BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/30/1997

Air Masters of Tampa Bay, Inc.

Phone: (813) 234-2419Fax: (813) 234-2209

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service16
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints21

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (21)
02/10/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Air Masters charged us $862 to fix our air conditioner. They left it in worse condition, and it had to be replaced with a new unit by another vendor.
On 7/11/2015, Air Masters came to repair our air conditioner. They replaced the fan motor, cap, and surge protector, and sold us a premium service plan. Shortly thereafter, the air conditioner stopped working again. The technician came and told us that another part was needed and would cost about $75. He made a short circuit to keep the handler running all the time until the part could be ordered. When the part arrived, we were informed the part would cost more than $300.

At that point, we hired a second company to give us an estimate. They informed us that the short circuit wiring that had been done was very dangerous, and told us that the entire unit needed to be replaced. We ended us buying a brand new unit from a different vendor.

Now, Air Masters, instead of apologizing to us for their mistake, is demanding that we pay $180.

Desired Settlement
We request a refund equal to the value of the damaged unit.

Business Response
Our deepest apologies for any inconveniences that may have occurred. We have tried to contact Mr. *****, but have not received a call back.

Air Masters is very serious about our customer's satisfaction and we work hard to get to the bottom of any customer complaints.

If you have any questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with me.

David D.
XXX-XXX-XXXX

11/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Nothing but issues with this less then five year unit! Blowing hot air again only one month since repairman out and wife has asthma
Five years ago

Desired Settlement
Fix it so it is dependable

Business Response
We have contacted Mr. ******** and resolved the issue. He is happy with the result of our conversation and our service.

If you have any questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with me.

*******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Water leaks and water damage after installation.
New unit installed 6/17/2015. Matt L***** was sales rep. Service order / invoice # XXXXX. Problem date 6/17/2015 when installed. Discovered approximately 6/26/2015 ceiling and door way into dining area beneath the air handler was wet and stained and wall on the right hand side was wet and wrinkled from ceiling approximately five feet down towards the floor. Installers should of felt loose connections while installing pvc drain lines and should of inspected for water leaks after installation. Matt L***** stated he would inspect the installation a few days after being installed and he never did. Senior tech. Frank came and found the leak 6/26/2015 which was temporarily repaired by placing bucket under a pvc pipe he rigged under the air handler as it was the weekend and a permanent fix would come on Monday the 29th. We had to keep dumping buckets of water until then. Frank stated repairs would be done to the ceiling and wall at no charge due to the leak after the installation. On the 29th the original installers repaired the drain line at an additional charge of $280.00. They discovered pvc pipe that was originally installed or pvc they used during the installation was the correct size but the wrong diameter and caused the leak. I feel that the LOOSE FIT should of been noticed while cementing the pvc joints together during the installation of the air handler. I also feel if Matt L***** had stopped and inspected the installation like he stated he would do he would have spotted the leak before damage was done. I also noted that we should have had a credit from the original service call if we had a new unit installed and that credit never came.

Desired Settlement
I would like the repairs to be done to the ceiling, doorway and wall from the water damage from the bad installation. A credit for my $129.00 original service repair as a new unit was installed. I also believe due to the fact of a loosely fitted joint should of easily been felt cementing pvc together during the installation the repairs should of been done totally free of additional charges. As of this date 7/21/2015 repairs have not been completed.

Business Response
We have contacted Mr. ****. He is on the schedule for Wednesday, August 12th, at 10 am to do the corrections. We apologize for the delay and any inconvenience this situation may have caused.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No painting has been done to the damaged area.
There has been no discussion about the credit as a new unit was put in as they said they would do. The additional charge that I paid for the leak repairs after the new unit was installed should be reimbursed as the inspection was not done after installation that would of prevented the water damage in the first place.

Final Business Response
This response was taken verbally by the BBB: We have contacted the customer to take care of the painting situation and also to discuss the credit. Our customer will contact us when he is ready for us to do the work and discuss the credits. Our customer has advised us that he is not available to schedule anything at this moment.

07/08/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Horrible customer service and no motivation to correct errors! Absolutely no accountability.
I have had multiple issues with this company from day one of installation of my new Trane AC air handler and condenser. The condenser had a crack in it on initial installation. They refused to believe me and said that wasn't covered under installation. Took months to rectify that situation and they finally admitted it was cracked and had to replace the entire unit. I purchased the long term maintenance which requires yearly a fee based, yearly maintenance plan. I have had problems with them every single year when having them service the unit. From saying I needed to spend thousands of dollars on a "cleaning unit" to showing up at the wrong address AND billing me for it. I have talked to the manager on MULTIPLE occasions, only to continue getting the run around. I honestly can not believe they have an A rating with BBB. It's either because they rated themselves, or others like me do not HAVE THE TIME to spend on writing letters. I don't have the time either, but companies like this should no longer be allowed to operate.

Desired Settlement
An understanding of my problems and frustrations with their incompetence and lack of concern. An apology would be a great start!

Business Response
Our deepest apologies for any inconveniences that may have occurred. We have contacted Mrs. ****** and we offered her a free maintenance for the inconvenience. She is happy with the result of our conversation.

Air Masters is very serious about our customer's satisfaction and we work hard to get to the bottom of any customer complaints.

If you have any questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with me.

*******

06/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Air Master's billed me $645 for incorrect diagnosis of issue. Third party confirmed issue caused by Air Master's improper installation.
I purchased a brand new AC unit from Air Masters in 2012. In September 2014 I noticed my AC unit was leaking onto my ceiling. Air Master's technician came out, told me it was condensation, duct taped the pipe and presented me with a bill for $120 which I successfully contested. In January 2015, a third party AC repair company identified a leak (not condensation) that Air Master's failed to identify. As my unit was under warranty I called Air Masters to come back out. Air Master's notified me that there was a leak on the Evap Coil and it needed to be replaced. I was never presented with a bill for this diagnosis. I got a second opinion. A third party AC company came out again pressure tested the cond coil for leak and did not find a leak anywhere in the unit. They confirmed a pinhole leak on suction line solder joint as the installer improperly used a soft solder. This company re-soldered the joint and completed the full repair for $344. This was in January 2015. It is May and my AC is running perfect since the other company made the repair. I now received a bill from Air Masters charging me $645 for the improper diagnosis that the coil was leaking (not including any repairs as they did not perform any repair at all) and "need to replace coil."

Desired Settlement
I am requesting the bill for $645 to be removed from my account and a refund for the costs of the assessment and repair of the leak by the third party company that was caused by Air Master's faulty installation ($89 assessment + $344 repair) for a total of $433. I have documentation of the bills from the other company as well as the description of the error by Air Masters and by the third party AC company.

Business Response
After speaking with Ms. ****** regarding the other vendors findings, we asked that our technicians come back out to her home in addition to the vendor technicians that she chose to prove their findings, all at our cost, of course. The vendor she chose refused to do this. In closing, we waived our bill in exchange for the money she paid out of pocket for another vendor to check our technicians work.

Page 1 of 4
10/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
failure to deliver services and repairs
on jul20 2015 i called air masters to my house because my 2yr old a/c was dripping water from the attic. air master said they installed a shutoff switch that would prevent the drain pan from overflowing they wrote this on my bill. they verbally told me they cleared the drain pan.

on aug22 2015 parts of my ceiling by the a/c started falling down water soaked. my drain pan was overflowing again and the drain line was clogged( the switch i paid for failed)

on aug25 i hired a handy man to clear my a/c drain and the water stopped dripping from my ceiling within minutes.(the same exact problem i called air master for)

that afternoon i relayed the above to the air master service manager. he said all he could at the time was to relay info to his boss.

on aug26 i called back to management, related my story and asked that they stand behind their work.i was coldly told that the only way i could get any refund was to submit a full report from another a/c stating air master work was faulty. (i did call several a/c companies and all refused to get involved citing legal liabilities)

on aug27 i called air master management related the above about a report. i said stand behind your work or i would go to tampaBBB. the manager then said "now you are threatening me!"

that let this old senior citizen know they only play the run around game as seen in just a sampling of online complaints against. i told them to make a fair offer by aug28 dead line.
they declined and so end my relationship with them.

Desired Settlement
i am asking for a refund due to the failure of Air Master to provide the professional services i paid them for

Business Response
The original service call was completed on July 20th. Mr ******** never called us to report that he was still having an issue. Mr. ******** contacted us after having his handy man look at the work. When he contacted us on August 26th, I informed him that we would need some type of documentation supporting the findings from his handy man. I offered to have our senior technician come out to his home to verify the operation of the system. Our technician installed a new float switch, cleared out the drain line and checked over the system. And informed the customer that because the water backed up into the unit the insulation was wet. To dry out the water, we recommended to leave the fan on the air handler to help dry out the cabinet. We offered to waive the diagnostic fee of $59.00 and informed him that the charges for the service call on July 20th are correct.

If you have any questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with me.

*******
Manager
************

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
why refund only $59 for a bad diagnosis but Not for bad repairs and parts?

none of air masters repairs and parts lasted a month.

they say the bill is correct but the services and part i payed for were done incorrectly because i had the same problem a month later!

i did call back hours after they left. air master repeated that "the only way to stop the dripping is to replace the insulation in the air box" (a thousand dollar job)

they said i would continue to have this problem until my duct work was redone(costing thousands) they wrote this on my invoice and made an appointment to get this done.

they did not offer to send anyone out when i asked them during 3 plus days i negotiated with them. now after reading other complaints about air master plus my own experience i have no reason to trust them, and would Not do any business with them, even for free. i want a refund for all of reasons listed in my complaint.

03/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
More than a year ago, I called Air Masters of Tampa to come and diagnose my AC unit at my business in the Westfield Brandon Mall. When the technician arrived and checked on the unit, he said it was the compressor that broke. He gave me an estimate that it would cost me more than $3000.00 to replace it. I agreed to replace the compressor.I asked for a down payment of 1/3 of the total price. The company agreed. I made my second payment several months after. Soon I found out the compressor unit was not working. I contacted Air Masters a few times and told them the problem. They didn't not come. They wanted me to pay the rest of the balance ($1350.00). I called several AC companies to check out what's the problem was. They all told me it was a REBUILT COMPRESSOR, not the NEW one. I realized that Air Masters really ripped me off with my money. I am sure they did that to many customers.My AC is still not working for more than 6 months because of that REBUILT compressor.One day during the weekend of Christmas of 2014, Mr ****** (the sale manager) for Air Master came and rushed into my salon yelling out loud with many customers inside the salon " Where's ****?". Someone in the front pointed him to me. He came and look straight at my face like he wanted to cut my head off. He said "I give you 2 options....you pay me now or i'll take you to court" in front of a large customer in my salon. I told him to step outside. We exchanged words and he left.Anyhow, first of all, whoever hires Mr ****** to represent his company is very bad. They should not even let this guy out on the street. It's a shame. It's so obvious that he needed the money even though my AC unit broke.
Product_Or_Service: AIR COMPRESSOR

Desired Settlement
I would like Air Masters to replace a NEW compressor, I will pay the remaining balance after they do that.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We called our customer after receiving this complaint to discuss his concerns. We initially went out to this customer's business in 2013 and diagnosed a bad compressor. We provided an estimate to replace compressor for $3,300. The customer could not pay everything all at once and we agreed to accept payments. He made the first payment, we installed the unit and the customer was supposed to make 2 more payments over a period of 60 days (once every 30 days). We did not receive another payment from him after installation. We made several attempts to collect by contacting the customer per our normal collection process. He did send 1 payment after some time but never made the final payment as promised. We continued trying to contact him per our normal collection process. During all of this time the customer never mentioned any issue with the system.

Now, in the BBB complaint the customer states he had other contractor tell him the unit we installed was a rebuilt compressor. We asked the customer for documentation to support that claim and now he is saying he never had another company come out to inspect; they just told him this over the phone. The claim is not true and we did not install a rebuilt compressor. The customer has never communicated an issue or asked us to come out to look at the unit. We have not been paid in full and now he is wanting warranty replacement but he has never allowed us to inspect the unit. The sales person finally went out to the customer's business to ask him about payment.

After receiving this complaint and notice of the issue we offered to go back out and check the compressor for issues, but the customer declined to schedule an appointment. We are still willing to go out and stand behind out work but the customer has to pay the balance due on installation. The balance is $1396.40.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company is lying. I don't ever recommend anyone to this company. All they care is money no customer services or satisfaction

Final Business Response
In response to Mr. *****'s Complaint:

After carefully reviewing your file and speaking to you over the phone, Air Masters has done nothing inappropriate regarding our agreed contract. We provided you with a legal and binding contract, which you signed and agreed to the terms with our company. We performed the work, in which we supplied all materials and labor cost in good faith. We arranged a payment plan to help ease the burden of the repairs. Our contract was for $3,300.00 with payment terms of three (3) equal installments, over a 90 day period. After your initial down payment of $1,300.00, we did not receive a second partial payment until after 6 months of repeated attempts from our office. We never received any calls or notification there was an issue with the work. I offered to visit your business, and have our service manager check your system, you said you would call me, I still haven't heard a response. You said we installed a rebuilt compressor, we have documentation from the manufacturer that this is not the case. You have never provided any documentation of your accusations of our company being deceitful and installing refurbished parts. Mr. ***** we stand by our agreement, we ask that you please hold up your end of the contract.

Regards,
******* *********
Owner

12/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charge for repairs that never took place. The AC is new and I should not be having any issues.
On 23 August 2014, I smelled gas emanating from the air-condition furnace in the 2nd story of our residence. The entire air-condition was replaced less than three years ago by Air Masters of Tampa costing us more than $7,000. We should not be experiencing any issues with this system. I have also paid for annual maintenance to ensure the air-condition works well, but no issues had been identified.

On the same date, I called Air Masters of Tampa and I received a called indicating there was a repairman less than five minutes away.

He arrived at my house and I took him upstairs. He then then advised me he did not have a gas detector and asked me if I had a bottle with soap and water. I brought the bottle of soap and water and he sprayed it on the gas pipe in the furnace. Gas bubbles could be seeing. He then advised me he did not have the pipe to replace it or the putty to make the repairs. He then took a photo of the pipe and advised me he would send the photo to the office so someone could bring the pipe or the putty to reseal the gas pipe.

There was no repairs done. He then turn the gas valve off which we now I have no heat in our house. He spent less than 20 minutes at my house. The charge included a $15.00 fuel charge, which if he was five minutes way on another call I don't feel this charge is also appropriate.

He (tech **** then asked he be paid $74.00. I advised him I would call Mr. ******* ********* to resolve the issue. I made multiple call to Mr. ********* on his cellular number XXX-XXX-XXXX, but he never returned my calls.

On 6 November 2014, I went to see Mr. ********** and I was told he was not in the office.

I paid the $74.00 with the understating that a repairman/technician would then come over to make the repairs to stop the gas leak. After the office clerk charge my credit card another employee came out to explain that I would need to pay extra to make the repairs. I then explained that there was no repairs made I that I would not pay a second time for repairs that had not taken place. I then left a message for Mr. ********* to call me, but he never did.

On Friday 7 November 2014, @ 9:00 a.m. I called Air Masters of Tampa Bay and asked to speak to Mr. ********** I was then informed he was in a meeting. I then called again at around 11:00 and again was told he was in a meeting. I asked when would he be done with the meeting and I was informed (by ******* that he would be available at 2:00 p.m. I then left message for Mr. ********* to call after the meetings and if I did not hear from Mr. ********* by close of business then I understood this meant he had no intention in returning my calls or making the repairs I have already paid for.

Air Master of Tampa reflects on their bill receipts and on their website they hold a BBB rating of A+, but that is misleading. A check of the BBB data base reflects multiple (18) complaints. When I was in the market for an AC systems Mr. ********* would call me daily to try to sell my a new entire AC system. I trusted this company, but now realize we made a mistake. I asked that the company made the necessary repairs to stop the gas leak which is a safety hazard for our entire family and our neighborhood.

Desired Settlement
I need the gas leak be repair. This is a safety hazard to our family and our neighbors.

Business Response
Mr.****** please contact our office to discuss a resolution. The gas line was not installed by Air Masters we reconnect to the existing gas valve.Our technician checked the valve connect to where the gas line to connects to the furnace. No leaks found. Please contact our office.
Thank you
******* *********
Manager
XXX XXX XXXX ****

Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I have tried calling this company so many times, they have never returned my calls. The technician didn't do anything while they were out here and then they sent a bill for $100. I paid it and they refused to return my calls. I want to sever my relationship with them. I don't want any contact from them in any way, I want to be completely done with them and I will find another company who can service my needs.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.