the Comfort Link II 7 Inch thermostat needed to be recalibrated, in order to have it function properly. Mr. ********** was charged $75.00 (Invoice# XXXXX) for the service call.

Mr. ********** called *****'s business office later that same week to state that he had never received the necessary warranty documentation from Lloyds, and therefore would not be eligible for the additional five (5) years on certain parts because he had not registered his equipment online with the manufacture.

It is unfortunate that Mr. ********** did not receive his new installation package, which would have addressed most of the issues he has identified in his complaint. The paperwork included warranty information; recommended routine maintenance for HVAC systems, as well as "Do it yourself" maintenance solutions (includes clogged drain line); and a Comfort Control thermostat troubleshooting guide.

*****'s researched Mr. ********** warranty coverage and have identified that his equipment is covered under the following:

(1)Trane's Based Limited Warranty, five (5) years basic manufacturer's warranty;
(2)Registered Limited Warranty which extends an additional five (5) years for a total
Of ten (10) years on all parts; and
(3)Extended Warranty, ten (10) years Labor warranty purchased through *****'s

*****'s would like to extend their apology for any inconvenience, or misunderstanding that may have transpired and return the $75.00 charged to recalibrate the thermostat on May 19. 2014.

In addition, *****'s will provide Mr. ********** with a copy of the warranty documents listed above, as well as copy of *****'s maintenance troubleshooting guide located on our website at (http://lloydsheatingncooling.com/home/troubleshooting-guide.html) via US Register Mail.

We hope we have satisfied Mr. **********'s desired resolution in response to his compliant.

*****'s Heating & Cooling, Inc.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As far as I can tell I am still screwed out of the 10 year warranty they promised when the unit was installed which Trane offers if the unit is registered in 60 days which Lloyds did not do nor did they inform me I had to do it.

Final Business Response
You do have the full ten year warranty which we have mailed to you and are including another copy attached to this response. Not sure why you would think otherwise, but here is the copy which clearly states the coverage period is 10 years for the components and 12 years...the full amount of warranty time for the system. And I am also including another copy of the extended warranty which provides labor coverage for the system. Both of these warranties are valid to be used with any Trane-certified dealer.

02/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On December 13,2013 *****'S TOOK APART MY AIR CONDITIONING UNIT TO USE THE ELECTRICITY WITHOUT ASKING ON MY PROPERTY. I HAD NO SCHEDULED SERVICE.



I HAD NO SCHEDULE SERVICE WITH THIS COMPANY. I LEFT THE HOUSE 10 AM IN THE MORNING AND RETURNED 2;30 PM TO FIND THAT *****'S HEATING/AC WAS TAMPERING WITH MY A/C; THEY HAD IT ALL DISMANTLED WITH WIRES EXPOSED. THEY WERE USING MY ELECTRICITY FOE FOUR OR FIVE HOURS TO CHARGE UP THE NEIGHBOR'S NEW A/C UNIT AT **** **** ***** ***
I FIND THIS VERY UNPROFESSIONAL THAT A COMPANY HAS TO STEAL FROM ANOTHER NEIGHBOR'S AIR UNIT WHICH IS MINE. I DON'T EVEN IF THEY HAD A PERMIT TO DO THE WORK

Desired Settlement
I SEEK A $1000 FOR THE UNPROFESSIONALISM AND AGGRAVATION THEY PUT ME THROUGH.

Business Response
Our installation team from *****'s Heating & Cooling, Inc., was installing a new heat pump at Ms. *****'s next door neighbor's home on 12/13/13. The condensing unit's power was shut off during the installation of the condensing unit. Our installer needed to run the vacuum pump on the system while the condenser's power was shut off, so they went to ask the next door neighbor if they could plug into the electrical connection at the condenser. Finding the neighbor not home, they proceeded to connect his vacuum pump by removing the cover on the neighbor's condenser. The installer then ran a vacuum on the new system. This process takes approximately 30 minutes and consumes about the same amount of electricity as a small household appliance.

The neighbor (Ms. *****) came home while the installers went to get a bite to eat and when they returned, she began yelling at the installers who tried to explain what they had done to no avail as she would not listen to them. She insisted that they had dismantled her hvac unit and cut lines to the unit. That is untrue. The panel was removed to get to a power connection, but nothing else was disturbed. There was a cable for Internet or cable TV that was previously cut on the side of the home, but not done by us.

Ms. ***** called our business office demanding to speak to the owner. The installers called our business office for assistance as they could hardly finish their work with the lady making a scene and yelling at them. ****** *******, the business manager and wife of the owner, came to Ms. *****'s home to discuss/resolve the situation. Ms. ***** began yelling at ****** and then abruptly ordered ****** off her property.

Ms. ***** called the police. The police interviewed our installers and Ms. *****, and they said no wrongdoing had taken place and refused to even write up a report.

During this time, Ms. ***** was on the telephone yelling about what had happened. Shortly afterward, the business office received a call from the property manager of Ms. *****'s complex. *****, the owner, returned the property manager's call. He was out of the office doing other service calls at that time, but as soon as he was able later that same afternoon, he went to Ms. *****'s home. He apologized for the installers' connecting to her power and gave her $50.00 in cash for her power, her inconvenience, and for resolution of the problem.

Since that day, our office received multiple calls from Ms. ***** demanding more money and saying that she was going to sue us. We think that we were extremely fair to her already. The install team deeply regrets connecting to her power and the resulting chain of events that left all involved extremely upset.

Ms. ***** did accept the $50.00 from ***** for resolution of this matter. ***** will offer to pay the difference between $50.00 and her actual electric bill for the billing period of the 12/13/13 incident.


Final Consumer Response
I am very satisfied with the outcome I hope this company learns a lesson, and does not use anyone's electricity again

Final Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We will send her the $30 difference for her electric bill.

07/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
AC repair man arrived with no freon and would not go to get anymore because he didn't want to get caught in the rain.
AC unit stopped working 48 hrs ago and temperature in the house went into the 90's. This individual arrived with no freon, which is standard because he ran out earlier and refused to get more due to weather conditions(it did not even rain)and also due to the fact he had another appointment in Clearwater.

Desired Settlement
I WAS seeking for them to correct the issue and send someone out ASAP, but they refuse and state that the soonest they can have someone out will be sometime tomorrow.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.