BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

AirTime Air Conditioning & Heating, Inc.

Phone: (813) 438-5999Fax: (813) 438-5996

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Air Conditioner installed and does not cool properly.
Air Conditioner installed and does not cool properly. I had a 3 ton Trane unit which cooled fine. Aggressive salesman, ***** ******** told me I needed a complete new system when all I had was a clogged drain in the attic. He charged me $8,971.00 for a 2.5 ton 13 Seer Bryant Air Conditioner. The A/C has run CONTINUOUSLY since it was installed on Monday afternoon and I can't get it to even go below 76. My bedrooms (3) are not cooling. I have ceiling fans going non-stop at their highest rate of speed. I have called ******* ******** and ***** ******** and they are unwilling to do anything to fix this problem. There was no duct work done. I have contacted over 15 A/C companies and been told they totally overcharged me. I am having to use portable fans to be remotely comfortable in my home. My home is 1186 sq ft and the 2.5 unit it NOT cooling my home. I am anticipating a HUGE power bill due to this. My verticals and blinds are shut all day to keep heat out from sun. I never had to do this with my prior unit (bought in 2003). I feel very duped by this company. I work for ****** ***** ******* P.A. in Tampa (since 1991) and even a call placed by my boss (******* ********** Esq.) didn't generate any resolution of the problem from ******* ********. $8,971.00 was unreasonable and I now have a house that isn't cooling. It was cooling when I called them 6/7/14 at around 11:25 p.m. I was instructed to turn off the air to stop the leaking of water from my ceiling from the drip pan overflow. I DID NOT NEED A NEW A/C, but he was aggressive and tried to QUICKLY maneuver a sales of $8,971.00. No duct work was done. There are BBB complaints against them. It took 4 hours on Sunday for my A/C to go from 79 to 78. This is what I'm living with for $8,971.00. It should be noted that I complained about the A/C not cooling the day after it was installed. I have written countless emails to no avail.

Desired Settlement
To either have the inferior Bryant Unit removed, along with all of the components so I can hire a reasonable A/C company to install a 3 ton 13 Seer unit that adequately cools my house. I have been quoted prices ranging from $5,000.00 to $5,500.00. That is far less than $8,971.00 and my house will cool as it has since 2003. If AirTime is not agreeable to this, I want the Bryant unit switched to a Trane 3 ton unit 13 Seer at NO COST to me, but rather a refund to my credit card of $3,000.00 at a minimum. The inferior Bryant unit is under warranty. I am a dissatisfied customer and would like to have this situation remedied.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We have been in contact with this customer. The situation has been rectified. We removed the 2 1/2 ton system and installed a 3 ton 15 seer. The customer is now satisfied and the situation is resolved.

11/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Defective Bryant air handler.

Purchased entire replacement of my residential air conditioning. $12,000.00 +
Outside Unit
Air Handler
Duct work
+ more that was never done.

Purchased: 06/15/2012
Sales Rep: *****
Bryant ******************
Bryant Serial: 1912AXXXXX
Total Amount: $12,015.93
Requested half up front and the balance at completion.

There are several issues, but the main concern is that the air handler in the attic was damaged during install. It has done nothing but constantly leak through to the interior of my home. The ceiling has been replaced once, painted twice and is still leaking. It is cracking and starting to give. The ceiling will fall in and the air handler may of may not fall with it.

Desired Settlement
I paid for brand new Bryant equipment. I want a brand new Bryant air handler that is not damaged. I want all the sloppy work corrected and I want the interior of my home to be as it was before AirTime arrived at my home.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We spoke with the customer after this complaint was filed. She did not contact us 5 or 6 times before filing this complaint. Every time the customer contacted us we tried to help her. We admit the unit was leaking when it was originally installed in June 2012. There was a water issue where water was dripping from the secondary pan that was already up in the attic prior to install. We fixed the issue and painted the ceiling for her. We were out there 2-3 months ago to do a tune and clean and the customer never said anything about the air handler still leaking. We did have a problem in the beginning but we took care of it and everything passed code and was never damaged.

If there is still a problem with the secondary pan we would have taken care of it but the customer is filing complaints and getting nasty with us over the phone instead of contacting us. We are still willing to take care of the pan if there is a problem.

Final Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The company did come back and they did everything that the manufacture suggested. Hopefully this resolves the problem, last time it took a little while to leak again.

08/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service Man Condemned our AC system due to a lightning strike with multiple part failures when Problem was actually a float sw problem.
On 8/17/2013 We had a problem with our AC where it would not turn on. The Breaker panel was checked and everything was ok. We called AIRTIME Air conditioning and heating and they sent a service technician (***) out to look at the AC. He Inspected the AC system and said "Electrical Components Have Failed"
1. Burnt Starter Relay------175.00
2. Burnt Fan Relay-----------125.00
3. Burnt 240v Transformer----385.00
4. Suspect fan Motor Damage--480.00
5. Thermostat damage--------225.00
Suspect High Voltage Surge Thru Air Handler Destroyed low voltage wiring and components due to Age and condition of system. Replacement of system recommended

He quoted 2390.00 to repair the system and that was just the air handler. There could be additional problems with the outside unit.

This was way out of line and we called another Air Conditioning company to have a second opinion.
The other Air-conditioning company came out Monday 8/19. Within an hour he found the problem and had it fixed. He found that the float switch was activated due to the water not draining out of the evaporator properly. He cleared the drain pipe and the water is now draining properly.

How can a trained AC technician be so wrong with diagnosing this problem with the exception of trying to rip off an un-suspecting consumer? This is totally wrong what this Service technician did trying to take advantage of someone when they are in desperate need of getting their AC fixed.

Desired Settlement
The service call was a total waste of money and should be refunded.

Business' Initial Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We contacted our customer and agreed to refund the service call fee. We apologized for the technician and told the customer she could have just called us directly about her complaint. The customer was satisfied and said she would contact BBB.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

08/22/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
05/11/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
High pressure sales reps and did not get HEPA filter
On 10/12/15 I met with the sales rep Mark of Air Time who quoted me a very high price for a Bryant 2.5 ton A/C. I had expressed wanting to get more quotes but felt pressured from him. I explained that I just got out of the hospital and felt I needed this older AC changed and I wanted one with a HEPA Filter but instead he wanted to put in a Air Knight Air Purifer. My son is the second owner of my home and he was highly upset stating that I was taken advantage of and wanted to speak with the owner. This person dropped the price down to 6750.00 and the job was done on a Saturday and then stopped to complete on Monday. The sales rep came back on Monday and talked with me and told me that unless I pay more money the job would not be finished and that they would take the unit out. It went back and forth from me to him to his boss. Finally the sales rep threatened me about my son and a homestead issue which was unknown to me and I talked with my son and homestead issue was taken care of. My neighbor who assists me and my son with the property because of my disability got involved and after much more stress I paid an extra of 550.00. So an AC went from over 9000.00 down to 6750.00 was purchased for 7300.00 I feel like being new in the area, alone and elderly I should not have been treated in this manner and should have gotten more quotes. I recently noticed black particles coming out of bedroom vents and called them. A tech came out and I asked him about a HEPA filter and he said it would cost a lot of money because the whole system has to be taken apart. I was very unhappy there was also a dent which they did come back and replace. I want to state that the workers that did the job and tech after the fact were very respectful.
So my complaint is
1. The pressure I felt to purchase the AC and not one with a HEPA filter system.
2. The threats that was made stating that his boss was going to call and report about a homestead issue if I did not pay up or take it out and charge me over 1,000.00.
3. No one should have to go though this
The reason I waited so long is that I recently purchased something and learned my lesson from these people and got 7 quotes with no pressure then I realized that I needed to address this and tell BBB of their lack of professional sales rep

Desired Settlement
I am looking for them to correct my AC system with a HEPA filter without charge because of my Asthma or compensation for my stress and no contact from the sales rep at all please. Can't remember the exact date of last contact

Business Response
In response to Ms. ******* complaint on 10/10/15 she signed a contract with our company to install a new A/C unit at her home under emergency situation due to her respiratory problems unit needed to be installed the same day on that weekend in addition to the install the customer requested the relocation of the Air Handler turning this into a custom install do to the relocation move some of the utilities had to be completely reinstalled or modified for instance a new new return had to be carved into the wall with a return grill also a condensate pump had to be added to accommodate proper drainage in addition the contract called for an Air Knight Air Purifier,Programmable Therm o-Stat and a Washable filter all of the above where installed to code as the County has passed its inspection, Now almost four months later she files a complaint and is requesting a HEPA filtration system that is not requested anywhere in her contract this type of filtration requires that we tare down 50% of the install in order to incorporate at this interval that we can not do without additional charges. Then during the initial installation we somehow put a ding on her unit and the part took a couple of months to come in during this period she spoke to us on several occasions and nowhere is it noted that she was dissatisfied or said anything to do with a HEPA filter. Due to her respiratory problems we bent over backwards an installed the A/C unit for her on a weekend and have had several communications with her and nowhere are any requests for or any promises by us for the HEPA in questions nor any complaints of any kind mentioned towards the Tech that sold her this equipment, in conclusion we regret rejecting her request but a dissatisfied customer would have not waited over three months to bring this to our attention and according to the contract that she signed all of the worked promised was done including passing the County Code Inspection!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I object because a good AC representative knowing that I have asthma should have suggested a whole house HEPA filter. And I called a tech over to the house a month or so ago because black particles are coming out of bedroom vents and I asked the tech about the whole house filter and he said that would be a lot of money. So now I am hiring another company to install a whole house HEPA filter for 700.00. I realize that I waited and I told you why. But what about the threats from the representative towards me and my son. I would like at least the 550.00 that he charged me extra for after the threat. I do acknowledge the fact that I was trying to get something installed quickly because I was just out of the hospital but now I have to fix this problem and pay money to someone else to get the correct filter. The washable one he installed does not stop the dirt and dust from coming into the rooms even with the air purifier and I did ask the representative about a HEPA filter but he stated that the air purifier was better which it is not doing the job.

Final Consumer Response
In addition another AC contractor came and shut down the system and placed a whole house HEPA air filter I have the receipt for 700.00 so far this unit has cost me 8,000.00 and now I am being told that electrical work that was done by Air time is a fire hazard. So now I have to look into this situation, no not only did I pay for an overpriced unit, I now found out that work was done that is considered a fire hazard by Air Time. More information to come on this problem.

06/01/2015Problems with Product / Service
09/02/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/03/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/30/2013Problems with Product / Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.