BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/10/1992

Air West A/C, Inc.

Phone: (727) 725-5052Fax: (727) 239-7918

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
07/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a Rheem air conditioning unit from Air West 7/7/10. I have had nothing but problems with this unit. 10/26/12 invoice states high side of motor is bad, for diagnostic test I was charged $50.00, then I was charged $150.00 invoice states pulled old blown motor and installed new motor, even though this was under warranty. 2/28/13 unit not working, service call, invoice states, checked and found unit 1 pound Freon, found suction service core leaking and missing cap, tightened core added Freon cost $136.50. 4/29/14-5/1/14, unit not cooling, service call, invoice states, found unit out of Freon due to leak in copper tube, fixed leak and charged unit, system not cooling, may have to flush lines. Technician stated it needed a expansion valve in handler d/t being out of Freon. Valve replaced 2 days later. Was told by owner cost would be $500.00. After much discussion with owner, and my disappointment with this unit, he called me back and stated he spoke to Rheem and they would pay half this cost, which I much appreciated. My complaint is, I have a family member who bought the same unit from Air West has had same numerous problems. I told owner you are selling a faulty product, he blamed Rheem. I feel Air West is making their money on this product with service calls. Charging me for parts that are under warranty. I explained to him I have a 93 year old aunt who lives with me, has breathing problems and cannot be without air. He stated he was doing all he could. I will never call them again for any repairs as I know they will charge me, no matter what the problem is. I don't feel they care about selling a faulty product as long as they can get their service calls in. And there are 2 owners, one owner was so rude to me, when I explained my disappointment with this unit, and stated I was going to BBB, he stated "I was threatening him". I did not appreciate this statement.
Product_Or_Service: 7/7/10

Desired Settlement
I feel I deserve all costs to be reimbursed, or unit replaced. When you are having problem after problem with something you have sold to a consumer and keep making money on fixing it, you are not treating your customer right.

Business Response
Case #XXXXXXXX

******* ***** purchased a new Rheem Heat Pump system and had it installed on 7/9/10. This system came with a 1-year labor warranty and 10 year limited warranty on parts and compressor. Mrs. ***** has not had any maintenance performed on her system per our records. Warranty does not cover labor, diagnostic fees, or refrigerant only parts.

October 29, 2012 she was charged a diagnostic fee. (Not covered under any manufactures warranty) The blower motor was not running and needed to replaced. The part was covered under warranty. She was charged a flat fee for labor and any incidentals that were not covered under the warranty. This was 2 years after installation.

April 28, 2013 she requested an after hour call. We found a service core leaking and a missing the cap, we replaced the cap, tightened the core and replaced 1 pound of refrigerant that leaked out.
This was 2.5 years after the installation.

May 2, 2014 a service technician diagnosed that her no cool problem as a leaky expansion valve. Due to the valve, leaking her system was empty of refrigerant. The technician explained to her that he would return with the part.
At which point we ordered an expansion valve and coil combination. She called the office and yelled at the service coordinator, she asked to speak with the owner and proceed to yell and threaten him with the filling of complaints against Air West. She would not listen to anything he had to say. Air West called the distributer to confirm the necessary parts. The parts were not in stock. We ordered the parts to be over nighted to us. Mrs. ***** was contacted and the situation was explained. She was rude to ******; She yelled and demanded that we install the part immediately. ***** spoke with Mrs. ***** and found her in the same manner. We explained the warranty to her and that we were doing everything we could to get the part installed. She continued to yell saying she had a lemon and wanted a new system. We tried to explain to her that she did not have a lemon system. She wanted to know why we did not have the part in our shop. We explained to her that we are service and installation business not a distributer. She continued to yell at me that she felt we should have the parts in stock. Again, she was explained that the part was being flown in. She demanded I give her the part name and info so she could call around to see if she could get the part. As soon as we received the part, she was contacted and a service technician was sent to install the part. To help satisfy Mrs. ***** we contacted the distributor and requested that they cover a portion of the fees that she was being charged which they did. They do not typically do this but in this case, they did.
We offer maintenance options to all our customers. Our records do not indicate that she has had any maintenance on her system at all. We no longer wish to service an individual who bullies all of our employees. In her complaint, she states we were making money on service calls on equipment we installed for the purpose of breaking down, there are no such systems. Still no one works for free. It seems she would buy a system then ignore it for life and be done with it, it doesn't work like that. Again, there are no systems designed to break down for the purpose of service profit. We guarantee all our new installs for one full year. Her system is well out of the first year warranty therefore she was charged for any work. All our employees work hard to keep our customers happy, often going beyond what is expected of us, as we did in the case. Sadly, sometimes you just cannot satisfy some customers.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First, he has forgotten 2 other times he had to come out and since this complaint, I have had to call them again to come out because system was not working. Also, my daughter bought the same system from Air West, has had the same problems. Yes, I was very upset, but threatening ****, one of the owners, no. He yelled at me when I stated I felt I had a lemon, "**** stated, Are you threatening me?" I couldn't believe how rude he was, as far as yelling at the employees, I was told the part would be in the next day, nothing from Air West, I called the office, a receptionist answered, I stated, I haven't heard from you, she stated "we don't know when the part will be in", so another lie. Then I spoke to a different receptionist, she was very nice. I told her how upset I was, the way **** the owner talked to me, and her exact words were, "Yes, he can be like that". So,
Air West, **** and **** the owners can say all they want, but even there technicians stated, most units last atleast 10 years without all this work. As far as maintenance on the unit, would you have caught all the leaks, the same copper tubing leaking twice, I was told by one of your technicians, a perfectly installed unit, is a long lasting unit, you can look at the unit outside, all the wires are shaking, nothing looks solid. I am not the only one that has problems with this unit, and they can continue to sell products that need constant work, so they can make there money with service calls. I explained to them I take care of my 93 year old aunt who has breathing problems, and they never seemed to care. I believe what comes around goes around and someday everyone will know about Air West.

11/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
PVC pipe coming off an air handler installed by Air West 5.5 years ago was attached to another PVC pipe going through the wooden floor by tape.
The whole AC system was installed by Air West with the two PVC pipes below it attached by a black tape which eventually gave in and flooded the wood floor of my house during approximately a two month absence. This resulted in parts of the hard wood floor buckling up together with a wet base board. Water mitigation was needed plus change of wet insulation in the crawl space. The whole hard wood floor of the house needs to be sanded and refinished with a small area where the wood itself has to be replaced. The damage was conservatively estimated by my insurance at approximately $15,000. Of this amount I will have to pay from my pocket $3,768. Air West came back upon complaining and glued the two pipes together but refuse to admit responsibility for the damage even though I have had a yearly service agreement with Air West since the installation approximately 5.5 years ago with two service visits every year.

Desired Settlement
I am willing to let my insurance pay for the damage. However I am seeking for reparations amounting to only $5,000 to cover the out of pocket repair costs (deductibles) plus some of the cost for having to vacate the house for 1-2 weeks for repairing the hard wood floor (wood replacement in some areas, sanding and coating the whole floor).

Business Response
We did install a new system for Mr. ******* on September 28, 2008. At that time a permit was pulled and past inspection. Mr. ******* has had regular maintenance on his equipment. I have enclosed copies of these visits.

As a mentioned above when is system was installed a permit was pulled and passed inspection. A repair would have had to be done and re-inspected. Since this time no repair work has been done to the drain line. The drain line has been flushed to prevent blockage or build up. As of now we have never pulled the drain line apart. The drain line is the original drain line that was glued at the time of the new equipment install. Enclosed are the copies of the invoices to support this. Mr. ******* did have a maintenance in February of this year. We did not hear from Mr. ******* until August. That is 6 months after we did the maintenance on his equipment. We found that the drain line was apart in the return air box. Mr. ********** tape it the tape that was wet that came off the armaflex not from the drain line. He was explained this. (2) 45 degree elbows and pipe were used to make the repaired and re-glued. The system was rigid up with a funnel to drain the water so the system could continue to run. Not a recommendation by us. Mr. ******* choice to continue running his system with out a proper repair being made to the drain line. It looked like someone may have hit the drain line and knocked it loose causing the issue. If the drain line was taped back in February as Mr. ******* suggests, the drain would have had an issue sooner than 6 months. Drain lines are not meant to be taped but glued with a special pvc glue that all our service men carry on their trucks for such repairs. It is my understanding that Mr. ******* had been away and did not know when the problem began or how it occurred.

All service works comes with a limited warranty printed on the front of the service order. It reads as follows: All materials, parts and equipment are warranted by the manufacturer' or supplier' written warranty only. All labor performed by the above named company is warranted for 30 days or as otherwise indicated in writing. The above named company makes no other warranties, express or implied, and its agents or technicians are not authorized to make any such warranties on behalf of above named company. Since the failure was 6 months after we did maintenance on Mr. *******s' system his limited warranty had expired.

We are sorry that Mr. ******* has experienced water damage due to his drain line however it was not due to our negligence as he suggests.

Final Consumer Response
Air West sent me another invoice for remediating the PVC pipe connection which was the source of the bigger problem. I called them to talk to the owner and the receptionist told me that she was going to give my file to him. That was more than a week ago. I still have not heard from them. Therefore I would like to still solicit your help. Thank you.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.