BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/05/2007

Amen Air, Inc.

Phone: (727) 862-5512Fax: (727) 868-5975View Additional Phone Numbers10137 Midas Dr, Port RicheyFL 34668-3676Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/05/2007

BBB has determined that Amen Air, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Amen Air, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Amen Air, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Amen Air will take no responsibility for the poor function of the air conditioner and the problems caused by poor installation.
We moved into our home in 2012. At that time we were given the paperwork regarding the air conditioner that was installed in 2009. It had a transferable 10 year warranty with Assure Care. Amen Air was the company that the previous owners had purchased the unit from and that had installed the unit. It has not worked properly since the June of 2012, the first summer we lived here. It took several calls and finally the owner to come out or them to do anything that would not be a huge expense to us. The unit finally blew a copasitor and we had to pay the cost of that part. To this day I believe that the reason it blew was because they would not listen to us when we told them that the unit was faulty. This summer it has not been able to keep up at all, staying about 78 in our house during the day. We only live in 1000 sq ft and we have the largest unit that could possibly be installed. I called them had them come out and was charged a service fee, even though nothing was done and the office assistant told me there would be no fee. Again, we would told that it was poor duct work and that the platform that THEY INSTALLED the unit on, was falling to one side. They called me with an estimate of $500 to fix it. Shady, that is the word I would call this company. The owner called me to let me know that he agreed that it was not their responsibility to fix the platform that THEY INSTALLED. I told them that I believed that they had taken advantage of the elderly couple that lived here before us and that they should be ashamed.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to take care of the issues caused by the dishonest installation and faulty design of the air conditioner set up at no cost to us. I would also like them to admit to being dishonest.

Business Response
Amen Air Inc. installed a new Goodman 3 ton straight cool package unit with a 10 kilowatt electric heater on 5/26/2009. Per the contract, the new unit was set on the roof, utilize existing duct cover, unit strapped to new slab, and tied into existing electrical and ductwork. Pasco County was scheduled for 10/19/2009 for final mechanical inspection in which the project passed.

The Manufacturer's warranty for the equipment is 10 years parts and labor from date of installation. The Manufacturer's warranty applies to the Goodman equipment; it does not cover existing materials such as platforms/braces, breakers, high voltage wiring, ductwork etc.

On 7/10/2012 at no charge to the customer, it was discovered the Ductwork was leaking at existing connections, not related to Amen Air Inc's installation. Amen Air Inc. made the repairs and steps were taken to seal up the duct cover to minimize further damage to the ductwork.

On 8/15/12 the customer called in a service request stating the unit was not cooling. The technician found that the 45+5 microfarad dual run capacitor had failed open. The customer was given the option to go with the manufactures cap under warranty at no charge or to go with a different capacitor that is American Manufactured for the total cost of $25.00. The customer chose the American Manufactured capacitor.

On 6/9/2014 the customer called in a service request stating the unit would not keep up with the temperature set at the thermostat. The technician discovered leaks in ductwork due to possible rodent activity. Recommended repairs were not covered under Manufacturer's warranty and at that time repairs were declined by customer.

We are at this point today in part due to a breakdown in communication; the customer in this case and as always is Amen Air Inc.'s primary concern.

Please let us know what we can do, in finding an agreeable resolution.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/05/1996Business started: 05/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Pasco County Contractor's License
7530 Little Rd
New Port Richey, FL 34654-5598
(727) 847-8009

Pasco County Business Tax Receipt
7530 Little Rd
New Port Richey, FL 34654-5598
(727) 847-8165
http://www.pascotaxes.com

Hillsborough County Contractors License
5701 E Hillsborough Ave Ste 1140
Tampa, FL 33610-5428
(813) 272-5600

Pinellas County Construction License Board
12600 Belcher Road, Suite 102
Largo, FL 33773
(727) 582-3100
http://www.pcclb.com

Hernando County Contractor Licensing Div
789 Providence Blvd
Brooksville, FL 34601-3043
(352) 754-4050

BBB records show a license number of CAC1813889 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of CAC1813889 for this company, issued by Pasco County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 28627 for this company, issued by Pasco County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.pascotaxes.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CAC1813889 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of I-CAC1813889 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CAC18138890 for this company, issued by Hernando County Contractor Licensing Div.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Maniates (President) Terry Mercer
Business Category

Air Conditioning Companies, Air Conditioning Repair Companies, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: ClosedSun: Closed

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Amen Air, Inc.

10137 Midas Dr

Port Richey, FL 34668-3676

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10137 Midas Dr 

    Port Richey, FL 34668-3676(727) 862-7962
    (727) 243-7817

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Amen Air, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (727) 862-7962
  • (727) 243-7817
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.