BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
West Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/02/2011

Anderson Service for Home and Business

Phone: (941) 488-9633Fax: (941) 488-9639View Additional Phone Numbers400 S Seaboard Ave, VeniceFL 34285

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Anderson Service for Home & Business offers air conditioning, heating, electrical, refrigeration, and appliance repair services in SW Florida, as well as 24/7 emergency service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/02/2011

BBB has determined that Anderson Service for Home and Business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Anderson Service for Home and Business' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Refused to honor Residential Service Agreement and perform services outlined within.
Purchased a home with an existing service contract for A/C Maintenance from Anderson Services in March 2013. The previous owner provided me with hard copies of all service contracts at closing. Sometime in April 2013, I contacted Anderson Services to inquire about transferring the service contract into my name. By phone, I spoke with **** in the Contracts Department at Anderson Services. She stated that she could transfer the remaining balance of the service agreement, through September of 2013, to me as the new owner. I provided her with my contact information and a few days later a new contract from Anderson arrived by mail, signed and stamped with a "Paid date of May 3, 2013." It reflected a expiration date of September 30, 2013, just as **** had stated over the phone. On June 27, 2013, I contacted Anderson Services to schedule a routine service visit as provided under this Contract and was told by **** that my contract was no longer valid. She stated that Anderson had been contacted on May 9, 2013 by the previous homeowner with the intent of returning any remaining money from this contract. **** said that Anderson Services honored the previous owner's request and refunded her funds. Please keep in mind that this refund occurred six days after the contract had already been transferred to me. Furthermore, Anderson Services made no attempt to contact me at that time to inform me that they wished to nullify the valid contract they had issued to me, in my name. I was contacted later in the morning on June 27, by ****** who identified herself as the Customer Service Manager for Anderson Services. She stated that she had been made aware of my conversation with **** and went on to inform me that "there was nothing they can do for me" and that indeed they would not honor the contract for the balance of services issue to me. The irony is that since Anderson Services had installed the unit and serviced over the past two years, it was my intention to renew this contract on or before September 30, 2013 to maintain the business relationship. I feel that Anderson Services misleading business practices and poor customer service will now prevent me from doing so. I cannot understand how a service company can in good consciousness nullify a valid service contract issued to me after the fact. Out of principal alone, this issue and practice should be reviewed by the Better Business Bureau.

Business' Initial Response
I attempted to respond to this complaint via link provided but it would not connect me. I spoke with Mr. **** 5 minutes ago. I apologized for the way this matter was mishandled. I told him that any subsequent refund to the previous property owner had no bearing on him once we made a commitment to him. As a good faith gesture I offered to extend his coverage that was due to expire on 9/30/13 for an additional year at no charge. He accepted my offer and said he was pleased that the President of the company had called. He commented that my response was more than he expected and I told him we would continue to attempt to exceed his expectations.

Thank you,
*** *******

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Anderson services decided to reconsider their position on the issue that I brought to the Better Business Bureau. I received two telephone calls of apology as well as a very considerate offer for an additional term contract at no charge to me.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Complaint against Anderson Air, *** * ******** ******* Venice Florida

I have a Anderson Total Home Contract which covers:
Air Conditioning Planned Maintenance
Air Conditioning Equipment Insurance

on the week of January 6th 20014 my air/heat system was failing to operate in heat mode called Anderson Air who responded to the call was told the system had lost 5 lbs of refrigerant, service tech charged the system and ordered a follow up tech to leak check. The following week tech discovered leak was in the A frame coil in the air handler informing me my insurance not cover do to corrosion, When I purchased my plan I asked specifically if both the condensing and air handler units were FULLY covered be fore I purchased and was told by representative plan FULLY coved all components. Footnote my neighbors a frame was replaced by Anderson 6 months prior to my failure due to the same issue at No charge to him. II Anderson air told me to replace would be just under $2,000.00. I called another HAV contractor for opinion ******* Air for evaluation who told me leak was within the copper tubing which he stated was a common failure due to the new refrigerant compliance which operates with much lower suction pressures Not corrosion as the corrosion is common place in All A frame units due to high moisture environment and electrolysis ( copper tubing with aluminium framing). Failure in the copper tubing due to current refrigerant standards effecting A frame coils that's were manufactured approx back 5 years ago and older.


******* ****
**** ***************
Sarasota, florida
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Initial Business Response
*****, I have reviewed the ******* **** account, he does have an Anderson Comfort Plan that covers materials and labor for repairs. The contract does have general exclusions for repairs that are not covered such as failures due to rust or corrosion which is the situation with the **** residents. We will be more than happy to schedule a follow up call with him and show him the location of the refrigerant leak as well as the rust and corrosion that is effecting the coil. If it is determined with the follow up call that there are no leaks at the point of rust or corrosion we **** be more than happy to complete the repairs at no charge under the terms and conditions of the contract.
Please contact me should you have any questions.


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The rust was on the frame, not on the coil. The company scammed me and I already had to have another company come out and replace it.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/10/1996Business started: 08/28/1961New Owner Date: 01/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax
101 S Washington Blvd
Sarasota, FL34236-6940
(941) 861-8300
http://www.SarasotaTaxCollector.com

Department of Financial Services
200 E Gaines St
Tallahassee, FL32399
(877) 693-5236
http://www.myfloridacfo.com

Sarasota County Contractor's License

Sarasota, FL34231
(941) 378-6126

Charlotte County Contractors License

Port Charlotte, FL33952
(941) 743-1201

Manatee County Contractor's License

Bradenton, FL34201
(941) 749-3079

Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

Hillsborough County Contractors License
5701 E Hillsborough Ave Ste 1140
Tampa, FL33610-5428
(813) 272-5600

BBB records show a license number of CAC1814718 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of ER0014451 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of CBC1253491 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 2300010040647 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.SarasotaTaxCollector.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of D001295 for this company, issued by Department of Financial Services. Their web address is http://www.myfloridacfo.com. Service Warranty.

Type: Dept of Financial Services

BBB records show a license number of CAC1814718 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of ER0014451 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CAC1814718 for this company, issued by Charlotte County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CAC1814718 for this company, issued by Manatee County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of TC3525 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Type: Telemarketing License

BBB records show a license number of CAC1814718 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1961, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Glennon (President)Mr. James L. Bargar (License Holder)Mr. James J. Glennon (President/License Holder)Mr. William R. Sautter (Director)Mr. Richard Sprague (License Holder)Ms Lisa Tortora (Secretary/Treasurer)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Companies, Appliances - Small - Service & Repair, Major Appliances Service & Repair, Air Conditioning Cleaners, Air Conditioning Repair Companies, Major Appliances Parts & Supplies, Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters, Duct/Vent Cleaning, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers, Heating Contractors, Electricians - Commercial, Electricians, Contractor - Electrical, Contractors-Air Conditioning Balance & Testing

Products & Services

This company services all brands of air conditioning and carries Trane, Maytag, York Air Conditioning, and Rheem systems. This company also provides electrical, refrigeration, and major appliance repair services.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
R.L. Anderson, Inc., Modern & Anderson Services
Industry Tips
Air Conditioning Service and Maintenance
Dont Get Burned by Furnace Fraud
Fall Inspections Make for Warmer Winters
Getting Your TV/VCR Repaired
Heating Your Home
Safety Considerations When Using Kerosene Heaters

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Anderson Service for Home and Business

400 S Seaboard Ave

Venice, FL 34285

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 400 S Seaboard Ave 

    Venice, FL 34285(941) 488-9633

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Anderson Service for Home and Business is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (941) 923-7071
  • (800) 741-1233
  • (941) 964-2824
  • (941) 624-6767
  • (941) 365-8773
  • (941) 483-3828
  • (941) 355-9664
  • (941) 475-1406
  • (941) 923-2847
  • (941) 746-5187
  • (727) 522-7247
  • (813) 223-3247
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.