BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/08/2013

Bruno Air Conditioning

Find a Location

Phone: (239) 592-7866Fax: (239) 333-0853View Additional Phone Numbers4395 Corporate Sq, NaplesFL 34104-4754FacebookGoogle+

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential, and commercial air conditioning maintenance, replacement, service, and air quality services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/08/2013

BBB has determined that Bruno Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bruno Air Conditioning's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bruno Air Conditioning

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
07/29/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Highly padded, overpriced Warranty repair on a unit that was installed 16 months ago. Unacceptable customer service response.
First, it took 3 technitions and 9 phone calls ( with promises to call me back, including calls directly to the owner) to get the correct diagnose, proposed repairs and price estimate.

Air con. unit installed Feb/Mar 2014. TXV valve and evaporative coils have failed but parts are under warranty and incur no charges. "Labor" charges are customer responsibility along with refrigerant and minor supplies. These estimated repair costs are GREATLY padded with an estimate over 1/3 of (38.7%)newly installed unit ($1392.00 Repair vs. $3600.00 original install) 16 months ago.

Line itemization reveals excessive charges for labor and material on a WARRANTY repair.

Other HVAC contractors reviewed Bruno's line items and stated that the coolant charge was as much as 60% higher than most of the local market, there were charges for items that are required for this repair but are customarily considered part of the base labor charges.

Competitive pricing with long term HVAC Contractors averaged $675.00 vs Bruno's estimate of $1392.00 or over twice the price!

Desired Settlement
Refund of service call fees already spent that could've been applied to repair

Business Response
Dear Customer,

We have looked into your complaint that you have filed with the Better Business and are responding accordingly. We found that you needed to replace your evaporator coil and txv valve, all of our prices come out of our companies flat rate price book. Your coil and txv value are covered under a parts warranty, but not labor. The owner of the company Louis B**** has spoke with you several times and explained the breakdown on what is performed when replacing an evaporator coil and txv valve. There are over 200 HVAC contractors in SWFL, each contractor has there own pricing depending on there cost of doing business. Your evaporator is in your air handler in the attic, which means the installation of the coil and txv valve is going to take longer and be more difficult to install, which means the installation will be more expensive. You did mentioned wanting a refund for the service calls that were performed, our policy is that we waive the service call fee if we repair the issue at hand. We were unable to fix the issue because you went with another company for repair. We are sorry that you are unhappy with our prices and you think that it is to expensive, but we are glad to know that you have had the problem taken care of by another contractor. We always like to know that our customers are taken care of, even if they decide to no longer to do business with our company.

We wish you all the best and please feel free to call if you have any additional questions.

Customer Service

06/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On the evening of April 20, 1015, I noticed that the temperature in my home was rising. When I checked the thermostat the temperature was 80 degrees while the thermostat was set at 78 degrees. I also noticed that the air conditioner fan was starting and stopping every minute or two. I looked down at the pan at the bottom of the unit to see about 1-2 inches of water accumulated. I immediately called Bruno's emergency service only to receive a recording stating that they were on the line with other calls. This was at 11:15 PM. I called the emergency number four times over the next two hours ending at 1:15 AM on April 21. Panicking (this unit had been installed in November of 2014 by Bruno Air Conditioning at a cost of $10,000), I called another air conditioning service and my call was answered. I explained my situation to **** and he attempted to remediate the problem with me over the phone. After about 15 minutes of trying to correct the problem, **** told me that he could send a technician out to me home within the hour. I asked him to do that. While I was waiting for the tech to arrive, someone from Bruno called (about 2:15 AM) and said they had just received my frantic message and could send someone out about 8:00 AM. I said that I had already arranged for someone to come out immediately. The technician from **** (****) arrived about 3:00 AM and worked until 4:15 AM to remediate the problem (a clogged drain). The following day I called Bruno to complain about the lack of response to my emergency and asked them to reimburse me for the cost of the repair by the other company. I sent a copy of the invoice to Bruno and followed up with a telephone call. They said they would investigate. As of today, I have received no satisfaction, not even an apology for not keeping their 24/7 policy for service. I am severing my service contract with Bruno for two reasons: at the time of installation of my new unit the drain should have been checked and Bruno has not reimbursed me for my cost

Desired Settlement
I would like Bruno to reimburse me the $377.00 cost of the emergency repair.

Business Response
Mrs. **** called our on call rotation phone around 11:30pm on 4/20/15. She then contacted us again around 12:30am, we did miss both of her phone calls because the dispatcher was away from the phone. We called Mrs. **** back around 1:30am and asked her how we could help and she told us what was going on and we told her we could come first thing in the morning and she could just turn off the system to prevent water from further leaking or we could wake a technician up and send him out to her home now. Mrs. **** then stated that she already had an air conditioning company getting ready to head to her home. She said they could do the work and then she would send us the bill. Mrs. **** call the next day 04/21/15 and spoke with our customer service team and explained everything on what had happened the night before. Customer stated that she wanted Bruno Air Conditioning to pay for the service that the other company had charged her. Our customer representative asked Mrs. **** if she could send over the invoice the from the service. Customer sent over the invoice and we told her that we would pass this along to management and we would get back in touch with her. Our service manager contacted her to speak with her on 4/28/15 and we received no call back until 5/4/15. On 5/4/15 customer stated that she wanted to know the status of her reimbursement and we told her that the service manager was in the field and he would contact her the following morning. Our service manager contacted Mrs. **** on 5/5/15 and spoke with her and told that we can't reimburse the work that was done from the other air conditioning company. Our service manager explained to her that she was still under our one year labor warranty for the new system installation and that drain lines get clogged all the time for various reasons, that's why there are warranties. Customer stated in her review that we didn't clean the drain line, we always clean the drain line on every installation. This problem occurred 6 months after the installation was done. Our service manager told her that we couldn't refund her because she didn't give us the chance to actually come out and fix the problem. She could have had us come out and not paid anything, but decided to still have the other company come out and fix the problem. After we had spoke with customer and told her we couldn't reimburse her for the service performed by the other company she then left a review on the ****** ******** ****** after the fact.

04/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have placed 3 calls to address a billing issue/customer service matter. Invoice dated 3/13/15 number *******.
The service tech said I needed an "evaporator pull & clean" and was told there was significant mold build up and infestation. The quote was for $1269. I am a new seasonal resident of Naples,Florida and was made to feel this was urgent and there was a major health risk involved. He asked for a deposit of $499 and I gave him a check ***** for this amount. He also installed a "corrosion inhibitor" for $131. The next morning (3/14), I became suspicious after doing some research and sent the service tech several questions which were not answered. I then called ***** on Monday (3/16)and spoke with the office and was referred to *********** the service manager, who I spoke with. I explained the situation and asked *****'s to put a hold on my check, which ****** and the office said they would do. Also on Monday, 3/16 after some additional research I made two calls to other contractors who quoted the price for a 'pull & clean' between $400-600.I asked ******** ** and home services' (BBB member) for a second opinion and they made a service call on (3/18). The service tech thoroughly inspected the system and said I did not need a 'pull and clean,' especially given the age of the AC (7-8 years). He also said I did not need the corrosion inhibitor that was installed given the age of the system. He cleaned the AV evaporator with a solution and added some freonwhich the initial *****'s tech did not say was needed. I have left two messages for *******

Desired Settlement
An immediate return of the check for $499 in their possession and cancellation of the service agreement I signed under duress with them.

Business Response
Thank you for the response Mr. *****. I apologize if you felt there was a "high pressure sales" - that is definitely not the impression that Bruno Air technicians would want to leave with our customers. Our technicians are trained and experienced in all aspects of the HVAC system including ductwork. During their maintenance / tune up of your system they perform a 51 point inspection that is used to keep the customer informed on the age/condition of the unit, the performance of the unit per manufacture specifications, weather there is existing surge protection and/or UV and air purifiers installed, and the duct work conditions and adequate sizing. The technicians are to present the customer with a detailed list with their findings and any recommendations that will help not only the performance of the system, but the longevity of the system since it is a substantial investment on the part of the homeowner.

With this being said, the technician indicated that your system is a 2006 Carrier. Typically, a system will last in Florida's humid and moist climate an average of 10-15 years depending on the upkeep, manufacture and conditions. Given the fact that your system is almost 10 years old itself, our technician expressed that your unit could benefit with a corrosion inhibitor that acts as a magnet (if you will) to attract a good portion of the moisture in this climate and help prevent rust occurring on your equipment to help with its longevity. This was an option presented to you on a list from your technician under the heading "should do" along with other items like u/v lights and sanitizers to enhance your system. Your review on BBB states that the other a/c company said that a corrosion inhibitor was not needed due to the age of your system when in fact, a corrosion inhibitor is normally recommended on aging units unless the a/c company and owner are negotiating a complete replacement of the system in the near future and negating the need for one.

On your review with the BBB you stated that another company came to your residence and cleaned the "AV evaporator" (not sure what that is) with a solution and added some Freon. Just a few days prior to that, our technician cleaned the "AH" evaporator with a solution as part of the tune up. At that time he found a build-up of biological growth and mold on the coil in the system and presented you with pictures and a quote which included pulling and cleaning the coil, adding Freon and a few other items. These were all on the same list presented to you under the heading "must do" and outlined on the invoice given to you. I am unclear as to your review stating that our technician did not include the Freon as part of the quote or why the other a/c company charged you to spray the coil with a solution that was already performed by our company.

Mr. *****, I have confirmed that you did call our office with your concerns on 3/16/15 and spoke to our service manager, ******* During that discussion you indicated that you were in the process of getting a second opinion, asked us to put a hold on your deposit check, and you would get back with ****** on the findings. Your review indicates that you contracted with another a/c company on 3/18/15 to perform some of the same items that we quoted to you. You called ****** on 3/26/15 to ask that your $499 deposit check be mailed back to you and to cancel your maintenance contract.

RESOLUTION: Our accounting department has put your uncashed check back in the mail to you. Your account has been revised to show that you paid $45 for the tune up (this was originally waived when you signed up for the maintenance contract) and $131 for the corrosion inhibitor.
Please Note: The maintenance contract that was presented to you was never processed since you asked for everything to be put on hold, therefore you do not have active one at this time to cancel.

I will forward a copy of this email to the BBB to evidence to them that we have followed up with you on your complaint and complied with your desired resolution. Thank you!

***** ** ******
Customer Relations
***** Air Conditioning
XXXXX ***** ***** *****
****** ******** ** XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am responding to your e-mail with my responses in bold inserted in your text.

Forwarded message
From: ***** ****** <*******@brunoair.com>
Date: Thu, Mar 26, 2015 at 4:15 PM
Subject: RE: customer ***** *****
To: ***** ***** <**********@gmail.com>
Cc: ****** ****** <******@brunoair.com>, ****** ****** <*******@brunoair.com>


Thank you for the response Mr. *****. I apologize if you felt there was a "high pressure sales" - that is definitely not the impression that Bruno Air technicians would want to leave with our customers. Our technicians are trained and experienced in all aspects of the HVAC system including ductwork. During their maintenance / tune up of your system they perform a 51 point inspection that is used to keep the customer informed on the age/condition of the unit, the performance of the unit per manufacture specifications, weather there is existing surge protection and/or UV and air purifiers installed, and the duct work conditions and adequate sizing. (The technician did not report that the freon was low.The technicians are to present the customer with a detailed list with their findings and any recommendations that will help not only the performance of the system, but the longevity of the system since it is a substantial investment on the part of the homeowner.

With this being said, the technician indicated that your system is a 2006 Carrier. Typically, a system will last in Florida's humid and moist climate an average of 10-15 years depending on the upkeep, manufacture and conditions. Given the fact that your system is almost 10 years old itself, our technician expressed that your unit could benefit with a corrosion inhibitor that acts as a magnet (if you will) to attract a good portion of the moisture in this climate and help prevent rust occurring on your equipment to help with its longevity. This was an option presented to you on a list from your technician under the heading "should do" along with other items like u/v lights and sanitizers to enhance your system. The technician never compared the cost of these services compared to keeping the system operating at a satisfactory level given its age and condition-thus, I was not aware of the 'cost/benefit' of the proposed services being 'pushed' by the technician, especially the 'pull and clean.' Your review on BBB states that the other a/c company said that a corrosion inhibitor was not needed due to the age of your system when in fact, a corrosion inhibitor is normally recommended on aging units unless the a/c company and owner are negotiating a complete replacement of the system in the near future and negating the need for one. Sunset technician said the corrosion was normal for its age, and the inhibitor given the age and condition of the unit was unnecessary.

On your review with the BBB you stated that another company came to your residence and cleaned the "AV evaporator" (not sure what that ismeant to say "AC')) with a solution and added some Freon. Just a few days prior to that, our technician cleaned the "AC" evaporator with a solution as part of the tune up. This was NOT done. There was an inspection and no solution visible cleaning of the unit. At that time he found a build-up of biological growth and mold on the coil in the system and presented you with pictures and a quote which included pulling and cleaning the coil, adding Freon and a few other items. These were all on the same list presented to you under the heading "must do" and outlined on the invoice given to you. I am unclear as to your review stating that our technician did not include the Freon as part of the quote or why the other a/c company charged you to spray the coil with a solution that was already performed by our company. The AC coil was dirty. The Sunset technicians thoroughly cleaned the unit including vacuuming the solution to the outside and and made the coil look clean and shiny. This was not the condition they found the evaporator coilit was dirty with excessive build up.

Mr. *****, I have confirmed that you did call our office with your concerns on 3/16/15 and spoke to our service manager, ******* I also e-mailed your technician the following day (3/14) for further information and this e-mail was never answered. I can provide you with the e-mail if you like. This is why I became suspicious and investigated other options and getting a second opinion During that discussion you indicated that you were in the process of getting a second opinion, asked us to put a hold on your deposit check, and you would get back with ****** on the findings. Sunset's/second opinion quote for a 'pull an clean' of the evaporator coil was between $400-600half of what your quote was. After inspection, the Sunset technician said I did not need a 'pull and clean.' He thoroughly cleaned the unit by hand as noted above and said it was in good working order for its age.Your review indicates that you contracted with another a/c company on 3/18/15 to perform some of the same items that we quoted to you. You called ****** on 3/26/15 to ask that your $499 deposit check be mailed back to you and to cancel your maintenance contract.

RESOLUTION: Our accounting department has put your uncashed check back in the mail to you received. Your account has been revised to show that you paid $45 for the tune up (this was originally waived when you signed up for the maintenance contract) and $131 for the corrosion inhibitor.
Please Note: The maintenance contract that was presented to you was never processed since you asked for everything to be put on hold, therefore you do not have active one at this time to cancel.

I will forward a copy of this email to the BBB to evidence to them that we have followed up with you on your complaint and complied with your desired resolution. Thank you!
Kindly forward this reply to BBB as well, and copy me in.
I am distrustful of Bruno and would never recommend them to anyone given my experience.

***** *****

02/03/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
New A/C unit is not controlling humidity. They now want to replace all air ducts. Humidity control was discussed at length at time of purchase.
Purchased new Trane A/C earlier this year. I have an expensive piano that cannot tolerate humidity. I discussed this at length with *****, prior to purchase. I wanted about 40% humidity, ***** stated that he could probably get to about 50 - 60% during summer. Humidity has never fallen below 65% since installation and gets as high as 80%, even on low humidity days. We have called many times, and they now do not return our calls. ***** now says our duct work is too small and that he wants to replace it. We never had humidity issues before their work. After many complaints by me,***** later stated that he "thought the unit would work fine for at least a year". I feel that he knowingly placed an inappropriate unit with the intention of requiring me to have him replace duct work at my expense.

Desired Settlement
Refund or Replacementt with appropriate unit with refund of price difference.

Final Consumer Response
Bruno Air Conditioning has responded to our complaint and we have reached a mutually satisfying agreement. Please disregard our request for assistance. Thank you for your time.

10/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
company missed diagnose
the problem with AC and charged me 75 serv call
If company had of fix what they said was wrong I still would not have AC

System is in poor condition. Restriction in metering device, burnt
starter, weak battery cap on outdoor fan motor. Evaporator coil very
rusty n in poor condition. Coil has some biological growth. Offered
system sterilizers to clean growth. Due to poor coil conditions,
can't be removed n cleaned.

above is what the invoice read, however I called another company and they detected a bad compressor, replaced the unit and the air is very cool. If I would have went with their 1200 estimated I still would have had a problem...

***** said the 75 would go toward the bill if I would have the work done...well I said no way I would pay for something that wasn't wrong. The service guy said I had a bad piston and the coil was very rusty...yes the coil is rusty but that wasn't the reason I had no AC

Desired Settlement
I want the 75 dollars I paid for a service call.
I feel if I would get a second opinion and it came out to be the same well thats on me...but that wasnt the problem with the unit...I paid 700 for the job and the air is cold...they wanted to charge me 1200 and I still would have no air

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to ****

This customer called us last week saying he wanted a refund for a service call fee. We reviewed the invoice and looked at what happened. We went out on a Saturday for a service call, we did not charge any overtime fees. The technician was out there for about an hour and a half. The technician gave his opinion about what the issue was and the customer declined the repairs. There is a $75 trip charge fee. We explained to him that the $75 was not for any work performed or services, it was for our time. The customer said he understood and we told him that if he chose to do to the repair we would waive the trip fee. We declined to refund the amount because of these reasons.

Now that he has filed a complaint we tried calling the customer but have been unable to reach him. We will agree to refund the $75 out of goodwill to resolve the complaint.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have a service agreement with this company. They just took over this business from the AC company called genie Air conditioning. I have a service contract with *****, and I was told that this is the reason they came out on a Sat. I was suppose to have priority. Secondly, they don't get it, if they would have fixed what the tech said was wrong, my AC still would have not worked. I needed a compressor not a clogged piston as I was told. The company has not tried to call me...I will call the company monday
10/13/2014...all I want is my $75 dollars back
Thank you.

Page 1 of 2
08/11/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They examined my entire system during a service call for annual inspection they claimed that there were two parts that need replacement stilloperating
The company came out to perform an annual service inspection. They claimed two parts were about to fail, but the manufacturer only warrants failed parts and that if the part fails then I could do damage to my system and that would be negligence and that I would be responsible for replacement. The unit was 2 yrs new. The parts were quoted $254. approx. Instead they said if I spent a,most $600. for surge protectors for my inside and outside unit, they would honor the warranty on the failing parts. I later found out the parts for the surge protector run $35.00 each and cost about $100 to install for both, if that. They also quoted me a list of long term and short term items I would need that ran about $6-7K. I had another contractor come out and he said that they were perscribing things for a very young system and the costs to the quotes were well over industry or area standards.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking that they sop this kind of practice and refund me the difference of what is would have cost to install those parts versus what the guys bilked me out of. I think returning half my funds is more than generous on my part. Another thing I found out is that I paid for a second service by another company who was fair and ethical and they said that system was short 1 Lb. of coolant which affects the optimum efficiency. I paid $75.00 for that corrective work. Which I am asking for that.

Business Response
Dear Customer,

We have reviewed your complaint that you have left with the Better Business Bureau and responding accordingly. We came out to your home on 3/24/15 to perform a full system maintenance on your air conditioning system. Our technician had found two parts that were reading below manufacturer specifications, when that happens the parts are recommended on being replaced to prevent any further or larger issues from occurring. This was the first time that we have been to your home. Our job is to maintain and give the customer any feedback on any recommendations that we feel can help the customer and extend the life of their air conditioning system. The choice is completely up to the customer on what they want to do.

All of our prices come out of a flat rate labor price book, every customer pays the same. There are over 200 HVAC contractors in SWFL and they all charge different prices depending on their cost of doing business. We are sorry that you disagree with our prices and that you think they are too expensive, unfortunately not all customers are going to be happy with our prices because they have their own opinions on what they should pay, which is perfectly fine.

You also mentioned that the other air conditioning contractor who had come out to your home had mentioned that you were 1lb low on refrigerant and charged you $75. This doesn't make any sense because we checked your refrigerant level and it was fine and if you would have been low on refrigerant we would of told you and charged you accordingly.

We wish you all the best and if you have anymore questions please give us a call anytime.

Customer Service



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Brunio HVAC not only over charges but makes unjustified recommendations that exceed the installation costs of a whole new system and exaggerating the services perscribed. The fact of the case is that I had their quotes and work reviewed and it was unnecessary and inflated by other company standards. Yes they have the right to charge what they charge but they need to be called for over perscribing and exceed values of those systems installations with ungodly and warranted repairs costs and diagnosis.

05/08/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Obtained $189.99 AC cleaning & checkup service that was offered at $29.99 on WGUF Bruno Air radio show segment that was falsely advertised!!!
A technician named ***** arrived at 10:30 am on Friday 03/27/2015 and wanted to see my thermostat. Took him to thermostat and he set it down to 71 degrees from 76. He asked me if I had any issues with my AC and I said that the electric bill is elevated when cooling and it surely needs a good cleaning. I also told him the unit is an old 12-SEER and that I am going to replace it pretty soon. He asked me a couple more questions about my system and I told him I've had it serviced by myself and other companies on a yearly basis. I told him that out of all the service techs I had, only *** ***** and another company did not service it as described as advertised and tried to scare me into UV lights breathing because mold will kill my family!!! I have a background in medical and biomedical equipment technology and knew they were using scare tactics to sell expensive UV lights. I also told him one tech showed up with a high & low pressure gauge set and the high gage was broken off and the tech said our refrigerant level was OK. You cannot accurately obtain that reading without a FULL & WORKING set of gauges!!! I then asked him if he was going to pull the blower unit in the air handler and he said NO!!! I said that that is a major component that needs a yearly cleaning for efficiency and he told me again that he wasn't going to pull it. He then told me he was not going to perform the service because I was "PICKY" and he couldn't do it the right way!!! I told him that if he had no problem competently performing the work as advertised that he would be more than confident to show off and prove his skills!!! He then stormed out the front door to his "BRUNO AIR" van and drove off leaving my thermostat turned down to 71 degrees!!! I called the Bruno Air office immediately to speak with ***** ***** or a supervisor and the girl on the phone said the supervisor is in the field and will call me. I guess keeping and/or gaining clients is not their goal as I have not received a call yet and it's going on 5-hours!!!

Desired Settlement
A thorough explanation as to why this occurred!!!

Business Response
When our technician arrived at the home for the tune up special on 3/27/15 Mr. ***** spent several minutes discussing his past negative experiences with other service companies and said that the manufacture of his current HVAC system, Trane, recommends that the blower wheel be pulled and cleaned on a semi-annual basis. Our technician explained to Mr. ***** that particular service is not included in the tune up special and there would be an additional charge. After further discussion with Mr. *****, our technician determined that the services that Mr. ***** was looking for were not included in the tune up special; therefore he would not able to satisfy the customer that day for the amount he was prepared to pay. The technician asked the office to contact the customer with a quote and to reschedule.
I made initial contact with Mr. ***** on 3/30/15 on the phone and spoke with him about his recent experience with Bruno Air. Mr. ***** spend some time on the phone with me discussing at great lengths different negative experiences he has had with several different HVAC service companies over the years but none of those experiences were with Bruno Air. Mr. ***** confirmed that he did call our office to schedule a tune up special that he remembered hearing from an ad on the radio. I confirmed that there is an additional charge to pull the blower wheel and clean it and I emailed Mr. ***** on that same day a list of the 51 points that are performed during a tune up and asked him to review it and call me back if he would like me to schedule the tune up. I did not receive a return call.
I called Mr. ***** again on 3/30/15 at 4:30pm, 3/31/15 at 8:30am, and 4/1/15 at 10:40am and 4:45pm and left messages each time. I have not received a call back.
It appears that Mr. ***** has had several less than positive experiences with other service companies and has chosen the Bruno Air format on the ****** ******** ****** to share those experiences. Although we are sympathetic to his past situations, we do not feel his complaint is with Bruno Air or our negligence.

CONSUMER'S DESIRED RESOLUTION: Mr. ***** asked for a "thorough explanation as to why this occurred" and we feel that we have given him an explanation on behalf of our obligation over the phone and through an email. We have also made several attempts to follow up again on the phone without a response from Mr. *****.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My previous negative experiences included *** *** ***** which Bruno Air has merged with. The tech named ***** that showed up was the same tech on our 2nd *** ***** service call and was less than impressive as I watched him do very little cleaning and a lot of sales pitching!!! ***** the customer service rep kept denying that *** ***** and Bruno Air had merged even though both web links say they did!!! I have included their web links for you to see for yourself!!! And they blew a system sale as I am looking to purchase a new & efficient A/C system!!! Have you heard the news? Bruno Air Conditioning and ***** *** ***** *** ************ have merged!" *** ***** link: http://brunoair.com/newsletters/2014/September/ "Well we are all pleased to announce that Bruno Air Conditioning and *** *** ***** *** ************ have merged!" Bruno Air link: **************************************************** Deceptive advertising!!! The 51 point inspection is not portrayed as a checkup on the WGUF radio show, they say they tear things apart and clean them!!!

03/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
At time of service, tech did not properly install drain/vent cap, a/c unit did not drain properly. Water damage to laminated floor.
Service in first week of December. Excess water noticed dripping under air handler on 1/11/15. Went online to google what can cause backup of water, looked into closet and noticed that the cap was on the shelf and never re-installed after service in December.
Told technician ***** what I had discovered with cap, he mentioned that this could have cause the problem. We have consulted with 3 other a/c technicians and all concur that this could be the problem,
***** ***** did come to our house and reviewed damage and situation, and refuses to be responsible. Various e-mails since have gone un-answered

Desired Settlement
Repair damaged flooring if it matches, or replace entire floor. Aprox. 500 sq. ft.

Business Response
Dear Customer,

We are sorry that this has happened to you and that it is an unfortunate situation. We provide warranties on every service that we provide. This particular warranty was on a drain line and it backed-up and overflowed. You started having issues with your drain line after the warranty period was over, as you stated on when the problem had occurred and according to our records of service. Drain line issues are a very common occurrence because all sorts of things can get in there such as bugs, dirt and debris from lawn care, and build up of rust from the evaporator coils. Even though you have stated that you have had other contractors at your home to look at the problem, you did say that the contractors stated "that could have been the problem". That means that no one could possibly know the exact reason the drain line backed-up because there are many possibilities on why it could of occurred. The owner of Bruno Air Conditioning made a personal trip to come out and see you and discuss the situation with you. Please let us know if you need to speak with any restoration companies about fixing the current issues. You can reach our office at (XXX)XXX-XXXX or email us *******@brunoair.com.

Sincerely,
Customer Service

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After reviewing response from Bruno Air, I would like to point out the leaking occurred after a routine service visit and which their tech neglected to replace the drain cap. The problem was resolved once the cap was re installed. It has not leaked since. When tech vacuumed out line, nothing but water came out. I observed every aspect of the trouble shooting, There was no objects, frogs, snakes, debris, etc . I feel this is situation has nothing to do with warranty, it was negligence.
As far as Bruno Air responding, we vigorously pursued a response for TEN DAYS with repeated phone calls and emails and voice mails....... Me ***** had no intention of even looking at the damage until I demanded that he come. He kept talking about warranty and not standing behind a customers concerns. I have reached out to them in a couple of emails since his visit, and have never received a response.
We will continue to pursue the floor being repaired.
We are completely dissatisfied with his lack of concerns for this situation.
Respectfully, *** *********

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/2013Business started: 09/25/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Contractor Licensing-Collier
(239) 252-2431

Business Tax Receipt/Collier County
2800 Horseshoe Dr N
Naples, FL 34104-6917
(239) 252-2477
http://www.colliertax.com/btr.html

Lee County Contractors License
1825 Hendry St
Fort Myers, FL 33901-3054
(239) 533-8895

Business Tax Receipt/Lee County
1825 Hendry St
Fort Myers, FL 33901-3054
(239) 533-6000
http://www.leetc.com

Charlotte County Contractors License

Port Charlotte, FL 33952
(941) 743-1201

Lee County Business Tax Receipt

Fort Myers, FL 33901
http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria

Sarasota County Contractor's License

Sarasota, FL 34231
(941) 861-3285

Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of CAC1817131 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 201200002211 for this company, issued by Contractor Licensing-Collier.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 121341 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Collier County. Their web address is http://www.colliertax.com/btr.html.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CAC1817131 for this company, issued by Lee County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 1404566 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Lee County. Their web address is http://www.leetc.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CAC1817131 for this company, issued by Charlotte County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of EC13006349 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: State Electrical License

BBB records show a license number of EC13006349 for this company, issued by Lee County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 201400002431 for this company, issued by Contractor Licensing-Collier.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 1501536 for this company, issued by Lee County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CAC1817131 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of TC4814 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Type: Telemarketing License

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Louis Bruno (Managing Member)Customer Contact: Mr. Dustin Harris (Business Development Manager)Ms. Jennifer Manin (Human Resources and Performance Manager)Mr. Steven Mohrbacher (License Holder)Mr. Aaron Russo (Marketing)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Companies, Air Conditioning Repair Companies, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers, Heating Contractors

Hours of Operation
Mon: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMTue: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMWed: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMThu: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMFri: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMSat: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMSun: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AM
Service Area

Southwest Florida

Alternate Business Names
Bruno Air Conditioning of SWFL, Louis Bruno, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bruno Air Conditioning has received 4.34 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bruno Air Conditioning

4395 Corporate Sq

Naples, FL 34104-4754

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 28731 S Cargo Ct 

    Bonita Springs, FL 34135-1810(877) 836-2137
    Fax: (239) 333-0853

  • 16520 S Tamiami Trl STE 212 

    Fort Myers, FL 33908-5376

  • 4395 Corporate Sq 

    Naples, FL 34104-4754(239) 592-7866
    (239) 281-5443
    (239) 768-6007

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bruno Air Conditioning is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (239) 281-5443
  • (239) 810-4303
  • (239) 768-6007
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.