BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/08/2013

Bruno Air Conditioning

Find a Location

Phone: (239) 592-7866Fax: (239) 333-0853View Additional Phone Numbers4395 Corporate Sq, NaplesFL 34104-4754FacebookGoogle+

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential, and commercial air conditioning maintenance, replacement, service, and air quality services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/08/2013

BBB has determined that Bruno Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Bruno Air Conditioning's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Bruno Air Conditioning's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Bruno Air Conditioning

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
02/03/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
New A/C unit is not controlling humidity. They now want to replace all air ducts. Humidity control was discussed at length at time of purchase.
Purchased new Trane A/C earlier this year. I have an expensive piano that cannot tolerate humidity. I discussed this at length with *****, prior to purchase. I wanted about 40% humidity, ***** stated that he could probably get to about 50 - 60% during summer. Humidity has never fallen below 65% since installation and gets as high as 80%, even on low humidity days. We have called many times, and they now do not return our calls. ***** now says our duct work is too small and that he wants to replace it. We never had humidity issues before their work. After many complaints by me,***** later stated that he "thought the unit would work fine for at least a year". I feel that he knowingly placed an inappropriate unit with the intention of requiring me to have him replace duct work at my expense.

Desired Settlement
Refund or Replacementt with appropriate unit with refund of price difference.

Final Consumer Response
Bruno Air Conditioning has responded to our complaint and we have reached a mutually satisfying agreement. Please disregard our request for assistance. Thank you for your time.

10/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
company missed diagnose
the problem with AC and charged me 75 serv call
If company had of fix what they said was wrong I still would not have AC

System is in poor condition. Restriction in metering device, burnt
starter, weak battery cap on outdoor fan motor. Evaporator coil very
rusty n in poor condition. Coil has some biological growth. Offered
system sterilizers to clean growth. Due to poor coil conditions,
can't be removed n cleaned.

above is what the invoice read, however I called another company and they detected a bad compressor, replaced the unit and the air is very cool. If I would have went with their 1200 estimated I still would have had a problem...

***** said the 75 would go toward the bill if I would have the work done...well I said no way I would pay for something that wasn't wrong. The service guy said I had a bad piston and the coil was very rusty...yes the coil is rusty but that wasn't the reason I had no AC

Desired Settlement
I want the 75 dollars I paid for a service call.
I feel if I would get a second opinion and it came out to be the same well thats on me...but that wasnt the problem with the unit...I paid 700 for the job and the air is cold...they wanted to charge me 1200 and I still would have no air

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to ****

This customer called us last week saying he wanted a refund for a service call fee. We reviewed the invoice and looked at what happened. We went out on a Saturday for a service call, we did not charge any overtime fees. The technician was out there for about an hour and a half. The technician gave his opinion about what the issue was and the customer declined the repairs. There is a $75 trip charge fee. We explained to him that the $75 was not for any work performed or services, it was for our time. The customer said he understood and we told him that if he chose to do to the repair we would waive the trip fee. We declined to refund the amount because of these reasons.

Now that he has filed a complaint we tried calling the customer but have been unable to reach him. We will agree to refund the $75 out of goodwill to resolve the complaint.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have a service agreement with this company. They just took over this business from the AC company called genie Air conditioning. I have a service contract with *****, and I was told that this is the reason they came out on a Sat. I was suppose to have priority. Secondly, they don't get it, if they would have fixed what the tech said was wrong, my AC still would have not worked. I needed a compressor not a clogged piston as I was told. The company has not tried to call me...I will call the company monday
10/13/2014...all I want is my $75 dollars back
Thank you.

08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
New central air installed, failed within ten days, each time condenser frozen. 6 repairman after, still broke.
On X-X-XXXX my current Rude 4 ton central air unit failed. Charged $79 to say unit low on charge, old c22 system, we decided to change out unit to a new 4 ton. On X-X-XXXX new Maytag air handler Model ********** and C/U unit Model **********, installation was timely. X-XX-XXXX while adding room returns to return plenum I discovered an air leak in the supply plenum where work was done and was repaired same day. X-X-XXXX discovered unit not cooling, service call found C/U frozen caused by low pressure on suction side. Adjusted air flow to Medium output. X-XX-XXXX discovered unit not cooling, service call found low pressure on suction side. tech re-brazed all joints did nitrogen test to 300 MIC, suggested a check back with DYE TEST, this was not done. Adjusted air flow. received CALL from owner about the troubles is caused by new duct work done but will send tech by to check on last repair(with no record) rechecked pressures and air flow. X-XX-XXXX discovered system not cooling, C/U unit frozen after 15mins tech says to replace unit. I need to wait a week for a unit to come in. The finance agent will not release funds till unit is working. AFTER CHECKING WITH MULTIPLE CONTRACTORS they all tell us that air flow is not the cause. Invoices #XXXXX,XXXXX,XXXXX,XXXXX,XXXXX,XXXXX,XXXXX

Desired Settlement
total replacement of the Nordyne(Maytag) central air system.

Final Consumer Response
They replace a part and it appears to work now.

03/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
At time of service, tech did not properly install drain/vent cap, a/c unit did not drain properly. Water damage to laminated floor.
Service in first week of December. Excess water noticed dripping under air handler on 1/11/15. Went online to google what can cause backup of water, looked into closet and noticed that the cap was on the shelf and never re-installed after service in December.
Told technician ***** what I had discovered with cap, he mentioned that this could have cause the problem. We have consulted with 3 other a/c technicians and all concur that this could be the problem,
***** ***** did come to our house and reviewed damage and situation, and refuses to be responsible. Various e-mails since have gone un-answered

Desired Settlement
Repair damaged flooring if it matches, or replace entire floor. Aprox. 500 sq. ft.

Business Response
Dear Customer,

We are sorry that this has happened to you and that it is an unfortunate situation. We provide warranties on every service that we provide. This particular warranty was on a drain line and it backed-up and overflowed. You started having issues with your drain line after the warranty period was over, as you stated on when the problem had occurred and according to our records of service. Drain line issues are a very common occurrence because all sorts of things can get in there such as bugs, dirt and debris from lawn care, and build up of rust from the evaporator coils. Even though you have stated that you have had other contractors at your home to look at the problem, you did say that the contractors stated "that could have been the problem". That means that no one could possibly know the exact reason the drain line backed-up because there are many possibilities on why it could of occurred. The owner of Bruno Air Conditioning made a personal trip to come out and see you and discuss the situation with you. Please let us know if you need to speak with any restoration companies about fixing the current issues. You can reach our office at (XXX)XXX-XXXX or email us *******@brunoair.com.

Sincerely,
Customer Service

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After reviewing response from Bruno Air, I would like to point out the leaking occurred after a routine service visit and which their tech neglected to replace the drain cap. The problem was resolved once the cap was re installed. It has not leaked since. When tech vacuumed out line, nothing but water came out. I observed every aspect of the trouble shooting, There was no objects, frogs, snakes, debris, etc . I feel this is situation has nothing to do with warranty, it was negligence.
As far as Bruno Air responding, we vigorously pursued a response for TEN DAYS with repeated phone calls and emails and voice mails....... Me ***** had no intention of even looking at the damage until I demanded that he come. He kept talking about warranty and not standing behind a customers concerns. I have reached out to them in a couple of emails since his visit, and have never received a response.
We will continue to pursue the floor being repaired.
We are completely dissatisfied with his lack of concerns for this situation.
Respectfully, *** *********

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/2013Business started: 09/25/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Contractor Licensing-Collier
(239) 252-2431

Business Tax Receipt/Collier County
2800 Horseshoe Dr N
Naples, FL34104-6917
(239) 252-2477
http://www.colliertax.com/btr.html

Lee County Contractors License
1825 Hendry St
Fort Myers, FL33901-3054
(239) 533-8895

Business Tax Receipt/Lee County
1825 Hendry St
Fort Myers, FL33901-3054
(239) 533-6000
http://www.leetc.com

BBB records show a license number of CAC1817131 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 201200002211 for this company, issued by Contractor Licensing-Collier.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 121341 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Collier County. Their web address is http://www.colliertax.com/btr.html.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CAC1817131 for this company, issued by Lee County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 1404566 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Lee County. Their web address is http://www.leetc.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Louis Bruno (Managing Member)Customer Contact: Mr. Dustin Harris (Business Development Manager)Ms. Jennifer Manin (Human Resources and Performance Manager)Mr. Aaron Russo (Marketing)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Companies, Air Conditioning Repair Companies, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers, Heating Contractors

Hours of Operation
Mon: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMTue: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMWed: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMThu: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMFri: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMSat: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMSun: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AM
Service Area

Southwest Florida

Alternate Business Names
Bruno Air Conditioning of SWFL, Louis Bruno, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bruno Air Conditioning has received 4.72 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bruno Air Conditioning

4395 Corporate Sq

Naples, FL 34104-4754

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 28731 S Cargo Ct 

    Bonita Springs, FL 34135-1810(877) 836-2137

  • 4395 Corporate Sq 

    Naples, FL 34104-4754(239) 592-7866
    (239) 281-5443

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bruno Air Conditioning is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (239) 281-5443
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.