BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/16/2004

CoolQuest, Inc.

Phone: (727) 934-3879Fax: (727) 869-6477

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
12/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My 74 year old grandmother was bullied into purchasing a unit she could not afford and then what she signed an agreement for was not delivered
Our air conditioner went out in the very early hours and a tech from Cool Quest came out. He repaired the unit for the evening as it was leaking Freon but advised my grandmother we needed a new system costing over $7000. She informed the gentleman we could not afford this but she would talk to her daughters and see if they could help. He then bullied her into signing an agreement so she would not be charged the $1000 for the Freon and the emergency hours visit/ The agreement he told her was for a carrier energy efficient system (which was not what was delivered), a 5 inch hurricane slab (which was also not what was installed), all new duct work underneath the mobile home and inside if needed or repair of any leaks or holes with the existing duct work. When she tried to delay the installation the next morning as she was told she could do if she couldn't get the money the unit and installers showed up anyway she was told she would be responsible for over 1500 in penalties if she broke her contract. She managed to get the money by that afternoon while the men waited around and she received an non- carrier device that is very noisy, has cost more than the old leaking system to run, a 3 inch hurricane slab instead of a 5 inch and no one every checked the vents or duct work.
The city inspector who came the following Tuesday also never even looked at the sytem

Desired Settlement
The air conditioner promised to us within a timely fashion as we already paid over 6600 for a 3.5 ton unit. All duct work repaired or replaced as agreed upon. And partial refund for our time and issues fighting with them on this and the increased electrical bills since the installation of this energy efficient machine

Business Response
Per Business Owner Response: Attached are the documents to support our response. I would like to begin with a comment that the unit was installed on 8/24/2015, Coolquest never received a single any further communication or complaint as of the day of installation...until now 2 months after the fact.

In short, we have no idea where "******" (who claims to be the grandson) got his information from, as it is all completely false. The above complaint has many inaccuracies and inconsistencies & was submitted by someone who was not present at time of our visit to service the existing A/C unit.
Our technician performed a temporary repair to the A/C in question well after midnight to get the unit running so the client would have air overnight. We did not want to leave an elderly customer with health conditions (this was advised to us at the time of her call 11:21 p.m.) in a situation with no air. The temporary repair was $987 (not $1500) which includes the repair, the Freon, leak test and the emergency after hours fee. (None of those are penalties, that is the price for the repairs, all combined, to have the unit temporarily fixed at 1:00 a.m.)
The homeowner was given a price for replacement & the daughter was aware of the price and the entire negotiation, at time of service visit. The daughter even offered to help come up with any extra money that she may need, so that their mother was taken care of. At no point did we discuss duct work (other than sealing it at the unit which is done at any A/C change out), nor did we promise a Carrier system. (See signed attached contract for agreement of price & finance of package unit) The slab we installed was a UL approved hurricane slab which is 4" thick & is the slab we have always used. It is required per code to pass inspection. At no time did we promise a slab of 5", I am not even aware that they make any 5" thick slabs that are code approved.

The following morning our crew arrived to perform the work, the homeowner stated she would not be home until around noon...but we could go ahead and get started since the majority of the work takes place outside with a manufactured home package system. We did receive a phone call from our client stating that she had price checked with 2 other large box retailers about the price of the system & she was advised that the price was fair by both other companies....she had called another private company and was told that it might be a little on the high side. She phoned our office & asked to speak with the manager about lowering the price, all parties agreed to $600 reduction, but she didn't want to be charged the $987 repair fee for getting her air running throughout the previous night. The business owner spoke to the client, agreed to drop the price the $600 requested by the homeowner & advised her there would be no repercussions if she did in fact want to cancel. Mrs. ******** was very positive and pleased with the discussion & had us go ahead with the installation at the reduced price. We have not received any correspondence since installation (until now 2 months later), as far as Coolquest was concerned we had a happy customer.
I should add as a side note, we can not speak directly for the county or their inspectors.... But they always check the jobs to pass code. Any issues with the county building should be directed to them personally.

10/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wrong Condenser motor installed. The only option was to buy motor and install it myself or pay additional for labor for them to install.
I called Quest to service my Carrier ac unit in September 2011. The tech came to the house and found a faulty condenser fan motor. The fan,capacitor were replaced and the unit was tuned up for a total price $586.95. It came with a 3yr warranty on parts and 1 year labor, which ended September 12. 2014. In July 2012 the "new motor went bad." The tech cam out and replaced the motor on "warranty." The tech left no work order. When I questioned it I was told that no paperwork gets left because it is a warranty job and the warranty is from the original 2011 date. On that day I wrote a personal note reflecting the date and no paperwork was left when replacing the motor. Well This Friday October 3, 2014 the motor stops working again. I call carrier to see why the unit keeps going through fan motors. I was advised that the motor that was put in by Cool Quest (July 2012) was the wrong RPM motor. The unit calls for a 1075 RPM. The universal motor put in was an Ao Smith 825 RPM. On October 3, 2014 After calling I was advised there is nothing they can do it has to go through the service manager, who was not available. Finally on Tuesday October 7, 2014 I speak with ****** , the GM/Service manager. He advises me he will replace the motor but I will have to pay $250.00 labor to replace the motor. I advise him the wrong motor was put which most likely lead to the premature failure of the motor. He stated, here is nothing I can do for the coast of labor even if we did put the wrong motor in." He goes on to say "We cant prove if the motor was taken out and replaced with the wrong one by someone." When I ask him if he has a record of the serial number of the installed motor on the work order for service date 07/16/2012. He tells me he can sell me the proper motor and capacitor for $150 with one year warranty or $100 without one year warranty and I install them myself. I advise him I paid "600 dollars to have the service , you guys put the wrong one in a I have to pay for it." He again advises me that he can do nothing about the labor. With no other options offered I purchase the motor and capacitor and install them myself.

Desired Settlement
I put my trust in them when having the unit repaired. I paid $586.95 for a service which was not performed properly. (wrong motor installed) I should not be responsible for paying for a replacement or the labor to replace it. I am looking for some of original costs refunded or at minimum the $100.00 I had to pay for the replacement. Maybe I should back charge them for the labor of picking up the motor and installing it myself. Since they wanted to charge me Labor for their error.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *********************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@COOLQUEST.COM
9/12/11 OUR OFFICE RECEIVED A PHONE CALL FROM THE CLIENT FOR A $29.95 T/U ON HIS UNIT. UPON ARRIVAL THE TECH FOUND THE SYSTEM NOT EVEN RUNNING. CLIENT KNEW THERE WAS A SERVICE FEE OF $65 TO DIAGNOSE A NON WORKING UNIT, INSTEAD WE WERE LED TO BELIEVE THE UNIT WAS RUNNING & MISLED THE OFFICE INTO COMING OUT FOR THE LOWER RATE OF $29.95. AFTER KNOWING THIS, WE STILL WORKED WITH HIM TO FIX HIS UNIT WHICH HAD A BAD FAN MOTOR. THE CLIENT COULD NOT AFFORD THE REPAIR, THEREFORE COOLQUEST EXTENDED MERCY TO HELP HIM, AND ALLOWED THE CUST TO MAKE PAYMENT INSTALLMENTS ON THE REPAIR.

ON 7/6/2012 WE RECEIVED ANOTHER CALL ABOUT THE MOTOR & REPLACED IT @ NO CHARGE. OUR RECORDS INDICATE THE CORRECT MOTOR WAS INSTALLED.

ON 10/3/14 THE CUSTOMER CALLS AGAIN WANTING A FREE MOTOR (WITHOUT EVER HAVING US DIAGNOSE HIS UNIT),WE EXPLAINED IT WAS OUT OF LABOR WARRANTY & THAT HE HAD DECLINED OUR PREVIOUS RECOMMENDATIONS OF ADDING A SURGE PROTECTOR FOR HIS MOTOR. HE DECLINED US TO SERVICE THE UNIT STATING HE WOULD DO IT HIMSELF SINCE HE DID NOT HAVE THE FUNDS. SEVERAL HOURS LATER THE CUST CALLS (AFTER STATING HE WOULD CHANGE IT HIMSELF) & STATES THE WRONG MOTOR WAS INSTALLED BY US 2 YRS AGO. ALTHOUGH OUR RECORDS INDICATE DIFFERENTLY & ANY NUMBER OF PEOPLE COULD HAVE BEEN WORKING ON THE UNIT OVER THE PAST 2 YRS, WE OFFERED A REPLACEMENT MOTOR & CAPACITOR @ COST. CUST AGREED, THEN PROCEEDED WITH A BBB COMPLAINT AFTER GETTING THE PART HE WAS NOT ABLE TO GET ELSEWHERE. UNFORTUNATELY, WE HAVE MADE EVERY EFFORT POSSIBLE TO WORK WITH THIS CUST & HAVE BEEN UNSATISFACTORY. WE WILL REFUND THE CUST, IN FULL, FOR THE AMOUNT OF THE ORIGINAL PAYMENT IN 2011, AS COOLQUEST ALWAYS STRIVES FOR 100% SATISFACTION FOR ALL OF OUR CUSTOMERS AND STANDS BEHIND OUT WORK.

Consumer Response

01/24/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called CoolQuest to come and diagnose a problem with my AC/Heat system in my residential home. They came out and diagnosed the "motherboard" of the furnace to be bad. The repair man said it would be $1300 to fix. I said that sounds high and there's no way. He says "Let me talk to my boss and see if he will come down in price. He calls me back and says "they can do it for $700 now". I say no thanks, and they charge me $87 for the service charge. I call A Plus A/C, and he quotes me $365 for the exact same job. Coolquest engages in deceptive and price gouging techniques. They prey upon people who don't know any better or who are too lazy to check and get multiple opinions. They charge almost $100 to diagnose so they are still making money for doing basically nothing.

Desired Settlement
I would like my $87 dollars back for the service charge that took less than 15 minutes, and for them trying to gouge me.

Business Response
In response to the client's reference above, we offer a free service call with any repair done... this is made known to each client at every phone call placed to our facility as well as on each advertisement we have. The $87 charge was for the certified HVAC technician to cover his fuel & time for the trip out & diagnostics. The repair price quoted was $700 after verifying our cost and availability. The original quote of $1200 would be if we replaced the furnace (we already changed out the condenser & case coil for this in 2007).
1)The tech was working on this case for over an hour. Time included travel, diagnosis & communications between vendors & our office to locate part availability & pricing.

2)The alternate company you spoke with did not have to make the initial diagnosis to trouble shoot or spend additional fuel on return call to take care of the installation.

3)The list price alone for this part alone is more than what your alternate company billed you.

4)The part price was able to be lowered from the other company due to a favor he called in from the supply company he went through. (We did speak with **** (owner) at A Plus in regard to this).

In short, we did spend time on the case, the charge for the $87 is valid and made known to each client at time of call placed, always check to see if you are receiving an OEM manufacturer part versus a universal part (pricing will vary greatly). We are always happy if our customers are able to save money and encourage you to continue to do so. Coolquest strives for customer satisfaction, we only staff experienced qualified & certified HVAC techs and stand behind our work warranting most of our labor on parts installation for 2-3 yrs. (Some companies will give a 30d wrty up to 1 yr)

11/21/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I would like to be refunded for overcharged parts on my air conditioning unit. Parts what did not need replacement and a second charge on my account
My air conditioner stopped working on 9/23/2013.I called Cool Quest air-conditioning out of the yellow pages in the phone book. I did not had a choice. A service guy name **** from that company came to my home and estimate the parts needed to be replaced. the total amount was 1,522.30.I thought this was high and told him I would like to call my ex husband in Australia what I did and gave him ***** number to call him. My Brother **** was out of town he those know a lot of air conditioning himself but I had to have it done and could not wait for **** to get back. I had to give **** my credit card number for Cool Quest to do the repairs the next day 9/24/13. As my Brother got back that weekend I showed him the bill and he got real upset. He took that bill and showed it to a Friend who is the owner of (Johnston air condition supply).He told my Brother they over charged me tremendously. **** start calling Cool Quest right away and spoke to the service manager ****** he was surprised how much my Brother knew about air conditioners and told ****** he opened my unit and was upset that they replaced parts did not to be replaced. He also confronted ****** for a second charge of $800.00 dollars on the 24th 2013 for some light they installed witch was never disgusted with me and I did not authorize that charge to my account. so the total was 2,322.30 for a 10 year old unit. The service manager ****** agreed to refund some money back to my account but would like for my Brother to talk to the owner *** ****** of Cool Quest. He finally got hold of *** Friday October the 25th after several times he tried get in contact with him. *** got nasty with my Brother and accused **** he is a air conditioning contractor what is mad not getting the job and told him that I was happy with the work they did. *** hanged up on my Brother and I tried calling back right away but was told by **** who answered the phone that *** left the office and she will let him know that I requested for him to call me back. He never did so I called Cool Quest again today Monday the 28th of October and **** had my information phone number from Friday. I was told again as soon he comes in to the office he will get my message that it is important to me talking to ***. The day went by and nobody called me or let me know what the hold up is. As you see this is going on for almost a month and nothing is bin resolved. Only the run around and bin ignored.
I am tired to bin treated this way and being a Woman taken advantage of. This Company overcharged me and charged a second time without my knowledge. I do not know what was disgusted with my Ex Husband and **** if he approved any of that why did that Company not charged his account. My Ex Husband lives in Australia and I take care of our house this is all so up sort and something will be done. I do not let this just go away.
I will give you the WO# XXXXX-XXXXX billing slip XXXXX. For the second charge of $800.00 on September 24th 2013. I never got a bill from Cool Quest but have my bank statement with a reference # XXXXXXXX********* if that will help. I appreciate if you could help me on this issue.
Thank you
***** ********

Desired Settlement
My Brother and I tried to settle this with Cool Quest but they know exactly I was overcharged that is why I am bin ignored. I would like to be refunded a $1000.00 back in to my account or a check send to my address.
XXXX Xth Ave N
Saint Petersburg, Fl
XXXXX

Business Response
This issue was resolved Oct. 31st, 2013. Our best efforts had been being made to contact Mrs. ******** directly, we did finally reach her & agree to a partial refund which had already been discussed with the client prior to this report being filed. I believe that with the difficulty in reaching this client, this could have been avoided.

08/13/2015Problems with Product / Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.