BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/14/2012

Easy A/C

Phone: (813) 635-0440Fax: (813) 635-0480

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
09/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My mother was overcharged for a cheap a/c system. The system has been faulty since it was installed a month ago and has yet to be fixed after 5 visits
My name is **** *********. I have been trying to contact ***** ********* for weeks now. Every time I call I get the same answer. "He just left the building". I leave my contact info and never get a call back. He is impossible to reach so here I am.

I purchased a complete new Carrier system from Easy AC back in May 2014. We paid $5600 for this "top of the line" carrier system. We had several issues with the install and trying to get maintenance paperwork mailed to us but this isn't about me. I'm writing this on behalf of my 73 year old elder mother whom was taken advantage of.

Reluctantly, I recommended easy AC to my mother for her small condo. I told her they were a Carrier dealer which is the best and she'll be happy to have a high quality, super efficient product.

I found out they installed a Payne system in her home. Payne and Carrier are made by the same company but are hardly the same quality. My mother paid over $5400 for the sub-par a/c system not knowing any better. I can't believe they charged her almost the same amount we paid for this cheap system and in the words of ***** ** "after all, this isn't out energy saving system".

After they installed the system on 8/18/2014, it ran for 48 hours continuously without turning off or cooling her home. She called to explain the issue and it took 2 days form someone to come out. Someone named ***** ** came out to "fix" the issue. His notes said "Kitchen vent blowing too hard, all others too soft. Adjusted speed and partially blocked kitchen vent". This guy put A WHITE BOX INSIDE THE KITCHEN VENT TO BLOCK THE AIR FLOW AND INCREASE THE AIR FLOW TO THE 2ND FLOOR! A BOX!? That's how they "fixed" the problem. Now, the issue with the system is it turn off and on EXACTLY every 5 minutes on the dot. That's not working properly. So now we have the same tech whom couldn't fix this very issue coming back out to her home to try to fix this issue...again for a 3rd time. He returned to her home today (09/12/2014) and told her its functioning how it's supposed to. Her "old worn out, non-efficient" a/c didn't turn off and on this much. If her electric bill is very high over the norm and/or our settlement we are seeking is not met we will be contacting our family friend **** ****** **** for legal assistance.

Desired Settlement
I suspect my elderly mother's electric bill will be outrageous. We will accept one of two settlements. We either want them to remove this cheap Payne ac system she overpaid for and install a Carrier system or we want a refund and they can have their cheap Payne system back and we will go elsewhere.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We took care of any issues that may have been going on and the customer is now satisfied and happy.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The company refunded my mother $200 for an inexpensive thermostat that was the source of her problems. They reinstalled the thermostat I originally bought (a brand new Honeywell) and now the system is working to SPECS. I still believe she was over charged several hundred dollars for this, in the words of their employee ***** *** non-efficient budget model. I have a Carrier and she got a Payne system and we paid the same amount. I realize Payne and Carrier are made by the same company but so are Volkwagen and Porsche if you catch my drift. Since my request of a replacement Carrier system was not even considered by the company and I don't want my elderly mother to endure one more minute of this non-sense, we accepted the additional $150 credit for our month's worth of troubles. I will consider this satisfied to close this case. I will never recommend Easy AC to anyone nor will any of our family, friends nor associates.

01/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
New A/C unit installed. There was to be no automatic debit for one year for our service contract. We have been charged every month since installation.
We have a service contract with Easy A/C for the 2 A/C units in our house. They have been authorized to charge us on a monthly basis, on our credit card, at the rate of $12/unit which translates to $24/month. This contract has been ongoing since August 2008.

In May of 2013, we needed one of the A/C units replaced. We were told that for ONE YEAR, our credit card would only be charged for the older unit and not for the new one. This means that we should have been charged $12/month from June 2013
until May 2014. Unfortunately they have continued to charge our credit card with the full amount of $24/month. I did receive a credit for $12 in July 2013, however the next month the same $24 was charged again. I filed a complaint with American Express and because Easy A/C did not respond to their inquiry, I was issued a $24 credit in August 2013. I have had conversations with
******** ****, and have left voice mails with their billing department stating my need for a credit. I have also told them that I am cancelling my contract with them due to poor service and over billing. No one will call me back. At this time, I need $12 credits from 8/13 through 12/13 which totals $60.

I am filing a dispute with American Express and hoping that they can block any further charges from this company.
I would appreciate any effort on your part to help in this matter.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a credit issued to my American Express card in the amount of $60 and no further charges of any amount on my credit card.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

This customer purchased a new system from us in May. She has two different systems and the customer was in the maintenance program which charged $12/month for each system. When we installed the new system we should have suspended the monthly payments for 1 year per the agreement. After receiving this complaint we have corrected the issue and provided 2 additional maintenance visits at no cost.

Final Consumer Response

10/16/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cancelled monthly service via email in Jun. Company responded and confirmed service charge would be terminated starting in July. Still being billed.
I entered into a monthly service agreement with Easy AC over 3 years ago. On 11 Jun 2013 I cancelled my monthly service contract with Easy AC via email and phone. ****** Wittington responded the cancellation was received and sent to accounting for processing. I was told from the accounting department the cancellation would take effect starting in July. I was billed $22 on Jul 5 and again on Aug 5. I called and spoke to their billing department and explained their error. I was told they would refund $44 to my credit card for the charges for Jun and Jul and would immediately terminate any future charges. I was just billed another $22 on 5 Sep. I am now owed $66 dollars and my service needs to be shutoff.

Easy AC is a predatory company that tries to deceive customers and up-sell products every time they visit for service. Their technician told me I needed to replace a major portion of my upstairs AC unit and because the part is no longer available (even though unit is 6 yrs old), I would have to spend $2500 for repairs. I have since had two separate opinions from other companies and all that was needed was to add freon. They have also tried to upsell me other needless equipment and tried to bill me for a service call that was covered under my monthly service plan.

Desired Settlement
$66 dollar refund to my American Express card and terminate any future charge.

Business Response
So sorry this was not brought to my attention earlier. Looks like when one of my staff forwarded this to my accounting asst. it must have went to her spam folder as it was not in her inbox records. I know **** has had a lot of problems with her email and it could have went into never never land but wish the customer would just have called in and this could have been handled on the spot.

From my attachment documentation, I have the 3 credits for the 7/5, 8/5 and 9/5 debits which are being reversed. The credit receipts are attached. I sent via email to Mr. ****** at *************** a copy of these receipts with my short memo of apologies. I also explained that while I have myself suspended the auto debits, it has to ping to the merchant server and that server may or may not shut down this debit before the 10/5 next debit date. If, that does happen I request that the customer simply call me and I will on the spot with him on hold run thru the reversal.

I have given my staff proper information on how the system works with these auto debits and, the time gap that could take one or two debits before the merchant server stops the debits so they give correct information to the customer and all expectations will be met 100%.

Let me know if I have satisfied this customer and appreciate your passing ***** to please accept my apologies this fell thru the cracks.

Warm Regards,

***** *********


Final Consumer Response

05/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a scheduled appointment on Wednesday 4/24/13 between 3-7pm. No one showed up and no one called. This is not the first time this has happened.
I had a scheduled appointment on Wednesday 4/24/13 between 3-7pm. No one showed up and no one called. This is not the first time this has happened.

Desired Settlement
Honor commitments or call to advised of unavailability to meet commitment time.

Business' Initial Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

We did have an appointment with this customer on 4/24 between 4-8pm. At 5:41pm we called the customer on two different numbers (XXX-XXX-XXXX and XXX-XXX-XXXX) but there was no answer. We time and date stamp everything to document what happens. It is our policy to not dispatch a technician if no one answers the phone to confirm someone is home. We have been out to service this customer before but from what I can see the only missed appointment is one that she called and cancelled in July 2012. The customer never tried to call us, we are happy to reschedule the appointment for her if she still needs service.

10/08/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a carrier airconditioner from them and they refused to service the unit by saying donot service our area any more which is rediculous
on, august8,2013 the airconditioner does not shut off

Desired Settlement
we want a real reason by the owner why he will not service a 6,000 dollar unit he sold to a customer in a good faith agreement

Business' Initial Response
******,
Sorry I filled out the information and response sheet on sent it to you.
Now I realize you did not receive it. Should have emailed the first time.

Mrs ******** called our office requesting service on her AC, which she purchased from
EASY AC IN 2009. The Lake Alfred area is an area we no longer service, due to the distance
and the gas prices. This is where Mrs ******** is located. She was very upset about this policy
and kept insisting we should still service her AC.

We called her back with a business name and number for another AC company by the name of WATTS.
Mrs ******** had called a company called PAYNE and had already gotten her AC repaired.

A warranty is noted on file and this information was offered to make it easier to get service with
another company. Any HVAC company can service her Carrier and submit billing for her parts warranty.

Easy AC has these boundries in place and we feel this complaint filed was not any fault of our own
due to the limits we are able to service our customers.
Sincerely,
***** ******
Sales and Services
************

Page 1 of 2
07/13/2012Problems with Product / Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.