BBB Accredited Business since

Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals

Phone: (304) 258-5300 View Additional Phone Numbers 64 S Green St, Berkeley Spgs, WV 25411 http://www.berkeleyspringscottagerentals.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 06, 2007 Business started: 08/25/2000 in WV Business started locally: 08/25/2000 Business incorporated 08/25/2000 in WV
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Stephanie Rebant, Vice President Ms. Diana Slough, President Mr. Ryan Rebant, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ryan Rebant, Operations Manager
Principal: Ms. Stephanie Rebant, Vice President
Principal: Ms. Diana Slough, President
Business Category

Vacation Rentals

Alternate Business Names
DSL Enterprises, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 64 S Green St

    Berkeley Spgs, WV 25411 (304) 258-5300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Below I have copied the emails regarding the entire situation. Dear *****, I am very sorry for this situation and I have left you a voice mail message. Your request to refund your stay is unreasonable and I am very sorry, but I will not be refunding your stay. We relocated you to another upgraded property per your request. A cabin inspector was out at the property on Wednesday, May 21st and the plumbing was in working and operational order. Thank you for your email. ********* ****** Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals Mountain Home Real Estate, Agent 64 South Green Street Berkeley Springs, WV 2541###-###-#### ###-###-#### (Fax) If you have a moment and would like to share your experience, here’s our ******** page, ****************************************************** . Comments and likes are greatly appreciated! Again thanks so much! Email: *************************************.com Website: www.BerkeleySpringsCottageRentals.com Emergency Contact Information: Please call ###-###-#### to obtain the cell phone number for the person on call. Office Hours: Monday – Friday: 9 am to 5:00 pm Saturday: 9 am to 3:00 pm Sunday: 10 am to 3:00 pm *office hours may change during holidays Disclaimer: Email or Text Messages written by Broker or Broker’s Agents are for Communication Purposes only and are not intended to be Contractual Agreements between Principals. Mountain Home Real Estate, LLC as Broker, is not authorized to bind its Principal without that Principal entering into a separate written Agreement with the Counter-party to any Electronic communications. Buyers, Sellers, Landlords, Renters, or other Principals may only be bound by Separate Written Agreements which are signed by all Principals either with Pen and Ink or digitally signed with Authenticated Electronic Signatures. From: ***** [mailto:********************] Sent: Tuesday, May 27, 2014 2:42 PM To: ***** Subject: Re: ******* *******/********** Wow! I can't believe the outcome of this situation. I assure you my husband and I did not 'cause the issue' and are NOT 'responsible for this problem'. As I stated, we were on our 10th anniversary getaway, alone and very happy to be in the mountains. On Friday, May 23, 2014 when flushing the toilet I noticed it bubbled. It frightened me because I thought maybe a snake was in it. On Saturday the toilet did the same thing but not every time we flushed. Sunday, my husband and I took separate showers and our normal bathroom routines. I washed a small load of laundry and the toilet stopped up. My husband tried to plunge it to no avail.I called *** and she said she would send a maintenance guy out. We left for a while and figured it would be fixed when we returned. However, when we returned both the toilet and shower were stopped up and water was all over the floor reaching into the hall carpet. I noticed there was tissue in the shower and knew there was a sewer problem. I called *** back and told her it was flooded and to send someone back out it was bad. She told me the plumber left there and flushed a few times and it was fine. I assured her it was not fine and she told me to put towels on it and repeated what the plumber told her. I was perplexed and told her we did not bring extra towels and would have to use all of the guest towels on the mess. She abruptly told me there was a washing machine there and I could wash them and again told me what the plumber told her. I was in shock and felt she was insinuating we did something to make this mess. So I said, 'you've told me what the plumber said several times, that doesn't help the matter and you have to send someone out here, it's a mess. I don't feel I should have to clean this.' I was trying to remain calm but wanted her to know it was serious enough to have someone come out and fix immediately. To my horror, the line went dead! Once I gathered my senses and talked this over with my husband, I called again and you, *********, answered. I said the lines must have accidentally disconnected and you apologized, listened to my story and said you would send someone out again. We left again for a scheduled massage and when we returned the plumber was still there. I told him I felt *** was insinuating we caused this horrific mess and asked him if he felt the sewer was backed up. He said, 'there is no way you caused this, it is a sewer issue. We have a 50ft snake down the main line and there is a huge blockage way down.' I asked if he could assure you all and he said, certainly. I told him I knew there was a sewer issue when I saw the feces and tissue in the shower. I told him I took pictures so you would know how serious it was. He said not to worry I am sure they will reconcile. We could not shower or use the toilet and you graciously offered us a place for our last night. We got into the place right at dark, showered, slept, woke up and went home without attending our family gathering because we were upset about the ordeal and felt as if you blamed us. On another note, we were given 'complimentary one day passes to use for one of the amenities. Since the sun was out Sunday morning we decided to go spend a few hours at the pool. I was so embarrassed because the lady took one of the passes and said she had to investigate and we could go in until she figured out what was wrong. She came back a while later and said she would let us stay but the passes were no good. They were for weekday only. Others around us heard and it was embarrassing so we left the pool area. With all of the harassment we are going through with this and your email accusing us of this sewer issue, we are asking for a full refund of our stay. I called my father, who owns a plumbing business and asked him if there was any way we could have caused this. Because I am from a family of plumbers, I knew we could not have done this even by accident. We believe the sewer needs to be cleaned and should be every 5 years. That is was already backing up and by us using the water caused it to back up through the lines into the cabin. I have ***** ********'s card and number and can call him to confirm this as well. He is the last plumber you sent out that was in the cabin with his helper snaking it out without success. I don't wish to take this as far as filing a formal complaint with BBB with your business or filing a formal complaint with the West Virginia Association of Realtors on *** ****** for the way I was treated. It is only my intention that you will consider reimbursing our entire payment of $470.70 for all of this trouble you have put us through. As you stated, 'These things happen and it is an unfortunate issue and unfortunate for all parties involved.' More than anything, we have been unfairly accused and mistreated. Attached are pictures of the wet floor,with towels down, the sewage backing up into the shower and the toilet overflow. This could cause us to be ill being in those conditions. It is unsafe and for the sake of anyone else that stays here, I hope you fix this issue. ***** & ***** ********** Confirmation #******* May 23-May 26 2014 Total cost of reservation: $470.70 Dear *****, I received your text message yesterday evening and I wanted to please follow up. I would like to please congratulate you on your 10th anniversary and please apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. You had mentioned in the text that you were upset at the condition and I would like to please inform you of the situation and corrective actions that were taken: Sunday, May 25th mid-morning, you notified us that the toilet was clogged after staying two nights at the property and you would like for someone to come and fix the issue. Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals immediately send a maintenance representative who sewer snaked the line and flushed the toilet 4 times with toilet paper before departing the cabin. You returned to the cabin and you reported the bathroom floor was wet and water was backed up in the shower area. You had issues with the situation and were very upset to find water in the bathroom. I informed you I would immediately contact maintenance and send someone back out to the property. Maintenance returned to the property and reported that the toilet must have been clogged a second time because he definitely did not leave the property with that issue. He was unable to resolve the issue because of the severity of the clog in the main line. I contacted three plumbers in the local area and two of them were out of town and one of them was at the hospital with a family emergency so I contacted a general contractor. He spent over 1.5 hours at the property and was also unable to unclog the main line. I also sent a housekeeper per your request to clean the bathroom. You communicated that you had a family picnic in the area on Monday and you definitely wanted to stay another night. I only had 1 other property available, I immediately sent housekeeping to get the property prepared for you. I am very sorry for this situation and that your plans were an issue for Sunday. I would like to please notify you that although it was an accident, you caused the issue and are responsible for the problem. Paragraph #7 and #20 in the rental agreement authorizes Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals to charge guests for damages occurred during their stay. This was an accident and we are choosing not to implement this option. These things happen and it is an unfortunate issue and unfortunate for all parties involved. Due to the maintenance service call charges, plumbing bill and additional housekeeping charges; the homeowner may have a negative balance from the rental this weekend and Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals is also losing money with having to waive our fees, pay for the cleaning fee for housekeeping at both ******* ******* and ******* ***** for the 1 night stay and also pay the difference to upgrade to ******* ***** which is $15 more per night. I again apologize for any inconvenience and I am very sorry about the situation, but due to the expense of the repair (that you did accidentally cause during your stay) and transferring you to another property, I am unable to offer you a discount for your stay. Thank you very much for your business and for your follow up inquiry. Respectfully, ********* ****** Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals Mountain Home Real Estate, Agent 64 South Green Street Berkeley Springs, WV 2541###-###-#### ###-###-#### (Fax) If you have a moment and would like to share your experience, here’s our ******** page, ****************************************************** . Comments and likes are greatly appreciated! Again thanks so much! Email: *************************************.com Website: www.BerkeleySpringsCottageRentals.com Emergency Contact Information: Please call ###-###-#### to obtain the cell phone number for the person on call. Office Hours: Monday – Friday: 9 am to 5:00 pm Saturday: 9 am to 3:00 pm Sunday: 10 am to 3:00 pm *office hours may change during holidays Disclaimer: Email or Text Messages written by Broker or Broker’s Agents are for Communication Purposes only and are not intended to be Contractual Agreements between Principals. Mountain Home Real Estate, LLC as Broker, is not authorized to bind its Principal without that Principal entering into a separate written Agreement with the Counter-party to any Electronic communications. Buyers, Sellers, Landlords, Renters, or other Principals may only be bound by Separate Written Agreements which are signed by all Principals either with Pen and Ink or digitally signed with Authenticated Electronic Signatures.

Desired Settlement: We wanted to spend a 4 day 3 night getaway for our anniversary. 2 of these days were distressful with the septic backup. We are so upset at the way were treated and feel a full refund should be given. I also reference the 'complimentary passes' for amenities, of which we chose the pool. ********* of BS Cottage Rentals said such a thing had never happened and once again made me feel as if we were lying or did something wrong. I contacted the pool since they took our name and we had the exact time we were there. She researched and found that the passes were in fact for weekday only. It was very embarrassing for them to hold the pass and come to us in front of everyone at the pool to let us know of the 'problem they had to investigate'. I was upset over the way we were treated by ********* and Dee. It was very inappropriate for them to insist we caused the septic backup and pool pass incident. I have Cerebral Palsy and when I am upset or stressed my muscles become very stiff. This was supposed to be a relaxing loving weekend. It was a horror. If not for the couples massage we had, it would have been one of the worst weekends I've ever had. (That was a separate charge so is not included in the $470.70 which was just the room rental. I hope you can help reconcile this for us. Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Business Response:

Response to 6/17/14 Complaint                                                             

 
 

 

Dear Better Business Bureau Representative,

 

Thank you for your notification regarding ***. **********’s stay for the Memorial Day Weekend.  Please note that I have already spoken and exchanged emails regarding ***. **********’s unreasonable request for a full refund during her recent stay.

 

Please note that the guest stayed at the property for 2 nights, contacted our office on the third day of their stay and reported a clogged toilet issue.  As the previous email indicates, we immediately sent maintenance personnel, they reported the issue was resolved and that afternoon our office received a second phone call about the bathroom being clogged again.  This was the Sunday of Memorial Day Weekend and I immediately sent contractors to rectify the issue.  The guests had clogged the main line of the house so severely that the sewer line could not be unclogged that evening.

 

After speaking with ***. **********, she did not want a refund for the third night, she indicated that her family was having a picnic the next day and she needed a place to stay.  I gave them a complimentary upgrade to another property and transferred their reservation per her request.

 

***. ********** was not authorized to remove recreation passes from ******* ******* which is located in the ***** Resort Area and was certainly not authorized to return to The ***** Resort the next day and use the passes.  She moved to a completely different property in a new location.  Had she informed our office she wanted to visit the recreation complex again, I would have informed her she was not authorized to return to the other property and I would have directed her to the community pool and recreation area at the ******** Mountainside which was located within the immediate vicinity of where she was staying. 

 

In the 35 years the homeowners of ******* ******* have owned the property there has never been a single issue with using the recreation passes.  I contacted the ***** Resort staff and the homeowner of the property and the ***** Resort has had a recent change to their membership classes.  But again, had we known ***. ********** wanted to use the facilities, we would have directed her to the ******** Mountainside Facilities which ***. ********** was authorized to use with the rental of ******* *****.

 

As I have explained to ***. **********, with having to pay the plumber to remove the clog that occurred on the third day of her stay and the other two contractors who had service calls over a holiday weekend to resolve the issue, pay the housekeeper who came and cleaned the bathroom per ***. **********’s request and the cost to upgrade their reservation to another property there is no money for us to offer a discount or refund.

 

Please note that we feel this guest caused the backup and our staff had used and tested the facilities before this stay with no issues.  We feel the guest should be responsible for the plumbing service call but have chosen not to pursue that issue. We feel a guest who was having a sincerely bad time would probably not stay the full length of their stay. We feel that is not a customer service issue.  I sincerely apologize for any issue, thank your for your inquiry.

 

Very Respectfully,

 

 

********* ******

********* ******

Vice President

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Appeal to BBB > Complaint #******** > June 27, 2014

I am appalled at the accusations of this business.  There are so many things wrong in her response. The biggest complaint we have is the way in which we have and continue to be mistreated. I have never experienced such poor customer service. Our 10 year anniversary weekend was for 4 days and 3 nights. 2 of our days were ruined because of the septic backup.  Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals continue to blame us for this backup. It is highly impossible that we caused such a backup. I have attached pictures of the septic backup with unspeakable things floating in the shower from the backup as well. It is most probable the septic was backed up prior to our arrival. With our use of the water, toilet, shower and sink it was just too much and backed up.  There is no way we could have caused this much of a backup in our 2 days there.  She should explain her reasoning in how she feels we could have possibly caused this. More importantly, when I called the 2nd time that day on Sunday afternoon and they accused me of backing the septic up and I asked her how was that possible? The septic was backed up into every pipe in the cabin. There was water overflowing steadily out of the shower and toilet and they would need to have someone help clean the mess. *** ****** said to me, ‘there are towels there, use them.’ I was shocked and said, we didn’t bring any of our own so we will need more. She was not pleasant and said, ‘well there is a laundry machine there.’ Again, I was shocked and said, we can’t use any of the water here, it is really bad. The phone went dead. I felt she hung up on me so I called back to speak to her and she never did speak to me again. ********* was the one I continued to converse with. She was pleasant and said she would have someone out there again as soon as she could get someone, it was a holiday weekend.  No, problem I told her. He came while we went out for a while and had a 50ft snake in the system and still could not reach the main backup.  I asked him did he think it possible we caused this and he said absolutely not. His name is ***** ********, ************.

********* also accuses us on using the recreation passes and were not authorized to do so. That is not true. That was part of our contract for one day passes. She states in her response to you that we came back into the ***** Resort the next day and used them which would have been Monday. This is absolutely not true. We used the passes and went to the pool on Sunday morning after we called the 1st time about the backup. We only had an hour to spare before going to our couples massage appointment there at the *****. We thought it would be a nice way to fill in the time while waiting and allow the plumber time to fix the problem with us out for a few hours. The pool pass taker there told us the passes were for weekday only but we were embarrassed because they wanted to ‘investigate’ the passes while we waited. They were polite and allowed us to stay for the hour. But it was embarrassing as others at the pool heard her say she needed to investigate. I called the pool back once I returned home to ask her if she still had the roster where we signed in that day and she said yes and apologized. Needless to say, it was Sunday morning we were at the pool. We did not return Monday to the ***** at all. ********* does say the homeowner has changed the membership status. But she is absolutely wrong on the date we were there and I cannot believe they continually bad mouth our name. 

We had to pack all of our things and move to another facility several miles away and not even on this property. We did not get there until around 8:30pm after the cleaning lady left. They said the renters there had left a day early and we could go there at no extra charge. We didn’t need a big place to stay, just somewhere to lay our heads. Our romantic 10th Anniversary weekend was certainly over Sunday morning because of the issues. The way in which we have been unfairly treated is horrible. We chose to wake up early and go home. We had enough and wanted to go home and rest. Since we had not been able to rest here as we had planned. We did not make it to our family outing because we were so troubled. 

********* also states that we were having a horrible time. This is not true and the many people and places we went to that weekend would tell you differently. We had a wonderful time, love and always have loved Berkeley Springs. We have family there and visit several times a year. We will always visit but will certainly not recommend nor stay in any of their rentals.  I wanted to make sure you received this within the 10 days you request we appeal if necessary. We are leaving for a 2 week vacation tonight so I am in hopes of receiving a response soon. I plan to pursue this adversity until it is resolved to our benefit. In our 53 years, we have never been accused in such ways they have accused us. I do hope you, BBB, can help provide a satisfactory resolution. 

Sincerely,

***. ***** **********









Business Response:

Dear BBB,

 

It does not appear that we can please the guest other than a full refund for the stay.  The opportunity for at least a partial refund was already given and not accepted by the guest.  They were provided a place to stay the entire duration of their visit.  The property does not have a septic tank where solids sit as referred to by the guest.  It has a sewer system.  There was no evidence of any backup prior to the stay.  It is policy to not offer a full refund especially if a guest had stayed the entire time that they intended.  

Section 20 of our rental agreement (which the guest had returned) states:

REPAIRS & SERVICE CALLS - Agent(s) cannot guarantee against mechanical failures and Guest agrees to immediately notify Agent(s) of defective or non-working units. Every effort to repair or replace defective units quickly and efficiently will be made. No refunds will be given for failure of mechanical units. Service calls resulting from neglect or misuse of the Guest shall be the Guest’s financial responsibility. If guest does not notify Agent(s) regarding non-working items, BSCR is not responsible after the fact for any interruption, early departure, or shortening of stay; nor discomfort or inconvenience caused by failure to notify Agent(s) of issue. There are absolutely no refunds or discounts if management is not notified of any issue during your stay.

Not all of the items apply in this term to this case but many do.  It obviously is not an ideal situation to have to answer to a complaint or to have a guest file a complaint and we take it seriously.  We sincerely regret the sewer back up regardless of the cause, but feel that we handled the situation the best we could under the circumstances of a holiday weekend.  Please see attached rental agreement.

2/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked a cottage for my significant other's 30th birthday weekend and the weekend was a disaster because the cottage I rented was nothing like the advertisement. It was old and out dated to the point of being uncomfortable and dirty. The most frustrating and prominent deception was the "master suite" and it's "king" bed. It was not a master suite at all. The king bed was not a king it was two 30 year old + mattresses pushed together. This was by far the worst experience I have ever had staying anywhere and don't know how a company can stay in business renting out dirty, dingy cabins with furniture that is so old it is no longer effective at supporting a person let alone is terribly uncomfortable.

Desired Settlement: I want Berkeley springs to just take responsibility and apologize for ruining a once in a life time experience and putting me through all these disputes and refund my money ($308.00)

Business Response:

We are truly sorry the guest did not like the property.  This property was checked prior to the guest's arrival by myself and my wife.  If was found to be very clean and ready to enjoy for the weekend.  Please find the supporting documents attached from the multiple credit card disputes this guest has asked for. A copy of our rental agreement with the guest's electronic acceptance is also attached. The requests for chargeback have been denied multiple times by ******** *******.  I am truly sorry again that the guest did not have a good time.   Our company does not wish to provide a refund due to the conditions of the rental agreement not being met and the fact that the guests stayed the weekend.  Most guests do not stay if they find conditions to be as terrible as these conditions were made to be.  Hundreds of guests have stayed in this particular cabin over the past 9 years and none have *******ed these same issues.  In addition, this guest cancelled at the last minute in mid February 2012 and we gave them the benefit of the doubt and did not charge any kind of penalty.  Getting the cabin ready for the weekend that the guests did not stay costs approximately $45 in utilities and labor.  This includes employee time, and paying someone to drive to go shut it down after the cancellation.  But again, this was not reflected to the guest.  Our office has over $200 in labor,printing materials, and phone calls on this case in addition to the previously mentioned costs in the last minute cancellation.  We have made no money on this reservation and continue to lose money that occurred nearly a year ago. The owner of this property is a WWII vet and had made updates to this and two other cabins that he has on the program over the past 9 years.  This is despite his advanced age and the possibility of no financial payback due to the economy slowing down.  There are a total of 4 cabins in that area within walking distance of each other.  The point is that if we had known then there could have been a possibility of making the guests happy. We go out of our way to ensure guests are happy and come back to the area.  I would personally stay at this property myself with my family without question.  I swear this statement to be true and accurate in all accounts.  We take this very seriously.

Sincerely,

 **** ******

**************************************

###-###-####

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:the respondent is not being honest as they claim.  I have been disputing this with ******** ******* for almost a year and ******** ******* has made it very clear that they are between a rock and a hard place because we are both their customers.  The bottom line is that this unit is not fit to be rented out with out disclosing that it is out of date to the point of being uncomfortable and additionally was not clean, and I have pictures that speak for themselves as well which I am happy to provide.  The entire unit was dusty and musty and had large amounts of animal hair on the floor in one room, obviously had not been cleaned recently.  Not to mention the large interior staircase that is made of high polished wood that I feel down because it is so slick and unsafe with no handrails or carpet or anything.  ALL of the beds were at least 20 + years old, I believe the "king" bed, that was really two twins pushed together was 30 + years old (I have pictures of this as well) and were so old and so worn that they did not expand all the way.  Yes, the mattresses we slept on for my significant other's 30th birthday celebration, that was supposed to be romantic, were older than we were and maybe 4 inches in depth and hurt our backs so badly neither one of us was able to actually sleep.  We went to the other bedroom that was advertised as having two twins instead of the master suite which was advertised as having a king bed (and just to speak to the character of Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals, when I brought this to their attention they changed their website and then lied about what was actually advertised at the time of my reservation to ******** *******) to see if those twin beds were any better and they were just as bad as the ones pushed together, so we decided to get up and have some warm milk on the couch together and we were not even able to sit on the couch together!  It is so old and worn that two people cannot sit on the couch at the same time.  You literally roll into the person next to you and end up being lumped together very uncomfortably, not actually sitting at all.  I have rented from Berkeley Springs in the past and always had positive experiences and was very upset and frustrated that anyone would consider this "cabin" (I call it a shed for junk, because that is all that is in it) acceptable to be rented out is laughable as I have stayed in $39.99/night motels that are nicer, cleaner and more comfortable.  If you are going to rent a property there are basic standards for when you have to replace the furniture to make sure that it is still comfortable and can be properly used.  Please note that I said nothing of modern or trendy or anything related to visual pleasure because that was not and is not my complaint.  In a nutshell, I paid $308 to stay in a 20/30 year old unsafe dirty dump that the most comfortable place to sleep was on the floor and that is a problem for me as it would be for anyone.  I hope the BBB can do what ******** ******* could not and hold Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals responsible for their subpar accommodations, their lies and deceit and their very poor customer service.  


Regards,

****** ****



Business Response:

I am sorry **. **** did not enjoy her stay at the Rocky Ridge II cabin. If a member of the BBB wishes to inspect the cabin as a impartial third party I would be happy to accommodate.  I wish *** **** no ill will and hope she has a good New Year.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:because it is not appropriate and fails to address the issues that have been raised.  I have pictures of the space as it was when I rented it and that is what is in question.  Please leave off the irrelevant and ridiculous commentary, such as the property owner being a veteran, etc.  That is very nice and I appreciate his service to our country, but that in no way negates Berkley Springs Cottage Rental's obligation to ensure that the properties they rent out are actually suitable to be rented out and meet the basic standards that are recognized across the board in the hospitality industry.  Please stop wasting everyone's time and just come to terms with the fact that the property you rented me was subpar and needs to be updated with furniture that is capable of supporting the weight of an average sized adult and then refund my money for the false advertisement and poor accommodations. 


Regards,

****** ****