BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

American Technical Services Heating & Air Conditioning

(727) 481-32874795 41st Ave N Suite A, Saint PetersburgFL 33714-3419http://www.atscooling.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

American Technical Services Heating & Air Conditioning is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Technical Services Heating & Air Conditioning's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Technical Services Heating & Air Conditioning

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
AC Unit place 4 years ago has continued to have numerous problems, and the installer is not reponsive, and has not fixed the issues.
I paid $5,777.00 on 3 ton Rheem Heat Pump/Air Handler (Model Number **********/Model Number RBHP21JXXXXX) on 11/30/2010. Since then both the heat pump and air handler has been numerous issues in which ATS personnel has had to repair several times within the first two years. Furthermore and more troubling the individual handling this matter has not been the most available to come back and fix the unit. When he did return to fix, it was not conclusively fixed. Due to the lack of response and conclusively fixing the issue, I had two other units that needed to be replaced and went with another company, and he was aware of that. The current unit causing this complaint, which I am still having troubles with is no longer functioning again. I had other company do any evaluation, and then I contacted ATC as they installed the unit to do their evaluation, and spoke to the same individual approximately 72 hours ago, and he agreed to come today to evaluate and gave me a price on what it cost to fix the matter. I called ATS this morning to find out what time they were coming to evaluate. I spoke w/ the same individual who sold the unit and had be "fixing" the unit, and he then told me that all of a sudden he could not come today, but "maybe next week". Upon questioning him about why he agreed and then backed out at last minute and telling him that the unit he sold me has not worked in getting closer to one week his response was, "I have other jobs, besides look, you had somebody else take a look at it, let them fix it."

He/ATS continually forgets that he(ATS) sold me the product and installed the product that constantly needs repair, and I have given him/ATS numerous chances to make it right at my own cost. I cannot do it anymore and his/ATS' lack of customer service related to a faulty product sold me and his business ethics are the reason for me to file this complaint. Again, I did not want to pursue this avenue and hoped that he/ATS would see that I have given him/ATS numerous chances to make it right, but neither has happened.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking that ATS refund me all of the past financial costs in repairs/additions associated with this faulty unit to include the financial cost that will be associated with repairing current issue by another compnay, which will occur tomorrow due to their employee's last minute withdrawl of evaluation and subsequently telling me to get it fixed by the other company. In addition, I request that this ATS employee attend several classes on business ethics and customer service with a certificate showing he has done the aforementioned classes. Furthermore, that ATS displays those certificates of completion on their website and includes it into their marketing materials.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We did install this AC unit 4 years ago and the customer has called us for a few repair issued over the past 4 years. We have gone out to make repairs at no cost to him each time, even though the labor warranty has expired. He had another company replace 2 other units at his home. When he called this time we could not get out right away and told him he could try to call another company. We cannot be responsible for the ac unit that is no longer under our warranty.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/13/2007Business started: 02/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Pinellas County Construction License Board
12600 Belcher Road, Suite 102
Largo, FL33773
(727) 582-3100
http://www.pcclb.com

Hillsborough County Contractors License
5701 E Hillsborough Ave Ste 1140
Tampa, FL33610-5428
(813) 272-5600

BBB records show a license number of CAC058417 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of I-CAC058417 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CAC058417 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2003, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Sudesh Singh (President) Dowlatie Singh (Vice President)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Companies, Heating Contractors, Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers

Products & Services

This company is an air conditioning contractor offering service, repair, installation, and maintenance to residential and commercial customers.

Alternate Business Names
ATS Heating and Air Conditioning, Sudesh, Inc., ATS Cooling

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Technical Services Heating & Air Conditioning

4795 41st Ave N Suite A

Saint Petersburg, FL 33714-3419

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4795 41st Ave N Suite A 

    Saint Petersburg, FL 33714-3419(727) 481-3287

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Technical Services Heating & Air Conditioning is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.