BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/24/2010

Florida Comfort Air Conditioning, Inc.

(941) 764-0026View Additional Phone Numbers366 Azalea Ave NW, Port CharlotteFL 33952-5105FacebookTwitterGoogle+

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


We are a locally owned and operated company. We service, install, and maintain all residential and commercial heating and AC systems. Our technicians are professional and certified.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/24/2010

BBB has determined that Florida Comfort Air Conditioning, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Florida Comfort Air Conditioning, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Florida Comfort Air Conditioning, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The company lies and put in the wrong size ac unit, they did bogus repair work, they will not stand behind their work, they will not talk civil to you
We paid al most 5000 dollars for a unit they said the duct work was fine and the unit fit the ducts, they lied about the size of the duct work. the unit quit they put in a useless part and charged a fortune warranty, then said we were to blame and needed to find someone else to take care of the useless unit, even though it was under warranty. they will not help or take care of this

Desired Settlement
we want the full price we paid for the unit returned

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************
Prior to any installation a load Calc was done to ensure the correct size unit is installed. Customer paid a total of $5400. They paid 1/2 at the time of installation and we gave them 6 months interest free to pay the rest. We went there on 1/20/2015 we did a maintenance and installed a D-humid-stat and everything was working fine. On 3/11/15 customer called for a service call. Found an intermittent problem with expansion valve so the first resolve was to add Renew an additive to the system which was completed on 3/13/2015. We have not heard from the customer whether the issue was resolved or not until we received this complaint. The system installed is under warranty by the manufacture, they will cover certain parts and labor is only covered for the 1st year. If anything is defective or under warranty we would definitely put in a claim for them.. We have given them price breaks since we were the ones that installed the unit. In regards to the refund they are requesting, I'm not sure where they are getting there numbers from. The total cost of the installation was $5400 no additional charges. On 1/20/2015 maintenance and D-humid-stat installed cost was $149.00. On 3/11/2015 Service call at no charge, and on 3/13/2015 service call and additive put in the system, cost for that was $210.00 of which they only paid 1/2 of and apparently do not want to pay the rest. Attached are the invoices of all since the installation with their signatures.

As for us lying:

As a company we would never
1. install a unit that does not fit.
2. Tell a customer that it's there fault
3. Tell them their system is useless, especially since we installed it.
4. Charge for parts that are under warranty or are not needed
5. We would never tell a customer to take their business somewhere else
6. As any company there are processes to any warranty work and as with this instance we did what the manufacture recommends first to repair the problem.
As a company we would like to know whom they spoke to that was not civil to them.
We would like to resolve this problem, please let us know what we can do.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They did not even read the info correctly. The duct work is what they said was the right size it was not. They claimed the duct work was 16 inches it was 14. We clawed for help they refused to send anyone out and never responded toes sages for over a week. We were told by the owner since we did not like it were needed to find someone else. They still have $120 of out money for supposed July and January inspections. That more than covers the rest of the service call amount remaining. The main thing is they claimed the duct work was the right size we had another estimate showing it was not we thought that company w as illliget but this company was and we have had to put in all new duct work and a new system.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are cancelling the June January inspection/service We want the money returned. We do not want this company to be involved with our system or to come on our property,or any phone contact.

We want the full refund of what we paid for the system and the future service refunded

Final Business Response
This response was taken verbally by the ****
At the time of the install, there was a 1 year Labor Warranty through us and a 10 year Manufacturer Warranty on parts. We had nothing to do with the duct work. As we have previously stated, the duct work was installed by the builder. We provided a service for installation of the AC Unit. The Unit has been working efficiently with no issues since the date of install which was in July 2013. There will be no refunds for the AC Unit.
We would be happy to refund the $120 for the Maintenance Agreement. We will send a check to the address that is listed in our file. Please allow 10 days business days to receive. After review of our files, we have found that our customer still owes us a balance of $105 for the last invoice, which the total amount was $210. Our records indicate that Mr. ********** paid $105 on 3/13/15 with check ***** and agreed to pay the remainder. As a goodwill gesture we will forgive this amount and consider this invoice paid in full. Thank you

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 06/14/2010Business started: 04/12/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395

Charlotte County Contractors License

Port Charlotte, FL 33952
(941) 743-1201

Charlotte County Business Tax Receipt
18500 Murdock Cir
Port Charlotte, FL 33948-1068
(941) 743-1300

Sarasota County Contractor's License

Sarasota, FL 34231
(941) 861-3285

BBB records show a license number of CAC1815451 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of CAC1815451 for this company, issued by Charlotte County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 10333 for this company, issued by Charlotte County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CAC1815451 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: April 2007, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adam V. Larson (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Vivianne Timko (Office Manager)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Companies, Ventilation Cleaning, Duct Cleaning Companies, Air Conditioning Repair Companies, Real Estate Protection Maintenance Protection Planners, Heating Contractors

Products & Services

This company provides residential and commercial air conditioning and heating services, and also offers ultraviolet light products.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 12:00 AM to 12:00 PMTue: 12:00 AM to 12:00 PMWed: 12:00 AM to 12:00 PMThu: 12:00 AM to 12:00 PMFri: 12:00 AM to 12:00 PMSat: 12:00 AM to 12:00 PMSun: 12:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Port Charlotte Air Conditioning

Photos & Videos


1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Florida Comfort Air Conditioning, Inc.

366 Azalea Ave NW

Port Charlotte, FL 33952-5105

To | From


1 Locations

  • 366 Azalea Ave NW 

    Port Charlotte, FL 33952-5105(941) 764-0026
    (941) 079-9608 ext 6
    (941) 315-8224
    (941) 526-0385

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Florida Comfort Air Conditioning, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (941) 079-9608 ext 6
  • (941) 315-8224
  • (941) 526-0385

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Companies


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.