BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Budget Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Phone: (813) 885-7999

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
01/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Me and my daughter purchased an Air Conditioning Unit from Budget Air in February 2014

When we received the Unit package in box, it did not show any damage and we didn't open it.

It stated on the receipt if you see damage to the outside of box. To open and check and report it.

When we were ready to install the air conditioning unit. We pulled it out of the box and found alot of damage to the air conditioner.

Budget Air agreed to pay for the repairs on an email. After they approved the repairs and the
Repairs was done. Budget Air decided not to pay for the repairs. **** ***** stated to do
Whatever we want, that his boss told hem that.

******* ****** ******* ****** *****
**********@gmail.com ************@gmail.com

Business
Budget Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.
**** ******** ***
Tampa, FL XXXXX
(XXX) XXX-XXXX


Delivered and repaired
******* ****** *****
**** ******** st.
Commerce TX XXXXX

Repair Billing
******* ******
**** ****** ***** ****
Celina TX XXXXX
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

Business Response
The customer purchased a scratch and dent system from us in January 2014. The customer sent an email 5 months later stating that the unit was damaged beyond what the scratch and dent description. This was not evident in the pictures that the customer sent and the damage seemed minor. The customer admits that our receipt states that if you see damage to the outside of the box to open, check and report it, however the customer did not check for any damage when they received the shipment. Our Terms and Conditions clearly state that you must inspect for damage and note any on the delivery receipt. This is put into place as we cannot determine fault of damage after the fact. For customer relations, we offered to help the customer by coordinating with a local air conditioning contractor to help with repair of said piece. Another 2 and a half months went by and the informed us at that time that they choose to hire a contractor themselves which was not part of the conversation. The customer was offered a settlement with Budget Heating and Air for their inconvenience but they declined our offer.



Consumer Response
***Document Attached***
This complaint is not resolved because they are not telling the truth.
1. The box was not damaged when we received it, was no need to inspect the unit.
According to there statement on the shipping label that we sing for (We have the receipt to prove it.)
2. They agreed to pay in full for the repairs on June 5, 2014 in a email by ***** ********* (I sent you a copy of this email)
3. They approved the repairs; it took 2.5 months because Budget Heating & Air Conditioning Inc. was playing games about the warranty parts. At first they where going to send all the parts.
But the decided that there was too much money in shipping, they told me to find some place local to warranty the parts. When I find the local dealer, **** the man in charge that was handling this issue (this employee is no longer working for this company) told me To get the warranty parts and fix the unit, and **** spoken to the repairman to do the repair.
4. After the repair was done **** the new man in charge decided to pay only 1/3 of the bill, in which they agree to pay it in full. On June 5, 2014 on an email by ***** ********* (I sent you a copy of this email)
A third of the money is not acceptable, I need the full refund as they agreed for the repairs.

09/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Faulty equipment, poor customer service ,no phone call returns Basically a piece of junk that does not work
Equipment worked for the first year Since then has been a series of problems with little help from the company we purchased from. Originally defost mother board went out in oct of 2013 Replaced it But new one was defective also. Left numerous messages with little response. Fially received second board and when service tech was installing he said system was dry and discovered coils inside heat pump had ruptured. had tech call co which is what they wanted no call back left several messages no call back then when they did call back and return message I returned call and no call back. Now they are saying we have to start the process all over again because the person who originally was handling it is no longer there and the do not have any of the information. Not to mention they make you pay just to get your service questions answered The product is a Diamond Air 1460 heat pump.

Desired Settlement
I just want my heat pump to work It has worked one out of Three years that we have owned it. Also I have Paid my Tech 900.00 to install it and replace parts And it will cost me that much to have it reinstalled again. Not to mention my wife has severe asma and it has been very hot lately which creates a hardship on her

Business Response
Mr. ****** purchased a system from us on October 14, 2011. The first time Mr. ****** informed us he needed a warranty part replaced was on November 12, 2013 in which a replacement warranty part was shipped to him with tracking number XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX via Fed Ex. On July 10, 2014, Mr. ****** informed us that a different part was now faulty and needed a replacement. A replacement warranty part was shipped to him with tracking number XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX via USPS. Mr. ****** has now informed us that his condenser coils are leaking. Since this is now the 3rd part that Mr. ****** has stated is bad, the manufacturer is requesting a service invoice diagnosing the bad part. Every installation of a A/C Unit is required by a licensed A/C company and since we cannot determine the quality of every installation, we cannot determine if this is due to a faulty installation. Every licensed AC company is to give a customer a 1 year labor warranty at installation and if Mr. ****** did not obtain that from whom ever installed his system, then he would be required to pay for labor for every part that would be bad no matter the reason. Budget Heating as done everything possible for Mr. ******. Budget Heating has returned all phone calls or Mr. ****** would not have his parts in hand. We are still at this time waiting for the service invoice from the licensed AC company with the diagnosis. It has now been 6 days since we have requested this. As soon as this is provided, it will be analyzed. Mr. ******'s statement that his unit has only worked one out the three years that he has owned it is highly unlikely. It is not possible that he would have gone without heat or air for 2 years.

06/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Over charged for service that is not provided
I have bought heat pump system from Budget Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. at **************** 4/14/2014 for 2657 dollars. They took more than a week to process the shipping, even after repeated phone calls. Item was shipped on 4/22/2014. When I check the itmes, one of the item (air handler) does not look new. paints chipping. and the item is already been installed. I declined to accept the package and return the product. He called me today 5/1/2014 that he willonly refund 1884 dollar with over 800 charge for shipping and restocking.
I believed that he has bad intention:intentionally shipped the used item to me and when I refused the package, he is over charging me: charging me 1/3 of the total price is way to much.
I requested him to refund me 2100 dollars and he refused. Bad business.

Desired Settlement
paid 2657 dollars.
Request refund 2100 dollars.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *****
Contact Email: ************************
************* *** placed an order with our company on 04/14/2014. Our terms and condition states to allow 3 to 5 business days for processing from our office. His order was shipped in new condition on 04/21/2014 which is within our terms. ************* *** received his order and decided to return the order. The delivery receipt is NOT notated with any damage listed. The customer chose to refuse the shipment and declined a reship from our company. Their order was refunded based on our terms and conditions which the customer agreed to when placing the order.

01/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought 2 5 ton goodman heap pumps from budget heating and air.they told me they had a 10 yr warranty.after a week I was told 5 yr warrant





After wating a week with no heat and I have a grandson who is a quaderplic I was told today there was only a five yr warranty not the ten yr I was told when I paid for them.they were very ugly to me on the phone. If they had talked to me five days ago I could have had heat. I will not give up on this.i have family there if I have to I will picket the place.i would like you to check on this but it is my word agents there's

Desired Settlement
I don't like to be lied to and told they didn't say I had a ten yr warranty

Business Response
Please find attached documentation regarding customer listed above.

On June 10, 2008, Ms. ********* placed an order with our company. As you can see, she placed an order for product number XXXXXX. This product comes with a 5 year warranty with a 10-year limited warranty on all functional parts. The customer is required to log onto the manufacturers website to register the additional 5 years within 60 days of installation of their product. Every customer that purchases from our company is required to accept our terms and conditions. In the terms and conditions, it states that each customer must be sure of what they are ordering. We do not guarantee sizing, or assumption of what is needed. It is the customer's responsibility to be sure of what they order and everything that goes with it including warranty options.

I have attached a copy of the customer's order (Exhibit A), The product description showing that the additional 5 years must be registered online within 60 days of installation (Exhibit B), the Goodman Website page showing the same verbiage (Exhibit C), and the limited warranty sheet that was enclosed in the customer's unit stating the same (Exhibit D).

This sheet was with the installation packet that the customer would have needed to install the system. The customer chose not to follow any of these directions. Budget Heating 86 Air Conditioning Inc., is not in the business to be sure customer's register their warranty and certainly not in the business to do it for them.

The customer has been sent the warranty part needed for customer relations at no cost to her for one time only.


Final Consumer Response
As my internet was not working the person a budget told me they would do the warranty with me over the phone ! But I was never told anything but that I had a 10 year warranty. If I was told it all was based on registering BELIVE I WOULD HAVE DONE IT MY SELF. I WAS TOLD IT WAS REGISTER. But I don't like being called a lier ...all I was told by the sellman was if it brakes down to call them and they would sent the part for ten years. AS I TOLD BUDGET in dec I needed the part that my grandson was in a car accident and was now a quaderplic , we had no heat and it was in the 20 at night.i called every day for a week and talked to a girl named ***** she told me every day someone would call me back.on the 5th day I told her I had to talk to someone's now.that's when I was told I had no warranty I was lying about what I was told .they told me not to brother them to go buy the part. ( I would in a heart beat if I had the money that the part was only about $40 ) my husband died,my son or I have not been able to work for the last two years because it takes both of us to take care of a quaderplic and sick grandson. I will go to the news,I will get my family in fl to picket of I have to. I even ask if they could get someone to mail the part that afternoon because of my grandson , she said No I was not her job to mail something ,it could be mailed Monday or nothing I started crying by this time . I will never give up on this .i bet the press would like to hear how a big company like that didn't care about a quaderplic child that was cold and wouldn't help. Yes I'm mad. XXX-XXX-XXXX

Final Business Response
Budget Heating & Air stands by it's original statement.

08/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company has absolute POOR customer service!!
I placed an order for a 3.5 ton heat pump and had nothing but issues with Budget. I received email communication that I needed to contact ************** in reference to providing/verifying some information for my order. Apparently me shipping the unit to an address that was different from my billing address was an issue and the email stated he wanted me to add that address as a secondary on my credit card statement and then fax a copy of my statement over once that was done to show proof that i am who i say i am. I felt uncomfortable with this request so I attemtped to call Mr. ********* on Wednesday 7/24/13 and spoke with the office manager who advised he was sick. I spoke at lengths with her about the issue and tried getting an understanding of why i needed to send my bank statement to prove who i was just because my shipping address was different from my billing. I asked her if there was someone there that day i could speak to to get this resolved and she stated ***** at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext 107 could assist. I did not have the time, as i was at work, to be transferred over to****** so I attempted to call him back myself later that afternoon and left him a voicemail asking him to return my call. I never got a call back so on Thursday 7/25/13 i called back to see if **** was there and was able to speak with him. Again i asked why i needed to provide this info and he was telling me it was to prevent fraud on both parts. I advised him that i spoken with my bank who advisd me NOT to change my address as this was not a credit card that i had placed the order with but it was my actual banking debit card. Mr.********** stated that i had to send in the top portion of my statement to show the last 4 digits of my credit card and my name and billing address. I again advised that my statement did not have my debit info as it is a DEBIT card not a credit card. He also stated that i needed to send in the portion of my statement that showed that they debited the money out of my account. I advised i did not have that statement yet and it wouldn't be mailed out to me until august and that i do not use Online tools as i am not internet savy. I explained it was my daughters email attached to the account & my son placed the order for me online. Again i just didn't understand why i needed to jump through all these hoops and hurdles. Mr ********* said he was going to speak with his office manager about what they could do to help and she would call me back. I never received a call back so this morning 7/26/13 i contact budget AGAIN and spoke with Tony. I advised him i was irritated that i never received a callback and wanted to get this taken care of. After getting attitude from Mr ********* and giving it right back my frustration was at an all time high so i requested the name and contact info for his manager. I was given the name ***** and an ext of ***. I called this ***** and asked if he was a manager and he replied back "If you want me to be" that fueled my rage! I tell him my name and he states he can't find the order. Which in turn continues to fuel my frustrations. He yells at Mr. ********* who provides him with the order # and he pulls it up and basically asks me what do i want. I proceed to tell him i want to file complaint against **** in reference to the poor customer service i experienced. He says "ok is there anyone else who gave you so-called poor service". Again his inability to show one iota of professionalism made me beyond livid! I have NEVER experienced such poor service before! I have never lost my temper like i did today with a company. I was continuously talked over and not allowed to speak and provide my problem. I asked ***** for him managers info and he stated he would give me the name and email of the owner, which he never did. Again because i could not simply share my feelings about the service i received from ****, ***** turned an already bad siutation into something much worse. see section below

Desired Settlement
***** was disgusting! He stated the hold ups were fault because per his notes***** had emailed and left me a voicemail (which i never got) He also stated that he tried to call me too and left me a voicemail, which again i conveniently never got. I stated that i left him a VM on 7/24/13 and he stated that i didn't because he checks his VM regularly and there never was one so i never did call him. Again it was answers and replies like this that just continued to fuel my rage. At one point i had to scream at ***** to make him be quite because he simply would not let me speak. All of this headache over the fact that i called to simply file a complaint about the service i was receiving. ***** asked for my credit card number so he could cancel my order because he could tell that i am just a difficult customer and i refused to provide him with it. He did not give me the owners info after i continually asked for it in the middle of him making smart-alic comments the whole time and he finally proceeded to hang up on me!! I typically do not react in such way but being getting the run-around and not being afforded good customer service really irritates me. I feel both of these men need soft skills training to be shown how to #1 express empathy, #2 de-escalate calls and #3 they need a general refresher in professionalism. The office manager also needs to be reminded of the importance of keeping a commitment to call a customer back. I would like this info to be sent to the owner of the company since i was not given that info so he can beaware of how his employees are handling customers.

Business' Initial Response
The original order that was placed on 07/21/2013 using *******'s cc was used with the billing information of her daughter *********. This order was declined as the address did not match the address on file with *******'s cc. Then an order was placed after that using *******'s cc again this time using a different billing address which is the order that was processed. When a customer places an order with our company and an order is declined due to an address mismatch, our company policy is to verify the customer's info that they are in fact the customer. The customer is given a choice to either send in a credit card statement showing the last four digits only of the card used for the transaction along with the billing name and address of the card holder or for the customer to add their shipping address to their credit card as a secondary address. ********* who is the customer's daughter, called the office several times, not ******* the customer. She was the one who spoke to *************** ********* was mistaken in her complaint as she did not speak to the office manager as the office manager was not in the office until 07/26/2013. In addition, we are not to speak to anyone who is not the customer on the order, so we should have never spoken to ********* to begin with. When the office manager returned to work, she called ******* and spoke to her who provided the information needed to release the order. There is a telephone recording of the conversation that was had between ********* and ***** where she was in fact the one who was rude and offensive using vulgar language, which I can send you if needed. Budget Heating & Air's employees were only following company procedure to protect the customer from credit card fraud as well as the company's. When the information was asked to be sent by ******* (the customer herself), she had no issues with sending what was needed. The order was processed at that point and shipped out.

01/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product contained counterfeit parts that did not work
Received heating unit that was determined by a representative from ***** ****** manufactures of the internal controls, to contain counterfeit parts. The control board was NOT an original part and would not function properly.
The cost to diagnose and repair the unit with the correct parts was $955

Desired Settlement
Pay for the repair of the
unit. Budget was given the opportunity to respond to the needed repairs but lacked the knowledge and integrity to handle the problems. Then they denied all responsibility.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.