BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/19/2010

Eco Air of S.W.F.L, LLC

(239) 458-13267997 Mercantile St Unit 12, North Fort MyersFL 33917-2116FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/19/2010

BBB has determined that Eco Air of S.W.F.L, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Eco Air of S.W.F.L, LLC's rating include:

  • 5 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Eco Air of S.W.F.L, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Eco Air of S.W.F.L, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
04/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was receive a refund of $24.95 from Eco Air, to date I have not received my refund.
I spoke to the service manager at Eco Air regarding a concern I had with service call in February 2015. He had agreed to refund me $24.95, to date I not received the refund. After our conversation I called Eco Air to advise the address on the invoice was not address the check should be mailed to.

After several phone calls and emails I am still waiting for my refund. This has been since the middle of February 2015.

I am being told it was mailed to me.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that my refund be sent to me ASAP!

Business Response
To whom it may concern:

Mr *****'s refund check went out on 2-2-15 and it was sent to an address where he did not receive mail. Mr. ***** did not call back with a correct mailing address until after that check went out. After receiving the correct address a check went out on X-XX-XX to the address Mr ***** gave us. The first check sent out did make it back to our office and it was marked undeliverable. On X-XX-XX Mr ***** called and said he did not receive our check still. I told Mr ***** that the check was mailed on 2-17-15. The second check never was sent back to us, so I told Mr ***** that I had to check with the post office AND our bank. I told Mr ***** I would get back to him in A FEW DAYS. A refund check was personally delivered to Mr ***** at his home on 3-30-15
Thank you

Consumer Response

05/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
During a routine unit inspection, damage was caused by the tech that had never been repaired as promised.
During a routine inspection/tune-up of our HVAC, the Tech fell through the ceiling of the garage while attempting to service the unit in the attic. The Tech litterally came through the ceiling and landed on his feet in the garage. He had a bad cut to his hand and was aided by us and he left to seek medical help. He said he would return to repair the things he had damaged, but as of this date, we have not heard a word. I spoke with the tech a few weeks after the incident and he told me he had the parts to repair the air handler in the attic but he never showed to complete the repairs. I have also called and asked to speak with the owner. I was told he would call me back, still no communications at all with the owner.

Desired Settlement
Eco Air should repair the air handler (replace a cover that was ripped off in the fall), and repair the ceiling and replace a step ladder that was destroyed in the fall.

Business' Initial Response
Our Technician ***** arrived to the ******* home. Upon arrival he walked into the garage where Mr ******* had the access to the attic and the stairs pulled down. He informed ***** to go up into the attic and walk across the plywood to access the air handler for inspection. While proceeding through the attic and walking on the rotted plywood it gave in and ***** fell through. As ***** was falling he grabbed on to a bracket to break his fall. This bracket cut his finger and needed a small band aid. After receiving the band aid, ***** went back up and temporally fixed the unit so they could cool until we were able to get a new bracket. ***** informed the customer the office would call once the new bracket came in. Our office called Mr ******* the next day to let him know we did have the bracket. Mr ******* told our office he could not make it home for us to fix it. He then proceeded to give us his wife's cell number to see if she could come home. When we called Mrs ******* she told us she could not make it home either. She went on to say they were going out of town for a couple of weeks and they would call us when they were back at home. We are not sure if Mr and Mrs ******* did not communicate with one another regarding who would call our office. We never received a phone call regarding coming back out until Mr ******* called the office and asked to speak to the owner. The owner was not availbale to speak to him at that time, so ***** (tech) made the phone call to him within 15 minutes of him calling us. Mr ******* did not answer, so ***** left him a message indicating we had the part and we could make the repair at any time. We yet again heard nothing from Mr ******* until BBB contacted us. From the time BBB contacted us we had ***** in Mr ******* driveway within 30 minutes to repair the bracket. In conclusion, we do not know where the lack of communication fell between Mr and Mrs *******. We had the part the very next day, it was just a matter of getting there when someone was home. The Cornetts received the repair and everything is running well at this time. FYI we also repaired the drywall and ceiling even though it was not our responsibility.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

08/19/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Eco Air refused did not abide their contract. They tried to over-charge and then refused refund once they breached the contract.
I agreed to a contract for cleaning and no trip charges "if I buy the contract". I was told they wont charge me to come out if I buy their contract. They then preceded to charge $65 for coming out to look at my system when I called for help. They then also refused to fix what was wrong and would only replace everything, even the furnace. They lied saying the law reguires full replacement of everything, but when I called permits in fort Myers they told me i can just replace the unit outside. Then they made a quote that was HIGHER than any other quote by over $500 than anyone else. all this when the contract I had said they would give me a %10 discount.
Soon as I told them I will not have them do the work due to price they informed me they refuse to do any further cleaning as the contract paid for required AND they would not give a refund. I disputed the $65 dollar charge Eco Air charged my credit card, and won that dispute. I am now disputing the rest of the charges for the contract Eco Air breached. Since then Eco Air also came to my property(10/22/2013) taking pictures of the A/C unit threatening me to "turn me in for putting it in illegally". I had a professional and insured company install it, I paid $100 for the permit alone. And did all I was required to do by law. I am sick of this company being childish. The third party dispute through the credit card company should resolve issues. No company should have the right to trespass on our property to start more trouble for revenge. I also made a "Harassment" report on the trespassing of the Eco Air employee. The Owner said via phone to me at 11:18am on 10/22/2013 it is because I am disputing his company.
I request this company to leave my family and myself alone. I want to complete this dispute and let the third party decide and follow their findings. I request BB to have this company cease and desist their harassment.

Desired Settlement
Eco Air to abide the findings of the third party arbitrator(American Express) handling our dispute.
I also require Eco Air Never to come to my property again and to leave my family and myself alone.
I require Eco Air to cease all of their harassment that they and/or employees began over this dispute.
I also request an apology for their employee coming on my property. My wife was home alone at the time and no woman likes being intimidated by a large man who refuses to leave her property.

Business Response
The homeowner signed up for our 2-year maintenance plan on July 18, 2013. Under the agreement, signed by the homeowner, if another company does an assessment or repair on the unit the contract is void and not refundable (See TERMS, item 3).
On August 15, 2013, the homeowners called our company to have us come out and diagnose a problem with their A/C. They were informed that since they have a maintenance policy with us they don't have to pay a trip charge, but they do have to pay a diagnostic fee. If they chose to have a repair made we would credit the fee towards the repair. They agreed to have us come out. Upon a thorough investigation of the unit, our technician discovered the compressor was bad. We gave them the option to replace the compressor or replace the entire system. They chose to not have either done at the time.
One month later, instead of receiving a written request to cancel their policy (TERMS, item 4), we received a credit card dispute in the amount of $85.00 (policy amount) from American Express. The homeowner claimed another company replaced the outside unit cheaper than what we quoted them, so they wanted their money back. We called the county to find out if it was replaced, so we could proceed with the dispute. We were informed there wasn't a permit, and they asked if we knew for sure the unit was replaced. The owner of ECO AIR stopped by to verify from the lot next door that the unit was indeed replaced. He was there for less than 1 minute and did not, at any point, step foot on their property.
There was not a point where anyone from our company harassed the homeowners, or their family. Our owner parked his truck on the side of the road, away from their house, and was only on the empty lot for 30-45 seconds. The homeowner came out of the house while **** was walking back to his truck to leave. He left with no argument.
Attached, you will find the violation issued to the homeowners for not obtaining a permit to replace the outdoor unit. The violation serves as proof of another company repairing the unit, which renders the contract void and non-refundable.
We ask that the homeowners stop trying to harm our reputation for not being the cheapest company in town. They know they did wrong by breaching the terms of the contract and we believe they are trying to make us look bad in any way possible.
Thank you.


Final Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

This company sold us a maintenance program and described it as free service calls and diagnostic and 20% off repairs. About 1 month later unit stopped cooling. They quoted $1850 to replace the compressor or replace the whole system for $4100. We called around to other contractors and every one was much less to replace the whole unit. Also, the company charged $65 for the charge to come out even though the contract said it should have been free. We filed a credit card dispute for the $65 and Amex found in our favor. We also disputed the $85 maintenance agreement because the company said we breached the contract by letting another company work on the unit. The maintenance agreement was to clean an older unit they didn't install in the first place, they could have cleaned the new unit too but when we told them we were going with another company to make the repairs they got real nasty with us and started threatening. That is why we filed the credit card dispute.

The day after we won the credit card dispute I saw Eco Air pull up to my house and walk on my property. I went out and told him to leave and he said he was checking the unit because he thought it was stolen or put in incorrectly. When I caught him on the property he did leave and as he was walking away he said I was going to pay and that he talked to the sheriff and code enforcement. He turned us in to code enforcement claiming we stole the ac unit and because another company installed it without a permit. The other company ended up fixing the permit issue and everything is taken care of. All of this over losing a credit card dispute for $65. We will continue to dispute the $85 maintenance contract and feel we should receive at least a partial refund of that since the company did provide 1 cleaning out of 3.

08/08/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid for a policy that was supposed to make any future visits free of charge. Then I had to pay $65 when they made another visit.
On July 20, 2012 I paid for the days service and for a policy that stated the next three time that they came to my home I wouldn't be charged. Then on July 8, 2013 I called the company with the need to give my air conditioning a check up. They found a problem but then charged me $65. I should not have had to pay for this because of the policy I bought the year before.

Desired Settlement
I would appreaciate if the company would refund the $65.

Business' Initial Response
The copy of the ser contract indicates they do not pay for a trip charge. Mrs ****** did not pay a trip charge, however there is a $65 diagnostic charge which she was informed of prior to the arrival of the technician. Our technicians have to diagnose what is going on with the unit and that diagnostic charge gets applied to the repair.

Consumer's Final Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I paid $80 a year ago and was told I would get 3 free estimates on the air conditioner. I called and asked him to come out and do a check because I could feel the air wasn't as cold as it usually is. They didn't tell me about any fee, I told them I was a member of the maintenance club and he said he would be right out. After he checked the AC he told me it would be $65. That was the first I heard about the fee, I thought it was going to be free. I also didn't trust the company because the technician told me repairs would be $2500 but he would give it to me for less if I did it right away. He told me I could take out a loan. He quoted me on a replacement unit and then when I said no he lowered the price of that too. As of today the air is still blowing cold.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/08/2010Business started: 05/26/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Lee County Business Tax Receipt

Fort Myers, FL 33901
http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria

Lee County Contractors License
1825 Hendry St
Fort Myers, FL 33901-3054
(239) 533-8895

BBB records show a license number of CAC1816303 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 0905825 for this company, issued by Lee County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CAC1816303 for this company, issued by Lee County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg T. Bush (Owner)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Companies, Air Conditioning Cleaners, Air Conditioning Repair Companies, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

Products & Services

This company specializes in green air conditioning and air quality services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Eco Air of S.W.F.L, LLC

7997 Mercantile St Unit 12

North Fort Myers, FL 33917-2116

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7997 Mercantile St Unit 12 

    North Fort Myers, FL 33917-2116

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Eco Air of S.W.F.L, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.