BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/29/2010

Best Home Services of SW Florida, LLC

Phone: (239) 992-3561Fax: (239) 908-2744View Additional Phone Numbers10911 Harmony Park Dr # 2, Bonita SpringsFL 34135-1801View Additional Web AddressesFacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/29/2010

BBB has determined that Best Home Services of SW Florida, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Best Home Services of SW Florida, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service10
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 17

Additional Complaint Information

This company is working with BBB to eliminate the number of complaints on file. BBB recommends that if you have any complaints or concerns, please contact the General Manager Rich Cardona, at (239) 992-3561 or rich@getbest.com prior to contacting BBB.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Best Home Services of SW Florida, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)BBB Closure Definitions
10/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Price gouging... Taking advantage of senior citizens.

On September 19 I had a technician from Best Home service come to my home to replace a garbage disposal. With the service call the company does a free home inspection . The tech named ** found a few minor things and one was my washing machine hoses are rubber he said they should be replaced with wire mesh stainless steel price for the hoses was$254.00!!! Outrageous when I priced the hoses myself you can buy them for $20.00. Also a standard garbage disposal their price $475.00!! ****** disposal new can be purchased for as little as $89.00 at *****! These people are crocks and should not be aloud to take advantage of women and the elderly .

Desired Settlement
I want my $39.00 service fee back and for them to adjust their prices fairly and stop gouging

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********* /Off Mangr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@getbest.com
We understand the customer's concerns and we would like to emphasize the fact that we take these matters very seriously and always try our best to solve any problems that may arise professionally and with the utmost urgency. First we would like to mention that we are greatly disappointed that the customer chose the BBB as a vehicle to make us aware of her dissatisfaction rather than giving us a fair chance to respond or address any of her concerns and work out a solution if indeed that was an option. We will use the BBB as a vehicle as well as contact the customer directly to address her concerns. We will reimburse the customer the travel fee of $ 39 that she paid as we normally would have as part of our 100 % satisfaction guarantee. To address the customer's comments regarding the pricing this is how we feel; As a family owned business for 34 years we take great pride in what we do. We exercise better business practices everyday in order to deliver the best customer service experience in our industry. We have the strictest hiring policies to ensure that we hire the best employees in their trade. We have rigorous background checks and random drug test that all employees are submitted through. We keep new and fully stocked trucks and all of our technicians are professionals that are clean cut and uniformed at all times. We offer lifetime warranty on most of our parts. We use upfront pricing and quote right out of our standardized flat rate pricing book which ensures that we use the same pricing for all of our customers all the time. These are just a few practices of many that we exercise that sets us apart from our competition. We feel that our prices are very fairly matched with the quality of service and warranties that we provide and we have thousands of customers whom we serve yearly to confirm just that. However we understand that not everyone is our customer and they are entitled to their opinion as much as we are as a business to set our prices. Our prices are reflective of the services we provide as well as the warranties that they receive with all repairs, along with the piece of mind that the work is being done by seasoned professionals backed by a 24/ hours 7 days a week/ 365 days service that we offer to all of our customers. As stated above we will reimburse the customer the travel fee of $ 39 that she paid as we normally would have as part of our 100 % satisfaction guarantee.

07/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Scammed me out of $79 service charge.
Best Home Services was out at my residence on 06/23/2014. I notified Best Home Services of my issue before setting up the appointment. I told them that my air handler fan motor died and I would need it replaced. It was an obvious issue since the fan motor stopped working and there was sparks and burning smell coming from the motor prior to it failing. They advised of the service and fee and sent the technician. When the tech arrived he immediately tried to sell me a new A/C system which is not why I called them out. He told me that it would cost $800-$1000 to replace the motor and to consider a new unit instead. I asked him to quote me a price on a new unit and he did. $4500. The cost was not something I can do at the moment so I asked him to replace the motor. He said he could not because he did not have a motor. Well here lies the problem. I was forced to pay this company $79 to send a sales person to my house to not even diagnose or fix my issue but instead try to sell me a whole new A/C system? Well that was the case. This technician did nothing. I told them what the problem was and all I wanted was a resolution that same day not the next day. If i would have been told over the phone that the technicians cannot fix these issues the same day I would have called another company or resolved it some other way. I feel scammed and I was. I replaced the motor the next day for under $200.
I would appreciate that you inform your customers that issues may not be resolved that same day before charging a service fee.

Desired Settlement
I would like my $79 servie fee refunded since the technician did absoluty nothing at my home other than try to sell me a new A/C system and I was not informed that the techs do not have the proper equiopment available to complete the job the same day.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We have made attempts to contact the customer but have been unsuccessful. We would like the opportunity to talk to the customer and discuss a refund for the amount request but we do need to speak with him first. Please have the customer return our calls and ask for **** or email ****@getbest.com

Consumer Response
I have not heard back from Best nor have I received a refund of my $79 fee. I'm not looking for excuses from Best all I want is my $79 refunded. Thanks.

Final Consumer Response
You may close the complaint. I have contacted **** from Best and he will be issuing me a refund for the service call. I would like to thank the BBB and **** from Best for sorting this all out.

07/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased a home care Maintenance PLan on April 15, 2014. Cost of the plan was $299.00. It was to cover a/c, electrical and plumbing.
On June 9th we had an appointment for Best Home Services to come out and inspect our A/C Unit. The person that came out filled out a sheet with everything he SUPPOSEDLY did. He told us we need a new A/C....that ours was about to quit. First item on report he filled out was that he had clean or replaced our air filters. He did not do that...My husband put in new air filter on April 15th. The only way to get to our air filters is with a ladder in our kitchen and this person never set foot in our house!!!
Second item on list was that he flushed and cleaned the condensate line. This was not done either. We had another inspection and A/C unit put in by someone else who blew that line out and it was truly filled to the brim. Now we are not sure if he really did any of the rest of the stuff he has noted on report. As far as my husband and i are concerned...this maintenance Home care plan is a total waste of money, because there are TWO items he absoltuely did NOT do. We paid $299.00 for that plan and i do feel we should get a refund of that. Of course in my conversation with the Company...that was not offered and this was the very first inspection we had done!! This company is so OVERPRICED on everything they sell!!! We paid $1700.00 for a 40 gallon hot water tank and that was supposed to be the price on a 50 gallon hot water tank..The day they were to install it they brought a 40 gallon without even asking us BEFORE they brought it in!! very very disappointed in this company!! WATCH OUT SENIORS!!!

Desired Settlement
I would appreciate a refund of the 299.00 Maintenance Home Care Plan...I have cancelled that product!!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
We responded immediately to Mrs. ******'s concerns. Best Home Services is thankful that Mrs. ****** was willing to work with us regarding this matter and we have both come to agreement. We have refunded Mrs. ******'s $299.00 as she has requested and cancelled the home maintenance care plan. We take pride in the work we do and were very unhappy to hear of her dissatisfaction with us. We are a family owned company that knows the value of our customers and their happiness is our goal.

Consumer Response

05/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contracted with Best Home Services to install a 16 SEER Carrier Air conditioner. They changed the installation to a 15 SEER without informing me.
I contracted with Best Home Services to install a 16 SEER Air conditioner at my house at XXXXX ******* *** Ft Myers, FL on March 6, 2014. The cost was $5,250. The Company Rep. is ***** ******* I was informed by Florida Power and Light that a 15 SEER was installed. I check with Carrier and they affirmed the it was a 15 SEER. I do not want Best Home to change the installation because they admitted that the air handler would not fit in the enclosure. I have spoken to them several times about the problem but they refuse to compensate for the difference.

Desired Settlement
I will except compensation for the difference in either money or equipment such as 5 Air filters (approx. value $200.00)or $400.00 for the difference in price.

Final Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The company contacted me and agreed to resolve complaint to my satisfaction. They delivered the 5 filters to my home and I agree to accept this as a resolution to the complaint. They also sent a revised copy of the contract

04/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged 79.00 for them to come out for service with no option of repair that was affordable to me. 1100.00 or 4000.00 for a 15.00 fix
I had Best home services come out o look and maybe fix my air conditioner. I had just gotten home with my wife from the hospital and did not feel like trying to fix it myself.. The service tech offered to replace my unit for 4000. Or he could do a 800.00 replacement of a capacitor for 369. and compressor saver kit for 417. I couldn't afford either option so had to pay him 79.00 service fee. I went online and found a capacitor for 15.00 and fixed it myself with a very helpful online service tech. So i lost 79.00 for them to not offer me an affordable fix. The whole idea that I fixed it myself for less than 20.00 is ludicrous that they are a big company and rip off all that can't afford their outrageous fees. And the 79.00 was not part of the bill had I chosen to have them fix it. Some companies charge service fee but take it off the cost of labor. Not Best. So it cost me 100.00 to fix my own unit. I'm sorry but this is just wrong. They didn't offer me even a temporary fix. I couldn't afford their fees and so had to Give them 79.00 for their time.. I will not recommend them to anyone and I will bad mouth them every chance I get. 79.00 is a lot of money to me.

Desired Settlement
79.00 They didn't do 7.00 worth.

Final Consumer Response
Response from company
I have received a phone call from the company. The gentleman was pleasant and resolved the issue to my satisfaction. It is nice that he called so quickly and resolved the issue. I am pleased with the outcome and am glad that there are some companies that will go the extra mile to satisfy the customer.

I got a refund and am happy for the help.

Page 1 of 3
04/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had Best Home Services come out to service my air conditioning unit and was charged an outrageous amount of money. In October, 2013 the a/c unit at my condo stopped working. I had guests staying there at the time. Best Home Services was called out to service the air conditioner. I talked to the service technician over the phone as I was out of town and unable to be there to monitor the situation. I explained to him that I just needed to get it working in the short term as I would be replacing the a/c unit. He then tried to sell me an a/c unit for $8,000. I declined, informing him it was too expensive. He got the unit running by replacing the dual run cap and the refrigerant. The total bill came to $1,623. Later, I had a conversation with someone who works in the air conditioning business about the high bill. He explained to me that refrigerant usually costs $30-$100 a pound to replace. My air conditioner has 2.5 lbs. The cost should have been $75-250. Best Home Services charged me $1,174 to replace the refrigerant.I have since replaced that old air conditioner with a new one. I hired another company to replace it. They were very professional and competent. The total bill came to $2,900. A very reasonable price compared to the $8,000 Best Home Services wanted.
Product_Or_Service: dual run cap/refrigerant
Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
A refund for the overcharging of the refrigerant. This should be approximately $924.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********* /Off Mangr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@getbest.com
We understand the customer's concern and we would like to emphasize the fact that we take these matters very seriously and always try our best to solve any problems that may arise professionally and with the utmost urgency. After receiving this notice we researched the events that took place at the customer's home extensively. We discussed what transgressed with the parties involved; Division manager and technician alike.

First we would like to mention that we are greatly disappointed that the customer chose the BBB as a vehicle to make us aware of his dissatisfaction rather than giving us a fair chance to respond or address any of his concerns and work out a solution if indeed that was an option. We will use the BBB as a vehicle as well as contact the customer directly to address his concerns. It has been nearly 6 months since we performed the work at the customer's home with no sign of dissatisfaction or disappointment in our work, services, pricing and anything else for that matter. We find it rather interesting that the customer chose to complaint about pricing almost a half year later. We reviewed the invoice and the work performed and would like to state that the customer's comments regarding the refrigerant are simply untrue.

These are the facts, on Oct 21st, 2013 we were called out to address an A/C problem. The technician arrived on the same day that the call was made, diagnosed the problem and found the unit empty of refrigerant. He located the problem that caused the leak and determined that it was a component in the refrigerant lines. He advised the customer and provided the customer with a price before doing any of the work recommended. Once the customer authorized the work, the technician performed the work that same day over several hours. The technician replaced the component in question, welded it in place and filled the entire system with nitrogen. After pressurizing the system he checked for leaks in the entire unit, thoroughly determining that it was clear of any leaks. He then removed all the nitrogen from the system and performed a vacuum test where he attached special equipment in order to remove all and if any impurities in the system, all the while ensuring there were no leaks and all welded joints ( existing and new ) were in fact leak free. After the test was performed he then added refrigerant to the system to the correct charge which was then followed up by a consequent test to determine the appropriate pressures were met. He also replaced a failed capacitor that was recommended as well.

Regarding the pricing complaint, we understand the customer's concern. However we strongly believe that our prices are a direct reflection of the quality of work that we do and the guaranties that we offer as a result of performing the work with great confidence in our skill and sincerely offering the Best service quality to all of our customers. We cannot speak for other companies, and why they charge what they do. From experience and research, we know we are not the cheapest nor the most expensive in our community, but we definitely are the Best when it comes to customer service and when it comes to standing by our work and our word. Everything that with do is backed by our Family tradition, our high standards, our morals and our Faith. Gratefully, these values have kept us in business for 34 years providing service in our community. We simply wouldn't be able to do so without being straight forward and exercising unprofessional business practices like the customer claims.

After a detailed examination we have determined that monetary compensation isn't an option since we see no wrongdoing on our part. Excellent services were provided with the customer's authorization upfront. We hope to have cleared any and all concerns that the customer may have had and we are very open to helping clear any additional questions.


Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I did not expect the company to resolve the situation. Like I said in my complaint, another person in the air conditioning industry said they overcharged me. I never called them to complain because I looked them up online and saw other people with similar complaints. It would be in the company's best interest to resolve this with me because I will be telling everyone I know not to use them.

04/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Created holes in my condo's condos firewall while installing new furnace and AC unit
I hired Best Home Services to replace my furnace and AC unit in July 2013. As part of this, they opened a hole from my condo out to the common area of the building and another out to my furnace. I was not consulted or advised before the holes were made. They were going to replace the ceiling tiles and leave it this way but the building manager caught them and told them it had to be repaired. Repairing in this case meant that the two holes they created had to be joined by a firewall. Leaving the holes as they were was a violation of the Marco Island Fire Codes. Best Home Services contacted a third party to repair the damage.
The third party did not ask me to sign anything before they began work. It was my and my building manager's understanding that Best Home Services was responsible for repairing the damage they caused. In January 2014 I received an invoice from the third party to pay for their repair work. I told the third party that Best Home Services employed them and was responsible for paying them. The third party told me that Best told them at the start that I would pay for the repairs.
I spoke to the manager at Best and the owner's position is that this was required for the furnace to work properly and is my responsibility. I explained that I was not consulted before this was done, given any kind of estimate, had no input into who was used and was never told by Best Home Services that they were not paying for the repair until after it was completed. It is rational to expect that the party creating the damage would pay for it. If this was not the case, there should have been a discussion and approval from me before anything was done.

Desired Settlement
They need to pay the contractor that repaired their damage

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********* /Off Mangr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@getbest.com
We understand the customer's concerns and we would like to stress the fact that we take these matters very seriously and handle them with extreme importance. Upon receiving this complaint we made a very extensive research of the service paperwork issued and discussed at great lengths what transgressed with the individuals involved, technician, customer and Department manager alike. To clear any and all concerns regarding the holes, our staff discovered that the pre-existing holes that allowed the HVAC system to breathe and function properly as originally designed had been covered by a piece of drywall. We did inform the customer of this situation at the time and verbally agreed that the adjustments made were necessary in order for the system to function properly and to function altogether. As a follow up several phone calls took place between the customer and our Service Department Manager were the option of using a third party General Contractor was recommended. According to the third party contractor which does have a great professional relationship with Best the customer independently from us discussed at great lengths his options with said contractor and did sign documentation proving proof that he was aware of the proposed work. We feel that the customer's claims are unfounded and we are honoring everything that was promised and proposed in our contract before hand. We have been in business in SW Florida for over 33 years serving our customers with the Best quality of service always by doing right for our customers as we are part of the same community. We set ourselves aside by guaranteeing the Best Service Experience in SW Florida and we stand behind our word, work and products. Most of our customers are recommended to us by other customers once they experience the high levels of customer service and workmanship that we take pride on. As a local company you simply can't form those bonds with the customers by performing the service described by this customer, it is untrue and ill-natured to try and smear our company name with false accusations. At this time we will not be issuing any monetary compensation to the contractor as we had no part in that deal. We feel that we only performed the work that the customer authorized and asked us to do and we have all documentation with signatures to show for it.

Consumer Response
Please see the remarks from the Building Manager of my condo association. The response you received from Best is not consistent with what happened and what Bill also saw. There was no discussion with me before the holes were cut, and I only became aware of the holes after our building manager became involved. After that, I was lead to believe that Best would take care of the issue and it was not until I received a bill from the contractor doing the repairs did I know that Best was trying to get me to pay for the repairs.

If Best had communicated with me in advance, I could have received estimates and worked out a rational price, or chosen to delay replacing the air conditioner until I had all of the facts. I believe it is fair to expect if a contractor cuts holes in your walls while working on your home, they will take care of fixing them.

Thanks,

***** *******
XXX-XXX-XXXX

From: ******* *******
Sent: Tuesday, April 08, XXXX X:XX PM
To: ***** & ****** *******
Subject: RE: Case # XXXXXXXX: Best Home Services of SW Florida, LLC

Aloha ***** ,

Brad came to me and Stated Best A/C cut a hole in our common area hallway 2 hour firewall.
Spoke with best A/C tech ( ******) : his response was that is what needed to be done to have the A/C system work properly.
I explained you will need to find another way to make it work ,as this is common area and 2 hour rated firewall .
****** ,then had some foul language remarks.
At this point *************** Design Build & Remodel Superintendent *** ****** ,came over & explained the same thing to ****** ( Best A/C)
****** had some foul comment for *** ,*** stated it's wrong and how it would need to be corrected. ****** said I don't work for you & I'm done.


***** ,this is a fast sum up of how it went.
If you would like me to go back and get the dates and other information on this incident.
I would have to go back and check the managers report ,as I know I documented it .
If that is what you want ,it would help me help you if you , if you could provide me with the month & year.

Much Mahalo's



******* ******** ***
Property Manager
****** ***** *****

p. XXX-XXX-XXXX
f. XXX-XXX-XXXX
************************


01/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
November 22, 2013Two years ago, December 2011, we had Best Electric and Air (now called Best Home Services) replace our air conditionars. July 2012, one of the motors stopped working and we were told that they had a bad delivery from the manufacturer. The manufacturer agreed that he would replace all three motors , because the others were also among the bad delivery. So from the beginning, there was qualtiy issues. We had regular inspections of the whole system and the last one was in August 2013.November 12, 2013, the air conditionars in the living area stopped working. I called the company and a technician came out and told us that he found the problem. There was a bad part in the condensor. He had to replace it, but it would cost us $759.52. He had to have authorization from us to replace this part. Since we are not the airco specialists and no technician, we assumed that he was telling us the truth. Although again, like many times before, at a high price. Of course, we had to pay the amount with a check right away.He left and the next day, I realized that the airco was again not running. The weather had cooled down, so it was not noticed right after he had left.I called the company again (answering service in the evenings) and I was again told I should call back during regular hours to the office. We called again on Monday, November 18 and a senior technician came out, looked at the problem and did only find that the screws of the new installed parts were not tight. The airco was running for a little while and than stopped again.November 20, 2013 the senior technician came out again and this time, found that the compressor was not working properly and needed to be replaced.The costs of the compressor would be none, because it was still onder warranty, but the labor would be $1600.00. I was surprised and talked to the manager of the airco division, *** ***** He argued with me, gave me all sorts of technical informations, which I did not understand, but agreed finally that he would deduct the $759.52 from the $ 1600.00 because the parts installed than were not the cause of the problem.Five minutes later, *** **** was on the telephone with the technician and told him that he has to write me a bill for $1836.49 for labor minus $ 759.42. The technician wanted me to pay the balance of $1077.49 before they ordered the new compressor. I refused and the technician came out the next day, November 22, 2013 and installed the new compressor. Before the technician left on November 21, I told him that I was extremely surprised that the costs he wrote down were now $1836.49 and not $1600.00 like he had told me before. He explained to me that because they had to deduct the other amount I would no longer be eligible for a certain rebate.......In the meantime I had asked a few other airco companies how much the labor costs for installation for a new compressor were, and I know for sure that on the very high side, it would never exceed $1000.00. I think that the way we have been treated is very bad and that this company is not to trust. They take advantage of people and cheat them!!

Desired Settlement
refund of $837.01Estimated high labor costs for installation of compressor (without compressor because on warranty) $ 1000.00They charged $1836.49 for installation only, first they told us $ 1600.00, this amount changed within 5 minutes!! Their bills: $ 759.00, paid November 13, 2013 + $ 1836.49 minus $ 759.00 = $ 1077.49 paid on November 21. We actually paid a total amount of $1837.0l, estimated costs (high) 1000.00, so $ 837.01 too much.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We did repair the AC system for her and unfortunately the unit needed a new compressor. She signed authorizing all of the work to be done. The unit was installed originally in June 2011 with a 2 year in-house labor warranty. At the time of this repair, the labor warranty was expired and the part was covered under manufacture warranty. The customer is responsible for labor and materials which includes freon that is definitely needed in a compressor replacement. The parts needed to replace the compressor are not included in the warranty coverage, only the compressor itself is covered. As a courtesy we extended her maintenance plan on the unit to cover her for an extra 6 months for all of her AC, Plumbing, and maintenance needs.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not agree with the response of Best Home Services.
They did not charge me $1077.00 for the installation of the new compressor, but according to the technician, they had to charge me $1600.00 for labor. I talked to *** **** and he agreed to deduct $ 759.42 from the labor costs of $1600.00 because the company installed a part which was not the cause of the problem and we paid for it. This would have given a bill of $ 840.58 for labor costs of the installation of the compressor.
Only 5 minutes after our telephone agreement, the technician, who stood outside the house and waited presented me with attached bill no. XXXXXX, labor costs of $1836.49 minus the $759.42.
When answering to the Better Business Bureau, they attached a bill showing labor costs of 1077.49, and they never sent a copy of the bill no. XXXXXX, showing acctually labor costs of $1839.49.
The check of $59.00 was a refund of a coupon sent to us by mail on an earlier date and had really nothing to do with the settlement of this case.
Even if they tell now that they give us an extended warranty, I would never want this company again in our house. I just would never trust them!!

11/08/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I believe the company overcharged (gouged)the me while performing preventive maintenance tasks.
In August of 2013 I renewed my service contract with Best Electric. The annual contract calls for 2 HVAC service visits and 1 electrical inspection. On September 9, 2013 the Best Electric Service Techs came to my home. Upon inspecting my outside AC unit, the service techs stated that it would be a good idea to replace the capacitor. Of course my fear in this whole matter is coming to my home and finding the AC inoperable. I use this home approximately 8 weeks out of the year. They also stated that Contactor should also be changed. Before I agreed to change these items they let me know that the cost would be $655.00. I agreed to have these 2 items done, because I trusted them to be giving me sound advise in keeping my unit running optimally. When performing the task they stated that they believe a Super Hard Start Kit would relieve the start-up strain on the condenser. I told them that I could not afford all 3 items. They the said that since I was buying the other 2 that they would not charge me for this. I stood with the service techs, and they connected a total of about 8-10 wires while doing this. It consumed about 12 minutes total. After they left, I was bothered that the parts could cost so much. The total bill was $655.02 and Best was paid with a check.
Since having a service contract they were there anyway, and also this was not a trouble-shooting or diagnostic service call, but simply swapping new parts. I contacted the manufacturer of these parts and they stated that the contactor and capacitor on a retail scale costs about $35-40 a piece. The super hard start kit about $30. I telephoned the company and the first person I spoke with was the service manager that stated that these were the prices and he could nothing to remedy the situation. The second person I spoke with stated the same thing and the fact was I knew the prices before approval. All the while I stated to these two people that I wanted to speak with the owner about this pricing practice. It has been over a month and no call-no letter of explanation. I contacted the Attorney Generals office and they immediately contacted Best Electric to inquire. The investigator negotiated a settlement of sorts of $154.00 refund. Still no explanation of how they could charge the prices they do to perform work while being there anyway. I believe companies do this to senior citizens that do not have knowledge of this type and also feel that because they are in the area for limited time seniors and others can charged huge amounts for routine services.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the entire amount of labor as a refund. I have the new parts and I am willing to pay the actual costs of those. I would also like to have a face to face conversation with the owner a letter apology acknowledging how this is perceived by the consumer.

Business Response
We understand the customer's Complaint and take these matters very seriously. Our main goal is to always provide great customer service and the Best customer service experience in South West Florida. We do so by applying fair and clear business practices by always providing upfront pricing, using a national pricing guide and providing 100% warranties on all of our work for 1 year. As part of these fair and clear business practices we always gather signatures authorizing the quoted work before the work is done, and after completion for a total of 2 signatures from the homeowner authorizing and agreeing with the pricing, the quoted work and recommendations. Our pricing structure is built being inclusive of our commitment to delivering a quality product by a certified, insured , licensed, background checked and drug tested seasoned professional while being respectful of the home and the customer's property. We take pride in being a family owned and operated business serving SW Florida for the last 33 years, with an unmatched reputation that we nurture trough our customers which are the foundation of our business and our biggest promoters. As with all of our customers in this specific case we followed that exact protocol, we have signed documentation that shows the approval of the quoted work before hand and after the work was performed. We also followed up shortly after the visit was over with a quality control phone call to ensure the experience and the service was satisfactory to which the customer responded positively. We can provide this documentation if you require so. We feel that our prices are very competitive when compared to other licensed professional contractors in our community although they can not match our superior service that we are very proud of. As a result of the aforementioned practices and procedures followed we determined that there is no wrong doing, and no monetary compensation will be issued. We would be more tan willing to contact the customer to follow up with this matter personally as we always do, in our efforts to keep him as a customer, after all we are more than contractor and customer, we are neighbors, part of the same community; SW Florida.

Please Feel Free to contact me with any further questions, I would be more than happy to assist you;

**** *********
Office Manager
BEST Home Services
www.getbest.com
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response...I heard the same response from **** ********* when I called to inquire. To distill the issue to one question about the company charging $655.00 for parts labor to change 3 parts that required no diagnostic expertise. The service techs were there for preventive work anyway. The task to change 8-12 terminals of wires took about 12 minutes to complete. This is what I call gouging the public. Yes, I readily admit to giving a verbal approval of the work, but standing and watching the worked performed was no where worth the labor charge. As I stated to **** and the next person in the chain of command at the company, I would like to get a justification of the pricing practice used in this case. Moreover I would like this explanation to come from the owner of the company. My expectation is that I receive all labor charges back.

01/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
did not show up numerous times for appts. owner of company, stated he would not believe what I am having problems with, and will not issue me service,
replaced my air for my home. Permit did not have final inspection and caused to expire. On reinstating permit failed inspection.This company did not sure up on numerous appts. Called for appt for my free electrical inspection etc, company did not show up for appt, when I called they stated they had a busy day, and I have to re schedule appt. In selecting my new air cond, the sales men to replace the old air cond. they installed a heater to small to heat my home. I was told this on the appt 12/23/2012 the very next day I turned on the heat and in a few minutes it shut down, no heat, no air, no fan. When I called and spoke to the owner told him maybe the guy he sent out moved a wire etc, but my air is not working nothing works, he stated I was not stating the truth, he is tired of dealing with me I lie to much, and I do not know what I am doing with the the thermostat owner stated it was running fine the day before and he is tired of coming to my home with these problems. He stated one more time and he will not issue service to me. He stated he would have to charge me 180 or wait two days after holidays and charge me 80.00 Owner stated, he would be out on 12/26/12, approx 2 pm I called the office, as no one called me for the appt time that day, they decided to void my 2 year labor agreement and told me to find another company, at this point I believe something caused my main breaker to shut down which cause my air cond unit to not work. as I see this, I could possibly had a fire in my home, and Best Electric and Air refuse to resolve this issue. My air cond is only approx 1 year 1/2 old although I have the manuf wart.of 10 years, Best Electric has voided my labor warranty and has left me to find a new contractor and to invest more money

Desired Settlement
I feel they should correct the electrical breaker as not to short out and cause a fire, and work out something as to place a heater that will heat my home as my old one did. Check out the entire system.

Business' Initial Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

The customers complaint is not true. We attempted to contact her for approximately 3 weeks by phone and certified mail to conduct the inspection. She did not respond to our attempts. At that point we asked the City of Cape Coral to help us contact her. They were successful and the inspector passed the job on December 13, 2012.

This weekend she called saying that her heat wasn't working. I sent a technician out for free. When he got there everything was working perfectly. I explained that because we had a cold front with temperatures below 40 degrees. Most air conditioners are not designed to cool or heat above a 40 degree differential. If it's 110 degrees outside your home will not cool down to 70 degrees. The same thing if it is extremely cold, they are not meant to work in that much of a temperature difference. He offered to install a larger heater. She said she did want to do that and we offered to install it after the Christmas holiday because the manufacture warehouse was closed until after Christmas. She called later that night and said it still wasn't working. We offered to send a tech out under the after hours fee or she could wait until the next day. She declined to set up service. The next day I got a call from another AC company wanting to know history on the AC unit. She called another company to service the unit and now she has voided her warranty.

Bottom line is a county inspector went out 2 weeks ago and passed the job. The tech went out and everything was working. There is nothing else we can do to make her happy.

Consumer's Final Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

The inspection passed the second time. The technician said I needed a new heater but when it stopped working completely the same night I called the company and asked them to come back out. They said I must not know how to work it and said they would charge $180 to come out on Christmas eve. I agreed to wait until Wednesday. I had a friend come look at the heater and he said it tripped the breaker. I called the company back on Wednesday to see when they were coming out and that is when they said they voided my 2 year labor warranty because I was a difficult customer. I am not satisfied with the way this company treated me.

Page 1 of 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/28/2002Business started: 06/04/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Business Tax Receipt/Lee County
1825 Hendry St
Fort Myers, FL33901-3054
(239) 533-6000
http://www.leetc.com

Lee County Contractors License
1825 Hendry St
Fort Myers, FL33901-3054
(239) 533-8895

Contractor Licensing-Collier
(239) 252-2431

Charlotte County Contractors License

Port Charlotte, FL33952
(941) 743-1201

Electrical Contractors Board
(850) 487-1395

Lee County Business Tax Receipt

Fort Myers, FL33901
http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria

BBB records show a license number of CAC1816868 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 1105044 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Lee County. Their web address is http://www.leetc.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CAC1816868 for this company, issued by Lee County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 201300000814 for this company, issued by Contractor Licensing-Collier.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 201300000832 for this company, issued by Contractor Licensing-Collier.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CAC1815613 for this company, issued by Charlotte County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CEC13001286 for this company, issued by Charlotte County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of EC13005154 for this company, issued by Electrical Contractors Board.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of EC13005154 for this company, issued by Lee County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CFC019145 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 1302332 for this company, issued by Lee County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.leetc.com/search criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CFC019145 for this company, issued by Lee County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 201100001274 for this company, issued by Contractor Licensing-Collier.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chadd P. Hodges (Vice President)Mrs. Marilyn R. Hodges (President)Mr. Keegan Hodges (Managing Member)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Companies, Low Voltage Electricians, Duct Cleaning Companies, Air Conditioning Repair Companies, Air Conditioning Cleaners, Plumbers, Plumbing - Contractor, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Heating Contractors, Electricians, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Drains Sewer Cleaners, Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers

Products & Services

This company provides electrical, air conditioning and heating services for residential and commercial customers.

Alternate Business Names
Best Home Services, Best Electric, Air Conditioning, & Plumbing, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Best Home Services of SW Florida, LLC has received 4.42 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Best Home Services of SW Florida, LLC

10911 Harmony Park Dr # 2

Bonita Springs, FL 34135-1801

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10911 Harmony Park Dr # 2 

    Bonita Springs, FL 34135-1801(888) 670-2378
    (239) 936-2390
    (239) 613-2378
    (239) 591-1230
    (239) 940-3051
    (239) 939-3021
    (239) 938-0009
    (239) 936-2390
    (239) 284-1472

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Best Home Services of SW Florida, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 670-2378
  • (239) 936-2390
  • (239) 613-2378
  • (239) 591-1230
  • (239) 940-3051
  • (239) 939-3021
  • (239) 938-0009
  • (239) 936-2390
  • (239) 992-1856
  • (239) 284-1472
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.