BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/23/2005

IERNA's Heating & Cooling

Phone: (813) 948-6355Fax: (813) 949-9266View Additional Phone Numbers18843 N US Highway 41, LutzFL 33549-4300View Additional Web AddressesFacebookTwitterLinkedIn

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/23/2005

BBB has determined that IERNA's Heating & Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised IERNA's Heating & Cooling's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on IERNA's Heating & Cooling

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 10
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 10 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
07/22/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Over charged
On may 3,2016 my ac was not working. Called Ron Ierna's heating & cooling Inc. Was told was a $65.00 service call. I said ok. A service man showed up. Told me the start capacitor was bad. We talked about a new Ac. I finally said fix it. The price to fix it would be &520.00. I need the ac. Ok. He fixed it. Price for a new capacitor $480.00. Had my ac replaced by another company. Took out the so called new capacitor. Find out all he did was add a kick start Dated Oct 2015. He is the first person to work on this ac. Went up on line a kick start is $48.00, a new capacitor around $20.00. I was ripped off.

Desired Settlement
A refund.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Rob *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@iernaair.com
In response to the complaint filed by Mr. *******,

On 5/3/16, Mr. ******* called IERNA's for an Emergency Service Call due to his air conditioner not working.

Our technician, Clay, arrived at his home at 11:09 am and diagnosed the issue with his system as the result of a failed capacitor.

Clay then informed Mr. ******* of his finding and presented him with several options.

Option 1 - replace the capacitor and add a hard start kit. Hard start kits help older units start and run more efficiently.

Option 2 - replace the unit due to age and condition. Mr. ******* opted to go with option 1 as stated in the attached invoice.

Please Note the scan of the invoice included with this response. Mr. *******'s, signature is in two locations as well as his initials, accepting the work being recommended, the price given to complete the work, approval to complete the work and that the work was completed to his satisfaction.

This complaint was filed with the BBB on 7/1/16. This comes almost two months after the repair was completed. It should be noted, at no point between the dates of 5/3/16 and 7/1/16 did IERNA's receive any correspondence via phone, email or postal mail, stating that Mr. ******* was unhappy with the price he paid or the service provided by IERNA's.

Mr. ******* stated that he had the unit, which was repaired by our technician Clay, replaced by another company. This is concerning. Our research shows that No HVAC Replacement Permits have been issued to Mr. *******'s residence. It is Standard Operating Procedure for reputable, licensed HVAC contractors to pull permits on HVAC replacements to ensure the equipment being installed and the work of such is completed correctly and inspected by a county inspector to ensure the safety of their customers.

IERNA's prides themselves in customer satisfaction. This has been key to the success of our company and maintaining the loyalty of our customers. If Mr. ******* had contacted us to voice his concern with the service he received and/or the price he paid, his concerns would have been addressed immediately. We would have offered a 100% money back guarantee and removed our parts or otherwise tried to find a compromise, such as a discount to ensure his satisfaction.

Since the work to be completed and the fees associated with it were presented to Mr. ******* prior to any work beginning, we received a signature to approve the work to be performed, he again signed to verify that the work was performed to his satisfaction and the part was used to cool the customer's home for two months before having his unit replaced, without a permit. We feel the fees paid by Mr. ******* for the work completed to get his home cooling again are fair and just.

10/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The drain line was not put in correctly when installed, which resulted in water back up and ruined a newly installed wood flooring twice.
Purchased date 7/28/12 total package Bryant model ************** Ierna's 2 home maintenance agreement.On 4/22/13 water backed up and switch did not work and water came out of handler and ruined newly installed wood floor.Irena sent out service guy (*****) out and he installed a new drain line and new switch.(Invoice #XXXXXX)at no cost under the Home Maintenance Agreement.I replace the wood flooring at a cost of 350.00.On 8/20/13 Irena sent a person out to perform general maintenance under the agreement(invoice #XXXXXX.On 8/6/14 the same event happened water backed up switch did not work and as a result the water came on on floorat much worst rate and ruined much more flooring.I contacted Irena they sent a service ************* out on 8/6/14 this person said he replaced the switch and flushed water out, he informed me they do not warranty the floor he did not give me and invoice with his work he completed. That evening the A/C unit shut down at 2am on 8/7/14 due to the water backing up again.I contacted ******* *** & ******* they sent out a service Representive out on 8/9/14 and he made repairs to the drain line and showed me the water flow that should be coming out of the drain, At a cost of $204.00.I believe the problem has been fixed but still hesitate on this issue.

Desired Settlement
My ******* Invoice was $204 Invoice #(sXXXXX) and the floor replacement and install is at least $1500-$2000.I have all pictures and Invoices pretaining to this issue.I am looking to get whole and have my damaged floor replaced.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We would like to review the invoices from the ******* and the flooring repair company before submitting our complete response.

Consumer Response


Final Business Response
Our Service Manager just told me he has connected with Mr. *********. Mr. ********* is getting 3 quotes to repair his flooring. Once he has received the quotes he will contact us so we can review to come up with a suitable solution.

We are still working to resolve this issue.

Thank you.

***


Final Consumer Response
*** is the point man at Irena A/C taking care of my problem. Today I agreed to their offer of paying part of the bill for fixing the problem and half the funds for the floor. Not everything I want, but it will do. Again want to thank you for helping me with this problem, I don't believe anything would have been done with you and the BBB.

All the Best,
**********************
Tampa, Florida

09/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Complaint: I was scammed by *****'s Heating & Cooling.
On 4/15/14, I contacted ***'s *****'s Heating & Cooling company at XXX-XXX-XXXX to ask if they would send someone out to check the status of a potential small leak that I may or may not have in my AC unit. My AC was not cooling and I asked them to send someone that could handle a repair and/or add Freon. I explained to them that in March 2013, I was told by another AC repairman (MillerMan) that there may be a small leak but they added 2 lbs of Freon and the unit worked just fine for an entire year until April of this year. It provided the proper amount of heating and cooling for an entire year without any problems. I explained to them that I was not looking to purchase a new AC and didn't need to be pressured into doing so nor did I want them to send someone out if they could not do what I requested. With a sick Mom in my home that I am caretaking, I just needed my home cooled because I didn't have $6000 to purchase an entire unit and I still don't.
The appointment was made and on Thursday 4/17/14, between 8am and 10pm as scheduled, ***** sent a man out by the name of ******. Unlike most AC repairman, he was more concerned about finding a reason to sell me a new unit than trying to find the problem and help to avoid a costly new unit. Upon his arrival, he proceeded to check the return unit above my car in the garage, climbed on a ladder, open the side, reached in and brought out some pieces of rust, using that as an excuse that my AC could fall apart any minute now. From there the pressure was on and all I could do was listen and wait. Over a period of an hour, I listened to his spill, I received cost estimates for a new system from him, but he still was not accomplishing what I requested. It wasn't until the end of the visit that he finally checked my unit outside to see if it needed Freon but that didn't happen until I asked him to do so. He was more concerned about making a sale than to help me avoid a costly new purchase. In my mind, that was the intention all alone and the strategy of the company. Here they have a 68 year old woman with a 87 year old Mom living with her that is ill, a 14 year old AC unit, and a perfect opportunity to take advantage of the situation. Well that is exactly what he did. I paid $515.00 for services I did not receive.
After listening to ******'s spill that he could add Freon (2, 3, 4 lbs or more) but by the next day it could be all leaked out, I explained to ****** it didn't happen a year ago and he had not convinced me that it would happen now. At that point, his demeanor became odd and indifferent. I asked ****** to add 6lbs of Freon because I felt I wanted to take a chance that it would last longer than the 2lbs added a year ago. He did what appeared to be the action of someone adding Freon, however, it was rather odd that it only took ****** less than a minute to add 6lbs of Freon (and I will explain further below). He also asked me to look at the gauge (as if I could read it - I've never been trained to read such) and then had me to initial the receipt that he added 6lbs. My thoughts were, well, the proof would be in the results. If he did indeed add Freon, I would have good results. I sure didn't want to be bothered with this anymore. All was done, ****** left and did not wait to see if things were ok.
Before the end of the day, nothing changed with the temperature of my home. My home still was not cooling and remained in the same condition it was prior to ******'s visit. He never came into my home or waited long enough to see that it was making a difference. He almost had me convinced (after listening to his spill) for as long as 11 days, that my unit had finally reached its functional capacity because it wasn't cooling. I finally purchased and borrowed fans to keep myself and my Mom cool on those hot days and as you know, we have had some pretty hot days in April.
I felt I was doomed and I would have to replace my unit but I didn't know what I was going to do because I didn't have the money to do this. Something kept eating away at me and I contacted ********* & ****** Heating and Cooling Company, the company I worked with last year. I felt I needed a second opinion not a rerun of the ****** visit. On 4/28/14 (11 days later), MillerMan arrived and immediately went to my unit on the outside (not in my garage), checked for Freon, and there was absolutely no Freon to be found. We discussed it and said, well maybe there is a fast leak but the only way to prove it is to add Freon, wait a bit to see if it makes a difference. I agreed to let him add 2lbs of Freon which required 10 to 15 minutes to add, I timed it (unlike ******'s 6lbs he claims he added and in a minute or less time frame). I could tell a difference in my home within 30 minutes that the Freon ********* added was starting to have results and by the end of the day, my home was cooling very nicely and has been working effectively ever since. ********* also stayed long enough to ensure it was working. *****/****** left my home, with my money knowing he did not put Freon in my unit and it took me 11 days to figure it out. My home did not cool at all after ****** left until ********* came out and made it work for me. They are to be commended.
I contacted *****'s and spoke to *** 3 different times about this after realizing they ripped me off. On 4/29, he didn't want to listen, just argue and tried to justify their actions by attempting to intimidate me. Said he would investigate and get back to me on Friday 5/2. Of course he did not call me. I called him on 5/2 at the end of the day and received additional excuses, the boss is out of town etc., and they will get back to me on Monday 5/5. Of course, that didn't happen either. I called today 5/6 and talked to *** once again and attempted to have a calm conversation after hearing him say that he supports ****** 100% in his action. This told me that he and his entire company is dishonest when he supports such actions. He asked me to accept a $250 refund and I told him it was not enough because they did nothing to earn any of the $515 that I paid. I told him I expect a 100% refund because his company sent me a salesman, not a repairman and I was scammed and defrauded by ******. I told *** that ****** pretended to have added Freon into my unit but the results prove he did not. If he did, where did it go because I never felt the results of it. If he did, why wouldn't it have taken him longer to put 6lbs in than the 10 minutes it took ********* to add 2lbs. If he added the Freon, I would not have needed to call ********* and Sons. *** said he discussed the events with ****** and ****** swears up and down that he did add the Freon and because I initialed the receipt that I am not entitled to a refund. Additionally, when he became arrogant, he told me I would not be getting a refund at all that he is penalizing me because of my attitude. He also claims to have recorded our conversations (without my permission of course) which is illegal. Perhaps he will listen to it over and over again and realize how badly he and his company have deceived me.
Bottom line, ***** did nothing for me except deceive, defraud, and scam me out of $515 in their efforts of trying to convince me to buy a new unit. Thank God I didn't. Their goal was to not add Freon but obviously in hopes I would call them later for a new unit. They know and I know that and if they are sincere about their company's integrity, they will apologize and refund the entire $515.00. I am not trying to get anyone fired and not trying to cause them problems but he sure needs to clean up his company and his attitude.

Desired Settlement
I do expect 100% refund of monies I paid to this company totaling $515.00. They did absolutely nothing for me except waste my time and scam me out of $515.00.

Business Response


Final Business Response

ATTN: ***** ******
Better Business Bureau
**** ********* ***
Clearwater, FL XXXXX


RE: Case # ******** : ****** *****


Dear Ms. *******

As a rebuttal to the claims made by Ms. ****** *****, we offer you the following facts of the transaction.

Ms. ****** ***** placed a service call with our company on April 17th 2014 for a "No Cool" issue. Upon arrival, on that same day, our technician found the system to be low on refrigerant. The technician performed an electronic leak search and found that the evaporative coil was leaking Freon. Our technician explained his findings to Ms. ***** and advised her of her options.

The options were noted as the following:

Option 1 : Replace the coil

Option 2: Replacement of the system

Option 3: Recharge the system with refrigerant. She was advised that this was a temporary fix and the refrigerant would leak out and ultimately option 1 or 2 would be the only way to rectify the problem with the system.

Ms. ***** opted to recharge the system. It is also noted that our technician recommended 8 lbs. of refrigerant; Ms. ***** requested that only 6 lbs. be added. Ms. ***** authorized the recharging of the system to be completed. Our technician invited Mrs. ***** to accompany him to the outdoor unit so she could witness him charging the system as well as answer any questions she may have during this process.

On April 29th 2014, *****'s Heating & Cooling received a phone call from ****** *****. During that conversation, she stated that she was not happy with the services by the onsite technician and wanted to speak with a manager. At that time she was informed the Service Manager was in a meeting and not available to speak via phone. ****** ***** requested to explain the situation to the Customer Satisfaction Representative (CSR) on the phone with her, at which time the CSR agreed to listen. Ms. ***** explained that she wanted a full refund for the services provided to her by *****'s because she was not satisfied with *****'s technician's findings and stated our technician never advised her there was a leak in her coil. She also claimed, our technician did not add the refrigerant the technician said he added. She continued with several accusatory remarks pointed at our technician. Many of the accusations made by Ms. ***** contradict the invoice she was presented, reviewed and signed, approving to complete the action of adding 6lbs. of refrigerant, per her direction. PLEASE NOTE: All phone calls that enter into our switchboard, are recorded. Each customer is advised of this prior to being connected with a CSR. If necessary, a copy of this recorded phone conversation can be provided to the BBB to ensure the accuracy of our statements.

After receiving the complaint, our Service Manager contacted Ms. ***** on several occasions, to discuss her concerns with hopes to find a common ground between her demand of a full-refund and a fair and justified solution. During the conversation, *****'s Service Manager offered to reevaluate Ms. *****'s system to determine if the original *****'s onsite technician misdiagnosed the issues concerning her HVAC system. Ms. ***** stated that she had already contacted another HVAC contractor, who came out to her home and added 2 lbs. of refrigerant. This information demonstrates the original diagnosis and recommendation of 8 lbs. of refrigerant, by the *****'s Technician, was accurate. Ms. ***** declined the offer by the *****'s Service Manager to reevaluate the diagnosis of her system by the original *****'s Technician. She continued to state that the other contractor Did Not perform a leak search and Could Not tell her where the leak was. Ms. ***** went further to say that the other contractor stated, "There is no way to find a huge leak.". This is an inaccurate claim made by the third party HVAC technician. By using the proper tool of the trade, designed specifically for locating refrigeration leaks, a leak can be detected and located. Please take note of the invoice from the services performed. It clearly shows that the *****'s technician performed a leak check, after which Ms. ***** was notified of the technician's finding and she was presented with a written report including multiple options ranging from repair to replacement.

A concern that must be pointed out is the length of time between the day the services were performed and the day *****'s was notified by Ms. ***** of her dissatisfaction. There was a 12-day gap between services performed and the call to voice her dissatisfaction. Again, had she contacted us immediately and voiced her concerns, a Field Supervisor or Service Manager would have been dispatched to her home, at no additional cost, in order to reevaluate the diagnosis of her system. If a Field Supervisor or the Service Manager had been able to substantiate Ms. *****'s claims through the reevaluation of her system, it would be determined justified to issue a full refund. We have no way of verifying the validity of her complaint.

In an effort to show our commitment to customer satisfaction, we offered two refund options. We offered Ms. ***** a refund of 50% of any fees paid to *****'s with nothing more to be done. She declined to accept this offer. We went on to offer Ms. ***** a 100% refund if she would allow us to work in tandem with a third party HVAC contractor of her choice to verify her claims. Ms. ***** again declined this offer. This is taking into account; her delayed response to alert us of her dissatisfaction, her inconsistent claims of never being advised her system had a leak, the actual written report left with Ms. ***** noting a leak had been detected with the repair/replace options and her lack of willingness to allow a field supervisor or Service Manager to reevaluate her system.

At the end of the conversation, Ms. ***** threatened *****'s with the ultimatum; we either give her a 100% full refund without the need to verify her claims through a third party of her choice while we were onsite or she will slander our name within her realtor group, (which we have been an upstanding vendor member with for more than 6 years) in addition to filing a complaint with the BBB in addition to a complaint with Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.

It has been determined that Ms. ***** has no desire to find a resolution to her problem; she is simply demanding an unconditional 100% refund. We rescinded our initial refund offer and opted to defend our good name knowing this is a baseless complaint, filled with contradictory statements.

In the end we do regret that Mrs. ***** is not satisfied with the services we provided to her. We feel we have made every reasonable effort to address her claims and find a fair resolution. We pride ourselves on being a reputable company with honest employees who bring a commitment to providing customers with a premium level of products and services, backed by the highest level of ethical and professional standards.

We feel we cannot allow the power of slanderous threats, which have no founded merit, bully us into refunds of products and services rendered.




Sincerely,



******** *****
Vice President

09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Air Conditioning repair started 10/24/2013; issue still not resolved. Last dated company visited home was 8/7/2014.
On 10/24/13 A *** *****'s team member visited my home because I called for service due to -two rooms in my spilt plan home was pushing out too much air/or heat. A resolution was given to repair the 60/40 pushing out of the hear/air. A *** Irena's team member came out 12/22/13 to resolve the issue. The cost was $700.00. Before I could test my unit the service man was on his way to Tampa but had to be called back. What he installed was incorrect and had to be corrected. Once he left a second time: I turned on the unit all appeared on okay. I did not test the unit fully (by leaving it on)due to a family event I had to leave for. The issue was not corrected. Now, the vent is NOT pushing out any air/or heat. 12/26/13: A *** ***** team member came out again; gave me another reason for why the unit is not pushing air/heat out of the system. I ended up paying $425.00 for that call. The service man admit he had never worked on my unit/or the issue my unit was having. I was not feeling comfortable but his manager was talking him through the service call. Everything appears repaired; he is on his way after 2 days. 1/7/2014: I continue to allow *** *****'s to come out because I feel trapped. I have put a lot of money in the unit; they have been the only a/c company making repairs -I am thinking this time the unit will be repaired. After all, it's the same issue from the original call. I call *****'s out for the same issue; the rooms are not pushing out any air/air. This time it costs me $175.00. 7/8/2014: By this time, I should have take legal action against *****'s but I gave it one more try. The service call is $65.00; the same issue. 7/14/2014: I give them authorization to complete the repairs; from the original issue. The cost is $325.00. Issue still not resolved. 8/7/14: they come out and did not charge me BUT completed work that should have been completed from the original 12/23 call. GO FIGURE. Now, the two rooms are still not putting out any air/heat. I admitted; I should have closed the book on *** Irena's last year but it was convenience; I had started with this a/c company. I thought they knew my system and would do the right thing every time. I kept getting charged for something they did not do. The second reason I allow this to go on is time. I work during the week and it challenging for me to get time off. On the weekend I spend time with my great nieces and nephew; they lost their mom to cancer a year ago and they are with me every weekend. This experience has been challenging on them as well because their rooms have been to too cold in the winter and too hot in the summer due to no air/heat is coming from the vents. *** I have ALL of my service receipts to validate the work ****

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund of $1,755.00 to hire an a/c company to make the necessary repairs. I would agree to them making the repairs, however, it apparent that they are capable to make the needed repairs.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We are aware of this situation and have been working with the husband the whole time.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Resolved airflow issue in left side of house. Thank You

07/31/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Markup of part used for HVAC repair was 1000%.
Service date request and performed: 06/11/2014
Payment date: 06/11/2014
Service number:n XXXXXX
Service Fee: $65
Part fee for 4015 Dual Run Capacitor: $150
Technician name: *****
Subtotal of charges: $215
Payment made by mastercard for $215

Desired Settlement
Refund of $120 requested for a fair price of Dual Run Capacitor.

Business Response
RE: BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX
****** ********
**** ****** **** *** Tampa, FL XXXXX


Dear ***** *******

This letter is in response to Ms. ********'s complaint against *****'s Heating & Cooling submitted to the BBB regarding her dissatisfaction of the price of the repair performed on June 11th, 2014.

Ms. ******** contacted us regarding an issue she was having with her A/C system. Our certified and experienced HVAC Service Technician, ***** was dispatched to her home to diagnose and determine what was causing the A/C system to fail. After going through his system checks, he determined the A/C unit was failing to operate due to a faulty capacitor.

***** presented his findings to Ms. ********. He then informed her before any work took place as to what the cost would be to repair her A/C system. She agreed to *****'s proposal and authorized ***** to perform the necessary repairs and replace the faulty part. The temperature in Ms. ********'s home was restored to a comfortable temperature once again. There were no hidden costs. There were no surprise fees.

After the fact, Ms. ******* took the opportunity to go online and research the price of the part, which was replaced. Ms. ******* found that she could order a capacitor for a significantly reduced price than which she paid *****'s to diagnose, replace and guarantee, and is now requesting a refund of $120. Please keep in mind, if the part had been ordered online, there is a delay of up to 5 days for processing and shipping the part. In addition, the dangers of a non-licensed, non-insured and/or inexperienced person (DIY) performing work on a HVAC system could result in loss of property and or loss of life.

Our pricing for parts and services rendered, are regularly reviewed and compared to local market competitors. This keeps our prices inline and in many cases below the prices of other reputable, licensed, bonded, and insured HVAC companies within the Tampa Bay area. Taking into consideration that these comparable companies also employ a sizable fleet of technicians to ensure the ability to dispatch and address each and every one of our customers' Emergency A/C Needs - as quickly as possible.

To recap what Ms. ******* received for the $215 fee that she paid:

- The services of a contractor who is properly Licensed, Bonded and insured.

- A trained, certified & experienced HVAC Service Technician was quickly dispatched and arrived at her home within 21/2 hours from the time she placed her call requesting service.

- The Service Technician dispatched to her home, correctly diagnosed the issue with her system and presented the solution and the costs before performing any work.

- The Service Technician had a well-stocked truck with the necessary part available
to repair her A/C while on site.

- Comfort was restored to the ******** home within 31/2 hours from her initial call.

- Parts and workmanship received are backed by warranty.


We do feel the fee of $215 is a very fair price for the service she received.




We hope Ms. ******* understands there is a significant cost to do business:

- The cost of the building, contents and utilities that house the company.
- The wages paid to staff to answer phones, dispatch calls & process administrative duties.
- The overhead of keeping a stocked warehouse of parts readily available.
- A $2,000,000 Liability Insurance Policy to protect our customers should anything happen at their residence during or after services are performed.
- The salaries paid to the experienced and certified technicians.
- Income Taxes paid on each employee.
- Workmans Comp Insurance.
- The cost of providing continuing education and certifications for our technicians
- The cost to purchase, fuel, insure and maintain the vehicles our technicians are driving
to deliver quick and efficient service to our customers
- Fuel costs to drive to distribution centers to obtain parts
- Marketing & Advertising costs
- The list goes on and on and on.

We are a company that plays by the rules and there is a significant cost to companies like us that do so. We are certain you can obtain the parts to DIY or hire a one-man show at a lower price, but make sure they are certified, experienced, licensed, bonded and insured. The risk to the homeowner is too great not to.

We do appreciate Ms. *******'s business and we absolutely would like the opportunity to continue to be her HVAC Service provider.

At this time we do not feel a refund of $120 is warranted. Our technician provided timely and professional service. Ms. ******** was presented with upfront pricing for the necessary repair, which was approved by Ms. ******** prior to the technician performing the necessary repair.

However, in an effort to ensure Ms. ********'s satisfaction, we would like to offer a Credit of $65 that may be used towards the purchase of parts, equipment or any service that Ms. ******** may need in the future.


Thank you for your time and consideration with this matter.



Sincerely,



*** *****
Director of Marketing & Community Relations

*****'s Heating & Cooling

07/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This was my second year using IERNA to tune up my AC unit. Last year I was given this list of expensive repairs and I was told I should buy a new unit. I followed through with the repairs without shopping around for a price and found out afterwards that IERNA was high in price and that they tends to come in low on the tune up service fees but overcharge for repairs. This year I called around for a price on a tune up and ended up using IERNA again for a tune up: $29.99 is a good deal. The technician told me I have mold and need to clean my unit, install a UV light and replace my indoor capacitor. This again for a hefty price. He also recommended a new unit just like they did last year. I was rather surprised to hear I have mold while they had just serviced my unit less than 12 months ago and mold was not an issue at that time. Plus my capacitor was fine. I don't see how mold and rust can form within less than a year. While I considered buying a new unit, I decided to reach out to a reference a friend gave me for a second opinion. In the meantime my unit started failing two days after IERNA came out. The same thing happened last year. They came and did a tune up, gave a list of repairs, suggested a new unit and gave me a proposal for that, and a couple of days later, my unit was not cooling.I called this other company and they checked my unit: no mold, don't need a new capacitor and don't need a new unit. To my surprise though, IERNA tampered with my freon line and my unit was leaking freon and I had to replace 5 lbs of freon. I will never use IERNA again. They push people to buy a new unit; over charge on repairs and tamper with equipment. This was not the first time the company my friend referred came across this issue with previous IERNA customers.
Product_Or_Service: Tune up

Desired Settlement
I'd like to be refunded for at least the $29.99 I paid IERNA but most importantly, I'd hope the BBB pays close attention to their business practices. I was fooled by their billboards and presence in the community and their low tune up specials. I'd hate to see others get burned or be overcharged for services. If I don't get the refund, I will count my losses but will never refer IERNA. I am very disappointed at their practices.

Business Response
On 5-23-14 Ms. ***** called us to request a clean and tune appointment. While performing the clean and tune we found the evaporator coil plugged with dust and debris, which in tune was causing water to drip on the fiberboard inside the air handler stand. We explained the issue to the customer and also explained that excessive water dripping could lead to mold and other damage to the home. We recommended having the coil pulled and cleaned which would cost $425. Everything else on the unit checked out at this time and we did not recommend or try to pressure her into a new unit.

Then on 6-27-14, over a month later, Ms. ***** scheduled to have the coil pulled and cleaned. One would assume that over this month she would have time to get other quotes or decide which company she would use. Please keep in mind that during this month the unit was dripping water into the return cabinet so it shouldn't be a surprise that the mildew growth came back a year later. Job was completed and all was working normal.

Over a month later, on 8-1-14, customer contacted us with a no cool service call. Our invoice clearly states a 30 day labor warranty on all work performed. Even though this was past the warranty period we did not charge for the service call. We found the unit had a faulty start component. It could have been due to age or power surge but we do not know exactly what caused the part to fail. We charged for the component only and at the customers request we provided a free estimate on a new unit. It is common practice to give the customer an option for system replacement when the unit is over 12 years old vs. repair after repair. The customer chose to repair the unit and the job was complete.

On 10-28-14 the company did a follow up call with the customer to see how everything was working. During this recorded phone conversation the customer stated the unit is working well and was happy with the service that was provided and would let us know if she had any problems.

Mrs. ***** called to schedule another clean and tune on 5-21-15. During the clean and tune we noticed that the blower wheel needed to be cleaned and sanitized and also noticed some growth on the insulation of the air handler. We recommended a pull and service of the blower wheel, sanitize insulation, a UV light (Ultra-Violet Light System) to control growth and a new start component for the indoor blower motor as the one in place is the original which is over 13 years old and had a low MFD rating.

These are simply recommendations and were not pushed on Ms. *****. One of the main reasons for a clean & tune is to let the customer know what the system needs to run at peak performance levels. If we did not recommend these things, then it is very likely the customer would become upset that we did not give them all of the options available to them to consider.

As stated before it is common practice, especially due to the age and condition of her unit, to give the customer a quote that includes "Replace the unit vs. Repair the Unit" options. Ms. ***** said she would think about the recommendations and we left it at that. She never contacted the office to let us know she was unhappy with the service.

Lastly, the complaint states we tampered with her freon line which is untrue. The technician that was there has been with the company for over 10 years and is a trusted employee. We will gladly refund the $29.95 for the clean and tune and wish she had contacted the office directly to discuss her dissatisfaction.

06/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had duct work done, and this company made one mistake after another, had horrible customer service, and the quality of service and product is subpar
On 3/30/15 a crew of 4 people came out to do the job and I was told the job would be complete before they left that day. However not only did they have to come out on 3/31 they also had to return on 4/3. All more time I missed from work and from being able to attend a family trip to Universal Studios. Still today I am left w/ a job that is not complete. During the complete job I had to go behind the crew and have them correct one thing after another. A job that their led guy **** should have been handling. Yet being that **** and sales rep. ****** could not agree on the design of air flow for the garage, Omar developed an attuide towards me and the job he was here to provide. On 3/31 when **** and his crew return to finish up the work they came in and only finished up the one vent in the garage.
List of things left not complete;
1) 2' X 4' hole that was put in my garage ceiling when one of the workers fell through on 3/30. This allowed all air conditioning to escape into the attic and hot air to enter.
2) Did not fix 5' crack left in laundry room ceiling and wall
3) Did not install air filter in one of the two air returns
4) Left copper tubing in attic
5) Did not mastic the new return
6) Did not mastic the bottoms or back sides of the air supplies
7) Did not reinstall the fire safety switch in the air return( was just left lying in the insulation in attic
8) Did not change out the air vents as quoted
9) They broke and reinstalled my air purifier upside down with the cord mastic behind the tape for the air supply
10) They did not clean up all the insulation in the garage which was covering speaker boxes, table saws, leaf blower, etc.
11) They left all vents filled with insulation. This then blew through my house when I turned the system on.
12) They did not test the unit to see that it was operation properly
13) They left a 2''x 2'' hole behind the thermostat. Allowing hot air from attic to throw the thermostat off and the system to run constantly.
14) They left piles of insulation in the new water pan which would only plug the drain line
15) They did not bring the
16) They left empty mastic containers and brushes in the attic
17) Did not hang all the duct work

On 4/1/15 I called ******** office to bring all these issues up and spoke with *** ******** himself. To my surprise he instantly got defensive saying,'' yup we just do xxxx work and are xxxxxx people''! Shortly after I got a call back from **** the service manager and he arranged to come out and see for himself how the job and my home was left. He was in disbelief at it all. And told me he was floored when he walked into the office and herd the conversation between *** and I. *** had the conversation on speaker phone for all to hear. **** apologized and assured me that he was going to be sure that the job was finished up properly and that I would be completely satisfied once the new crew of 2 fixed and finished what the original crew had left. However after this crew left I am still left with the copper pipe in the attic, the drywall was hung and only mudded. They did not sand it or apply the popcorn texture that exists in the garage. The crack in the laundry room was caulked not re-pop corned, and the crack in the wall there was just left as a crack in the wall. Not one of the vents in the house was changed out as quoted. And I have a vent in one spare bedroom and one in the living room that sounds as if it's a blow drier.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund.

Business Response
IN RESPONSE TO THE COMPLAINT FILED BY MR. CLAY ***

On 3/23/2015 we were onsite to perform a full duct and system replacement for a neighbor of Mr. ***'s. The neighbor was very happy with the work performed by *****'s, therefore, Mr. *** approached the *****'s employees who were finishing up their work at his neighbors home.

Mr. *** solicited the *****'s employees to do side work as he also wanted to replace the ductwork in his home. The *****'s employees politely declined and directed Mr. *** to call the company to schedule an appointment.

Mr. *** did call and schedule a Free Estimate for Duct Replacement. On 3/25/2015 our technician, Victor was dispatched to the *** residence to perform the free estimate. After the price was agreed upon, Mr. *** asked if the job could be done in one day. Victor explained that we would send two crews, which would consist of 4 people and would do our best to get the job done in one day, but said it may take two days because duct replacements are very labor intensive.

Mr. *** scheduled the job for 03/30/2015. Two crews were onsite with senior installer, Omar, as the lead foreman. After removing the existing ductwork, it was discovered that one of the ducts that Mr. *** and Victor agreed to replace, would not fit in the desired location. After Omar explained the situation to Victor, Ron I. and Mr. ***, a new location was agreed upon. The duct was installed leaving a hole in the drywall that would need to be patched after the job was completed.

In a separate issue, while working in the attic, a crew member's footing slipped from a rafter causing him to inadvertently step through the drywall ceiling. This damage was near the hole needing to be patched and was going to be fixed with one sheet of drywall. That evening, Mr. *** told the crew not to worry about the hole created from crewmember stepping through the ceiling, because he would fix it when he fixed the original hole from the duct relocation.

After a long and difficult day, the crew wrapped up their days work, completing as much as they could on 3/30/2015 and returned on 3/31/2015 to complete the remaining tasks and finalize the job. Upon completion, Omar was not able to get the unit running. Senior technician, Tim, was dispatched to diagnose the issue. Tim determined a bad thermostat wire was the culprit. A new wire was installed at no cost to Mr. ***. This corrected the issue. The ductwork replacement was completed and the unit was up and running properly.

Mr. *** signed the invoice stating the job was complete to his satisfaction. He then signed the financing agreement with Synchrony Bank agreeing to pay for the work performed.

The next day, 4/1/15, Mr. *** contacted our office with a list of complaints that he wanted addressed. He informed us that he filed a dispute with the financing company, refusing payment. He also had expressed his frustration with missing a family event at a orlando theme park due to the install taking a second day. We did advise Mr. *** in the beginning that it could take more than one day.

Our Service Manager, Chad, was dispatched to his home. Chad reviewed the work performed by our install crew as well as Mr. ***'s list of complaints. After review, Chad and Mr. *** agreed on adjustments and repairs to be made in order to ensure Mr. *** was left as a happy customer. Mr. *** agreed that he would sign the paperwork releasing the dispute so *****'s could be paid for the work they had performed. Additionally, Chad presented Mr. *** with a 3 day family pass to the Lowry Park Zoo to compensate him for missing his family event due to the install taking a second day to complete.

On 4/3/2015 a different crew was dispatched to make the agreed upon modifications, per Mr. ***'s request as he stated he did not want Omar working on this job. The crew was specifically directed to not leave the job until Mr. *** was completely satisfied with the work performed. All work was completed per the agreement between Chad and Mr. ***, including replacing the dry wall to repair the holes which Mr. *** previously stated that the crew need not worry about, because he would be repairing it himself.

After Mr. *** reviewed the work performed ensuring his satisfaction, he was presented with the paperwork he had agreed to sign once everything was completed to his satisfaction. This paper work needed his signature to remove the dispute from Synchrony Bank, allowing *****'s to obtain payment for the job performed. This was per the verbal agreement made between Chad and Mr. ***. Once again, Mr. *** changed his mind, stating that he was not going to pay until the job passed the city inspection and refused to sign the paperwork.

The city inspection was scheduled for 4/16/2015. The same crew sent out for the final modifications and repairs, was dispatched to be onsite during the city inspection. This was done to make absolutely certain, if the city inspector found any issues that needed to be addressed, they would be done so immediately. The inspector went through the work performed by *****'s. No issues were found, no problems were reported and the inspector deemed everything done properly and "up to code". The job passed inspection. The inspector even went as far as complimenting the crew on the excellent work they performed.

The job had now been officially been completed 100%.
- *****'s had addressed each and every concern Mr. *** presented
- The drywall repairs, previously stated to not worry about, were completed
- The thermostat wiring was replaced at no cost
- The job passed final inspection by a city inspector
- Mr. *** was given a complimentary 3-Day Lowry Park Zoo Family Pass as a token of our appreciation for his business and to help make up for the family event he missed during the second day of the install

Now that the job was complete, Mr. *** was again presented with the paperwork, Mr. *** said he would not sign until after "it passed ************* Mr. *** ONCE AGAIN went back on his word and refused to sign the dispute release, saying he wasn't going to pay for it.

He went as far as threatening *****'s, that if an attempt was made to collect payment, he would file a BBB complaint and post negative reviews online and on social media sites. Mr. *** did hold true to his word and filed a formal complaint with the BBB and posted negative reviews on Facebook.

We strive for excellence in every facet of our business. We put our customers and their satisfaction first and foremost. We aren't perfect, we are human, however, we stand behind our work and will do whatever it takes to make things right by our customer. We addressed each and every single complaint Mr. *** had presented to us. We followed through on our promise and commitment to him. We went as far as providing Mr. *** zoo passes for his family, which he gladly accepted for his inconvenience. The job passed inspection with the city.

We now question if Mr. *** ever intended on paying for the work completed at his home from the get go. He tried to persuade our employees to perform work on the side without the company's knowledge. He immediately filed a dispute and he never followed through on his word to remove the dispute even after all concerns and requests were made including the passing of inspection.

PLEASE NOTE - There are points listed on the formal BBB complaint which were never brought to the attention of anyone at *****'s Heating & Cooling. These items were added after the fact. We only learned about these complaints during the review of the letter sent to us by the BBB and there for cannot guarantee the legitimacy of those complaints, nor will we attempt to address them without actually seeing the issues Mr. *** is claiming.

One example of this is the issue regarding the copper line being left in the attic. The copper line remaining in the attic is from the installation of an a/c unit which was done in the past. *****'s performed a duct system installation, not an a/c system installation. At no time was it discussed, request or implied that *****'s employees were to remove old copper lines. It is assumed the copper was actually left in place when, as Mr. *** stated to our technician, he and a friend had installed his air conditioning system themselves.

It seems Mr. *** is grasping at straws in order to defame our good name so he can receive free materials and labor.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I want to begin by noting that the attacking of my character and my financial means and intentions is slander. The insolence portrayed by the responder in this note is the exact resistance I received when I asked them to address the multitude of problems found in the work they did. They did not care about my customer satisfaction; they were immediately defensive and verbally hostile in the exchanges made. Grasping at straws? I have pictures of the work done which I will submit, and I have since reviewed other complaints about this company indicating a pattern of some of the same complaints. This is not about non-payment; this is about a company taking advantage of a consumer and believing they can do whatever they want and not be held responsible for it.
As a consumer, I have rights, and it is my right to not be taken advantage of by a company that promises one thing and provides another; an inadequate and unacceptable job and customer service.
1) It was never agreed that they would NOT have to patch the drywall. As the work order from 3/31/2015 clearly states, "home owner will repair drywall from vent." At no time did I state I would repair the hole caused by their crew falling through my ceiling. Most of the people on site doing the work didn't even speak English. So I want to know where you are getting your misinformation what was and was not exchanged. The crew I got a quote from was NOT the crew that did the work, and they were fighting between themselves about disagreements about the job; completely unprofessional.

2) Stating that the work was unacceptable, etc. and noting that as a consumer I am not happy and therefore not paying for a substandard and incomplete job was something that should have been met with care and concern. It was and is NOT a threat. Your suggestions are slander. Would you pay for something that didn't work? Would you pay for a job that was incomplete? A job that is shoddy? I have excellent credit, I always pay all my bills, and for you to suggest otherwise ridiculous and out of line.

3) I was going to do the work myself, however, chose to hire a contractor to eliminate the hassle and work from my commitments. I am not a customer that you can tell "We did the job and it is done right," and expect me to be taken advantage of. I did check the work, I know what to look for and already had my own plan created for the work. I know a high-quality vs. an inferior job when I see one. All of the "additional" items noted were reported, I have called and texted on several occasions. At the end of the day I, the customer, should not have to go behind a crew acting as a superintendent. All my complaints are issues that no tech or professional should leave undone and to be corrected. Had I been an elderly person who was unable to crawl around an attic I would have had a system on its last leg in no time!


4) The stated lowery park zoo pass was firstly not what you wrote it to be and secondly, I told them I didn't want it, would not use it and would donate it, because in no way did that make up for my loss of a day planned at Universal. In their response they say the tickets were given because of the SECOND day of work. This is mentioned a few times throughout their response. The work was to be done on 3/30 and if need be 3/31. The tickets were offered when they still did not choose to do and finish the work properly. I had no problems and my schedule was open for the possibility of them returning the 2nd day. The tickets were offered to me on 4/3/2015 when the crew had to come out for a 3rd time to fix the list of things that your service manager Chad quoted as being, "completely unacceptable!" Still to this day I have duct work where the tape was not even sealed in my laundry room and you can feel cold air pouring into the attic. Photos will be attached to show just how the job was left coming into their 3rd day out and after.

5) Regarding the thermostat wire: The unit was discovered not to be running while the crew wrapped up their 1st days' work (3/30/2014). Before leaving for the day they wanted to run the system and could not get it running. So they decided to have the service tech out the next morning. The tech decided that the wire was more than likely pinched while they did the tear out and just went ahead and replaced it. My unit WORKED JUST FINE before they started their work, the crew damaged the wire because THEY caused it not to function, so yes, why would it not be fixed free of charge? I mean one doesn't go get an oil change and have the workers drop and hoist on your car and you're the one to pay for the damages! Do you? In the attached photos you can see how the tech left a 1-1/2 x 1-1/2 whole behind the thermostat which causes the system not to register the correct temps. In effect this caused my system to run for 2 days non-stop until I discovered this issue w/ Irena's "professional" work!

6) As far as the statement, "Mr. *** signed the invoice stating the job was complete to his satisfaction. He THEN signed the financing agreement with Synchrony Bank agreeing to pay for the work performed." As most other paragraphs in their response this is a lie, and yet they accuse me of grasping for straws. I have all the work orders and dates and you can provide documentation that proves that I signed the bank agreement on 3/30/15 prior to the work being started not after they THOUGHT they had completed the job on 3/31/15.

7) Another issue I just recalled. Sorry with all the problems its hard to recall it all! But when I contacted your office on I believe 4/1/2015 I gave them the list of everything I had found wrong at that point in time. It included Mastic problems on return grill, supply plenum, return plenum, and various ducts. It also included the copper pipes in which you reference. Speaking of that. Ever crew on every day was asked about removing them and each and every person said it was no problem. It just was never done. The list included a system check and cleaning being the return left the way it was. This would allow insulation to enter my system. The other thing I had listed was the air purifier light that was installed in my air supply upside down and completely smashed. The power cord as seen in attached photos also show the power cord for this way taped and mastic behind one of the main air supplies. This in return ALLOWS it to leak, causing condensation and mold in the duct work. That day I was told a crew was going to be out on the 2nd to fix all again. I was asked if there was anything else that needs to be done. I let them know that as a customer it's not my job to make a list of things to be done. I was being charged by a company that was to come in and supply me with peace of mind that a job was going to be done right and right the 1st time. The next day not until somewhere around 4pm in the afternoon did a team of 1 show up to do the work. He came in and had NO idea what he was here for except the light. Which he in return did not have the equipment to even fix that! So no it was not just 3 days I lost on a maximum of 2 day job it was 4!

8) Moving onto the city inspection. More lies! The inspector came in and went up the ladder looked around asked the crew to strap up one line and she was basically done with the inspection. She was complaining it was hot. I then advised her of the situation I had with the installation and said I would prefer a more thorough inspection. She advised me she was not crawling back there. My question there is how are you going to inspect something and not go to the area of work performed? Either way, I then advised her that the return they had told me on two occasions had been taped and the mastic was applied over the tape, actually also had not been done. The Irena's crew member spoke up and said yes I did that the other day. That's when I instructed him that I had just been back there and it was not! I then notified the inspector of terrible leaks in the back of the air supply. She noted these issues asked them to complete that and she was on her way before the work was even done. In all the days the crews were on my property there was never a permit posted. She was just going to fill it in on her computer. They wrote, "No issues were found, no problems were reported and the inspector deemed everything done properly and "up to code." Once I'm able to obtain her report I will post it and we can see things again aren't what their response says! During the inspection is the point at which I had enough of Irena's not doing and performing the work agreed upon and now I just want out from under them so I can have a new company come in and finish and correct what was not done and was done inadequately.

10/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to properly to provide service maintenance and repair resulted in significant damage to our hardwood floors.
Do not use this company! We called Ierna's to come out and look at our 3-year old unit which was coming due for a yearly maintenance but more specifically because we were hearing a drip noise coming from the indoor unit. A "repair" tech came on site May 17th, 2014 and spent less than 30 minutes on site. We were told that everything was in great shape and the drip was probably just a little condensation in the indoor unit dripping to the outside.

The dripping noise continued for another several weeks and seemed to increase. We called the company again in July 2014 because we were concerned and drip had not existed previously. A couple of days before the scheduled visit, our oak hardwood floors began to buckle and raise near the indoor unit. When the tech came out, he immediately identified the drip was caused because the condensate pipe was clogged. The first tech never even looked at that pipe let alone cleaned it. This oversight resulted in over $2500 in damage to our wood flooring.

As a fellow local business owner, I had some association with ******** *****. So, I attempted to reach out to her directly to share the experience. Our intention was simply to inform and to see that the owner was accountable enough in her business to have a conversation about the oversight. Instead of a direct phone call which would have been the end of the incident for us, after a week and another phone call, we received a call from one of her employees. He attempted to talk in circles, threaten us and abdicate responsibility. It was an appalling response; in my perspective a direct reflection of the company culture and ethics.

Additionally, after the last conversation, I requested a written summary of what caused the leak and what was done to correct it. That summary was never provided. To this day I have also not received a call from the business owner.

Desired Settlement
We would first request a clear and accurate assessment of the the problem, what was missed the first visit and the work completed. At this point because of the complete lack of responsibility and response, we would like to see some compensation toward the repair of the flooring.

Business Response
We are very sorry that Ms. ****** is unhappy with IERNA's Heating & Cooling. We strive to achieve 100% Customer Satisfaction.

The initial appointment scheduled by Ms. ****** was for general annual maintenance of her A/C System. She never mentioned a water dripping noise as she claims in her complaint. This was verified through a Quality Assurance review of both the initial call to schedule the maintenance appointment and a second call to reschedule the appointment due to inclement weather. In the contrary, when the CSR specifically asked (1st call) if there are any issues with the system, she pointedly stated that the system is operating fine, that it just needed its annual maintenance. (This recording is available for the BBBs review should there be a need).

Regarding the statement that Ms. ****** made "The first tech never even looked at that pipe let alone cleaned it." was thoroughly investigated. Ms. ****** called for a $65 Emergency Service Call due to a water dripping noise and her floors buckling. A 2nd technician, a Service Technician was promptly dispatched to her home. We questioned the 2nd Service Technician about this appointment. He stated the drain line was severely clogged to the point that it needed to be cut and a piece replaced. A probable cause for this to happen within 90 days of the maintenance appointment is if something like a small animal (frog, lizard, etc.) crawls inside the drain line, gets lodged and expires. The Service Technician noted that during his inspection he found the remnants of algaecide tablets (Algaecide Tablets are used as an extended preventative measure after a drain maintenance) which indicates the original Maintenance Technician did in fact at a minimum, open and inspect the drain line. This is contradictory of Ms. ******'s claims that "he never even looked at it let alone cleaned it." Also noted was during the Emergency Service Call the Service Technician asked Ms. ****** how long had she been noticing the dripping noise. She stated for several weeks. When he asked why she waited so long to contact us, she stated she had been very busy. Had Ms. ****** contacted us sooner, the damage could have been minimized and even avoided. Once the drain line was cleared the Service Tech completed his invoice and went to collect payment, Ms. ****** refused payment for services rendered. It was noted by the Service Tech on his invoice and left a copy with Ms. ******.

The 1st Maintenance Tech was questioned as well. He stated that he did perform all points of the maintenance visit. He found the system in fairly new condition and operating properly. A review of the GPS tracking report of his vehicle noted he was on site at her home for 49 minutes. He insisted that he indeed perform the maintenance to the drain line. During this time he stated that he did not hear, nor did he observe any evidence of dripping water, When questioned about Ms. ******'s claim that she asked about a dripping noise, he stated Ms. ****** never made mention of any concern to a dripping noise or he would have absolutely addressed the situation and noted it on his invoice.

After the second appointment, Ms. ****** called and left a message for one of the owners, ******** ***** to discuss her experience and express her dissatisfaction with the Maintenance Service, which in her mind caused the damage to her floors. Mrs. ***** was out of town during the time of this occurring. A manager from IERNA's immediately contacted Ms. ****** on behalf of Mrs. *****. The manager began an internal investigation. When completed the manager contacted Ms. ****** to discuss the findings in order to assist Ms. ****** in getting some resolution.

Initially during this conversation Ms. ****** made it clear that she was angered that Mrs. ***** still had not personally contacted her. It was explained that Mrs. ***** was still out of town on Holiday with her family. The manager then proceeded to present his findings, which included;

- The possible cause of the clogged drain. (Small animal as stated above)

- The conclusion that the water overflowing was due to the failure of the float safety switch to activate

o NOTE - According to Ms. ******, a person who no longer resides in the state installed this A/C system and the corresponding Float Switch. Additionally this person did not pull the required county permits.

o A Safety float is installed to prevent the system from continuing to generate water should a clog occur in the drain line preventing water overflow

- A more prompt call to IERNA's with regard to the dripping water noise could have prevented prolonged exposure and reduced the amount of water damage.

- The person who installed her system did so illegally by failing to pull required county permits and having proper final inspections completed by Pasco County inspectors. This is done to ensure that all components of her a/c system were properly installed and done so to current code.

The manager then suggested that Ms. ****** immediately contact the person responsible for the installation of her system and explain her findings to them. She became enraged with the manager and stated the information being presented to her had no bearing at all and was irrelevant double talk. She further expressed that she could not get a hold of the person because they were no longer living in the state.

In conclusion, again we our sorry Ms. ******'s experience was less than satisfactory. We do understand Ms. ******'s frustration with regard to the damaged flooring and no longer being able to contact the person who is responsible for installing the a/c equipment.

We do feel we have responded in a timely manner to each of Ms. ******'s requests.

We did not and we will not seek payment for the services rendered during Emergency Service Call, which she refused to pay.

And finally, although the issue of the clogged drain line exceeded the 30-Day Warranty that comes with our Maintenance Service, we would like to provide Ms. ****** with a complete refund in the amount of $29.95.



Consumer Response
The initial call was specifically prompted by the dripping noise we were hearing. The person who took the call indicated that their maintenance service would address the cause of the issue as well as provide any needed tune-up which was due. Additionally, this concerned was raised with the onsite service tech who a) never got into the drainage pipe to unclog it and b) made a specific comment that the dripping which was infrequent at that point was probably just a little condensation from the unit. I even commented to the tech how quickly he was done. His response was that our AC was a high-end unit that was in great condition and there wasn't much to do

So, the onsite tech is either lying or not remembering the conversation.

Furthermore, the second call was never posed as an "emergency" call. The frequency of the drip had increased. However at that point the floors had NOT shown any sign of damage. When we called the 2nd time, the person who took the call immediately mentioned that it was probably a clogged drainage pipe. In the time between when the call was scheduled (not as an emergency) for several days later. When the technician came out early the next week, in the interim we notice the hardwood floors had begun to buckle in the area closest to the indoor closet where the unit was housed. The onsite technician immediately identified the problem and commented the pipe was very clogged (no mention of a small animal) and the water had back-flowed. When asked why this wouldn't have been cleaned on the original service call, his seemed genuinely surprised that it wasn't. His comment was that it should have been and that it was part of a standard maintenance.

Finally, I never received a call from the owner. The "manager" who called me is someone I have known for about 15 years and I'm sure that suggested he call me to defuse the situation. Rather than speaking to the oversight by the first technician, he attempted to throw up a lot of dust suggesting that the proper permits were not pulled. They were. He also suggested that the float safety switch filed. This was never mentioned by the onsite technician. I asked for a call back from the owner and a written analysis of the issue with the float switch. Neither was received.

Regardless of whether there was an issue with the float safety switch, the entire impetus for my complain is that this could have been avoided if the drain pipe had been properly cleared by the first technician. The pipe was obviously clogged at that point which was creating the intermittent dripping. Instead, I was specifically told that this was just condensation and I didn't need to worry about it. Everything was working and the unit was in "great" condition.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/09/2004Business started: 06/06/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Hillsborough County Contractors License
5701 E Hillsborough Ave Ste 1140
Tampa, FL 33610-5428
(813) 272-5600

Pinellas County Construction License Board
12600 Belcher Road, Suite 102
Largo, FL 33773
(727) 582-3100
http://www.pcclb.com

Pasco County Contractor's License
7530 Little Rd
New Port Richey, FL 34654-5598
(727) 847-8009

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL 33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

BBB records show a license number of CAC1813676 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of CAC1813676 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of I-CAC1813676 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 013860 for this company, issued by Pasco County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 264776 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2003, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald Ierna (President)Mrs. Charlene Ierna (Vice President)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Companies, Heat Supply Companies, Duct Cleaning Companies, Air Conditioning Cleaners, Air Conditioning Repair Companies, Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers, Ventilation Contractors, Heating Contractors, Business Construction/Office Remodeling

Alternate Business Names
Ron Ierna's Heating & Cooling, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

IERNA's Heating & Cooling has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 10 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for IERNA's Heating & Cooling

18843 N US Highway 41

Lutz, FL 33549-4300

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 18843 N US Highway 41 

    Lutz, FL 33549-4300(813) 948-6355
    (813) 489-6930
    Fax: (813) 949-9266

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*IERNA's Heating & Cooling is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 323-2665
  • (813) 643-0496
  • (863) 859-0062
  • (813) 831-6655
  • (813) 920-2665
  • (813) 489-6930
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.